ETF每月评论

金价上涨,全球黄金ETF现净流入

Published:

PDF XLSX

五月亮点

5月,全球黄金ETF总持仓增加61.3吨(约合34亿美元,资产管理规模增加1.7%,下同),扭转了连续三个月的净流出趋势。我们认为主要原因在于投资需求随着金价走强而增加,而市场的通胀担忧重现,美元走弱和实际利率下降等因素也同时存在。全球黄金ETF资产管理规模 (AUM)为3,628吨(约合2,220亿美元)。1     黄金ETF资产管理规模只比2020年8月约合2,400亿美元的历史价值高点低9%,比2020年10月3,908吨的吨位高点低7%。2 

 

ZH ETF flows chart

数据截至

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

分区域市场回顾

美国、英国和德国的大型基金再次成为黄金ETF流量变动的主导力量,而此次不同以往,它们主导了净流入的趋势。北美基金持仓增加34.5吨(约合21亿美元,+2.0%)。欧洲基金流入31.2吨(约合16亿美元,+1.9%)。“其他”地区基金规模下降1.9%(-1.0吨,约合6,900万美元)。3  亚洲上市基金连续第二个月流出(约合2.1亿美元,-2.7%),几乎全部由中国基金主导,中国股市以及人民币的强劲表现令当地投资者的避险需求下降。但就今年以来的增长幅度而言,亚洲仍保持着最为强劲的增长趋势,亚洲黄金ETF持仓截至5月底已增加 11%,即13.8吨。

低成本黄金ETF板块持续增长 4

全球范围内低成本黄金ETF的强势流入趋势持续。5月,Xtrackers IE Physical Gold 基金流入6.3吨(约合3.66亿美元,+26%),SPDR® Gold MiniShares 基金流入1.5吨(约合9,200万美元,+2.2%)。低成本黄金ETF板块实现8.3吨的净流入,占该月全球黄金ETF净流入总量的13%。181吨的低成本基金的总持仓目前占全球黄金ETF市场总量的5%,一年前这个数字还不到3%。

黄金价格表现和交易量

黄金价格在5月收盘时报1,900美元/盎司,上涨7.5%,突破了此前的关键关口。5  过去两个月中13%的反弹弥补了金价今年早些时候的跌幅。我们在最近发布的 《投资动态:是时候意识到黄金的真实波动性了》 当中讨论了黄金的稳定波动率,强调了黄金衍生品市场的潜在机会,以及其波动率为黄金这样一项优越的投资组合风险分散工具赋能。

在连续两个月的下跌之后,5月黄金日均交易量实现了实质性回升,升至1,760亿美元,略高于2021年1,650亿美元的平均水平,低于2020年1,830亿美元的平均水平,与2019年1,460亿美元的平均值更为一致。最新的交易商持仓报告(COT)显示,COMEX黄金期货净多仓位上升至725吨(约合440亿美元),6  达到2021年2月初以来的最高点,但低于2020年871吨(约合530亿美元)的平均水平。7  每周平均净多仓位历来保持在500吨(约合310亿美元)左右。8 

市场评论:

我们的短期金价表现归因模型表明,除了两个基本变量以外,我们用到的其他所有变量都对金价表现起到正向作用,这是自2011年6月以来首次出现这种情况。我们认为近期黄金的强势表现还在于以下因素:

  • 更高的通胀预期
  • 美元的走弱
  • 积极的黄金市场情绪和金价势头

额外支持因素包括:

更多评论信息请见我们的5月市场评论报告

各区域黄金ETF流量数据11

大型北美与欧洲基金主导全球黄金ETF流入

  • 北美:基金流入34.5吨(约合21亿美元,+2.0%)
  • 欧洲:基金持仓增加31.2吨(约合16亿美元,+1.9%)
  • 亚洲:上市基金净流出3.3吨(约合2.1亿美元)
  • 其他地区:流出1.0吨(约合6,900万美元,-1.9%)

