投资

黄金需求趋势2020年第三季度

2020年10月29日

投资

第三季度全球黄金投资总量为494.6吨,同比增长21%,前三季度的需求同比上升63%

  • 第三季度,金条和金币需求回升至222.1吨,一方面是因为新兴市场的需求有所改善,另一方面则要归功于西方市场投资需求保持强劲增长
  • 尽管与上半年相比增速有所降低,但第三季度的ETF净流入仍在继续。第三季度全球黄金ETF规模增长272.5吨,同比增长5%
  • 第三季度黄金ETF的持仓量创下了3,880吨的新纪录。
2019年第
3季度
2020年第
3季度
  年同比变化
投资 408.1 494.6 21%
金条和金币总需求量 149.4 222.1 49%
  印度 22.3 33.8 51%
  中国大陆 42.8 57.8 35%
黄金ETFs及类似产品 258.7 272.5 5%

第三季度,全球黄金投资需求(包括对金币,小金条和黄金ETF)达到494.6吨,比2019年第三季度增长了21%。

金条和金币投资普遍出现同比增长,这与第二季度东方市场普遍出现的回售现象形成了鲜明的对比。但泰国是最显著的例外之一,在该国,出售所持有的黄金速度持续加快,当地民众以此缓解因疫情原因造成的经济困难。

金价在8月初创下历史新高,在一定程度上吸引了趋势追随者的投资,而疫情在全球造成的持续经济压力巩固了黄金作为风险对冲和保值资产的地位。持续的低负利率环境也对黄金有利。

ETF

在272.5吨净流入的推动下,第三季度全球黄金ETF的持仓量达到了3,880吨,再创历史新高。

虽然增幅仍然显著,但这低于今年上半年的水平:第一季度和第二季度的净流入分别达到了300吨和431吨。

今年前九个月,全球黄金ETF规模总计增加了1,003吨:第三季度的净流入标志着全球黄金ETF连续第八个季度出现净流入。

以价值计算,全球黄金ETF的资产管理规模(AUM)攀升至2,354亿美元,较2019年底的1,411亿美元大幅增加。

尽管每个月的流入量都为正数,但整个季度并不平衡。7月是迄今为止黄金持仓量最高的月份,持仓量增加了165.6吨,主因是强劲的黄金价格走势(月涨幅11%)。在8月份的最初几天,黄金价格突破2,000美元/盎司,创下历史新高,随后进行调整,并在1,900美元/盎司附近整固,这之后,资金的流入量有所放缓。

8月份黄金ETF总持仓仅增长了38.8吨,是今年为止增幅最小的月份。9月份出现了复苏,流入68.1吨,但仍远低于7月份。7月份的流入量占本季度总流入量的61%。

 

从年初截至第三季度末,全球黄金ETF的流入量突破1,000吨

从年初截至第三季度末,全球黄金ETF的流入量突破1,000吨

来源: 彭博社, ETF提供商, 洲际交易所基准管理机构; 版权和其他权利

 

在金价停止飞速上涨之后,黄金ETF的流入开始放缓也在意料之中:我们曾在7月下旬的一篇博文中提出,黄金的涨势从短期来看是不可持续的。但是整个季度持续的黄金ETF净流入表明,投资者仍然对黄金感兴趣,我们相信ETF投资者购买黄金的动机基本没有改变。

  1. 对冲风险的持续需求。由于全球经济仍然受到新冠疫情的影响,复苏的可持续性、强度和形式仍然备受争议。虽然一些股票市场已经从先前的跌势中恢复过来,但涨势仍很微弱,主要集中在因经济突然变化而大涨的个股和/或即将受益于经济复苏的股票上。尽管美元走强,但9月美国股市的疲软可能是促使该月黄金ETF流入有所回升的原因之一。
  2. 超低利率和广泛的财政支持。本季度,各国央行和政府继续采取行动应对由疫情引发的经济收缩。随着北半球许多国家报告的新冠感染病例迅速增加,更多类似的情况出现的可能性也在增长。而即将到来的美国大选似乎正在延迟另一轮刺激方案的通过。
  3. 金价涨势喜忧参半。在2020年截至9月30日,黄金的回报率达到了25%,成为表现最好的主要资产类别之一。这种优势正是鼓励投资者增加黄金投资或增加黄金在投资组合中的比重的因素之一。但是,在金价从8月初的高点回调后,一些短期投资者获利了结,并减少了头寸。 

第三季度所有地区的基金都有流入。迄今为止,北美上市的基金所占份额最大,吸引了全球70%的净流入。截至本季度末,该地区的黄金ETF持仓量增加了190.9吨,达到2,089.4吨(资产管理规模1,268亿美元),占全球总持仓量的54%。本季度的每个月,该地区的基金都出现了净增持。

本季度在欧洲上市的基金总规模为54.9吨,占全球净流入的20%,但8月份净流出了10.6吨,这是该地区自2019年11月以来首次出现月度减持。德国黄金ETF的赎回是主要推动因素,8月份德国基金持仓量减少了12.5吨,9月份有所放缓,流出量为1.6吨。因此,德国的黄金ETF在第三季度出现了5.7吨的净流出,这是自2017年第三季度以来的首次。通过与供应商的交流,我们认为这主要是由于长期持有者获利回吐所致。

在亚洲上市的黄金ETF第三季度的流入量为20.7吨,使该地区的总持仓量在9月底达到了121吨,创历史新高。由于第三季度四只新的黄金ETF上市,使得年初至今的该地区新基金总数达到了七只,来自中国基金的净流入占据了主导地位。在截至9月底的三个月中,这些新增基金使在中国上市的黄金ETF的总持仓量增加了13.1吨。本季度印度基金也实现了良好增长,增加了4.6吨。
本季度在其他地区上市的基金的持仓量共增加了6.1吨,其中澳大利亚的黄金ETF总持仓增加了5.3吨。截至本季度末,其他地区的黄金总持仓为65.4吨,已接近2009年11月创下的70.6吨的历史记录。

十月份黄金ETF资金继续流入,北美和欧洲上市的基金占主导地位。亚洲基金少量的净流入抵消了其他地区上市基金的流出。

金条和金币

第三季度金条和金币的投资同比增长49%,至222.1吨。随着各经济体逐渐摆脱疫情导致的封锁,以及今年早些时候出现的供应链瓶颈得到缓解,我们追踪的大多数国家/地区第三季度金条和金币需求都出现了改善。在强劲的季度环比复苏支撑下,即使年初的需求相对疲软,但今年前三季度的全球金条和金币需求基本与2019年同期持平。并且由于今年金价表现强劲,金条和金币需求的价值大幅上升,年初至今的需求总价值达到了349亿美元。

第三季度,中国金条和金币需求量为57.8吨,无论是环比还是同比,都显著增加。但与此同时,由于获利了结,个人投资者黄金回售的数量也有所上升。尽管第三季度表现强劲,中国年初至今的金条金币需求仍比2019年同期下降了17%。

当地黄金价格在第三季度上半季创下历史新高,吸引了中国个人投资者的广泛关注。随着人民币金价在7月份飙升并在8月初达到创纪录的高位,黄金引起了投资者的极大关注,一定程度上推动了三季度中国金条和金币销售的激增。根据我们之前的分析,由于大多数中国的个人黄金投资者都是趋势追随者,金价的上涨往往会带来同一时期当地金条和金币需求的增长。

全球持续的不确定性以及中国经济状况的改善也有一定推动作用。第三季度,中国股市波动率相对较高,再加上地缘政治的不确定性,使得当地的避险需求有所增加,从而推动了中国黄金ETF的净流入以及投资者对金条和金币的需求。同时,当地经济活动恢复正常,个人财务状况有所改善,国内生产总值(第三季度同比增长4.9%)和可支配收入(同比增长2.8%)等主要指标的增长对金条金币零售需求形成了支撑,而实物黄金的零售需求历来也是与经济的增长正相关的。

第三季度,泰国再次出现大规模的金条金币回售,45.2吨的净销售量超过了第二季度本已较高的水平。年初至今,泰国的金条金币净回售量为80.1吨,与2019年前三季度的24.5吨净投资量形成鲜明对比。在这个主要依赖旅游业的国家,泰国今年的实物黄金需求受到了金价上涨和游客数量骤减的双重打击。在黄金价格迅速上涨之际,工作岗位的减少和收入水平的降低,促使泰国投资者大举卖出所持有的黄金,因为他们需要满足自己的金融需求。

日本的金条金币需求连续第七个季度出现净回售,投资者在第三季度净售出2.3吨金条和金币。与第二季度的2.4吨相比,净销售量略有下降,但总购买量良好,净销售量也仅仅略有增长。从年初截至第三季度末,2020年的净销售量为11.3吨,与2019年前九个月的17.1吨相比略有好转。

东亚其他地区的金条金币投资喜忧参半:越南的需求量为4.8吨,同比下降48%,而印度尼西亚的需求量为5.5吨,因为大额投资者购买了大量黄金产品,扭转了2019年第三季度净回售带来的影响。

尽管年初至今的需求仍然只有81.6吨(同比下降了19%),但印度第三季度金条和金币销售同比增长了51%,至33.8吨。7月和8月的投资需求尤其强劲。在个人投资者中,小金条(50克或更小)尤其受欢迎。尽管印度仍处在新冠疫情持续蔓延的困难时期,但该国一直在谨慎地逐步放开市场,因此第三季度印度民众更容易购买到黄金产品。

通常情况下,印度农村的需求约占每年黄金需求量的60%,在连续第二年季风季节降水充沛,粮食产量较高,价格上涨之后,印度农村经济在2020年的表现尤其出色。这是促进城市地区以外的金条金币需求的一个重要原因。我们还听说,拥有广泛零售网络和在线业务的大型金银交易商和连锁店均公布了强劲的销售数据。这表明小型投资产品业务也已转向无现金交易。

也有报道称非官方市场有千克金条的投资需求。房地产市场发展的放缓和金价的上涨可能促使一些不明现金的持有者转向黄金。

土耳其金条和金币需求再次成为第三季度的亮点之一。在上半年已经很强劲的势头之下,第三季度的该地区的金条金币需求同比增长了七倍多,达到48.5吨,是有记录以来的最高季度总量。在今年的前九个月中,土耳其金条和金币投资者购买了91.8吨黄金,几乎是2019年同期购买量的三倍。避险意愿引发了需求激增,再加上国内通货膨胀、当地实际利率为负,里拉走弱以及黄金价格的上涨势头的推动,使得土耳其人对黄金产生了强烈的兴趣。

面对当地高通胀,在避险情绪的支持下,伊朗的金条和金币投资同比增长了24%:但遇险抛售阻止了净需求的进一步提高,央行减缓金币购买的举措也起到了同样的作用。此外,中东地区大部分市场的金条和金币投资在第三季度均有所改善,沙特阿拉伯需求同比增长10%,阿联酋增长40%,科威特同比增长45%。

 

官方金币购买量激增,创下年初至第三季度末的新记录

官方金币购买量激增,创下年初至第三季度末的新记录

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

在2020年上半年已购买大量金条金币的基础上,西方投资者在第三季度仍然是强劲的买家,尽管总购买量与第二季度相比略有下降。在第二季度中阻碍投资者获得实物投资产品的供应链中断现象在第三季度大多有所缓解,但实物黄金的溢价仍处于略低于今年早些时候高点的水平

美国第三季度金条和金币需求比去年同时期增长了四倍,至19.2吨,高于第二季度的14.1吨,这也是2016年第四季度以来最强的一个季度。这使今年年初至今的美国的金条金币需求达到48.9吨,是2019年同期需求的三倍多。我们认为,因为广受欢迎的一盎司金币供应量增加,而小重量金币和1盎司金条仍供不应求,第三季度实物黄金投资的火爆中有一部分是此前被延后的需求。因此,本季度一盎司硬币的溢价有所下降。8月初黄金价格回调后,金条金币投资有所下滑,但当投资者对金价不会进一步下跌重新充满信心时,购买量又开始回升。除了今年初推动金价上涨的主要经济因素外,有报道称,美国大选前也出现了一些避险买盘。

欧洲投资者第三季度共购买了52.1吨的金条金币,略低于第二季度的69.4吨,但同比仍有65%的大幅增长。德国的金条金币需求为32.3吨(同比增长81%),瑞士10.2吨(同比增长57%),英国3.1吨(同比增长28%),奥地利2.4吨(同比增长128%)。这几个国家是本季度的实物黄金投资需求的主导力量。在经济持续低迷的情况下,实际负利率(在某些情况下,甚至名义利率都为负值)仍然是本季度欧洲黄金需求的主要驱动力,不过据报道,7月和8月初金价的快速上涨令一些原本准备购买金条金币的投资者望而却步。由于投资者倾向于逢低入场,因此8月和9月金价的回落使投资者的兴趣重新升温。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2020

29 October, 2020

Investment

Q3 global investment of 494.6t increased 21% y-o-y, while y-t-d volume increased by 63%.

  • Bar and coin demand recovered in Q3 to 222.1t, as improved emerging market demand joined still-strong Western investment
  • ETF inflows continued in Q3, although at a slower rate than in H1. Additions of 272.5t in Q3 were 5% higher y-o-y
  • Holdings in gold-backed ETFs reached a new record of 3,880t in Q3. 
Tonnes Q3'19 Q3'20   YoY
Investment 408.1 494.6 21%
Bar & coin 149.4 222.1 49%
  India 22.3 33.8 51%
  China, P.R.:Mainland 42.8 57.8 35%
Gold-backed ETFs 258.7 272.5 5%

Global investment demand for gold (incorporating retail investment in gold coins and small gold bars as well as inflows into gold-backed ETFs) reached 494.6t in Q3. This was 21% higher than the Q3 2019 total. 

Bar and coin investment saw widespread y-o-y growth, in some contrast to Q2 when disinvestment was commonplace across Eastern markets. Thailand was the most notable exception, where selling of existing gold investments continued apace as a means of relieving the economic hardship arising from the pandemic.  

The strong rise in the gold price to record highs in early August attracted a certain degree of momentum investing, while the continued global economic stress due to the global pandemic underpinned gold’s role as a risk hedge and protector of wealth. The ongoing low-to-negative rate environment also remained firmly in gold’s favour.  

ETFs

Holdings in gold-backed ETFs hit 3,880t in Q3, another all-time high, as investment into these products grew by 272.5t. Although still substantial, the rate of increase was lower than the first half of 2020, when 300t were added in the first quarter and 431t in the second. During the first nine months of the year in total, 1,003t were added globally: inflows in Q3 marked the eighth successive quarter of net inflows into gold-backed ETFs. 

In value terms, global assets under management (AUM) climbed to US$235.4bn, a sharp increase compared to US$141.1bn at the end of 2019.

Although positive in each month, total inflows were uneven throughout the quarter. July was by far the strongest month with 165.6t added to holdings, as the gold priced trended strongly higher (+11%). But after the price reached a new record high above US$2,000/oz in the first few days of August, before correcting and then consolidating around US$1,900/oz, inflows slowed. August saw growth of only 38.8t, the smallest increase of the year so far. September saw a recovery, with 68.1t added, although this was still much slower than in July, which commanded 61% of the quarter’s total inflows. 

 

YTD inflows into gold ETFs breach 1,000 tonnes

YTD inflows into gold ETFs breach 1,000 tonnes

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration; Disclaimer

 

Some slowing in purchases was unsurprising after the halt in the rapid gold price gains: we had signalled that gold’s run was looking unsustainable in the short-term in a blogpost in late July. But sustained inflows through the quarter demonstrate that investors remain attracted to gold and we believe that the motivations behind ETF investors’ purchases are largely unchanged. 

  1. Ongoing need to hedge risk. With the global economy still hobbled by the coronavirus pandemic, the sustainability, strength and shape of the recovery continues to be questioned. Although some equity markets have recovered from earlier losses, share strength is narrow, concentrated in stocks that have prospered from the sudden changes in the economy and/or are set to benefit in the recovery. Weakness in US stocks in September may have encouraged the recovery in gold ETF buying seen that month, despite a stronger dollar.
  2. Ultra-low interest rates and widespread fiscal support. Central bank and government actions to combat a pandemic-driven economic contraction continued during the quarter and with many Northern Hemisphere nations facing rapid increases in reported infections, more of the same looks likely, although the looming US elections appear to be delaying the passage of another stimulus package.
  3. Mixed gold price momentum. Gold delivered a 25% return in the year to 30 September – proving to be one of the best performing major asset classes – and this strength has been one factor encouraging investors to add gold or increase portfolio weightings. But after gold corrected from its highs in early August, some shorter-term investors monetised gains and reduced positioning.  

All regions saw inflows in Q3. North American-listed funds saw by far the largest share, attracting 70% of the global volume inflow. Holdings in the region grew by 190.9t to stand at 2,089.4t (AUM US$126.8bn) by the end of the quarter, accounting for 54% of the global total. Funds in the region saw net additions in each month of the quarter. 

European-listed funds accounted for 54.9t, or 20% of global additions during the quarter, but saw net redemptions of 10.6t in August, the first monthly decline in holdings in this region since November 2019. Redemptions from German-listed funds were the main drivers of these outflows, with a 12.5t decline noted in August, slowing to a 1.6t outflow in September. Consequently, German-listed funds reported declines in holdings of 5.7t for Q3, their first quarterly decline since Q3 2017. Based on our conversations with providers, we believe this was largely due to profit taking from longer-standing holders.

Asian-listed gold-backed ETFs saw their highest ever reported quarterly inflows of 20.7t in Q3, taking holdings in this region to an all-time high of 121t by the end of September. Purchases from China dominated, helped by the listing of four new funds in the third quarter, bringing the total of new listings so far this year to seven. Inflows into these new funds contributed to the addition of 13.1t to total China-listed ETFs in the three months to end-September. Indian-listed funds also saw good growth during the quarter, adding 4.6t. 

Funds listed in other regions added 6.1t during the quarter, with Australia adding 5.3t of the total. With total gold stocks of 65.4t at the end of the quarter, holdings in other regions are approaching the previous all-time high of 70.6t seen in November 2009. 

Gold ETF inflows have continued in October, with North American- and European-listed funds dominating net purchases. Modest inflows into Asian-listed funds have offset outflows from funds listed in other regions.

Bar and coin

Investment in gold bars and coins in Q3 increased 49% y-o-y to 222.1t. The majority of the countries we track saw sequential improvements in bar and coin demand in Q3 as economies began to emerge from lockdown and the supply chain bottlenecks seen earlier in the year eased. Following this strong quarterly recovery, y-t-d bar and coin demand was flat compared with the same period in 2019, even after the weakness seen earlier this year. The value of bar and coin demand – US$34.9bn y-t-d – has increased sharply due to gold’s strong price performance this year. 

China’s gold bar and coin demand of 57.8t in Q3 represents a significant increase, both on a q-o-q and y-o-y basis. But at the same time, selling back of gold by retail investors also increased due to profit-taking. Despite the strength seen in Q3, y-t-d demand in China is 17% lower than in the comparable period in 2019. 

The local gold price hit a record high in the first half of Q3 and attracted widespread attention from retail investors. With the local gold price surging in July and reaching the record high early August, gold generated tremendous attention from investors, contributing to the surge in China’s bar and coin sales during the quarter. And according to our previous analysis, a rise in the gold price tends to lift bar and coin demand in China during the same period as most retail gold investors are trend followers.  

Lingering global uncertainties combined with improved economic conditions in China also helped. A volatile equity market in China alongside geopolitical uncertainties in the third quarter helped lift local safe-haven demand, driving inflows into Chinese gold ETFs  as well as bar and coin demand. At the same time, a renormalisation of local economic activity, better financial conditions, growth in key indicators such as GDP (+4.9% y-o-y in Q3) and disposable income (+2.8% y-o-y) supported retail demand which has also been historically correlated to positive economic growth.    

Large scale disinvestment in Thailand was again reported in Q3, with 45.2t of net sales exceeding the already-high levels seen in the second quarter. Y-t-d, net disinvestment of 80.1t from Thailand is in sharp contrast to the 24.5t of investment seen in the first three quarters of 2019. Demand this year has been hit by a combination of higher prices and the collapse in visitor numbers in a country largely dependent on tourism. Job losses and lower income levels at a time of rapidly rising gold prices prompted a surge of disinvestment as Thai investors used their gold holdings to fund their financial needs.  

Japan saw a seventh consecutive quarter of net disinvestment, with investors selling a net 2.3t of gold bars and coins in Q3. Net sales declined marginally compared to the 2.4t seen in Q2, and occurred against a backdrop of good gross purchases and only slightly stronger net sales. To date, net sales of 11.3t in 2020 compares favourably to the 17.1t of selling seen in the first nine months of 2019. 

Investment across the rest of the East Asian region was mixed: at 4.8t, bar and coin demand in Vietnam was down 48% y-o-y, while Indonesia saw 5.5t of demand after heavy investor buying more than reversed the net disinvestment of Q3 2019. 

Indian bar and coin demand increased 51% y-o-y to 33.8t in Q3, although y-t-d demand remains depressed at 81.6t (-19% y-o-y). Particularly strong investment demand was noted in July and August. Among retail investors, small bars (of 50g denominations or less) were especially popular. Although India continues to experience a particularly difficult time with the coronavirus pandemic, the country has been carefully opening up and access to gold became much easier in Q3.

India’s rural economy, normally responsible for about 60% of annual gold demand – is performing particularly well in 2020 after the second successive year of good monsoon rains and higher crop yields supported prices. This has likely helped bar and coin demand outside of the urban areas. We have also heard that large bullion dealers and chain stores with an extensive retail network and online presence have reported strong figures. This suggests that the small investment product business has shifted to cashless trade.

There were also reports of investment demand for kilobars in the unofficial market; the slowdown in real estate and rising gold prices may have prompted unaccounted cash holders to move into gold. 

Bar and coin demand in Turkey was again one of the stand-out positives in Q3. Demand increased more than seven-fold to 48.5t, the highest quarterly total on record and after already-strong buying in H1. Over the first nine months of the year, Turkish bar and coin investors have bought 91.8t of gold, nearly treble the amount bought during the same period in 2019. Safe-haven appeal has triggered this surge in demand, with a combination of domestic inflation, negative local real interest rates, lira weakness, and gold price momentum leading to strong interest in gold in Turkey. 

Bar and coin investment in Iran was 24% higher y-o-y, supported by safe haven buying in the face of high local inflation: distress selling prevented net demand from being even higher, as did moves by the central bank to slow gold coin demand. Elsewhere, the Middle East Region saw improved bar and coin investment in Q3 in most markets with Saudi Arabian demand up 10%, UAE up 40% and Kuwait 45% higher y-o-y. 

 

Official gold coin buying surges to a YTD record

Official gold coin buying surges to a YTD record

Data as of

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Western investors remained strong buyers of gold bars and coins in Q3, building on the heavy purchases seen in the first half of 2020, even though total purchases slowed slightly compared to Q2. Most of the supply-chain interruptions that had hampered investors’ access to physical investment products in Q2 eased during the third quarter, with still-elevated premiums below the highs seen earlier in the year. 

Q3 bar and coin demand in the US more than quadrupled y-o-y to 19.2t, higher than the 14.1t seen in Q2 and the strongest quarter since Q4-16. This took y-t-d purchases to 48.9t, more than treble the demand seen in the same period of 2019. We believe that there was an element of catch-up in the Q3 purchases, as availability of popular one-ounce coins improved, while fractional coins and one-ounce bars remained in short supply. Premiums for one-ounce coins therefore eased during the quarter. Purchases slowed after the correction in gold in early August but picked up again when investors regained confidence that gold was not set to fall further. Aside from the largely economic factors driving gold earlier in the year, some pre-US election buying was reported.

European investors bought 52.1t of gold in Q3, slightly less than the 69.4t purchased in Q2, but 65% higher y-o-y. Germany, with 32.3t of purchases (up 81% y-o-y), Switzerland (10.2t, up 57% y-o-y) and to a lesser extent the UK (3.1t, up 28% y-o-y) and Austria (2.4t, up 128% y-o-y), were the major buyers during the quarter. Negative real – and in some cases nominal – interest rates amid an ongoing economic downturn remained the key driver of European gold demand during the quarter, although the rapid price appreciation in July and early August reportedly deterred some buyers. The pull-back in the prices during August and September saw renewed interest as investors hunted for bargains. 

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]