来自我们首席执行官的声明

世界黄金协会及其会员认可人权的重要性。2019年9月发布的《负责任黄金开采原则》中特别谈到了人权和冲突,承诺所有遵守该原则的金矿公司都将尊重员工、受影响社区以及所有与之相关人员的人权。而遵守《负责任黄金开采原则》是世界黄金协会对其会员的要求。

此外,《原则》中还包含一个关于多样性和包容性的具体原则,明确规定了在公司各级促进多样性的承诺,包括历史上代表性不足的群体的代表性和包容性。

在2012年,世界黄金协会与我们的会员一起开展了制定《非冲突黄金标准》的工作,这是首个由行业主导的、规定如何在被评估为存在严重人权问题风险的地区负责任运作的方案。

虽然我们不能代表每个独立的公司发声,但时事关系到每个人,包括那些从事黄金行业的人。我们和我们的会员坚信,负责任的黄金开采能够支持持续的社会和经济发展,解决贫困问题,并为每个人带来一个更美好的世界。

泰达维 (David Tait)
首席执行官,世界黄金协会

David Tait

Statement from our CEO

The World Gold Council and its Members recognise the importance of human rights. The Responsible Gold Mining Principles, released in September 2019, specifically talk to Human Rights and Conflict, committing all implementing companies to respect the human rights of their workforce, affected communities and all those people with whom they interact. Conformance with the Responsible Gold Mining Principles is a requirement for membership of the World Gold Council.

There is also a specific principle on diversity and inclusion, clearly setting out the commitment to promote diversity at all levels of the company, including the representation and inclusion of historically under-represented groups.

This follows work undertaken in 2012 by the World Gold Council alongside our Members in developing the Conflict-Free Gold Standard, the first industry-led approach to setting out how to operate responsibly in areas assessed to be at risk of serious human rights concerns.

Whilst we can’t speak on behalf of individual companies, current events are concerning to everyone, including those involved in the gold industry. We and our Members firmly believe that responsible gold mining can support sustained social and economic development, address poverty and lead to a better world for everybody.

David Tait,
CEO, World Gold Council

David Tait