ETF每月评论

全球黄金ETF资产管理规模在2020年第一季度的增幅创历史记录

已发布:

月度流量 月度流量数据

2020年第一季度摘要

全球黄金ETF及类似产品持仓在第一季度增长了298吨,合计净流入230亿美元,这也是史上最高的以美元绝对值衡量的季度资产管理规模增幅,同时其持仓的吨数增长则为2016年以来的季度最高。在过去的一年里,全球黄金ETF的持仓增加了659吨,是在金融危机后最高的滚动年度增幅,同时期资产管理规模在同期上升了57%。

三月摘要

全球黄金ETF持仓在三月份增加了151吨,约合81亿美元(即资产管理规模的5%)的净流入,这令总持仓规模达到了创纪录的3,185吨.1。达成这一创纪录的持仓和资产管理总规模的背景是,金价波动率达到金融危机水平且美元金价在本月几无涨跌。 而以其他货币计价的黄金价格却持续创历史新高,这也反映出了美国地区以外的黄金ETF持仓不断增长的趋势:欧洲地区,亚洲地区以及其他区域的基金都在本月出现创纪录的规模增长。

 

ETF 流量1

ZH ETF flows chart

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

区域流量回顾

新冠肺炎疫情对全球经济短期以及长期影响的不确定性令多数资产的波动率大幅上升,同时也令全球主要权益市场进入熊市,并驱使投资者转向债券及黄金等避险资产。在此背景下,三月份全球所有地区的黄金ETF都出现了强劲的流入。

欧洲地区基金的流入为全球最高,其总持仓上升了84吨(净流入44亿美元,资产管理规模的5.8%),北美地区基金持仓则上升了57吨(32亿美元,4%)。而亚洲地区基金-主要由中国的黄金ETF驱动-持仓增长了4.9吨(3.09亿美元,6.4%),其他地区的基金规模则出现了9.4%的增长,持仓上升4.7吨,约合2.49亿美元。

金价表现

尽管三月美元金价收于1,609美元/盎司,较月初几无变动,但月内金价的波动巨大。上次出现如此之高的金价已实现波动率还是在2011年欧洲信用危机期间,而金价的隐含波动率-也就是投资者对未来波动率的期望- 则达到了全球金融危机期间的水平。我们在近期发布的《投资快讯:金价随市场抛售而波动》中也重点讨论了造成此现象的原因。

我们提到,当风险资产,例如当股票被大量抛售,投资者的资金需求也大幅上升,此时投资者会卖出表现较好且流动性强的资产,例如黄金,来补足账户资金要求。在此背景下,金价的降幅最低达到了7%,几乎抹平了今年以来的全部涨幅。美债表现同样较弱,这表明了黄金并不是唯一表现欠佳的避险资产。但与上次金融危机类似,对冲此类尾部风险有效且及时的资产是VIX指数,而这也为未来金价变动给予了一些潜在的指引。

在2008年金融危机股市抛售期间,金价跌幅超30%,但全年来看,金价还是上涨了近4%。紧随2008年金融危机之后是美联储的量化宽松政策,以及其他全球各国的货币政策干预,这令黄金当年的最高涨幅达到了600%。其中的驱动包括更高的风险,尤其是在欧洲地区,以及在低利率环境下黄金的储值功能和降低的持有成本。在2008年9月莱曼兄弟最终破产之前的三个月中,全球黄金ETF总规模几乎没有变动。在此之后的两周内,黄金ETF持仓上升了146吨,即其持仓规模的15%,而在2008年全年,其持仓则增长了235吨,即其持仓规模的24%。在随后的三年内,总持仓增长了1,296吨,或资产管理规模的107%。

