2020下半年黄金市场展望

行业: 市场洞察, 需求

经济恢复路径对主要资产的影响

上半年即使股市反弹,黄金表现仍然最优

黄金在 2020 年上半年表现十分出色,以美元计价的黄金价格上涨了 16.8%,大幅跑赢了同期全球所有其它的主要资产(图 1)。截至 6 月底,LBMA(伦敦金银市场协会)下午黄金价格逼近每盎司 1,770 美元,创下 2012 年以来的新高,以所有其它主要货币计价的黄金价格也同样达到创纪录或接近创纪录的水平(表 1)。虽然全球股市已从第一季度的低点大幅反弹,但新冠疫情造成的高度不确定性和超低利率环境仍在驱使避险资金强势流向更安全、更优质的资产。就像货币市场基金和优质债券基金,黄金也受益于投资者的避险需求,黄金 ETF 创纪录的资金流入 进一步凸显了它的对冲作用。 

经济复苏或以多种形式出现

新冠疫情正对全球经济造成破坏性影响。国际货币资金组织(IMF)目前预测,2020 年全球经济增长将收缩 4.9%,伴随失业率高企以及社会财富缩水。 

越来越多的人认为,全球经济将从快速的 V 型反弹变成缓慢的 U 型反弹;或更有可能的是,下半年的复苏会是短暂的,因为疫情反复会让全球经济倒退,导致 W 型反弹。 

对投资者而言,这不仅使得不确定性居高不下,还可能对他们的投资组合表现产生长期影响。在这种背景下,我们认为黄金能够成为一种具有价值的资产:它可以帮助投资者分散风险,并有望帮助提高风险调整后收益。 

 

图 1: 2020 年上半年,黄金跑赢全球所有主要资产

图 1: 2020 年上半年,黄金跑赢全球所有主要资产

全球主要资产今年上半年的表现*

来源: 彭博社, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

* 截至 2020 年 6 月 30 日。回报率基于LBMA黄金价格、纳斯达克综合指数、彭博巴克莱美国国债指数、全球国债指数(美国除外)、ICE BAML 美国三月期国债券指数、彭博巴克莱美国公司债和高收益债指数、MSCI 新兴市场指数、彭博大宗商品总收益指数、MSCI 欧澳远东指数、标普 500 指数以及彭博原油总收益指数。 

 

表 1: 以主要货币计算的金价均接近或高于历史高位

以主要货币计算的金价及 2020 年上半年回报率*

  美元  (盎司) 欧元  (盎司) 日元  (克) 英镑  (盎司) 加元  (盎司) 瑞士法郎  (盎司) 印度卢比  (10克) 人民币  (克) 土耳其里拉  (盎司) 俄罗斯卢布  (克) 南非兰特  (克) 澳元  (盎司)
上半年回报率 16.70% 16.70% 15.90% 25.10% 22.60% 14.20% 23.50% 18.50% 34.50% 33.90% 45.00% 19.20%
现行价格 1,768 1,574 6,133 1,431 2,408 1,675 42,921 402 12,120 4,051 988 2,568
历史高点 1,895 1,604 6,538 1,444 2,443 1,688 43,069 403 12,178 4,184 1,060 2,741
日期 9/5/11 5/15/20 1/21/80 6/29/20 4/16/20 5/19/20 6/22/20 6/29/20 5/7/20 4/22/20 4/23/20 4/16/20

 

* 截至 2020 年 6 月 30 日。基于以当地货币计价的 LMBA 黄金价格:美元、欧元、日元、英镑、加元、瑞士法郎、印度卢比、人民币、土耳其里拉、俄罗斯卢布、南非兰特以及澳元。
加粗的价格和日期表示出现在 2020 年上半年的历史新高。
来源:彭博社、洲际交易所,世界黄金协会

 

新冠疫情正在对资产配置产生深远的影响

为了应对疫情引发的冲击,世界各国央行纷纷大幅降息并(或)扩大资产购买计划,以期稳定和刺激本国经济。然而,这些行动正对资产表现造成一些意想不到的影响:

