2020年黄金市场展望

高度不确定时期的风险偏好

我们预计,2020年的黄金需求将在市场风险和经济增长的相互作用下被推高。我们重点分析了以下三大趋势:

  • 金融市场的不稳定性和利率的下滑

  • 全球经济增长势头放缓

  • 黄金价格波动

  • 文章还探讨了基于 QaurumSM,我们创新性的估值工具,得出的黄金在各种宏观经济环境情景下的表现。

    2019年黄金表现亮眼

    2019年的黄金表现是自2010年以来最好的。去年,以美元计价的黄金价格上涨了18.4%,跑赢了同期全球主要债券和新兴市场股票指数(图1)。此外,除美元和瑞士法郎外,以全球主要货币计价的黄金价格均达到了历史新高(参照第5页“附录”中的表2)。

    在6月初至9月初这段时间内,随着不确定因素的增多以及利率走低,金价的上涨势头是年内最强劲的。但事实上,在过去的一整年里,投资者对黄金都表现出了浓厚的兴趣。 这一点从强劲的全球黄金ETF流入稳健的央行购金需求以及Comex黄金净多头持仓的增长中可窥见一斑。

     图 1: 黄金跑赢债券和新兴市场股票

    图 1: 黄金跑赢债券和新兴市场股票

    全球主要资产年度表现*

    来源: 彭博社, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

     

    高风险和低利率并存的局面恐将出现

    我们预计,过去几年间萌发的众多势头将在2020年成为持续支撑黄金需求的动力。

    具体而言,我们认为: 

    • 金融市场与地缘政治的不确定性,外加低利率,可能会继续支撑黄金投资的需求
    • 各国央行的黄金净购买量可能仍将保持强劲增长态势,尽管可能会低于近几个季度创下的历史高点。
    • 市场势能和投机仓位可能会使金价的波动居高不下
    • 金价波动以及经济增长放缓的预期可能会造成近期黄金消费需求的走软,但从长期来看,印度和中国的结构性经济改革将支撑黄金需求。

     

    免责声明及其他重要信息

    © 2020世界黄金协会。版权所有。 世界黄金协会和圆环图案是世界黄金协会或其附属机构的商标。

    对LBMA黄金价格的所有引用已获得洲际交易所基准管理机构的批准,仅供参考之用。对于价格和引用价格的标的产品的准确性,洲际交易所基准管理机构不承担任何责任。所有第三方内容均为各第三方的知识产权,所有权利应为该方所有。

    未经世界黄金协会或相关知识产权所有者的事先书面同意,不得复制或再分发本文件的任何内容,但符合下述规定的情况除外。

    本文件中的统计数据仅可用于根据行业的公平做法和以下两个前提条件进行综述和评论:(i) 仅允许使用部分节选内容;(ii) 使用任何内容时都应明确标注内容来源为世界黄金协会以及(在适当情况下)Metals Focus、Refinitiv GFMS或者经过确认的其他第三方。

    世界黄金协会不保证任何信息的准确性和完整性。对于使用本文件而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,世界黄金协会不承担任何责任。

    本文件所含信息不构成购买或销售黄金或任何产品、服务或证券的建议或要约。

    本文件包含前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述是基于当前预期,可能会被修改。前瞻性陈述包含一些风险和不确定性。无法保证任何前瞻性陈述会成为现实。

    有关Qaurum与黄金估值框架的信息

    注意,通过使用Qaurum、黄金估值框架及其他信息而取得的各种投资成果的最终表现,从本质上讲是假设性的,可能无法体现实际投资成果,也不保证未来的回报。多元化不保证投资回报,也无法消除损失风险。 世界黄金协会及其附属机构(统称“WGC”)不保证该工具的作用,包括但不限于任何预测、估算或计算。

    对于使用工具或本文件所含信息而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,WGC不承担任何责任。WGC世界黄金协会不保证本文件所含信息的准确性和完整性。从本质上讲,本文件所含信息(包括工具)仅供参考之用。接受本文件所含信息,这表明你认同其预期目的。

    本文件所含信息未考虑投资目标、金融状况或任何人士的特殊需要。本文件所含信息不构成且不可视为构成黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具的购买或销售或者收购或招商的建议、投资建议或要约。

Gold Outlook 2020

Risk appetite amid high uncertainty

As we look ahead, we expect that the interplay between market risk and economic growth will drive gold demand in 2020. In particular, we focus our attention to:

  • financial uncertainty and lower interest rates

  • weakening in global economic growth

  • gold price volatility.