而在最近的全球市场抛售之后,美联储以及全球其他央行启动了新一轮的量化宽松政策,因多数央行未设置上限,这被许多人成为“无限量宽松”。这驱动金价涨回到了月初的水平。而在2020年截至2月19日标普500创历史新高期间,全球黄金ETF持仓上升了109吨,即其规模的3.7%。在此之后的六周内总持仓又上升了189吨,即其规模的6.3%。若本次趋势与2008年危机期间类似,那么全球黄金ETF在未来几个月的流入将大幅上升,而4月初,我们已看到了这样的迹象。

截至发布时,今年黄金已跑赢了大多数主流资产,其涨幅达7%。黄金的强劲表现再次将其与大宗商品区别开来,三月,主要大宗商品指数跌幅超13%,而原油(WTI)再度下跌了25%。

三月全球黄金的日均成交量达达2,360亿美元,同比增长61%,而同期期货持仓则从上个月的1,220亿美元降至本月的1,060亿美元,其主因在于多数黄金期货在本月下半月到期交割。COMEX黄金期货净多仓位4在2月创下历史最高的1,209吨(630亿美元)之后,在本月初大幅下滑,但随着金价反弹,其也出现了小幅上升。

展望未来

近期驱动黄金投资需求的因素或将持续:广泛的市场不确定性以及全球利率下滑后降低的黄金持仓成本。我们研究发现,低利率对金价存在正面影响,并且低利率环境也是额外增持黄金(通过替换债券持仓)的好机会。

随着美联储在可预见的未来把利率降至0,黄金或表现强劲,我们的研究表明,在宽松周期中黄金往往表现突出。此外,全球各国政府为应对新冠疫情而颁布的数以万亿计的财政政策或导致高通胀的环境,这有望在长期支撑金价。

2020黄金市场展望中,我们曾强调了一些重要的金价驱动因素,我们认为这些因素还将持续。尽管更高的不确定性将推动更高的黄金投资需求,但这样的不确定性以及对经济的影响有可能对金条金币和金饰需求造成负面影响。然而我们相信,黄金的投资需求足够弥补黄金的消费需求,与2019年全球黄金需求表现类似。

各地区流量2

所有地区基金在三月都出现了强劲的流入

  • 欧洲地区:持仓量上升84吨(44亿美元,5.8%)
  • 北美地区:持仓量上升57吨(32亿美元,3.9%)
  • 亚洲地区:持仓量上升4.9吨(3.09亿美元,6.4%)
  • 其他地区:持仓量上升4.7吨(2.49亿美元,9.4%)

具体基金流量变化

SPDR® Gold Shares 与 Invesco Physical Gold的增长规模引领全球

  • 北美地区:SPDR® Gold Shares 的流入冠绝全球(+32.7吨,18亿美元,3.8%),iShares Gold Trust 则流入13.2吨(7.29亿美元,3.7%)。 SPDR® Gold MiniShares则领先低成本基金3的流入, 规模增长15%,或2.14亿美元, Graniteshares Gold Trust规模上升9%,持仓增长0.67亿美元
  • 欧洲地区:Invesco Physical Gold 与 iShares Physical 持仓上升 33吨 (17亿美元,22%),29吨(15亿美元,18%)。同时,法国的Amundi持仓上升16吨(8.19亿美元,54%); Xtrackers Physical EUR流出了11.6吨(5.81亿美元,14.2%),WisdomTree Physical Swiss Gold则流出 7.6吨(3.83亿美元,12.2%)
  • 中国地区:博时黄金ETF持仓上升2.5吨(1.41亿美元,20.6%)

长期趋势

全球黄金ETF在一季度的资产管理规模增幅创下历史记录

  • 全球黄金ETF资产管理规模在过去的12个月中增长了近56%
  • 当前全球黄金ETF的资产管理规模和持仓量都处于历史最高水平
  • 英国的黄金ETF规模继续上升,在区域和全球的市场份额不断增长,目前占据欧洲黄金ETF市场总规模的46%,全球的21%;
  • 美国的低成本黄金ETF 在过去的22个月中有21个月都出现了净流入,其持仓累计上升263%3