  • 股市估值飙升,但这不一定有基本面支撑,因而加大了股市回调的可能性;
  • 企业债券价格也在上涨,进一步压低了信用质量曲线 ;
  • 短期以及优质债券的上行空间有限(如果有的话),因而其对冲作用下降。 

此外,大范围的财政刺激和不断膨胀的政府债务,正使得人们担忧长期的通货膨胀加剧,法定货币大幅贬值。不过,也有的人认为,短期内更有可能出现的风险是通货紧缩。 

鉴于这些情况加剧了风险,可能会使得投资回报低于预期,我们认为黄金在投资者的投资组合中会扮演越来越重要的角色。

股价正变得(非常)昂贵,或将大幅回调

十多年来,全球股市几乎一直处于单边向上的走势。新冠疫情打破了这一局面,致使股市大幅回落,第一季度全球所有主要股指悉数下挫 30%以上。然而,此后股市强势反弹,尤其是科技股。但股价似乎并没有基本面或整体经济状况的全面支撑。 

这通常被称作华尔街与普通人之间的分歧。例如,近几个月里,美股市盈率已跃升至互联网泡沫破灭以来的最高水平(图 2). 

 

图 2: 美股估值接近互联网泡沫时期的水平*

图 2: 美股估值接近互联网泡沫时期的水平*

来源: 彭博社, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

* 截至 2020 年 6 月 30 日。基于标准普尔 500 指数的市盈率。

 

不少投资者都指望从当前股市单边上扬的趋势中获利,但人们也越来越担心,这种估值泡沫可能将会导致股市大幅回调,尤其是在全球经济因第二波疫情而再度受挫的情况下。具有对冲属性的黄金会有助于缓解股票波动带来的风险。 

债券只能提供有限的保护

低利率环境还促使投资者购买长期债券和劣质债券,或干脆将债券换成股票、另类投资等风险较高的资产,以推升其投资组合的风险水平。

展望未来,我们认为投资者难以获得过去几十年那样的债券回报。我们的分析表明,未来 10年,美国国债年平均复合回报率将低于 2%(上下浮动 1%)(图 3)。这可能会给养老基金造成特别大的挑战,因为许多养老基金仍需要实现 7%至 9%的年回报率。利率走低会加大它们匹配负债的压力,并制约债券的避险作用。在这种情况下,投资者可以考虑用黄金来替代部分债券敞口。 

 

图 3: 债券当前回报率和回报率曲线的陡峭度反映出未来的回报水平*

图 3: 债券当前回报率和回报率曲线的陡峭度反映出未来的回报水平*

来源: 彭博社, 巴克莱资本, 美联储, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

* 1920 年 1 月至 2020 年 6 月的 10 年期美国国债数据;因可用性问题,彭博巴克莱美国债券综合指数(US Agg)数据来自 1992 年 1 月至 2020 年 6 月。预期假设回报率是基于使用 US Agg 的月度数据进行的对数线性回归。解释变量是 US Agg 的到期回报率(y-t-m)和曲线的陡峭度(基于 7 到 10 年 US Agg 子指数和 1 到 3 年US Agg子指数之间的回报率差异),而响应变量是观察到的未来 m 年复合回报率(这里的 m 代表测算 y-t-m 时 US Agg 的相应期限)。该模型的决定系数为 82%,标准误差约为 0.6%。 

 

滞胀、通胀趋缓、通缩?

虽然利率下行和资产购买计划正在显著影响资产价格估值,但扩张性的货币政策和财政政策将对通货膨胀产生何种影响则尚不明朗。有的人认为,量化宽松政策和不断增加地债务水平本身就会引发通胀,而且消费价格迟早会失控,哪怕经济增长仍旧萎靡不振(也就是滞胀)。然而也有人指出,过往的量化宽松措施(没有现在的那么激进)并未导致恶性通胀(至少目前还没出现过)。 

