2019全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2019全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2019年全球黄金需求降至4,355.7吨

2019年全球黄金需求下降1%;黄金ETF及类似产品的大幅流入被因高金价导致的消费需求的显著下滑抵消

2019年上下半年的黄金需求表现截然不同:上半年大多数行业黄金需求的韧性/增长与下半年的疲软形成鲜明对比。在第四季度延续三季度疲软表现的情形下,2019下半年全球黄金需求同比下滑10%,尤其是在金饰,零售金条与金币消费方面。全球央行购金量同样有所下降:从上半年同比65%的增长转变为下半年同比38%的下降;但这应部分归咎于高基数效应:前几个季度的央行购金需求尤为强劲。即便如此,2019年的央行购金量还是达到了五十年来的历史第二高 – 650.3吨。全球黄金ETF规模的上升对支撑整体黄金需求起到了支柱性作用。投资者在前三季度对黄金ETF兴趣盎然,总流入达到了256.3吨。而该趋势在四季度有所减弱:总流入量降至26.8吨(同比下滑76%)。尽管电子行业用金需求在四季度出现了一定的复苏,科技用金需求在2019年还是出现了小幅下滑。全年黄金供应量上升至4,776.1吨,增幅2%。而该增长则完全来自于回收金供应与对冲需求的上升,金矿供应本身下降了1%,至3,463.7吨。

2019年,全球黄金ETF规模的大幅增长几乎抵消了消费需求的显著下滑

2019年,全球黄金ETF规模的大幅增长几乎持平于消费需求的显著下滑

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

摘要

2019年四季度黄金总体需求同比下滑19%,降至1,045.2吨。其背后的主要因素为高金价导致的金饰和金条需求的疲软。但若以总体美元价值计,四季度需求的下降则显得温和许多 – 仅同比减少3%至497亿美元。

全球黄金ETF及类似产品的流入令总持仓达到了2,885.5吨的年终历史新高。2019年全年,总持仓增长了401.1吨,其中,第四季度增幅为26.8吨。全年大多数的流入集中在第三季度,在该季度,美元金价升至六年以来最高。

全球央行已连续十年成为了黄金的净买家:全球黄金储备资产在2019年增长了650.3吨(同比下滑1%),全年增量为五十年来第二高。109.6吨的第四季度央行购金量与去年同期相比下滑了34%,但这部分原因在于2018年的央行购金需求更为强劲。

中国与印度基本主导了全球的黄金消费需求。这两个全球最大的黄金需求国合计占据了全球第四季度金饰与零售投资需求同比降幅的80%。高金价和更为疲软的经济环境是主要因素。

全球黄金供应在2019年小幅上升2%,至4,776.1吨。该增长背后的主要因素在于回收金供应11%的上升 – 下半年金价的快速上涨令多数黄金持有者于高位卖出获利。2019年的金矿供应则略降至3,463.7吨,这也是金矿供应在十年多以来的首次下滑。

四季度的平均金价为1,481美元/盎司。这是自2013年第一季度以来的最高季均价。尽管该价格低于三季度的高位,但其支撑较为稳固。而以其他多种货币 – 例如欧元,印度卢比以及土耳其里拉 – 计价的黄金价格均达到了历史最高。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2019

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2019

Annual gold demand dips to 4,355.7t

Gold demand fell 1% in 2019 as a huge rise in investment flows into ETFs and similar products was matched by the price-driven slump in consumer demand.

2019 was broadly a year of two distinct halves: resilience/growth across most sectors in the first half of the year contrasted with widespread y-o-y declines in the second. Global demand in H2 was down 10% on the same period of 2018 as y-o-y losses in Q4 compounded those from Q3, notably in jewellery demand and retail bar and coin investment. Central bank demand also slowed in the second half – down 38% in contrast with H1’s 65% increase. But this was partly due to the sheer scale of buying in the preceding few quarters and annual purchases nevertheless reached a remarkable 650.3t – the second highest level for 50 years. ETF investment inflows bucked the general trend. Investment in these products held up strongly throughout the first nine months of the year, reaching a crescendo of 256.3t in Q3. Momentum then subsided in Q4, with inflows slowing to 26.8t (-76% y-o-y). Technology saw modest declines throughout the year, although electronics demand staged a minor recovery in Q4. The annual supply of gold increased 2% to 4,776.1t. This growth came purely from recycling and hedging, as mine production slipped 1% to 3,436.7t.

 

Huge rise in ETF inflows almost equalled the sharp drop in consumer demand in 2019

Huge rise in ETF inflows almost equalled the sharp drop in consumer demand in 2019

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Highlights

Total fourth quarter demand fell 19% y-o-y to 1,045.2t. Two main contributors to the y-o-y drop were jewellery and physical bar demand, both of which reacted to the elevated gold price. In US dollar value terms, the decline in Q4 demand was much shallower – down just 3% to US$49.7bn.

Inflows into global gold-backed ETFs and similar products pushed total holdings to a record year-end total of 2885.5t. Holdings grew by 401.1t over the year, with 26.8t added in Q4. Inflows were heavily concentrated in Q3 as the US dollar gold price rallied to a six-year high.

Central banks were net buyers for a 10th consecutive year: global reserves grew by 650.3t (-1% y-o-y), the second highest annual total for 50 years. Purchasing in Q4 of 109.6t was 34% lower y-o-y, although this was partly a reflection of the sheer scale of buying in 2018. 

China and India held sway over global consumer demand. Together, the two gold consuming giants accounted for 80% of the y-o-y decline in Q4 jewellery and retail investment demand. High gold prices and a softer economic environment were the main culprits. 

Total annual gold supply edged up 2% to 4,776.1t. An 11% jump in recycling was the main reason for the increase, as consumers capitalised on the sharp rise in the gold price in the second half of the year. Annual mine production was marginally lower at 3,463.7t – the first annual decline for more than 10 years.

The gold price averaged US$1,481/oz in Q4. This was the highest average price since Q1 2013. Although the price remained below the Q3 high, it was well supported. And gold priced in various currencies – including euros, Indian rupees and Turkish lira – hit their highest levels in history. 
 

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]

Rate this content: