ETF每月评论

四月,全球黄金ETF连续第六个月实现净流入

已发布:

PDF XLSX

摘要

全球黄金ETF总持仓上个月增加了170吨 - 相当于93亿美元(+5%)的净流入 – 至3,355吨的历史新高。在美元金价上涨5.8%的驱动下,总资产管理规模也创下了1,840亿美元记录新高。全球黄金ETF的十二个月滚动净流入超过了2009与2016时的水平,即使其六个月滚动净流入只有2009和2016同期水平的三分之二。

 

ETF 流量1

ZH ETF flows chart

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

区域流量回顾

新冠肺炎疫情对全球经济与社会影响的不确定性,以及在此背景下各国央行的货币政策干预令资金不断涌入黄金市场。全球各地区的黄金ETF规模在四月均有增长,北美地区基金的流入尤其强劲 – 该地区的黄金ETF流量变动通常与金价变化紧密相关。

北美地区的黄金ETF持仓增长了144吨(净流入78亿美元,约合资产管理规模的8.3%),欧洲地区基金持仓增加20吨(11亿美元,1.4%)。亚洲地区基金持仓则上升了2.9吨(2.06亿美元,3.9%),流入主要来自中国地区的黄金ETF。其他地区基金资产管理规模增长了5.8%,持仓上升3.3吨,净流入1.72亿美元。

金价表现

四月,美元金价收于1,700美元/盎司上方,这也是自2012年以来最高的月度收盘水平。虽然美元金价与其历史最高水平相比仍有10%的差距,但以其他货币计价的黄金价格持续创记录高位,这些货币包括:澳元,加元,欧元,英镑,日元,人民币等。

与其他主流资产一样,四月的全球黄金 成交量大幅下滑,从三月2,360亿美元/日的水平降至1,400亿美元/日,但与2019年的日均1,450亿美元的水平基本一致。四月的COMEX黄金期货净多仓位4 则在三月的大幅下滑(回落自二月创纪录的1,209吨,合630亿美元)之后小幅回升。即使黄金的波动率已从三月份的极端水平有所下降,但其仍处高位,且隐含波动率(投资者对未来黄金波动率的预期)也处在较高位置。

截至发布时,今年黄金已跑赢了大多数主流资产 ,美元金价涨幅达11%。虽然在宽松货币政策的支持下,债市与股市表现良好,但投资者可能会面临更高的市场波动率,特别是当标普500之类的指数在四月份的表现是1987年以来最强的情况下。

近期的市场波动率以及全球主要资产的价格表现或令黄金作为一项有效对冲资产的角色得到关注。在四月下旬我们发布的报告:《黄金:有效的对冲工具》 中对比了加入黄金进行对冲的资产组合与包含其他常用对冲工具的资产组合表现。此项分析呼应了我们此前发布的《投资快讯:金价随市场抛售而波动》中指出的,当股票被大量抛售,投资者的资金需求也大幅上升,此时投资者会卖出表现较好且流动性强 的资产,例如黄金,来补足账户资金要求。

我们近期的分析表明,许多对冲策略或工具在尾部风险事件的初期并不有效。我们还发现,虽然波动率相关的对冲策略或工具是目前为止最有效的,但这些策略或工具成本较高,可能会侵蚀整体组合收益。在给我们分析的所有对冲策略与工具评分后(评分标准包括收益,波动率,风险调整后收益,组合最大回撤等),黄金的表现最为突出。

展望

我们在之前三月的黄金ETF流量分析报告中曾提及,此次疫情影响中的金价表现截至目前为止与全球金融危机中表现类似。彼时,金价在美联储进行量化宽松政策后大幅回升,随着宽松货币政策的全球施行,金价在2011年9月升至该期间的最高点,涨幅超130%。

全球多数央行均表示将充分利用已有的,以及新的“工具”来支持经济。虽然当前新冠肺炎疫情得到了一定遏制,但其对全球经济的影响以及未来可能导致的社会变化仍未明确。就在四月底,美国公布了其一季度GDP年化季同比:下降4.8%,这是2008年第四季度以来的最低值。欧洲的整体情况甚至更糟:其一季度GDP年化季同比下滑14.4%,为历史最低。此类不确定性以及未知的央行政策支持力度可能会持续驱动黄金的投资需求。

尽管由于经济增长放缓令金饰与科技用金需求受挫,但正如我们在近期的《2020年第一季度黄金需求趋势报告》中提出,黄金投资需求的强劲或抵消其他领域需求的疲弱。而尽管增速放缓,我们依旧认为2020年的全球各国央行将仍是黄金的净买家。

各地区流量2

四月,北美地区基金引领全球黄金ETF流入

  • 北美地区:净流入144吨(78亿美元,8.3%)
  • 欧洲地区:持仓增长20吨(11亿美元,1.4%)
  • 亚洲地区:持仓上升2.9吨(2.06亿美元,3.9%)
  • 其他地区:流入3.3吨(1.72亿美元,5.8%)

具体基金流量变化

SPDR® Gold Shares 与 iShares Gold Trust在四月的流入占据全球基金流入的71%

  • 北美:SPDR® Gold Shares 的流入冠绝全球,持仓上升89.5吨(49亿美元,9.7%),iShares Gold Trust 规模增加31.2吨(17亿美元,8.5%)。 SPDR® Gold MiniShares则领先低成本基金3 的流入, 规模增长21%,即3.34亿美元, Aberdeen Standard Physical Gold Shares规模上升17%,持仓增长2.45亿美元
  • 欧洲:Invesco Physical Gold 与 iShares Physical 持仓分别上升 13.9吨 (7.49亿美元,7.8%)和7.2吨(4.2亿美元,4.2%)。瑞士地区基金出现了本月唯一的流出:UBS ETF Gold持仓下降15.3吨(8.55亿美元,37%),同时,Pictet CH Phyiscal持仓则下滑4.2吨(2.35亿美元,81%)
  • 中国:华安黄金ETF持仓上升3.2吨(1.86亿美元,15%),博时黄金ETF持仓下降1.8吨(0.89亿美元,11%).

长期趋势

全球黄金ETF资产在过去的一年里增长了80%

  • 全球黄金ETF资产管理规模在过去的12个月中有11个月都出现了增长,升幅80%
  • 在四月的强劲流入后,当前全球黄金ETF的资产管理规模和持仓量再创历史新高
  • 英国的黄金ETF规模继续上升,在区域和全球的市场份额不断增长,目前占据欧洲黄金ETF市场总规模的47%,全球的21%;
  • 美国的低成本黄金ETF 在过去的23个月中有22个月都出现了净流入,其持仓累计上升至91吨,与整体亚洲地区基金的持仓总量相当3

脚注

  1. 我们会定期审查我们跟踪的全球黄金ETF并根据最新信息调整我们的名单。

  2. 备注:我们同时以盎司/吨和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨数变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同

  3. 美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率不超过20个基点的黄金ETF。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, 与 Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

  4. 净多仓位是指在COMEX期货市场上管理基金与其他净多仓位

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Rate this content:

ETF Monthly commentary

Inflows into gold ETFs for a sixth straight month in April

Published:

PDF XLSX

April highlights

Globally, gold-backed ETFs (gold ETFs) added 170 tonnes(t) – net inflows of US$9.3bn (+5.1%) – in April, boosting holdings to a new all-time high of 3,355t.1 Assets under management (AUM) also reached a new record high of US$184bn as gold in US dollars moved higher by 5.8%. Inflows have been strong and consistent in recent months, but not unprecedented. Rolling twelve-month inflows of 879t just surpassed those of 2009 and 2016, while rolling six-month inflows are less than two-thirds of the 457t of inflows in the comparable time periods of 2009 and 2016.

 

ETF flows 1

ETF flows chart

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Regional overview

Uncertainty surrounding the economic and social impact of COVID-19, along with significant central bank intervention, continued to drive inflows into gold. Gold ETFs listed in all regions experienced inflows during the month, with inflows being particularly strong in North America, where flows have often been more correlated with gold’s price behaviour.

North American funds added 144t (US$7.8bn, 8.3% AUM), while European funds added 20t (US$1.1bn, 1.4%). Asian funds – primarily in China – also finished the month with relatively strong inflows, adding 2.9t (US$206mn, 3.9%), and funds in other regions grew 5.8%, adding 3.3t and US$172mn.

Price performance

Gold in US dollars finished the month above US$1,700/oz – a monthly closing level not seen since 2012. While gold is still 10% below all-time highs in US dollars, it continued to make all-time highs in every other major currency, namely: Australian and Canadian dollars, euro, pounds, yen and yuan, and briefly made a new high in Swiss francs during the month.

Gold global trading volumes, like those from many other major asset classes, fell sharply in April to US$140bn a day, down from US$236bn a day in March, but this is roughly in line with the 2019 daily average of US$145bn. COMEX net longs4 as noted in the Commitment of Traders (COT) report, increased slightly in April, after falling sharply in March from the all-time high of 1,209t (US$63bn) achieved during February. While gold volatility decreased from the extreme levels in March, it remained elevated and the implied volatility – or how much investors expected gold would move over the coming months – remained high as well.

At the time of publication, gold has outperformed most major asset classes this year, up by more than 11% in US dollar terms. And while bond and stock prices also rallied in April, supported by a very accommodative global monetary policy stance, investors are likely to face more volatility, especially since indices like the S&P 500 experienced their strongest monthly performance since 1987

The recent market volatility and price behaviour of broad-based global assets provided an opportunity to highlight gold’s effectiveness as a hedge. In late April, we published a new report, Investment Update: Gold, an efficient hedge, in which we compared portfolios that included an allocation to gold to portfolios with various other commonly used hedges. This analysis addressed the finding from our March update, Investment Update: Gold prices swing as markets sell off, that sharp stock market sell-offs often require investors to meet capital requirements, and they can do so by selling a liquid asset like gold.

Our recent analysis suggests that many hedges are not initially effective in tail events. We found that volatility-related hedges are by far the most effective initially but can be costly and erode overall portfolio performance over the long run. Stacked against all the hedges we analysed – when comparing metrics like returns, volatility, risk-adjusted returns, and portfolio drawdown protection – gold stood out favourably.

Looking forward

As noted in our March Gold ETF flows report, the price strength of gold has, so far, mirrored that of the Global Financial Crisis. At that time it rallied back following the initial Quantitative Easing (QE) program in the US, which, along with similar monetary policy interventions worldwide, propelled gold over 130% higher at its peak in September 2011.

A vast majority of central banks, including the US Federal Reserve, continue to note their willingness to utilise well-established – and new – ‘tools’ to support the economy. While this comes at a time when COVID-19 cases are diminishing and related actions – such as fast-tracked treatments and antibody tests – may help to create a path towards ‘normalisation’, the long-term effects of the pandemic on the economy and any future societal shifts are yet to be determined. Just last week, the US published annually adjusted GDP losses of 4.8% in the first three months of 2020, the biggest quarterly decline since the fourth quarter of 2008. Europe, as a whole, was worse – the region shrank 14.4% on an annualised basis during the first quarter, the lowest quarterly number ever. It is this uncertainty, along with the unknown ability of central banks to support the markets, that could continue to drive investment demand for gold.

Although gold demand in jewellery and technology has been negatively impacted by the economic deceleration, as we noted in our Gold Demand Trends Q1 2020 report, history suggests that the likely strength of investment demand may offset this weakness. In conclusion, we expect central banks to remain net buyers of gold in 2020, albeit at a lower level.

Regional flows2

North America drove the bulk of global gold ETF inflows in April

  • North American funds had inflows of 144t (US$7.8bn, 8.3% AUM)
  • Holdings in European funds increased by 20t (US$1.1bn, 1.4%)
  • Funds listed in Asia added 2.9t (US$206mn, 3.9%)
  • Other regions had inflows of 3.3t (US$172mn, 5.8%).

Individual flows

SPDR® Gold Shares and iShares Gold Trust represented 71% of all global inflows in April

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares led global inflows, adding 89.5t (US$4.9bn, 9.7%), while iShares Gold Trust added 31.2t (US$1.7bn, 8.5%). SPDR® Gold MiniShares led low-cost3 inflows, growing 21% or US$334mn, and Aberdeen Standard Physical Gold Shares grew 17%, adding US$245mn
  • Two UK-based funds led European-fund inflows: Invesco Physical Gold added 13.9t (US$749mn, 7.8%), and iShares Physical added 7.2t (US$420mn, 4.2%). Switzerland was the only country with net outflows during the month as UBS ETF Gold lost 15.3t (US$855mn, 37%) and Pictet CH Physical lost 4.2t (US$235mn, 81%)
  • In China, Huaan Yifu added 3.2t (US$186mn, 15%), while Bosera lost 1.8t (US$89mn, 11%).

Long-term trends

Gold ETF assets have grown 80% in the past year

  • Assets in global gold-backed ETFs grew during 11 of the past 12 months adding 80% to total AUM>
  • Following the April inflows, both holdings and assets of gold-backed ETFs continue to make all-time highs
  • UK-based gold funds continue to take regional and global market share, now representing 47% of European assets and 21% of global assets
  • Low-cost gold-backed ETFs in the US have seen positive flows for 22 of the past 23 months and have increased their collective assets to 91t, which amounts to roughly the holdings of all Asian-based funds3

Footnotes

  1. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information.

  2. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance industry standard that gives a perspective of how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month when the price of gold was low but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

  3. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined as exchange traded open-ended funds listed in the US, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, and Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

  4. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other Net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]