投资快讯: 黄金价格随市场抛售而波动

行业: 市场洞察, 投资

与大多数资产类别一样,黄金也受到了现下全球范围内前所未有的经济和金融市场状况的影响。我们认为,近期金价的波动是由所有资产的大规模平仓行为造成的,并可能被带杠杆的头寸和基于规则的交易放大。

黄金还可能被用来变现了,以弥补其他资产类别的损失,原因在于:

  • 尽管最近出现了波动,但黄金仍是今年年初至今表现最好的资产类别之一(图1)
  • 黄金是一种高质量且高流动性的资产,其在3月的日交易量超过2,600亿美元1

迄今为止,抛售似乎更多地集中在交易所和场外交易(OTC)的黄金衍生品上。尽管最近几天黄金ETF出现了减持,但今年的总流入仍为正。3月份,各地区黄金ETF净流入36亿美元,年初至今合计流入115亿美元 (表2)2

展望未来,我们预计经济增长的放缓无疑将影响黄金消费需求,黄金的波动性也可能持续处于高位,但高风险加之普遍的负实际利率以及更多央行的量化宽松政策,将令作为避险资产-黄金的投资需求得到支撑。

 

*截至2020年3月18日。 总收益指数以美元计算,基于ICE三月期国债, 彭博巴克莱(BB)美国债券总额, BB全球债权总额(美国除外), BB美国企业债总额, BB美国高收益债券总额, 纳斯达克, 标普500, 欧澳远东和新兴市场指数, 彭博大宗商品指数,彭博原油指数, 以及LBMA下午定盘黄金现货价。
来源:彭博,洲际交易所,世界黄金协会

不寻常的时期,不确定的结果

对于即将到来的经济衰退,人们的看法往往存在分歧。一些人着眼于与以往危机的相似之处,而另一些人则关注新的信号和担忧。在这个关键时刻,当前(疫情)环境中的情况——普遍的旅行限制、许多部门的彻底关闭、波动率比2008-2009年金融危机期间更高的金融市场——对各年代的多数人来说都是前所未有的危机。避免全球性经济衰退的可能性似乎很低,投资者正准备迎接未来更多的坎坷。如果经济衰退真实发生,其深度和持续时间将取决于各国政府能够多快以及多有效地减缓危机蔓延、缓冲经济、并如愿研制出适当的方法来治疗或预防新冠病毒。

在我们与投资者持续接触的过程中,我们遇到了两个反复被提出的问题。

1.    为什么近期金价会与股市同时下跌?

答案与几个因素有关。其中最突出的一个因素,是过去一周几乎所有资产类别的大规模平仓。黄金也不例外。尽管在3月15日美联储第二次意外降息,将联邦基金利率降至2016年以前的水平之后,即便是长期美国国债的价格也出现了下跌。10年期美国国债收益率在3月9日触及0.33%的历史低点后,目前已升至1%以上。

而作为一种高质量,高流动性的资产,黄金可能也被用来变现,尤其是因为黄金是今年(直到最近)少数几个回报率为正的资产之一。今年截至3月9日,黄金价格上涨了10%,涨幅超过了所有其他主要资产类别。3

这种类型的黄金回调在历史上是有先例的。通常来讲,随着股价下跌,黄金和股票之间的相关性通常会变为负值。4 然而在市场无序抛售期间,即波动率飙升至极端水平时,似乎会产生例外。例如,在2008-2009年金融危机期间,当恐慌指数(VIX)达到创纪录高位时,黄金就曾受到了压力(图2)

最后,抛售似乎更多地集中在交易所的衍生品上。在黄金价格回调之前,COMEX期货的净多头仓位(通常与投机交易相关)非常高(图3)。由于金价在多个技术层面上的下跌,一些持有这些(高杠杆的)仓位的投资者可能被迫卖出,以满足保证金要求。5

 

*截至2020年3月17日。基于CBOE波动率指数(VIX)以及下午定盘金价。
来源:彭博,洲际交易所,世界黄金协会

 

 

*截至2020年3月10日。 
来源:美国商品期货交易委员会(CFTC),彭博,世界黄金协会

 

2.    考虑到当前黄金的波动率,它仍是一种有效的投资组合风险对冲工具吗?