还有一种观点则提到了日本的经历,预测可能会先出现通货紧缩。事实上,有迹象表明,这种情况已经开始发生。举例来说,在中国,疫情隔离期间生活必需品价格出现飙升,但 6 月份居民消费价格指数(CPI)从 2 月份的 5.2%下降至 2.5%。一些经济学家预计,到今年年底将出现全面通缩。 

从历史上看,黄金可以保护投资者免受极端通胀的影响。在通胀率高于 3%的年份,黄金价格平均上涨 15%。同样值得注意的是,牛津经济研究院的研究显示,黄金在通缩时期应该会有不错的表现。这些时期的特点是低利率和高金融压力,而这两点都往往会推高黄金需求。
 

黄金投资可能会抵消消费端需求的疲软

黄金的表现会受到四种驱动因素的影响:

  • 经济扩张:经济增长期非常有利于金饰消费、科技用金需求和长期储蓄需求
  • 风险和不确定性:市场低迷往往会提振作为安全避风港的黄金的投资需求
  • 机会成本:竞争品,尤其是债券(通过利率)和货币,还有其他资产的价格会影响投资者对黄金的态度
  • 势能:资本流动、仓位和价格趋势可以提振或抑制黄金的表现。

 

Focus 1

 

在当前的全球经济环境下,黄金投资需求得到四个驱动因素中的三个支撑,即:

  • 高风险和高度不确定性
  • 机会成本低
  • 积极的价格势能 

但经济收缩可能会压抑金饰消费、科技用金需求或长期储蓄需求。这一点在中国或印度等主要黄金市场会尤其明显(焦点 1)。

从历史上看,黄金在高金融压力时期的黄金投资需求可抵消消费端需求疲软带来的负面影响,我们认为 2020 年也不会例外。然而,黄金的表现可能取决于经济复苏的速度和形态,投资者可以使用 QaurumSM 来进行分析。(焦点 2)。

 

重要信息和披露

© 2020 世界黄金协会。版权所有。世界黄金协会和圆环图案是世界黄金协会或其附属机构的商标。

对 LBMA 黄金价格的所有引用已获得洲际交易所基准管理机构的批准,仅供参考之用。对于价格和引用价格的标的产品的准确性,洲际交易所基准管理机构不承担任何责任。所有第三方内容均为各第三方的知识产权,所有权利应为该方所有。 
未经世界黄金协会或相关知识产权所有者的事先书面同意,不得复制或再分发本文件的任何内容,但符合下述规定的情况除外。信息和统计资料的版权©和/或其他知识产权归世界黄金协会或其附属机构(统称为 "WGC")或本文件中说明的第三方供应商所有。由各自所有者保留所有权利。

本文件中的统计数据仅可用于根据行业的公平做法和以下两个前提条件进行综述和评论:(i) 仅允许使用部分节选内容;(ii) 使用任何和所有统计资料时都应明确标注内容来源为世界黄金协会以及(在适当情况下)Metals Focus、Refinitiv GFMS 或者经过确认的其他版权所有者。世界黄金协会隶属于Metals Focus。

世界黄金协会不保证任何信息的准确性和完整性。对于使用本文件而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,世界黄金协会不承担任何责任。

本文件所含信息仅供参考之用。接受本文件所含信息,这表明你认同其预期目的。本文件所含信息不构成且不可视为构成黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具(统称“服务”)的购买或销售或者收购或招商的建议、投资建议或要约。 

本文件所含信息未考虑投资目标、金融状况或任何人士的特殊需要。 

分散投资不保证投资回报,也无法消除损失风险。通过配置黄金而产生的任何投资成果的最终表现,从本质上讲都是假设性的,可能无法反映实际投资结果,也不保证未来的结果。世界黄金协会不为任何假设投资组合中使用的任何计算和模型或任何此类使用所产生的结果提供保证或担保。投资者在就任何服务或投资作出任何决定前,应向合适的投资专业人士咨询其个人情况。

本文件包含前瞻性陈述,如使用 "相信"、"预计"、"可能 "或 "建议 "等词语或类似用语的陈述。这些前瞻性陈述是基于当前预期,可能会被修改。前瞻性陈述包含一些风险和不确定性。无法保证任何前瞻性陈述会成为现实。世界黄金协会不承担更新任何前瞻性陈述的责任。
 