脚注

  1. 我们会定期审查我们跟踪的全球黄金ETF并根据最新信息调整我们的名单。

  2. 备注:我们同时以盎司/吨和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨数变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同

  3. 美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率不超过20个基点的黄金ETF。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, 与 Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

  4. 净多仓位是指在COMEX期货市场上管理基金与其他净多仓位

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold ETF assets realised their largest ever quarterly gain in Q1 2020

Published:

PDF XLSX

Q1 2020 highlights

Global gold-backed ETFs (gold ETFs) and similar products added 298 tonnes(t), or net inflows of US$23bn, across all regions in the first quarter of 2020 – the highest quarterly amount ever in absolute US dollar terms and the largest tonnage additions since 2016. During the past year, gold ETFs added 659t, the highest on a rolling annual basis since the financial crisis, with assets under management (AUM) growing 57% over the same period.

March highlights

Globally, gold ETFs added 151t – net inflows of US$8.1bn (+5%) – in March, boosting holdings to new all-time highs of 3,185t.1 Trading volumes and AUM reached record highs as gold volatility increased to levels last seen during the financial crisis, yet gold price performance was mostly flat in US dollars for the month. Gold prices denominated in many other currencies, however, continued to reach all-time highs although the price in US dollars remained 15% below its 2011 high. This highlights a continued trend of growth in gold ETFs outside of the US over the past few years; a trend underscored by European funds seeing the largest absolute inflows and Asia and other regions registering the largest percentage growth during the month..

 

ETF flows 1

ETF flows chart

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Regional overview

Uncertainty around the short- and long-term economic impacts of COVID-19 continues to drive sharp volatility across many assets, leaving global equities in bear market territory while encouraging inflows into safe-havens like US treasuries and gold. Against this backdrop, gold ETFs listed in all regions experienced strong inflows during the month.

European funds led regional inflows, growing by 84t (US$4.4bn, 5.8% AUM), while North American funds added 57t (US$3.2bn, 4%). Asian funds – primarily in China – also finished the month with strong inflows, adding 4.9t (US$309mn, 6.4%), and funds in other regions grew 9.4%, adding 4.7t and US$249mn.

Price performance

Despite finishing the month almost unchanged at US$1,609/oz, gold was incredibly volatile during March. This realised volatility of gold across tenors rivalled levels last seen during the European credit crisis in 2011 and the implied volatility – or how much investors expected gold would move across tenors – reached levels last seen during the global financial crisis. There are a number of reasons for this, as highlighted in our recent Investment Update: Gold prices swing as markets sell off.

We noted that when risk assets like stocks sold off sharply, investors needed to meet capital requirements; one way they were able to do this was to sell a liquid and outperforming asset like gold. At its trough, gold sold off 7% during the month, effectively giving up its yearly gains only to rebound later. US treasuries were also weaker intra-month, indicating that gold was not the only safe-haven asset to show weakness. However, similar to the 2008-2009 financial crisis, the major tail risk-hedge that worked well – and worked immediately – was the VIX index, and this could potentially give some foresight into upcoming gold price moves.

When stocks sold off sharply in 2008 gold experienced a few pullbacks, falling more than 30% from peak to trough but rallied back to close 4% higher on the year. What followed was the initial Quantitative Easing (QE) program in the US, along with similar monetary policy interventions worldwide, which propelled gold over 600% higher at its peak in September 2011. Other drivers included: higher risk, particularly in the European region, gold’s store of value quality coming to the fore and an improved opportunity cost in the face of lower rates. I the three months leading up to the September 2008 Lehman Brothers bankruptcy, gold-backed ETF flows were relatively unchanged. Following the QE announcement, gold ETFs added 146t, or 15% to their holdings over the next two weeks and a total of 235t, or 24% to their holdings through the end of 2008, with an additional 1,296t, or 107% in the following three years.