我们相信,截至目前,作为流动性来源和抵押品,黄金在投资组合中发挥了重要作用。从长远来看,我们预计黄金仍将成为一个安全的避风港。

2008年全球金融危机爆发时,黄金也经历了回调,以美元计算的金价下跌了几次,跌幅在15%至25%之间。但到2008年年底,黄金成为与美国国债一样,少数回报率为正的资产之一(图4)

 

*基于2008年1月1日到2008年2月29日的LBMA下午定盘金价。
来源:彭博,洲际交易所,世界黄金协会

 

 

*截至2020年3月18日。回报率以当地货币计算,分别基于LBMA下午定盘金价以及日经225指数,标普500,上证综指,欧洲斯托克50指数,Nifty 50指数和富时100指数,
来源:彭博,洲际交易所,世界黄金协会

 

同样重要的是,尽管黄金价格通常以美元报价,但它对投资组合表现的影响是用投资者的本币来衡量的。今年迄今为止,随着全球股市的大幅下跌,包括英镑、欧元和印度卢比在内的多种货币计价的黄金都出现了正收益 (表1),同时以人民币、美元和日元计价的黄金表现则为持平或略负。

投资者似乎也同意这一点。尽管本周金价回落,在美国和欧洲上市的多数黄金ETF也遭遇抛售,但全球黄金ETF流量仍为正。亚洲本周甚至流入了黄金ETF。3月份,投资者增持36亿美元黄金ETF,年初至今全球共流入115亿美元 (表2)

*截至2020年3月17日。
来源:彭博,公司公告,世界黄金协会

 

接下来会发生什么

既是消费品又是投资资产,黄金的表现与其独特的本质密不可分。另外,黄金表现又与四个关键驱动因素的相互作用有关:6

  • 经济扩张
  • 风险和不确定性
  • 机会成本
  • 势能。

年初至今,已有30多家央行降息,许多央行还实施了额外的量化宽松措施。7  全球各国政府正提供数万亿美元来支持本国公民和经济发展。但不断膨胀的预算赤字、负实际利率和货币贬值,将给资产管理者、退休基金和个人储蓄带来结构性挑战。

金融市场稳定可能需要一段时间。在高波动率的情景中,金价可能会经历更多动荡,但从长期来看,高风险和较低机会成本相结合的环境应该会支撑黄金的投资需求。

我们还预计,各国央行总体上仍将是黄金净买家,尽管购金量增速可能不会达到过去两年的水平。
另一方面,黄金的消费需求可能会大幅减弱。中国国家统计局的初步数据显示,今年前两个月中国黄金、白银和宝石首饰的购买量下降了40%,近期的出行和活动限制无疑也将影响其他地区。然而,从历史上看,在不确定时期的黄金投资需求往往会抵消消费市场的疲软。

 

1截至2020年3月17日。详见Goldhub.com网站上的交易量数据。.

2截至2020年3月17日。详见Goldhub.com网站上的 ETF flows 。

33 每周市场评论, 2020年3月9日。..

4《黄金作为战略资产的重要性》,2020年2月。

5《四种贵金属都出现了大量抛售》,2020年3月16日。

6QuarumSM, 是以世界黄金协会的“黄金估值框架”为基础的线上工具,可以帮助投资者了解这些不同的驱动因素是如何影响黄金的长期表现的。

7http://www.cbrates.com/decisions.htm

重要信息和免责声明

重要信息和免责声明 © 2020世界黄金协会。保留所有权利。世界黄金协会和环形设备是世界黄金协会或其附属机构的商标。

对伦敦金银市场协会黄金价格(LBMA Gold Price)的引用已获得洲际交易所基准管理机构的许可,仅供参考之用。洲际交易所基准管理机构不对这些价格的准确性,或者这些价格对应的产品承担任何责任。其他第三方内容是各个第三方的知识产权,所有权利属于这些第三方。

除非另有特别规定,未经世界黄金协会或相关版权所有者事先书面同意,不得复制或重新发布本信息。信息和统计数据是世界黄金协会或其附属机构(统称“世界黄金协会”)或第三方提供商的版权所有并/或其他知识产权。上述机构保留所有权利。

允许根据公平行业实践,将本文的统计数据用于复核和评论目的,但必须符合以下两个前提条件:(i) 仅允许使用有限的摘录;及(ii) 使用这些统计数据必须注明来自世界黄金协会,并在必要时注明来自Metals Focus、Refinitiv GFMS或其他的可识别的第三方。世界黄金协会与Metals Focus有关联关系。

世界黄金协会不保证任何信息的准确性和完整性。对于使用本文而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,世界黄金协会不承担任何责任。 此信息仅用于教育目的,通过接收此信息,您同意其预期目的。

本文件中任何内容均不旨在构成对黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具(统称“服务”)的建议、投资建议或买卖要约。本资料不考虑任何特定人士的投资目标、财务状况或特殊需要。 多样化不能保证任何投资回报,也不能消除损失的风险。

通过配置黄金而产生的各种投资结果的结果表现本质上是假设的,可能不能反映实际的投资结果,也不能保证未来的结果。世界黄金协会不保证或担保在任何假设投资组合中使用的任何计算和模型,或任何此类使用产生的任何结果。

投资者在作出任何有关服务或投资的决定前,应与适当的投资专业人士讨论其个人情况。 这些信息可能包含前瞻性陈述,例如使用“相信”、“预期”、“可能”或“建议”等词的陈述,或类似的术语,这些术语是基于当前的预期,可能会发生变化。前瞻性声明涉及若干风险和不确定性。无法保证任何前瞻性陈述会成为现实。世界黄金协会不承担更新任何前瞻性陈述的责任。

Investment Update: Gold prices swing as markets sell off

Like most asset classes, gold is being affected by the unprecedented economic and financial market conditions in play around the globe. We believe that recent volatility in the gold price has been driven by massive liquidations across all assets, and likely magnified by leveraged positions and rule-based trading. 

Gold has also likely been used to raise cash to cover losses in other asset classes because:

  • it remains one of the best performing asset classes year-to-date (y-t-d), despite recent fluctuations (Chart 1)
  • it is a high quality and highly liquid asset, trading over US$260 billion (bn) per day in March1

Thus far, selling appears more concentrated on derivatives in exchanges and over-the-counter (OTC). While gold-backed ETFs have experienced outflows in recent days, flows remain positive for the year. Funds across regions have seen US$3.6bn of net inflows in March, giving a collective total of US$11.5bn y-t-d (Table 2).2

Looking ahead, we believe the deceleration in economic growth will undoubtedly impact gold consumer demand and gold’s volatility may remain high, but high risk levels combined with widespread negative real rates and quantitative easing will be supportive of gold investment demand as a safe haven.
 

 

Chart 1: Performance of major assets in 2020*

Chart 1: Performance of major assets in 2020*

Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*As of 18 March 2020. Computations based of total return indices in US dollars for ICE 3-month Treasury, Bloomberg Barclays (BB) US Treasury Aggregate, BB Global Bond Aggregate ex US, BB US Corporate Aggregate, BB US High Yield Aggregate, NASAQ, S&P 500, MSCI EAFE and EM indices, Bloomberg Commodity Index, Bloomberg WTI Oil Index, and spot for LBMA Gold Price PM.

 

Unusual times, uncertain outcomes

Perspectives on impending recessions often diverge. Some see similarities to prior crises while others focus on new signals and concerns. At this juncture, conditions in the current environment – widespread travel restrictions, complete shutdown of numerous sectors, and higher volatility in financial markets than during the 2008-2009 financial crisis – are unprecedented to many people across generations. The chances of avoiding a global recession appear low and investors are bracing themselves for more bumps ahead. If a recession does occur, its depth and duration will depend on how quickly and effectively governments are able to slow down the contagion, buffer their economies and, hopefully, find ways of treating or preventing COVID-19.

In our continuing engagement with investors two questions recur: 

1.    Why did the gold price drop alongside stocks?

The answer is linked to several factors. The most prominent of these is the massive liquidation virtually all asset classes experienced in the past week. And gold was no exception. Even longer-term US treasuries prices fell, despite a second unscheduled cut by the Fed on 15 March slashing the Fed funds rate to pre-2016 levels. The 10-year US treasury yield is trading above 1% after reaching a historical low of 0.33% on 9 March.

As a high quality, liquid asset gold may also have been used to raise cash, especially since it was – until recently – one of the few assets with positive returns this year. Gold was up 10% as of 9 March, more than any other major asset classes.3

There is historical precedent for these types of pullbacks in gold. The correlation between gold and stocks generally turns negative as stock prices tumble.4 However, there seems to be an exception during periods of disorderly selling when volatility spikes to extreme levels. For example, during the 2008-2009 financial crisis, as the VIX reached record highs gold came under pressure (Chart 2).

Finally, selling appears more concentrated on derivatives in exchanges. Net long positioning in COMEX futures – usually linked to speculative trading – was very high prior to gold’s pullback (Chart 3). Some investors holding these positions, which can be highly leveraged, may have been forced to sell to meet margin requirements as the price fell through various technical levels.5

 

Chart 2: VIX and gold prices*

Chart 2: VIX and gold prices*

Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*As of 17 March 2020. Based on the CBOE Volatility Index (VIX) and the Gold Price PM.

 

Chart 3: Net long positioning in COMEX futures*

Chart 3: Net long positioning in COMEX futures*

Sources: Bloomberg, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission; Disclaimer

*As of 10 March 2020.

 

2.    Is gold still an effective portfolio hedge given its volatility?

We believe that, so far, gold has played an important role in portfolios as a source of liquidity and collateral. And we expect it will serve as a safe haven in the longer term.
Gold experienced pullbacks at the onset of the global financial crisis too, falling between 15% and 25% in US-dollar terms a couple of times during 2008. But by the end of that year, gold was one of the few assets – alongside US treasuries – to post positive returns (Chart 4).

 

Chart 4: Gold price performance during the 2008-2009 financial crisis*

Chart 4: Gold price performance during the 2008-2009 financial crisis*

Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM between 1 January 2008 and 29 February 2008.

Table 1 Performance of gold and major stock indices in various countries

  Japan US China Europe India UK
Gold -1.5% -1.1% -0.2% 2.2% 4.1% 11.5%
Stocks -29.3% -25.6% -10.2% -36.4% -30.9% -33.0%

*As of 18 March 2020. Returns in local currency based on the LBMA Gold Price PM and the Nikkei 225, S&P 500, Shanghai Composite, Euro Stoxx 50, Nifty 50, and FTSE 100, respectively. 
Source: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council

 

It is also important to note that, while the gold price is usually quoted in US dollars, its impact on portfolio performance is measured in the local currency of an investor. To date, as stock indices around the world have fallen sharply, gold’s performance has been positive in various currencies, including the pound sterling, euro, and Indian rupee (Table 1). And it has only been flat to slightly negative in renminbi, US dollar and Japanese yen.

Investors seem to agree. Despite the price pullback and selling in most gold-backed ETFs listed in the US and Europe this week, global inflows remain positive. Asia even saw inflows this week. And investors have added US$3.6bn to gold-backed ETFs in March and a total of US$11.5bn y-t-d (Table 2).

 

Table 2: Gold ETFs holdings and flows*

Week-to-date Total AUM (bn) Change tonnes Flows (US$mn) Flows (% AUM)
North America 72.6 -16.9 -751.2 -1.03%
Europe 69.5 -4.5 -264.2 -0.38%
Asia 4.4 0.4 55.9 1.28%
Other 2.3 0.9 67.0 2.85%
Total 148.9 -20.2 -892.5 -0.60%
Month-to-date Total AUM (bn) Change tonnes Flows (US$mn) Flows (% AUM)
North America 72.6 -4.3 125.7 0.17%
Europe 69.5 55.6 3,112.3 4.48%
Asia 4.4 3.7 248.7 5.70%
Other 2.3 2.4 149.6 6.37%
Total 148.9 57.5 3,636.3 2.44%
Year-to-date Total AUM (bn) Change tonnes Flows (US$mn) Flows (% AUM)
North America 72.6 67.2 3,841.6 5.29%
Europe 69.5 121.4 6,804.0 9.79%
Asia 4.4 11.4 617.3 14.13%
Other 2.3 3.8 2,31.7 9.87%
Total 148.9 203.8 11,494.6 7.72%

*As of 18 March 2020.
Source: Bloomberg, Company Filings, World Gold Council

 

What to expect next

Gold’s performance is intertwined with its unique nature as a consumer good and investment asset. And it is linked to the interaction of four key drivers:6

  • Economic expansion
  • Risk and uncertainty
  • Opportunity cost 
  • Momentum.

So far this year, more than 30 central banks have cut rates and many have implemented additional quantitative easing measures.7 Governments around the globe are pledging trillions of US dollars to support their citizens and their economies. But ballooning budget deficits, negative real rates and debasement of currencies will present structural challenges to asset managers, pension funds and personal savings. 

It may take a while for financial markets to stabilise. Amidst high volatility, the gold price may experience additional swings, but the long-term implications of an environment combining high risk and lower opportunity cost should support gold investment demand.

We also expect central banks to remain net gold buyers overall, albeit likely not at the same rate as in the past two years.

On the other hand, consumer demand may soften significantly. Early figures by the National Bureau of Statistics in China suggest a 40% contraction in purchases of gold, silver and gem jewellery during the first two months of the year, and the new travel and movement restrictions will undoubtedly affect other regions.  Historically, however, investment flows in periods of uncertainty tend to offset weakness in consumer markets. 

Footnotes

1As of 18 March 2020. See trading volumes on Goldhub.com.

2As of 18 March 2020. See ETF flows on Goldhub.com

3Weekly Markets Commentary, 9 March 2020.

4The relevance of gold as a strategic asset, February 2020.

5Heavy selling across all four precious metals, 16 March 2020.

6QuarumSM, our web-based tool powered by WGC’s Gold Valuation Framework, can help investors understand how these different drivers impact gold’s long-term performance.

7http://www.cbrates.com/decisions.htm

Important disclaimers and disclosures

© 2020 World Gold Council. All rights reserved. World Gold Council and the Circle device are trademarks of the World Gold Council or its affiliates.
All references to LBMA Gold Price are used with the permission of ICE Benchmark Administration Limited and have been provided for informational purposes only. ICE Benchmark Administration Limited accepts no liability or responsibility for the accuracy of the prices or the underlying product to which the prices may be referenced. Other content is the intellectual property of the respective third party and all rights are reserved to them. 

Reproduction or redistribution of any of this information is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of World Gold Council or the appropriate copyright owners, except as specifically provided below.

The use of the statistics in this information is permitted for the purposes of review and commentary (including media commentary) in line with fair industry practice, subject to the following two pre-conditions: (i) only limited extracts of data or analysis be used; and (ii) any and all use of these statistics is accompanied by a citation to World Gold Council and, where appropriate, to Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS or other identified copyright owners, as their source. World Gold Council is affiliated with Metals Focus.

Neither the World Gold Council nor any of its affiliates (collectively, “WGC”) guarantees the accuracy or completeness of any information. WGC does not accept responsibility for any losses or damages arising directly or indirectly from the use of this information.

This information is for educational purposes only. Nothing contained herein is intended to constitute a recommendation, investment advice, or offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”). This information does not take into account any investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any particular person.    

By receiving this information, you agree with the intended purpose of this information as being for educational purposes only.  Diversification does not guarantee any investment returns and does not eliminate the risk of loss.    

Investors should discuss their individual circumstances with their appropriate investment professionals before making any decision regarding any Services or investments.

This information contains forward-looking statements, such as statements which use the words “believes”, “expects”, “may”, or “suggests”, or similar terminology, which are based on current expectations and are subject to change. Forward-looking statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that any forward-looking statements will be achieved. WGC assumes no responsibility for updating any forward-looking statements.

Information regarding QaurumSM and the Gold Valuation Framework 

Note that the resulting performance of various investment outcomes that can generated through use of Qaurum, the Gold Valuation Framework and other information are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. Diversification does not guarantee investment returns and does not eliminate the risk of loss.  World Gold Council and its affiliates and subsidiaries (collectively, “WGC”) provide no warranty or guarantee regarding the functionality of the tool, including without limitation any projections, estimates or calculations.