有关 QaurumSM 与黄金估值框架的信息

注意,通过使用 Qaurum、黄金估值框架及其他信息而取得的各种投资成果的最终表现,从本质上讲是假设性的,可能无法体现实际投资成果,也不保证未来的回报。世界黄金协会及牛津研究院不保证该工具的作用,包括但不限于任何预测、估算或计算。

Rate this content:

Gold mid-year outlook 2020

Sectors: Market insights

Recovery paths and impact on performance

Gold outperformed in H1 as equities recovered

Gold had a remarkable performance in the first half of 2020, increasing by 16.8% in US-dollar terms and significantly outperforming all other major asset classes (Chart 1). By the end of June, the LBMA Gold Price PM was trading close to US$1,770/oz, a level not seen since 2012, and gold prices were reaching record or near-record highs in all other major currencies (Table 1).

Though equity markets around the world rebounded sharply from their Q1 lows, the high level of uncertainty surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic and the ultra-low interest rate environment supported strong flight-to-quality flows. Like money market and high-quality bond funds, gold benefited from investors’ need to reduce risk, with the recognition of gold as a hedge further underscored by the record inflows seen in gold-backed ETFs

Economic recovery may come in various shapes

The COVID-19 pandemic is having a devastating effect on the global economy. The IMF is currently projecting a 4.9% contraction in global growth in 2020, with high levels of unemployment and wealth destruction. 

There is a growing consensus that a swift V-shaped recovery is morphing into a slower U-shape recovery or, more likely, the possibility that a recovery in H2 is short lived as recurring waves of infections set the global economy back, resulting in W-shaped recovery. 

For investors, this is not only keeping uncertainty levels high, but may also have a long-lasting impact on their portfolio performance. Against this backdrop, we believe that gold can be a valuable asset: it can help investors diversify risks and may positively contribute to improving risk-adjusted returns. 

 

Chart 1: Gold outperformed all major assets in H1

Chart 1: Gold outperformed all major assets in H1

Y-t-d performance of major global assets*

Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*As of 30 June 2020. Returns based on the LBMA Gold Price PM, Nasdaq Composite, Bloomberg Barclays US Treasury Index and Global Treasury Index ex US, ICE BAML US 3-month T-bill Index, Bloomberg Barclays US Corporate and High Yield Indices, MSCI EM Index, Bloomberg Commodity TR Index, MSCI EAFE Index, S&P 500 Indices, and Bloomberg Oil TR Index.

 

 

Table 1: The gold price is near or above record high across key currencies

Gold price and y-t-d return in key currencies*

Expand to view Table 1

  USD
(oz)
EUR
(oz)
JPY
(g)
GBP
(oz)
CAD
(oz)
CHF
(oz)
INR
(10g)
RMB
(g)
TRY
(oz)
RUB
(g)
ZAR
(g)
AUD
(oz)
Y-t-d return 16.70% 16.70% 15.90% 25.10% 22.60% 14.20% 23.50% 18.50% 34.50% 33.90% 45.00% 19.20%
Current price 1,768 1,574 6,133 1,431 2,408 1,675 42,921 402 12,120 4,051 988 2,568
Record high 1,895 1,604 6,538 1,444 2,443 1,688 43,069 403 12,178 4,184 1,060 2,741
Date 9/5/11 5/15/20 1/21/80 6/29/20 4/16/20 5/19/20 6/22/20 6/29/20 5/7/20 4/22/20 4/23/20 4/16/20

*As of 30 June 2020. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM in local currencies: US dollar (USD), euro (EUR), Japanese yen (JPY), Pound sterling (GBP), Canadian dollar (CAD), Swiss franc (CHF), Indian rupee (INR), Chinese yuan (RMB), Turkish lira (TRY), Russian ruble (RUB), South African rand (ZAR), and Australian dollar (AUD).
Prices and dates in bold correspond to record highs occurring during H1 2020.
Source: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council

 

COVID-19 is upending asset allocation

In response to the pandemic, central banks around the world have aggressively cut rates and/or expanded asset purchasing programmes to stabilise and stimulate their economies. However, these actions are leading to several unintended consequences on asset performance:

  • soaring equity market valuations are not always backed by fundamentals, increasing the chance of pullbacks
  • corporate bond prices are also increasing, pushing investors further down the credit-quality curve
  • short-term and high-quality bonds have limited – if any – upside, reducing their effectiveness as hedges. 

In addition, widespread fiscal stimuli and ballooning government debt levels are raising concerns about a long-term run up of inflation, or significant erosion of the value of fiat currencies. Deflation, however, is seen as the more likely risk in the near term. 

As these dynamics heighten risk and lead to the possibility of ever lower returns than expected, we believe that gold can play an increasingly relevant role in investor portfolios.

Equities are getting (very) expensive and could see sharp pullbacks

Global equities were on a virtually uninterrupted one-way trend for more than a decade. The COVID-19 pandemic changed that, resulting in a significant pullback, with all major equity indices dropping by more than 30% during the first quarter. However, equities have recovered sharply since – especially tech stocks. But stock prices do not appear fully supported by company fundamentals or the overall state of the economy. 

This has often been referred to as the Wall Street vs. Main Street divide. In the US, for example, price-to-earnings ratios have jumped to levels not seen since the dot-com bubble in the span of a few months (Chart 2). 

 

Valuations are near dot-com bubble levels*

Chart 2: S&P 500 company valuations are near dot-com bubble levels*

*As of 30 June 2020. Based on S&P 500 price to earnings ratio.

 

And while many investors are looking to take advantage of the positive price trend, there is growing concern that such frothy valuations may result in a significant pullback, especially if the economy experiences a setback from a second wave of infections. Gold’s effectiveness as a hedge may help mitigate risks associated with equity volatility. 

Bonds may offer only limited protection

The low rate environment has also pushed investors to increase the level of risk in their portfolios via buying longer-term bonds, lower-quality bonds, or simply replacing bonds with even riskier assets, such as stocks or alternative investments.

Going forward, we do not believe investors will achieve the same bond returns they have seen over the past few decades. Our analysis suggests that investors may see an average compounded annual return of less than 2% (±1%) in US bonds over the next decade (Chart 3).

This could prove particularly challenging for pension funds, as many are still required to deliver annual returns between 7% and 9%. Lower rates increase pressure on the ability to match their liabilities and limit the effectiveness of bonds in reducing risk.

In this context, investors may consider gold as a viable substitute for part of their bond exposure

 

Chart 3: Current yields and the steepness of the bond curve are good indicators of future returns*

Chart 3: Current yields and the steepness of the bond curve are good indicators of future returns*

Sources: Bloomberg, Barclays Capital, Federal Reserve, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*10-year US Treasury data from January 1920 to June 2020; Bloomberg Barclays US Aggregate (US Agg) data from January 1992 and June 2020 due to availability. Expected hypothetical returns are based on a log-linear regression using monthly data for the US Agg. The explanatory variables are yield to maturity (y-t-m) of the US Agg and the steepness of curve (based on the difference in yields between the 7-10 year and 1-3 year US Agg sub-indices), while the response variable is the observed compounded return m years forward, where m represents the corresponding maturity of the US Agg at the time where the y-t-m is measured. The model’s R-squared is 82% and has a standard error of ~0.6%.

 

Stagflation, disinflation, deflation?

While it is fairly evident that lower interest rates and asset purchasing programs are impacting asset price valuations, it is less clear what effect expansionary monetary and fiscal policies will have on inflation. Some believe that quantitative easing and increasing debt levels are inherently inflationary and that, sooner or later, consumer prices will spiral out of control even if economic growth remains subdued (ie, stagflation). Others, however, point out that previous – albeit not as aggressive – quantitative easing measures have not resulted in rampant inflation (at least not yet).