On the heels of the most recent sharp stock selloff this year, the US Federal Reserve (Fed), along with other central banks, instituted new QE programs, labelled by many as ‘QE Infinity’ as most countries have not placed a limit on the amount they are willing to purchase to help the markets. This pushed gold off its lows to close the month flat. Gold ETFs added roughly 109t or 3.7% to assets in 2020 leading up to the 19 February peak in the S&P 500. They have since added 189t, or an additional 6.3% to assets in six weeks. If the trend mirrors the financial crisis, we could see significant inflows in gold ETFs over the coming months, which has been the case to begin the month of April.

At the time of publication, gold has outperformed most major asset classes this year, up by more than 7%. Gold’s performance again distinguished itself from broader commodities, as the broader commodity indices fell over 13% on the month and oil (WTI) fell by a further 25%.

Gold global trading volumes averaged US$236bn a day in March, an increase of 61% y-o-y, while futures open interest decreased last month from US$122bn to US$106bn as a major futures expiration occurred in the second half of the month. COMEX net longs4, via the Commitment of Traders (COT) report, fell sharply in the early part of the month after hitting all-time highs of 1,209t (US$63bn) during February, but moved higher as gold rebounded.

Looking forward

Recent drivers of investment demand are expected to continue: widespread market uncertainty and the improved opportunity cost of holding gold as yields move lower. We have found that lower rates have a postive impact on gold prices and offer the opportunity for additional gold exposure (potentially replacing bonds) in a low-rate environment.

With the Fed taking interest rates to zero for the foreseeable future, gold could do well as it tends to outperform during easing cycles. Additionally, multi-trillion dollar fiscal stimulus policies to combat the economic impact of COVID-19 could prove inflationary – a development that could support gold prices in the long run.

We highlighted a number of current dynamics in our 2020 Outlook and we see those continuing to play out, albeit with more risk and uncertainty increasing investment demand. It is likely, however, that uncertainty and its economic impact will have a negative impact on gold demand for jewellery and bar and coin demand. Despite this, we believe investment demand could more than offset a reduction in consumer demand, as was the case with global gold demand in 2019.

Regional flows2

All regions had strong inflows in March

  • Holdings in European funds increased by 84t (US$4.4bn, 5.8% AUM)
  • North American funds had inflows of 57t (US$3.2bn, 3.9%)
  • Funds listed in Asia added 4.9t (US$309mn, 6.4%)
  • Other regions had inflows of 4.7t (US$249mn, 9.4%).

Individual flows

SPDR® Gold Shares and Invesco Physical Gold led global inflows

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares led global inflows, adding 32.7t (US$1.8bn, 3.8%), while iShares Gold Trust added 13.2t (US$729mn, 3.7%). SPDR® Gold MiniShares led low-cost3 inflows, growing 15% or US$214mn, and Graniteshares Gold Trust grew 9%, adding US$67mn
  • Two UK-based funds led European-fund inflows and outflows: Invesco Physical Gold and iShares Physical added 33t (US$1.7bn, 22%) and 29t (US$1.5bn, 18%) respectively. Also, Amundi in France added 16t (US$819mn, 54%); the Xtrackers Physical EUR had outflows of 11.6t (US$581mn, 14.2%) and WisdomTree Physical Swiss Gold had outflows of 7.6t (US$383mn, 12.2%)
  • In China, Bosera Gold added 2.5t (US$141mn, 20.6%).

Long-term trends

Gold ETFs had their largest quarterly AUM increase

  • Over the past 12 months assets in global gold-backed ETFs have grown 56%
  • Following the March inflows, both holdings and assets of gold-backed ETFs are at all-time highs
  • UK-based gold funds continue to take regional and global market share, now representing 46% of European assets and 21% of global assets
  • Low-cost gold-backed ETFs in the US have seen positive flows for 21 of the past 22 months and have increased their collective assets by 263%.3

Footnotes

  1. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information.

  2. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance industry standard that gives a perspective of how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month when the price of gold was low but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

  3. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined as exchange traded open-ended funds listed in the US, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, and Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

  4. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other Net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]

Rate this content: