投资

黄金需求趋势 2020年上半年及第二季度

2020年07月30日

投资

上半年全球投资需求创下1,130.7吨的历史新高,达到创纪录的600亿美元

  • 截至6月底,黄金ETF和类似产品的总持仓达到了创纪录的3,621吨
  • 随着新冠肺炎疫情及其应对措施对全球经济产生的巨大破坏作用,ETF投资者开始寻求黄金带来的安全感
  • 相比之下,尽管东西方投资者行为有所差异,但上半年金条和金币投资还是同比下降了半年金条和金币投资还是同比下降了17%,至396.7吨。
2019年第
2季度
2020年第
2季度
  年同比变化
投资 295.0 582.9 98%
金条和金币总需求量 218.9 148.8 -32%
  印度 44.5 19.8 -56%
  中国大陆 49.5 40.7 -18%
黄金ETFs及类似产品 76.1 434.1 >300

第二季度,许多国家仍处于封锁禁令的限制之下。即使金价上涨,以美元计算的金价达八年高点,许多其他货币的金价也打破新纪录,但金条和金币的需求仍旧承压。对于许多市场而言,黄金是上半年表现最好的资产。

东方市场的投资动机以获利了结为主导,而避险买盘和趋势投资则在西方市场占据中心地位,在经济不确定性和价格进一步上涨预期的背景下,西方市场的投资者增持黄金。因此,亚洲和中东的金条和金币需求出现了明显的同比下降,这与欧洲和北美的大幅增长形成鲜明对比。

黄金ETF

2020年上半年,全球投资者在其投资组合中增加的黄金ETF的总量创下历史纪录。截至6月底,这些产品的2020年总流入达734吨,使全球总持仓达到3,621吨的历史新高,资产管理规模达到创纪录的2,058亿美元。

第二季度的流入量为434吨(资产管理规模为234亿美元),几乎与2009年第一季度全球金融危机最严重时的465.7吨的纪录持平。我们认为,到目前为止,2020年资金流入背后的原因有三个关键因素:

  1. 对冲风险的需求不断增长。人们对全球经济复苏呈“U”形或“W”形而不是“V”形的期望越来越高,支撑了对黄金这种避险资产的需求。尽管全球股市已从第一季度的大幅调整中复苏,但某些地区的估值开始出现泡沫,因此,黄金作为一种平衡高风险资产投资的对冲手段,成为人们关注的焦点。
  2. 持续的超低利率环境。全球各国政府和中央银行采取的一致的扩张性政策措施和资产购买,使利率维持在历史最低水平,一方面降低了持有黄金的机会成本,另一方面也解释了为什么那些关注政府债务膨胀可能带来通胀影响的投资者要将黄金作为对冲通胀工具。
  3. 积极的价格趋势。今年上半年,即使3月份出现大幅回调,当时许多投资者被迫使用黄金来获取流动资金,但黄金的回报率仍达到了17%。以美元计价的黄金价格升至8年来最高水平(以某些货币计算的金价达到创纪录的高位),并吸引了趋势驱动的资金流入,这反过来又推动了金价的持续走强。趋势是一个关键性的战术驱动因素,可以帮助解释黄金的表现情况,并一直支撑着2020年至今的投资需求。
 

创纪录的资金涌入了全球黄金ETF

GDT Q2 2020 - Chart 4 - Chinese

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

在整个第二季度,所有地区的黄金ETF每个月均有流入。但到目前为止,在北美上市的基金规模的增长最强劲,在本季度吸引了全球超过75%的资金流入。截至上半年末,该地区的持仓量增加了329.5吨(180亿美元),达到1898.4吨(资产管理规模达到1,079亿美元),占全球黄金ETF总持有量的52%。

同期,在欧洲上市的黄金ETF流入量为86.7吨(+44亿美元)。该地区增长主要集中在英国:53吨(合29亿美元)直接流入在英国上市的基金,4月和5月的增长被6月少量的资金流出略微抵消。德国(+20.1吨)和法国(+14.5吨)是该地区的另两个主要增长市场。

亚洲上市的黄金ETF的持仓量在第二季度增加了9.2吨,达到了102.2吨的新高。第二季度,中国推出了三款新的黄金ETF产品,从而使我们资料组中中国上市基金的数量增加到了七只。根据他们的描述,这些新上市的基金(工银瑞信黄金ETF、前海开源黄金ETF和华夏黄金ETF)与现有产品类似,它们至少有90%是由上海黄金交易所的实物黄金合约Au9999支持的。

同时,在其他国家/地区上市的黄金ETF在第二季度增长了8.7吨,达到了59.3吨(4.57亿美元)的新高。实际上,该地区ETF的持仓量在上半年增幅最大,增长了23.3%。

到目前为止,7月份ETF的流入势头仍在持续,北美和欧洲的基金再次吸引了其中的大部分资金。在亚洲上市的基金仅出现了小幅增长,因为在中国上市的基金出现了少量的资金流出。这主要是由于部分中国投资者将注意力转向表现强劲的股票市场上:沪深300指数在7月的前三周飙升了13%以上。

金条和金币

第二季度金条和金币的投资同比下降32%,至148.8吨。这使得今年上半年的零售投资跌至11年来的最低点,仅为396.7吨。然而,上半年金条和金币需求的价值却同比增长了4%,达到208亿美元,这反映出黄金价格比2019年上半年要强劲得多。市场封锁禁令对金条和金币投资形成了障碍,但这在线上投资更加成熟的市场中并不是一个大问题。

尽管随着中国解除封锁禁令,金条和金币需求出现了环比反弹,但与2019年相比,该需求仍然疲软。虽然第二季度的需求环比增微了10%,但仍较去年同期低18%,仅为40.7吨。第一季度的严重损失导致上半年金条和金币需求仅为77.7吨,低于2019年上半年相对适中的120.6吨(-36%)。

 

疫情导致的供应链瓶颈限制了全球的金条需求

GDT Q2 2020 - Chart 5 - Chinese

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

第二季度中国GDP增长从第一季度的-6.8%升至3.2%,在一定程度上缓解了中国投资者的收入压力。我们的分表明,中国消费者的支出与金条和金币的销售呈正相关关系。但对经济问题的担忧还远远没有结束。而货币供应量增长和货币贬值是政府扩张性措施带来的副作用。对这些措施产生的经济影响的担忧,提升了投资者对黄金避险作用的需求,尤其在今年上半年黄金是中国表现最好的资产的前提下。

尽管金价上涨通常会对黄金饰品的需求产生抑制作用,但金价上涨的趋势往往会吸引投资者的关注,有助于提高第二季度金条和金币的需求。4月和5月,当地黄金价格相对波动较高,抑制了金条和金币的需求。但是到6月中旬,投资者对价格的稳步上涨已经恢复了信心,尽管也出现了一轮回售潮,但需求仍有所回升。

泰国出现的回售行为抵消了前一年的需求:投资者共卖出了40.6吨黄金。泰国是第二季度和上半年金条和金币投资同比下降的最大推动者。在泰国,金价达到创纪录新高,以旅游业为主要支柱的经济也受到全球疫情重创,在这个双重打击下,需求降低。

在黄金价格迅速上涨之际,工作岗位减少,收入水平下降,这促使泰国投资者大举卖出黄金,以满足自己的流动性需求。

日本的金条和金币需求连续第六个季度出现净减少,投资者在第二季度净卖出金条和金币2.4吨。适度的回售规模反映出为应对疫情而采取的紧急状态限制了实体店的业务。2020年上半年的净投资需求为-8.9吨,而2019年上半年为-9.3吨。

同样,整个东亚地区的投资也受到了金价高企和持续上涨、市场封锁现状以及由此产生的经济紧缩的影响。

印度今年上半年的金条和金币需求仅为47.8吨(同比下降了39%),创下历史新低水平。由于全国范围的封锁禁令,零售商店和金银交易商店一直关闭至5月中旬,这对本季度金条和金币的需求造成了障碍。在主要的黄金购买节Akshaya Tritiya期间,由于市场仍然出于关闭状态,抑制了需求。从5月18日起,随着市场逐步重新开放,投资开始复苏。黄金价格创历史新高产生了双重影响,一方面鼓励一些投资者增持黄金,另一方面则使得另一部分投资者更倾向获利了结。

在封锁期间,印度投资者对数字黄金越来越感兴趣,尽管这仍然只占整个市场的很小一部分。1 但是,迄今为止,2020年经历的严峻形势可能会导致这一领域的投资需求稳定增长。

土耳其投资者继续关注黄金作为避险工具和通胀对冲工具的作用:上半年金条和金币的需求达36.8吨,为七年来最高水平。尽管以里拉计算的黄金价格创下历史新高,但投资者还是利用回调机会进行购买,在第二季度增加了13.5吨的黄金投资。里拉投资的实际负利率、高通胀前景和高价格预期都为需求的增长提供了支撑。

中东大部分地区严格的封锁令使得这些市场的金条和金币需求受到抑制。在投资者能够进行交易的地方,亏本抛售的现象在很大程度上抵消了由价格上涨推动的投资增长。

因全球疫情带来的不确定性,西方投资者将重点放在了黄金的避险作用,同时也受黄金价格强劲上涨的吸引。尽管有强大的投资实力,但由于供应链的限制(尤其是第二季度一些铸币厂和精炼厂关闭),可能使得某些市场无法满足全部的零售需求。

美国第二季度的金条和金币需求同比翻了两番,达到13.8吨。这导致上半年需求几乎增加了两倍,达到了29.3吨。黄金的价格优势在第二季度吸引了大量投资。然而,7月份金价突破1800美元/盎司,引发了获利回吐现象,在迄今为止的第三季度,市场出现了更为强劲的双向活动。美国金条和金币投资的强度反映了黄金ETF的强劲表现,对新冠病毒产生的经济影响以及金价不断上涨的担忧,似乎推动了各类投资者的投资活动。

今年上半年,欧洲投资者共投资了137.4吨金条和金币——这是自2010年以来上半年的最高值。尽管英国投资者也在寻求黄金的安全作用,但大部分投资增长来自德国、奥地利和瑞士。在产能受到限制、供应链因封锁措施而受到限制之际,对黄金的追捧推高了小金条和金币的溢价。

脚注

  1. 互联网投资黄金——在印度被非正式地称为数字黄金——允许投资者在线购买实物黄金,将其存储在专业金库中,并在需要时加持它。有关更多详细信息,请参考 https://www.gold.org/what-we-do/investing-gold/how-buy-gold/internet-gold

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2020

30 July, 2020

Investment

H1 global investment demand hit an all-time high of 1,130.7t with a record value of US$60bn

  • Holdings of gold-backed ETFs and similar products reached a record 3,621t by the end of June
  • As the COVID-19 pandemic, and the response to it, ravaged the global economy, ETF investors sought the safety of gold
  • H1 bar and coin investment by contrast was down 17% y-o-y at 396.7t, although the overall decline masks a divergence in East/West investor behaviour. 
Tonnes Q2'19 Q2'20   YoY
Investment 295.0 582.9 98%
Bar & coin 218.9 148.8 -32%
  India 44.5 19.8 -56%
  China, P.R.:Mainland 49.5 40.7 -18%
Gold-backed ETFs 76.1 434.1 >300

Many countries remained under lockdown restrictions in Q2. This took its toll on bar and coin demand, even as the gold price rallied, reaching successive eight-year highs in US dollar terms and breaking new records in many other currencies. It was, for many markets, the best performing asset of H1.