5月主要基金流量变动

5月,美国SPDR® Gold Shares 基金流出量全球领先,其次为英国iShares Physical Gold Trust基金

  • 北美:SPDR® Gold Shares基金流入26.2吨(约合16亿美元,+2.7%),其次为iShares Gold Trust,增加4.8吨(约合2.96亿美元,+1.1%)。SPDR® Gold MiniShares持仓增加1.5吨(约合9,200万美元,+2.2%),而Aberdeen Physical Gold Shares增加0.4吨(约合2,700万美元,+1.2%)。
  • 欧洲12:iShares Physical Gold ETC基金持仓增加8.8吨(约合5.1亿美元,+4.0%),Invesco Physical Gold增加6.4吨(约合3.83亿美元,+3.1%)。
  • 亚洲:博时黄金ETF流出量居首,为1.7吨(约合1.03亿美元,-8.7%),其次为华安易富黄金ETF,持仓减少1.2吨(约合6,800万美元,-3.9%)。
  • 其他地区:南非基金1nvest Gold值得注意,该基金5月流出1.5吨,占其资产的52%。

长期趋势

全球黄金ETF资产管理规模反弹,仅比2020年8月创下的历史最高低9%

  • 美国大型基金持续主导全球黄金ETF双向流量变动
  • 过去几个月里黄金ETF流量已开始追上金价反弹的步伐
  • 2021年亚洲黄金ETF持仓增长幅度仍在11%以上,但在过去两个月中有所放缓

脚注

  1. 我们会定期核查全球黄金ETF,并根据最新数据和信息调整基金名单和持仓量。

  2. 基于截至2021年5月30日的LBMA午盘金价。

  3. “其他”地区包括澳大利亚、南非、土耳其、沙特阿拉伯以及阿联酋。

  4. 美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率及其他费用(如固定成本)不超过20个基点的黄金ETF开放式基金,由实体黄金支持。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, Goldman Sachs Physical Gold ETF, CI Gold Bullion Fund, WisdomTree Core Physical Gold以及Xtrackers IE Physical Gold ETC。

  5. 基于截至2021年5月30日的LBMA午盘金价。

  6. 截至2021年5月30日。

  7. 净多仓位包含基金经理仓位与其他类型交易商在COMEX黄金期货市场上的净多仓位。

  8. 基于2012年12月4日至2021年5月24日期间的可用数据。

  9. 我们同时以盎司/吨数和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨位变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同。

  10. 鉴于母公司基金之间的直接流动,我们不直接讨论Xtrackers单只基金的流量变动。

Rate this content:

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold ETF inflows catch up to gold price strength

Published:

PDF XLSX

May highlights

Global gold ETFs added 61.3t tonnes (t) (US$3.4bn, 1.7% AUM) in May, reversing three straight months of net outflows. We believe this to be largely a function of investment demand increasing with the price strength of gold, along with renewed inflation concerns in the market, a weaker dollar and lower real yields. Global assets under management (AUM) stand at 3,628t (US$222bn). 1  AUM is now only 9% shy of the August 2020 high of US$240bn and 7% shy of the October 2020 tonnage high of 3,908bn.2 

 

ETF flows chart

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

May regional overview

Larger funds in the US, UK and Germany were once again the primary driver of flows, flipping to net inflows. North American funds added 34.5t (US$2.1bn, 2.0%). European funds saw inflows of 31.2t (US$1.6bn, 1.9%). Funds in 'Other' regions lost 1.9% of assets (-1.0t, -US$69mn).3  Asian-listed funds had outflows for a second straight month (-US$210mn, -2.7%) coming almost entirely from China, which had strong local stock market strength. Asia does, however, remain the strongest region in terms of percentage growth this year, having added 11% to holdings, or 13.8t through the end of May.

Low-cost gold ETF segment continues to grow 4

We continue to see strong inflows into low-cost ETFs across the globe, most recently evidenced by 6.3t (US$366mn, 26%) into Xtrackers IE Physical Gold and 1.5t (US$92mn, 2.2%) into SPDR® Gold MiniShares during May. The 8.3t of net inflows in the low-cost space represented 13% of net global inflows during the month. The 181t of low-cost assets now represents 5% of the total global gold ETF market compared with less than 3% a year ago.

