投资

2019全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2020年01月30日

投资

ETF资金的流入推动了年度投资需求的增长,而金条和金币的需求则相对疲弱

  • 金价上涨对投资需求的的影响喜忧参半:金条和金币投资者获利了结,趋势投资者的买入则推动了黄金ETF的流入
  • 低利率和地缘政治的不确定性推动黄金ETF的持有量在第四季度创下2,901.8吨的历史新高
  • 金条和金币的需求降至十年来的最低点,这在很大程度上要归因于中国和印度需求的大幅下滑
2018 2019   年同比变化
投资 1,169.8 1,271.7 9%
金条和金币总需求量 1,093.6 870.6 -20%
  印度 162.4 145.8 -10%
  中国大陆 308.0 211.1 -31%
黄金ETFs及类似产品 76.2 401.1 426%

价格是2019年黄金市场的一个重要影响因素。以美元计价的金价升至六年来的最高水平,以其它多种货币——包括欧元、印度卢比、土耳其里拉和南非兰特——计价的黄金价格则创下历史新高。价格上涨对所有领域的黄金需求都产生了明显的影响。但是,投资需求与金价的动态关系更为复杂,同时这也是金价上涨的主要推动力。 

在价格高企和上涨期间,零售投资者和专业投资者的行为往往会出现分化:金条和金币投资者更倾向于利用价格上涨的时机出售现有持仓,或等待更低的价格以便找到更有利的切入点。相比之下,随着美联储开始降低利率,美国黄金期货头寸——被普遍认为代表着更具战术性的投资者的情绪——在6月份反映出投资者对金价的极度乐观预期。9月份,Comex的黄金期货净多头达到了历史最高水平,约合1,134吨。专业投资者对金价的乐观情绪导致了价格上涨,进而吸引了更多趋势投资者的资金流入黄金市场,尤其是ETF。 

黄金ETF

在年度净流入达到401.1吨的驱动下,黄金ETF和类似产品的持仓量在2019年收于2885.5吨。 以美元价值计算,截至去年12月底,全球黄金ETF2019年净流入192亿美元,加上金价上涨18%,其总资产管理规模(AUM)达到了1,411亿美元。 

货币政策和地缘政治是推动全年资金流入的主要因素,而价格上涨也吸引了趋势投资者。在地缘政治紧张局势加剧以及美联储10年来首次降息的影响下,市场不确定性加剧且投资黄金的机会成本降低,北美的黄金ETF持仓在2019年增加了206吨(约合 101亿美元),是所有区域中的最高净增幅。欧洲地区基金的持仓则上升了188吨(约合88亿美元)。其中有一半流入了英国的基金,令该地区基金持仓上升91吨(约合41亿美元),其背后原因是投资者对英国脱欧的持续担忧。亚洲地区的基金规模在2019基本持平,持仓量小幅下滑0.1吨,而其它地区的基金持仓增加了7.6吨,澳大利亚地区的基金贡献了主要增长,因为以当地货币计价的黄金价格飞涨

全球黄金ETF总体持仓在三季度大幅上升256吨 后,其四季度增幅放缓。 10月和12月的净流入趋势被11月的净流出所打断:净结果是该季度全球黄金ETF持仓增加了26.8吨。10月中旬,总持仓量达到了创纪录的2,905.9吨,尽管这一水平没有持续下去,但在今年剩余时间里持仓量仍保持在记录高位附近。

超低利率和持续的全球地缘政治不确定性一直是欧洲地区黄金ETF规模长期增长的两大动力。 第四季度全球黄金ETF的增长集中在欧洲地区的基金上,该地区基金持仓增加了34.1吨(增长 2%)。第四季度,在前几个季度中鼓励了投资者的积极情绪的支撑性因素(高金价、低/负利率环境以及持续的地缘政治问题)得到了持续,。同时投资者也越来越担心美国股市的长期牛市趋势是否会失去动力。 