In our new gold market outlook, we also explore the performance of gold implied by QaurumSM, our innovative valuation tool, across various hypothetical macroeconomic scenarios.

    Gold shone in 2019

    Gold had its best performance since 2010, rising by 18.4% in US dollar terms last year. It also outperformed major global bond and emerging market stock benchmarks in the same period (Chart 1). In addition, gold prices reached record highs in most major currencies except the US dollar and Swiss franc (see Table 2 in the Appendix). 

    Gold prices rose most between early June and early September as uncertainty increased and interest rates fell. But investors’ appetite for gold was apparent throughout the year, as seen by strong flows into gold-backed ETFs, growing gold reserves from central banks, and an increase in COMEX net longs positioning.  

     

    Gold Outlook Chart 1: Gold outperformed bonds and EM stocks

    Chart 1: Gold outperformed bonds and EM stocks

    Annual performance of major global assets *

    Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

    *As of 31 December 2019. Annual returns based on the LBMA Gold Price, Bloomberg Barclays US Treasury Index and Global Treasury Index ex US, ICE BAML US 3-month Tbill Index, Bloomberg Barclays US Corporate and High Yield Indices, MSCI EM Index, Bloomberg Commodity TR Index, MSCI EAFE Index, S&P 500 Indices, and Bloomberg Oil TR Index.

     

    High risks and low rates on the horizon

    We expect that many of the global dynamics seeded over the past few years will remain generally supportive for gold in 2020. 

    In particular, we believe that: 

    • Financial and geopolitical uncertainty combined with low interest rates will likely bolster gold investment demand
    • Net gold purchases by central banks will likely remain robust even if they are lower than the record highs seen in recent quarters
    • Momentum and speculative positioning may keep gold price volatility elevated
    • And while gold price volatility and expectations of weaker economic growth may result in softer consumer demand near term, structural economic reforms in India and China will support demand in the long term.

    Read the full commentary, analysis, and see hypothetical forecasts for gold performance in 2020 as implied by Qaurum based on a range of maco-economic scenarios developed by Oxford Economics in our new outlook, or try Qaurum to customise your own scenarios.

     

    Copyright and other rights

    © 2020 World Gold Council. All rights reserved. World Gold Council and the Circle device are trademarks of the World Gold Council or its affiliates.

    All references to LBMA Gold Price are used with the permission of ICE Benchmark Administration Limited and have been provided for informational purposes only. ICE Benchmark Administration Limited accepts no liability or responsibility for the accuracy of the prices or the underlying product to which the prices may be referenced. Other third-party content is the intellectual property of the respective third party and all rights are reserved to them.  Metals Focus is an affiliate of World Gold Council

    Reproduction or redistribution of any of this information is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of World Gold Council or the appropriate copyright owners, except as specifically provided below.

    The use of the statistics in this information is permitted for the purposes of review and commentary (including media commentary) in line with fair industry practice, subject to the following two pre-conditions: (i) only limited extracts of data or analysis be used; and (ii) any and all use of these statistics is accompanied by a citation to World Gold Council and, where appropriate, to Metals Focus or other identified third-party source, as their source.

    World Gold Council does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information. World Gold Council does not accept responsibility for any losses or damages arising directly or indirectly from the use of this information.

    This information is not a recommendation or an offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”). Investors should discuss their individual circumstances with their appropriate investment professionals before making any decision regarding any Services or investments.

    This information contains forward-looking statements, such as statements which use the words “believes”, “expects”, “may”, or “suggests”, or similar terminology, which are based on current expectations and are subject to change. Forward-looking statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that any forward-looking statements will be achieved. We assume no responsibility for updating any forward-looking statements.