Price performance and trading volumes

Gold finished the month 7.5% higher at US$1,900/oz, breaking through resistance.5  Gold is now effectively flat on the year, rallying 13% in the last two months. We recently discussed gold’s stable volatility behaviour in our Investment Update: Time to realise gold’s true volatility, which highlights potential opportunities in the gold derivatives market and how gold’s volatility profile is key to its strength as a portfolio diversifier.

Gold daily trading averages rose meaningfully during May to US$176bn, after falling for two straight months. This is slightly higher than the 2021 average of US$165bn and below the 2020 average of US$183bn, more in line with the 2019 average of US$146bn. Net long positioning, via the recent Commitment of Traders (COT) report for gold COMEX futures, moved higher to 725t (US$44bn),6  the highest since early February 2021, but below the 2020 average net long level of 871t (US$53bn).7  The average weekly net long positioning historically remains around 500t (US$31bn).8

Market Commentary:

Our short-term price performance model suggested that all but two of the underlying variables we use had a positive contribution to gold’s performance – the first month this has happened since June 2011. We also believe the recent strength of gold is due to a function of:

  • higher inflation expectations
  • the weaker US dollar
  • positive gold sentiment and price momentum.

Anecdotally, some additional supporting factors include:

For more details see Gold Market Commentary, May 2021

Regional flows11

Large North American and European funds drove inflows

  • North American funds had inflows of 34.5t (US$2.1bn, 2.0%)
  • Holdings in European funds rose by 31.2t (US$1.6bn, 1.9%)
  • Funds listed in Asia had net outflows of 3.3t (-US$210mn)
  • Other regions had outflows of 1.0t (-US$69mn, 1.9%).

Individual flows

SPDR® Gold Shares (US) led global inflows in May, followed by iShares Physical Gold Trust (UK)

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares added 26.2t (US$1.6bn, 2.7%), followed by iShares Gold Trust, which added 4.8t (US$296mn, 1.1%). SPDR® Gold MiniShares had holdings rise by 1.5t (US$92mn, 2.2%), while Aberdeen Physical Gold Shares added 0.4t (US$27mn, 1.2%)
  • In Europe12, iShares Physical Gold ETC added 8.8t (US$510mn, 4.0% and Invesco Physical Gold added 6.4t (US$383mn, 3.1%)
  • In Asia, Bosera Gold led outflows with 1.7t (-US$103mn, -8.7%) coming out of the fund, followed by Huaan Yifu, which lost 1.2t (-US$68mn, 3.9%)
  • 1nvest Gold was a standout in other regions. The South African fund lost 1.5t or 52% of its assets during the month.

Long-term trends

Global gold ETF AUM bounced back and is only 9% below the all-time August 2020 highs

  • Large US funds continue to drive net global inflows in both directions
  • Gold ETF flows have started to catch up to the gold price rebound over the past few months
  • Asian gold ETF holdings growth remains above 11% in 2021, but has slowed over the past two months.

We regularly assess our calculation methodology to ensure the most accurate and up-to-date data for our ETF holdings and flows. In this context, we have improved our estimation of Xetra-Gold holdings and their change over time based on the fact that 1,000 units of the fund represent 1 kilogram of gold whereas other funds decrease the amount of gold backing each unit to cover management fees. It is important to note, however, that regardless of their structure, most funds we include in our gold ETF universe are fully backed by physical gold. While a few funds allow other holdings such as cash or derivatives, we only monitor those investing at least 90% through physical gold and appropriately adjust their reported assets to estimate their physical holdings only. For more information, see our Methodology note.

Footnotes

  1. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information.

  2. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM as of 30 May 2021.

  3. ‘Other’ region includes Australia, South Africa, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

  4. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined as exchange-traded open-ended funds listed in the US and Europe, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees and other expenses like fx costs of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, Goldman Sachs Physical Gold ETF, CI Gold Bullion Fund, WisdomTree Core Physical Gold, and Xtrackers IE Physical Gold ETC.

  5. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM as of 30 May 2021. 

  6. As of 30 May 2021.

  7. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

  8. From 4 December 2012 to 24 May 2021, based on available data.

  9. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance-industry standard that gives a perspective on how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar, and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month, when the price of gold was low, but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

  10. We do not directly discuss the Xtrackers individual fund flows in the section given the direct movement between the parent company funds.

Rate this content: