中国金饰市场的增长潜力

黄金投资者 2018年10月

2018年10月18日

中国金饰市场的增长潜力

低迷多年后,中国的金饰市场取得了重大进步,正在复苏。为了满足中国的时尚消费者的需求,还可以做更多的事情。世界黄金协会中国区行业拓展总监陈志君提出了取得进步的建议。

陈志君
世界黄金协会
中国区行业拓展总监

中国的金饰市场全球最大,占全球需求的30%。但它是一个不断变化的市场。传统上,中国消费者购买金饰仅仅是因为金饰含有黄金。而今天,中国消费者越来越重视金饰的装饰作用,年轻消费者尤其将金饰视同为一种展现个性、获得社会认可和接纳变化的方式。

自2013年以来,金饰需求在2017年首次增长,只要行业继续创新,适应消费者不断变化的口味,增长应该会持续。

不断变化的品味对市场产生了显著影响。中国经济快速增长,财富不断增长,随后金饰需求在2013年达到顶峰。但金饰市场在接下来数年里走弱,使该行业的店铺和产能过剩,价格竞争激烈。随后步入一段痛苦的修复期,金饰企业专注于通过更多元的产品组合和更深入的数字业务提高对年轻消费者的吸引力。

这些努力产生了喜人的结果。自2013年以来,金饰需求在2017年首次增长(图表1),只要行业继续创新,适应消费者不断变化的口味,增长应该会持续。 

 

图表1: 中国内地年金饰需求量

图表1: 中国内地年金饰需求量

数据来源:金属聚焦公司; 汤森路透黄金矿业公司; 世界黄金协会

数据截至

近期由世界黄金协会开展了一次消费者行为分析,结果突显了两种重要趋势。首先,消费者偏好因地区而异。一线城市的竞争尤为激烈,钻石和铂金首饰几乎与黄金一样受欢迎。相比之下,在级别较低的城市,消费者倾向于购买沉重的高纯度金饰来实现财富保值目的(图1)

图1:愿意花5,000元人民币购买特定首饰产品的女性比例

Percentage of women who, if given RMB5,000 would choose a specific jewellery product

来源:世界黄金协会

其次,每一代人的偏好都有所不同。例如,千禧一代将自己的可支配收入花在高科技和时尚产品上的可能性远远高于花在金饰上。但年纪较大的消费者依然更青睐黄金(图2)

图2:假设获得5,000元人民币的受访者按年龄和选购产品划分的比例

Figure 2: Percentage of respondents by age and products selected for purchase if given RMB5,000

*智能手机/可穿戴设备
来源:世界黄金协会

这些问题值得重视。一线城市和千禧一代正在改变中国的消费格局,这些消费群体中出现的趋势将逐渐渗透到全国。

虽然这对金饰企业构成了挑战,但也带来了一个机会。根据中国最大金融服务公司之一中国银联的统计,一线城市的消费者贡献了全国总消费的40%左右,而千禧一代的消费增速比年纪较大的消费者高一倍。90后年轻一代过半的支出是在网上消费,与之相比,70后和80后的网上消费占比为三分之一。

那么,中国金饰市场显然需要吸引城市居民和年轻人,才能继续繁荣发展。幸运的是,这种变化已经开始形成。

一线城市的消费者贡献了全国总消费的40%左右,而千禧一代的消费增速比年纪较大的消费者高一倍。

更好的产品

历史上,中国市场由24K金饰主导,这种金饰很能吸引年龄较大的传统消费者。但年轻的城市居民对它不怎么感兴趣,因此金饰商推出了18K黄金(又名K金)。最近业界还推出了22K的黄金。18K和22K金饰被认为比24K黄金更时尚和实惠。另外,18K和22K金饰给零售商带来的利润率更高。

金饰企业还设法提供满足较低预算消费、设计精美的金饰,例如3D硬金,这种金饰的硬度是24K黄金的四倍,而黄金使用量只有传统金饰的三分之一。一些具有前瞻思维的企业还利用备受喜爱的品牌来吸引千禧一代,例如领先零售商周大福推出的迪士尼TsumTsum系列。

然而线上店铺在购买流程中发挥着重要作用。聪明的金饰企业利用包括双十一光棍节在内的诸多线上购物节来提高线下销量——例如,一家著名的金饰企业表示,这种线上销售活动使实体店的销量增至五倍。

金饰企业也在付出更多努力来吸引线上购物者,推出了更低价的轻量化金饰和K金金饰来吸引精通数字技术的年轻消费者。

同样重要的是,线上购物者的浏览记录也有助于金饰企业更好、更快、更有效地了解客户。例如,横幅广告的点击数据或“愿望清单”中保存的商品记录可以提供让线上和线下实体店都受益的线索。

三分之一的黄金购买者的黄金购买之旅是从线上开始的,但只有4%的购买者完成了线上购买。

促进增长

展望未来,我们相信有三大重点领域可以帮助金饰行业提高销量。

首先,金饰企业要打造消费者认同的品牌。目前,该行业以千篇一律的超大型商铺为主,品牌差异几乎不存在。超大型商铺可能受到传统金饰购买者的青睐,但对千禧一代而言就并非如此,后者想购买能够反映其独特风格、彰显自身成就的金饰。

其次,零售商要对客户保持开放透明的态度,以建立信任。一些零售商销售镀有24K黄金的低纯度金饰,但并不明确告知产品规格。往好了说,消费者对此可能会感到困惑;往坏了说,会觉得这是误导。

业界还应该更加重视有道德的生产,因为越来越多的消费者开始担心环境和社会问题。处理24K金饰需要采用一种污染性的化学工艺,因此通过负责任地开发金饰,该行业可能会吸引更多的兴趣。

第三,市场可以考虑创造更多“购买时机”的方式。24K金饰的销量集中于春节、婚礼和生日等时机。K金和3D硬金的问世吸引了年轻消费者,但这些产品也可用于提高传统客户的消费频率。

更好地利用线上平台和社交媒体,专注于速度和便利性也有帮助。线上购买者还应获得与线下客户相同的好处。这两个群体经常被视为互不相干的独立群体,但此举增加了沟通成本,令商家错失收集有价值数据的机会。

总体而言,金饰市场在过去几年里取得了可观的进步,这些努力已经初见成效,尤其是更具开拓精神的零售商。展望未来,利用中国持续的经济扩张和不断增长的可支配收入,有巨大的潜力推动进一步增长。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Potential for growth in China’s jewellery market

Gold Investor, October 2018

18 October, 2018

Potential for growth in China’s jewellery market

China’s jewellery market is recovering following several difficult years. Significant improvements have already been made but more could be done to meet the needs of China’s modern consumers. Gerry Chen, Director of Trade Engagement in China for the World Gold Council, puts forward proposals for progress.

Gerry Chen
Gerry Chen
Director, Trade Engagement
World Gold Council

China’s jewellery market is the largest in the world, accounting for 30% of global demand. But it is a market in flux. Traditionally, Chinese consumers purchased gold jewellery purely for its gold content. Today, there is a growing focus on adornment, as younger consumers in particular look to gold jewellery as a means of expressing their identity, gaining social recognition and embracing change.

Jewellery demand grew in 2017 for the first time since 2013 and growth should continue, provided the industry continues to innovate and adapt to changing consumer tastes.

Shifting tastes have had a notable effect on the market. Following rapid economic growth and rising wealth, demand reached its peak in 2013. But the market tailed off in subsequent years, leaving the sector with too many stores, excess capacity and fierce price competition.

A painful period of reinvention followed, as jewellers focused on boosting their appeal to younger consumers through a more diverse product mix and a deeper digital presence. These efforts have delivered encouraging results. Jewellery demand grew in 2017 for the first time since 2013 (Chart 1) and growth should continue, provided the industry continues to innovate and adapt to changing consumer tastes.

Chart 1: Mainland China’s annual jewellery demand

Chart 1: Mainland China’s annual jewellery demand

Source: GFMS, Thomson Reuters; Metals Focus; World Gold Council

Data as of

Recent analysis of consumer behaviour, conducted by the World Gold Council, highlights two significant trends.

First, consumer preferences differ from one region to another. Competition is particularly fierce in Tier 1 cities, where diamond and platinum jewellery is almost as popular as gold products. In lower-tier cities, by contrast, consumers tend to buy high carat, heavy gold jewellery for wealth preservation purposes (Figure 1).

Figure 1: Percentage of women who, if given RMB5,000 would choose a specific jewellery product

Recent analysis of consumer behaviour, conducted by the World Gold Council, highlights two significant trends.  First, consumer preferences differ from one region to another. Competition is particularly fierce in Tier 1 cities, where diamond and platinum jewellery is almost as popular as gold products. In lower-tier cities, by contrast, consumers tend to buy high carat, heavy gold jewellery for wealth preservation purposes (Figure 1).  Figure 1: Percentage of women who, if given RMB5,000 would choose a specific jewellery product

Source: World Gold Council

Second, preferences vary from one generation to another. Millennials, for example, are far more likely to spend their disposable income on technology or fashion than gold jewellery. Among older consumers, however, gold is still preferable (Figure 2)

Figure 2: Percentage of respondents by age and products selected for purchase if given RMB5,000

Figure 2: Percentage of respondents by age and products selected for purchase if given RMB5,000

Source: World Gold Council

These issues matter. Tier 1 cities and millennials are changing the shape of consumerism in China and trends that start among these consumer groups eventually filter through to the rest of the country.

While this has challenged the gold jewellers, it also represents an opportunity. According to UnionPay, one of China’s largest financial services companies, consumers in Tier 1 cities contribute around 40% of total national spending, while spending by millennials is increasing at twice the rate of spending by older consumers. The younger generation – born after 1990 – also perform more than half of their spending online, compared with one-third for those born between 1970 and 1989.

Clearly then, China’s gold jewellery market needs to engage with urban dwellers and younger people if it is to continue to flourish. Fortunately, that change is starting to take shape.

Consumers in Tier 1 cities contribute around 40% of total national spending, while spending by millennials is increasing at twice the rate of spending by older consumers.

Better products

Historically, the market in China was dominated by 24ct gold jewellery, which resonates well with older, more traditional consumers. It is less appealing to young, urban dwellers, however, so jewellers introduced 18ct gold, also known as K-gold. More recently, the industry has developed 22ct gold as well. Both 18ct and 22ct gold jewellery are considered more fashionable and affordable than 24ct gold. And they offer better profit margins for retailers.

Jewellers have also uncovered ways to offer intricately designed pieces that meet lower budgets, such as 3D hard gold, which is four times harder than 24ct gold and uses only a third of the gold that traditional jewellery uses. Some forward-thinking businesses are also using well-loved brands to attract millennials, such as the Disney Tsum Tsum collection from leading retailer Chow Tai Fook.

Bricks-and-mortar retailers offer other services too such as free cleaning, maintenance and buy-back schemes. In the short to medium term, therefore, online shops are unlikely to take more than a small share of the market.

Nevertheless, online shops play an important role in the purchasing process. Smart jewellers have leveraged online shopping festivals, such as the Double 11 Singles’ Day, to drive sales offline – one prominent jeweller noted, for instance, that such online sales events boosted in-store sales five-fold.

Jewellers are making more effort to cater to online shoppers too, with more affordable lightweight pieces and K-gold jewellery that appeal to younger, digitally savvy consumers.

Importantly too, the trail of clicks left by online shoppers can help jewellers to understand customers better, faster and more cost-effectively. Clicks on banner advertisements or items saved in ‘wish lists’, for example, can provide insights that benefit both digital and physical stores.

One-third of gold purchasers begin their journey online but only 4% go on to complete their purchase online.

Driving growth

Looking ahead, we believe there are three areas of focus, which can help the industry to drive sales.

First, jewellers need to build brands that emotionally connect with consumers. Currently, the industry is dominated by one-size-fits-all megastores, with little differentiation between brands. This may work for traditional gold jewellery buyers but it is less effective with millennials, who want jewellery that reflects their unique style and highlights their success.

Second, retailers need to build trust by being open and transparent with customers. Some retailers sell lower carat gold jewellery plated with 24ct gold, without clearly communicating exact product specifications. Consumers can find this at best, confusing; at worst, misleading.

There should be an increased focus on ethical production too, as a growing number of consumers are concerned about environmental and social issues. The treatment of 24ct gold jewellery requires a pollutive chemical process so the industry could potentially attract more interest by developing gold jewellery with an ethical stamp.

Third, the market could consider ways of creating more ‘buying occasions.’ Purchases of 24ct gold jewellery centre on the Lunar New Year, weddings and births. The introduction of K-gold and 3D hard gold has attracted younger customers, but these products could also be used to increase shopping frequency among more traditional customers.

Better use of online platforms and social media will help too, with a focus on speed and convenience. Online buyers should also be granted the same benefits as offline customers. These two groups are often treated as independent but this creates additional communication costs and misses opportunities to glean valuable data.

Overall, considerable progress has been made over the past few years and these efforts are already yielding results, particularly among the more pioneering retailers. Looking ahead, there is significant potential to drive further growth, leveraging China’s continued economic expansion and increasing disposable income.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]