An additional camp points to the Japanese experience and predicts that deflation may happen first. In fact, there are some indications that this is starting to happen already. For example, while the price of necessities spiked during the lockdown in China, consumer price inflation has fallen from 5.2% in February to 2.5% in June. And some economists predict outright deflation by the end of the year. 

Gold has historically protected investors against extreme inflation. In years when inflation was higher than 3% gold’s price increased 15% on average. Notably too, research by Oxford Economics shows that gold should do well in periods of deflation. Such periods are characterised by low interest rates and high financial stress, all of which tend to foster demand for gold.

Gold investment will likely offset weak consumption

Gold’s behaviour can be explained by four broad sets of drivers:

  • Economic expansion: periods of growth are very supportive of jewellery, technology and long-term savings
  • Risk and uncertainty: market downturns often boost investment demand for gold as a safe haven
  • Opportunity cost: interest rates and relative currency strength influence investor attitudes towards gold
  • Momentum: capital flows, positioning and price trends can ignite or dampen gold's performance.

 

Focus 1

 

In the current global economic environment, three of the four drivers are supportive of investment demand for gold, namely:

  • high risk and uncertainty
  • low opportunity cost
  • positive price momentum. 

Conversely, an economic contraction will likely result in lower demand for gold in the form of jewellery, technology or long-term savings. This is particularly evident in key gold markets such as China or India (Focus 1).

Historically, investment demand during periods of financial stress has offset weakness in consumer demand and we believe that 2020 will be no exception. However, gold’s future performance may depend on the speed and shape of the recovery, which investors can analyse using QaurumSM (Focus 2).

 

Important information and disclosures

© 2020 World Gold Council. All rights reserved. World Gold Council and the Circle device are trademarks of the World Gold Council or its affiliates.

All references to LBMA Gold Price are used with the permission of ICE Benchmark Administration Limited and have been provided for informational purposes only. ICE Benchmark Administration Limited accepts no liability or responsibility for the accuracy of the prices or the underlying product to which the prices may be referenced. Other content is the intellectual property of the respective third party and all rights are reserved to them. 

Reproduction or redistribution of any of this information is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of World Gold Council or the appropriate copyright owners, except as specifically provided below. Information and statistics are copyright © and/or other intellectual property of the World Gold Council or its affiliates (collectively, “WGC”) or third-party providers identified herein. All rights of the respective owners are reserved.

The use of the statistics in this information is permitted for the purposes of review and commentary (including media commentary) in line with fair industry practice, subject to the following two pre-conditions: (i) only limited extracts of data or analysis be used; and (ii) any and all use of these statistics is accompanied by a citation to World Gold Council and, where appropriate, to Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS or other identified copyright owners as their source. World Gold Council is affiliated with Metals Focus.

WGC does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information nor accepts responsibility for any losses or damages arising directly or indirectly from the use of this information.

This information is for educational purposes only and by receiving this information, you agree with its intended purpose. Nothing contained herein is intended to constitute a recommendation, investment advice, or offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”). 

This information does not take into account any investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any particular person. 

Diversification does not guarantee any investment returns and does not eliminate the risk of loss. The resulting performance of any investment outcomes that can be generated through allocation to gold are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. WGC does not guarantee or warranty any calculations and models used in any hypothetical portfolios or any outcomes resulting from any such use. Investors should discuss their individual circumstances with their appropriate investment professionals before making any decision regarding any Services or investments.

This information may contain forward-looking statements, such as statements which use the words “believes”, “expects”, “may”, or “suggests”, or similar terminology, which are based on current expectations and are subject to change. Forward-looking statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that any forward-looking statements will be achieved. WGC assumes no responsibility for updating any forward-looking statements.

Information regarding QaurumSM and the Gold Valuation Framework

Note that the resulting performance of various investment outcomes that can generated through use of Qaurum, the Gold Valuation Framework and other information are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. Neither WGC nor Oxford Economics provides any warranty or guarantee regarding the functionality of the tool, including without limitation any projections, estimates or calculations.

Rate this content: