黄金需求趋势 2020年第一季度

黄金需求趋势 2020年第一季度

在投资需求的驱动下,第一季度全球黄金总需求同比上升1%至1,083.8吨

全球性的新冠肺炎疫情危机推升了人们对黄金 的避险投资需求,抵消了黄金消费需求的显著 下滑。

第一季度,全球黄金总需求小幅增长至1,083.8吨(同比增长1%)。该季度内新冠疫情席卷了全球,这是影响黄金需求的一个最大因素。随着疫情的蔓延及其潜在的经济影响开始显现,投资者开始寻求避险资产。黄金ETF吸引了巨额流入(增持298吨),推动其全球总持仓量达到了创纪录的3,185吨。全球金条与金币的总投资量降至241.6吨(同比下降6%),其中金条需求下降19%(至150.4吨),抵消了金币需求的大幅增长一西方个人投资者的避险买盘令金币需求飙升36%至76.9吨。在疫情影响下,金饰需求受到的打击尤为沉重,而这也并不令人意外;第一季度全球金饰需求量同比滑落39%到325.8吨,为记录新低。与此同时,科技用金需求也降至我们有记录以来的最低点,为73.4吨,同比降幅达8%。各国央行则继续大量购买黄金,尽管增速低于2019年第一季度:全球各国央行黄金的净购买量达145吨(同比下降8%)。新冠疫情对黄金供应也造成了影响:全球金矿产量降至795.8吨(同比减少3%)的5年低点。

 

新冠疫情影响下,黄金ETF需求受避险情绪提振,而消费需求则被削弱

新冠疫情影响下,黄金ETF需求受避险情绪提振,而消费需求则被削弱

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

重点关注

在全球不确定性与金融市场波动率高企的背景下,2020年第一季度的全球黄金ETF的净流入为四年来最高季度流量。其总持仓规模在第一季度末达到了3,185吨的记录新高。

投资方面的净流入将美元金价推升至八年高位。受此驱动,全球以美元计价的黄金需求升至自2013年第二季度以来最高的550亿美元。与此同时,以印度卢比以及土耳其里拉等其他货币计价的黄金价格也纷纷创下记录新高。

全球各国政府为应对新冠疫情而采取的封锁措施重挫了第一季度的全球金饰消费。受此影响,2020年第一季度的全球金饰需求降至纪录新低。而作为全球首个采取疫情应对措施以及最大的金饰消费国,中国的第一季度金饰需求出现了65%的同比下滑。

尽管我们预期未来的央行净购金量会大幅下滑,全球各国央行仍在不断增持黄金。受高企的金融市场波动率和不确定性影响,全球的黄金官方储备在一季度增长了145吨。但俄罗斯央行已宣布其将从4月起终结长期购金计划这或许是未来全球央行净购金量大幅下滑的一个信号。

由于各地金矿生产和黄金回收均受到了新冠疫情的影响,全球黄金供应量在2020年第一季度同比下滑了4%。为阻止新冠疫情的蔓延,多数金矿开采活动受到严重阻碍。而由于消费者被限制在家隔离,全球的黄金回收更是几乎陷入停滞。

 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2020

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2020

Gold demand inched up to 1,083.8 tonnes (t) in Q1, supported by investment

The global COVID-19 pandemic fuelled safe-haven investment demand for gold, offsetting marked weakness in consumer-focused sectors of the market.

Total Q1 demand grew marginally to 1,083.8t (+1% y-o-y). The coronavirus outbreak, which swept the globe during the first quarter, was the single biggest factor influencing gold demand. As the scale of the pandemic – and its potential economic impact – started to emerge, investors sought safe-haven assets. Gold-backed ETFs (gold ETFs) attracted huge inflows (+298t), which pushed global holdings in these products to a new record high of 3,185t. Total bar and coin investment fell to 241.6t (-6% y-o-y) as a 19% drop in bar demand (to 150.4t) overpowered a sharp jump in demand for gold coins, up 36% to 76.9t, due to safe-haven buying by Western retail investors. Jewellery demand, unsurprisingly, was particularly hard hit by the effects of the outbreak; quarterly demand dropped 39% y-o-y to a record low for our series of 325.8t. Technology demand also fell to a new low for our data series of 73.4t (-8% y-o-y). Central banks continued to buy gold in significant quantities, although at a lower rate than in Q1 2019: net purchases amounted to 145t (-8% y-o-y). The virus also caused disruption to gold supply: mine production fell to a five-year low of 795.8t (-3% y-o-y).

 

Coronavirus ignited safe-haven ETF inflows, but undermined consumer demand

Coronavirus ignited safe-haven ETF inflows, but undermined consumer demand

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Highlights

Gold ETFs saw the highest quarterly inflows for four years amid global uncertainty and financial market volatility. Holdings of these products reached a record high of 3,185t by the end of Q1.

These investment inflows helped push the US dollar gold price to an eight-year high. Consequently, global gold demand in value terms reached US$55bn – the highest since Q2 2013. The price also reached new record highs in Indian rupees and Turkish lira, among others.

The pandemic slashed jewellery demand as governments across the globe imposed lockdown measures. Demand fell to lowest on record, led by a 65% decline in China – the largest jewellery consumer and the first market to succumb to the outbreak.

Central banks continued to amass gold, although we expect net buying to slow sharply. Amid heightened volatility and uncertainty, global gold reserves grew by 145t in Q1. But Russia announced that it would suspend its long-term buying programme from April, signalling a sharp slowdown in global net buying.

Total Q1 supply fell 4% as coronavirus lockdowns hit mine production and gold recycling. Operations were halted at many projects in an attempt to stem the spread of the virus. And recycling ground to a near standstill towards the end of the quarter as consumers were confined to their homes. 

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]