自2015年底跌破1,600吨以来,全球黄金ETF的持仓量几乎翻了一番,到2019年底时增长了81%,接近2,900吨。持仓量的地理分布也在这段时间发生了变化。四年前,在美国上市的基金占全球总规模的近三分之二(922.8吨),而在欧洲上市的基金所占比重仅略高于三分之一(583.6吨)。欧洲的黄金ETF持仓增加了一倍多后,欧洲与美国在全球黄金ETF的所占比重几乎平分秋色,,到2019年底,欧洲黄金ETF的持仓量达到了1,322.1吨。
 

 

2019年第四季度,全球黄金ETF持仓量创记录新高

2019年第四季度,全球黄金ETF持仓量创记录新高

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

中国的黄金ETF持仓量在第四季度下降4.6吨,原因是第三季度的金价涨势有所放缓。到2019年底,中国黄金ETF的总持仓为44.9吨,与2018年底相比,几无变化:上半年总持仓下降10吨,但下半年,在风险对冲需求、金价涨势和产品创新的推动下,总持仓又上升了10吨左右。

2019年9月,中国黄金ETF的资产管理规模创下历史新高。受中美贸易争端的不确定性影响,8月份美元兑人民币汇率11年来首次破7。再加上第三季度强劲的金价涨势,中国的黄金ETF总资产管理规模达170亿元人民币(约合22亿美元),创下历史新高。 

中国的黄金ETF市场正在不断扩充。 中国证券监督管理委员会(CSRC)于 2019年10月下旬批准了3支新的黄金ETF,使中国的黄金ETF总量增至7只。这些新的ETF也完全由实物黄金支持,将由工银瑞信基金管理有限公司、华夏基金管理有限公司和前海开源基金管理有限公司发行,并将在未来六个月内上市 。1

金条和金币

全年的黄金零售投资跌至10年低点。金条和金币的年度需求同比下降20%,至870.6吨,为2009年以来的最低水平。下降的主要原因是两个最大市场 - 中国和印度的金条金币销量出现了急剧下跌。金价上涨和价格波动的加剧是导致黄金零售投资需求减少的主因,两国国内经济增速放缓也给予了一定压力。但需求的下降绝不仅限于中国和印度:亚洲大部分地区、中东和西方的黄金零售投资都出现明显疲软的现象。 

 

2019年,全球金条与金币总需求降至十年最低

2019年,全球金条与金币总需求降至十年最低

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

第四季度中国的金条和金币需求再次大幅下降,令全年降幅加剧。第四季度需求同比下降35%,至47.6吨,这使得全年总需求下滑31%,至211.1吨。黄金价格上涨是制约全年金条和金币需求的主要因素:由于金价居高不下,一些投资者获利了结,而另一些投资者则推迟了投资决策,以寻求更好的入场点。

中国经济放缓是导致金条和金币需求疲软的另一个原因。中国的GDP增速降至27年来的最低水平,但通货膨胀率却同时飙升,导致金条金币投资者的预算吃紧。

印度第四季度零售投资连续第二个季度出现下降,使得其全年需求降至至146吨,降幅10%。 2019年金条和金币的整体需求被股市的优异表现蒙上了阴影。BSE Sensex指数全年屡创新高,吸引了城市投资者的关注。 

印度股票市场投资得到了以下三个主要因素的支持: 

  • 公司税税率由30%下调至22% 
  • 政府减持五家公共行业企业的股份 
  • 以及中美之间达成贸易协定的可能性。 

Sensex指数在12月底达到41,681点的高位之后,其第四季度的总回报率达到6.8%,而与此相比,黄金的收益率为4.3%,十年期政府债券仅为1.9%。

高昂的金价对Dhanteras期间的黄金投资需求带来了不利影响。尽管节日需求为金币购买量提供了一定支撑,但仍然同比下降了10-15%。然而,数字黄金平台的黄金销量在节日期间出现了显著增长:数字黄金投资的低门槛(低至1卢比)有助于克服金价上涨带来的负担能力壁垒。

印度仍在继续努力监管和规范黄金行业。印度标准局最近宣布了包括黄金在内的一系列物品的交割标准。根据合格交割标准,国内精炼厂加工的黄金如果符合要求,将有资格在印度多种商品交易所(MCX)进行交割。引入合格交割标准将有助于为印度的金银银行和黄金现货交易铺平道路。

亚洲地区的投资需求几乎无一例外地出现了下降:日本和泰国是造成该地区需求疲软的重要原因。日本在2019年每个季度的净投资均为负值,导致了该国全年19.7吨的净减持——这无疑是日本自2011年以来黄金零售投资最糟糕的一年。10月份上调消费税之际, 正值当地黄金价格接近历史高点,从而抑制了新的投资。

泰国的投资需求从第三季度的负增长开始有所回升,但第四季度的投资(11吨)仍然相当疲弱。在2019年的大部分时间里,泰铢的相对强势意味着投资者不再那么关注作为安全避风港的黄金。

土耳其是个例外:第四季度的黄金零售投资同比翻了一倍多。金条和金币的需求量同比增长了138%,至20吨,使年度总量达到53吨(年环比增长40%)。第四季度需求增长的原因是双重的:许多投资者在第三季度价格上涨时卖出,而当第四季度黄金价格回落时又再次买入,因为他们预计此后价格还会恢复上涨势头。一些投资者选择赎回他们的主权黄金债券,并在债券到期时接收交割金币。 

在黄金投资需求整体疲软的中东地区,伊朗尤为疲弱。第四季度,伊朗金条和金币的需求减少了一半,仅有8吨,不过减少的部分原因是因为该国2018年第四季度需求处于高位。本季度,由当地货币波动引起的本地金价的大幅上涨抑制了新的黄金投资需求,但由于该地区近期麻烦不断,避险买盘或已于近几周重新出现。 

该地区的其他国家也普遍出现了黄金零售投资需求下降的现象,高昂的金价令原本就因为困难的经济状况而沮丧的投资者更无力负担。

美国的金条和金币年度需求跌至20吨,创下金融危机后的新低。 持续上涨的美国股市和受到良好支撑的金价令黄金投资者举棋不定,这两大因素也促使了更多的投资者出售手中的金条和金币,而非增加这方面的投资。

欧洲的黄金投资需求则连续第二年出现两位数的跌幅:该地区全年零售投资总额为153.3吨(下降11%)。在9月份创下历史新高后,欧元黄金价格在今年剩余时间里稳定在高位。但部分地区需求依然强劲,尤其是在德国: 澳大利亚珀斯铸币厂(Perth Mint)将12月份金币销售的大幅增长归因于德国的强劲需求。 

脚注

  1. 中国证监会表示,这些基金公司将在获批后9个月内上市。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2019

30 January, 2020

Investment

Growth in annual investment demand was fuelled by ETF inflows, while bar and coin demand was contrastingly weak

  • Gold’s price rise had a mixed impact on investment: bar and coin investors took profits, while momentum buying contributed to inflows into gold-backed ETFs
  • Low interest rates and geopolitical uncertainty pushed holdings of gold-backed ETFs to record highs of 2,905.9t during Q4
  • A 10-year low in bar and coin demand owed much to steep declines in China and India.
Tonnes 2018 2019   YoY
Investment 1,169.8 1,271.7 9%
Bar & coin 1,093.6 870.6 -20%
  India 162.4 145.8 -10%
  China, P.R.:Mainland 308.0 211.1 -31%
Gold-backed ETFs 76.2 401.1 426%

Price was a key feature of the gold market in 2019. The gold price rallied to a six-year high in US dollar terms and hit record levels in a range of other currencies – euro, Indian rupee, Turkish lira and South African rand among them. This price strength had clear implications for gold demand across all sectors. But investment demand was more intricately linked to the dynamics of the gold price, being a a major contributor to its rise. 

As is often the case during periods of high and rising prices, retail and professional investment behaviour diverged: bar and coin investors were more inclined to capitalise on the price rise by selling existing holdings or waiting for the price to find a steadier footing. n contrast, positioning in US futures – widely accepted as representing the sentiment of more tactical investors – turned sharply bullish in June as the Federal Reserve began to ease rates. Comex Net longs reached all-time highs equivalent to 1,134t in September. This bullish sentiment among professional investors contributed to the price rise, which in turn attracted further momentum-driven investment inflows, notably into ETFs. 

ETFs

Gold holdings in physically-backed ETFs and similar products closed 2019 at 2885.5t thanks to annual inflows of 401.1t. In US dollar value terms, the combination of annual net inflows of US$19.2bn and an 18% rise in the gold price lifted AUM to US$141.1bn by the end of December.  

Monetary policy and geopolitics fuelled the bulk of annual inflows, while the price rise also drew in momentum-driven inflows. North American funds saw the largest net increase in 2019, adding 206t (US$10.1bn) as growing geopolitical tensions and the first Fed rate cuts in a decade fuelled market uncertainty and reduced the opportunity cost of investing in gold. European funds added 188t (US$8.8bn). Half of this growth was directed into UK-based funds, which added 91t (US$4.1bn) on the back of ongoing Brexit concerns. Asian funds finished the year relatively flat, losing 0.1t, while funds in other regions added 7.6t, with most of the growth coming from Australian-listed funds as the gold priced soared in local currency terms.

After exceptional Q3 inflows of 256t, momentum slowed in Q4. Inflows in October and December were punctuated by outflows in November: the net result was a 26.8t increase in global holdings during the quarter.  Global holdings reached record highs of 2,905.9t in mid-October and although these levels were not sustained, they held up near historical highs for the remainder of the year.

Ultra-low interest rates and persistent global geopolitical uncertainty have been the twin engines of long-term growth in European-listed funds. Q4 growth was concentrated in European-listed funds, which added 34.1t during the quarter (+2%). Q4 saw a broad continuation of the supportive themes that had encouraged positive investor sentiment in previous quarters, namely: high gold prices, the low/negative interest rate environment, and ongoing geo-political issues. And increasingly during the fourth quarter, investors became anxious over whether the long-term bull trend in the US stock market may run out of steam. 

Since dipping below 1,600t at the end of 2015, global gold-backed ETF holdings have nearly doubled – growing 81% to just shy of 2,900t at year-end. And the geographical allocation of these holdings has shifted over this time. Four years ago, US-listed funds accounted for almost two-thirds of global holdings (922.8t) and European-listed funds for just over one-third (583.6t). This regional split is now closer to 50:50 after holdings of European-listed funds more than doubled: by the end of 2019, they held 1,322.1t. 

Global gold-backed ETF holdings hit an all-time high in Q4 2019

Global gold-backed ETF holdings hit an all-time high in Q4 2019

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Holdings of Chinese-listed gold ETFs saw a 4.6t outflow in Q4 as the bullish Q3 momentum in the gold price cooled. But total holdings of 44.9t were largely unchanged at the end of 2019 when compared with end-2018: the 10t outflow from H1 was cancelled out by an equal inflow in H2, driven by risk-hedging, price momentum and innovations.

AUM in Chinese gold-backed ETFs reached an all-time high in September 2019. Impacted by uncertainties from the US-China trade dispute, USD/CNY breached CNY7 in August for the first time in 11 years. Coupled with the bullish gold price momentum during the third quarter, this pushed holdings in domestic gold ETFs to 17bn yuan (equal to US$2.2bn) – the highest in history. 

China’s gold-backed ETF market is expanding.  The China Securities Regulatory Commission (CSRC) approved three new gold-backed exchange-traded funds late October 2019, raising the number of Chinese gold-backed ETFs to seven. These new ETFs, also fully backed by physical gold, will be managed by ICBC Credit Suisse Asset Management, China Asset Management and the First Seafront Fund Management, and listed within the next six months.1

Bar and coin

Full-year retail investment tumbled to a 10-year low. Annual demand for gold bars and coins dropped 20% y-o-y to 870.6t – the lowest level since 2009. Much of the decline came from a sharp decline in the two largest markets: China and India. The drop off in investment was mostly a reaction to the price rally and higher price volatility with added pressure coming from a slowdown in the domestic economies of both countries. But weakness was by no means confined to China and India: investment was notably weaker across much of Asia, the Middle East and the west. 

Global bar and coin demand fell to a ten-year low in 2019

Global bar and coin demand fell to a ten-year low in 2019

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Another steep fall in Chinese bar and coin demand in Q4 compounded the annual decline. Q4 demand declined 35% y-o-y at 47.6t, bringing the annual total to 211.1t (-31% y-o-y). The rising gold price was the major factor denting bar and coin demand throughout the year; some investors took profits, while others deferred their investment decisions for a better entrance point as the gold price stayed high. 

China’s economic slowdown was another contributor to softness in bar and coin demand. And while China’s GDP growth slowed to the lowest level in 27 years, inflation was simultaneously surging, resulting in tighter budgets.

Indian Q4 retail investment fell for a second consecutive quarter, pulling annual demand down 10% to 146t. Gold bar and coin demand during 2019 as a whole was overshadowed by the runaway performance of the stock market. The BSE Sensex reached successive record highs throughout the year, capturing the attention of urban investors, who piled into the market. 

Equity market investment was supported by three key factors: 

  • the reduction in corporate tax rate from 30% to 22%, 
  • disinvestment of government shareholding in five public sector enterprises
  • and the possibility of a trade agreement between US and China. 

After reaching lofty highs of 41,681 towards the end of December, the Sensex fetched a total return of 6.8% in Q4 compared to 4.3% on gold and a meagre 1.9% on 10-year government bonds. 

High prices were a headwind for investment demand during Dhanteras. Although the festival boosted gold coin purchases, they ended around 10-15% lower y-o-y. Digital gold platforms however, witnessed a notable uptick in sales during the festival; low entry points for digital gold investments (as low as Rs1) helped combat the affordability barrier created by higher gold prices.

India continues its efforts to regulate and standardise the gold industry. The BIS recently announced standards for delivery of a range of items, including gold. Under the good delivery standards, gold processed by domestic refineries that meet the requirements will now be eligible for delivery on the domestic Multi Commodity Exchange (MCX). The introduction of good delivery standards will help pave the way for bullion banking and gold spot exchange in India.

Almost without exception, investment demand fell across the Asian region: Japan and Thailand were significant contributors to the region’s weakness. Japan saw negative net investment in each quarter of 2019, generating annual net disinvestment of 19.7t – easily the worst year for gold investment since 2011. The increase in consumption tax imposed in October, coinciding with local gold prices near their record highs, discouraged fresh investment. 

Investment in Thailand recovered from Q3’s negative levels, but – at 11t – was nevertheless fairly anaemic in Q4. The relative strength of the Thai baht throughout much of 2019 meant investors were less focused on the need for gold as a safe-haven.

Turkey was an outlier: Q4 investment more than doubled y-o-y. Bar and coin demand grew 138% y-o-y to 20t, lifting the annual total to 53t (+40% y-o-y) The reasons for the Q4 jump in demand were twofold: many of the investors who had sold into the Q3 price rise bought back again as the gold price dipped back, expecting a resumption of the rally. And some investors chose to redeem their sovereign gold bond, taking delivery of gold coins as the bonds matured. 

Iran was the laggard in a Middle East region beset by weakness. Q4 bar and coin demand in Iran halved to 8t, although the drop was partly due to the comparison being made with a high Q4 2018. A sharp currency-led jump in the local gold price during the quarter staved off fresh investment, but safe haven buying is likely to have resumed in recent weeks as a response to the recent troubles. 

Losses were seen across the rest of the region as punishingly high gold prices added to the burden on investors already disheartened by challenging economic conditions.

US annual bar and coin demand sank to a fresh post-financial crisis low of 20t. Gold battled the twin elements of continued growth in equity markets and a well-supported gold price, which together encouraged more investors to sell their bar and coin holdings than build their investments.

Europe saw a second year of double-digit declines: annual retail investment for the region totalled 153.3t (-11%). After reaching record historical highs in September, the euro gold price stabilised at elevated levels for the remainder of the year. Demand remains robust, particularly among German-speaking markets: Australia’s Perth Mint attributed a sharp uptick in December gold coin sales to strong demand from Germany. 

Footnotes

  1. According to the CSRC, these fund companies will list products no more than nine months after their approval.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]