The profit-taking motive dominated sentiment in the East, while safe-haven buying and momentum investment took centre stage in Western markets, where investors added to their holdings amid economic uncertainty and expectations of further price gains. Consequently, Asia and the Middle East saw marked y-o-y declines in bar and coin demand, which contrasted with substantial growth in Europe and North America. 

ETFs

Global investors added record amounts of gold-backed ETFs to their portfolios in the first half of 2020. Inflows into these products reached 734t by the end of June, taking total global holdings to a new record high of 3,621t, with AUM hitting a record US$205.8bn.

Q2 saw inflows of 434t (AUM US$23.4bn), almost matching the Q1 2009 quarterly record of 465.7t seen during the depths of the Global Financial Crisis. The conviction behind the inflows seen during 2020 so far, we believe, stemmed from three key factors:

  1. A growing need to hedge risk. Mounting expectations for the global economic recovery to be ‘U’- or ‘W’- rather than ‘V’-shaped are supporting demand for gold as a risk-diversifying asset. And while stock markets across the globe have enjoyed a recovery from the Q1 sharp correction, valuations in some areas are arguably getting a little frothy – throwing the spotlight on gold’s properties as a hedge to balance investment in riskier assets.
  2. The continued ultra-low interest rate environment. Concerted expansionary policy measures and asset purchases by global governments and central banks have kept interest rates at historically low levels. This has the dual impact of reducing the opportunity cost of holding gold, while supporting the case for gold as an inflation-hedge among investors focused on the possible inflationary implications of ballooning government debt.
  3. Positive price momentum. Gold generated returns of 17% in the first half of the year – even allowing for the sharp retracement during March, when many investors were forced to use gold for liquidity. The US dollar gold price rose to its highest for eight years (reaching record highs in some currencies) and attracted further momentum-driven inflows on the back of these gains, which in turn contributed to continued price strength. Momentum is one of the key tactical drivers that helps to explain gold’s performance and has been supportive of investment demand during 2020 to date. 
 

Investment flooded into gold-backed ETFs in record size 

Investment floods into gold-backed ETFs in record size

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

All regions saw consistent monthly inflows throughout Q2. But North American-listed funds were by far the strongest, attracting more than 75% of global volume inflows during the quarter. Holdings in the region grew by 329.5t (US$18bn), to stand at 1,898.4t (AUM US$107.9bn) by the end of H1. This accounts for 52% of the total volume of gold held in global gold-backed ETFs. 

European-listed gold ETFs saw inflows of 86.7t (+US$4.4bn). The region’s growth was heavily concentrated in the UK: 53t (+US$2.9bn) was directed into UK-listed funds, with gains in April and May being slightly offset by small outflows in June. Germany (+20.1t) and France (+14.5t) were the region’s other main growth markets.

Holdings of Asian-listed gold ETFs reached a new high of 102.2t after they added 9.2t during Q2. Three new Chinese gold ETF products were listed in the second quarter, expanding the number of Chinese-listed funds in our dataset to seven. According to their descriptions, the newly-listed funds (ICBC Credit Suisse Gold-backed ETF, First Seafront Gold-backed ETF and China Asset Management Gold-backed ETF) are similar to the existing products in that they are at least 90% backed by Au9999, the physical gold contract at Shanghai Gold Exchange.

Meanwhile, gold ETFs listed in other countries grew by 8.7t in Q2, to reach a new high of 59.3t (US$457mn). In fact, this group of ETFs recorded the strongest H1 growth in holdings, increasing by 23.3%. 

So far, July has seen a continuation of the momentum in ETF inflows, with North American and European funds again attracting the bulk of these. Asian-listed funds have seen only fractional growth, held back by minor outflows from funds listed in China. This was mainly a result of Chinese investors diverting their attention to the strong-performing equity market, with the CSI300 stock index soaring more than 13% over the first three weeks of July. 

Bar and coin

Investment in gold bars and coins in Q2 fell 32% y-o-y to 148.8t. This resulted in the weakest H1 retail investment for 11 years, of 396.7t. The value of H1 bar and coin demand, however, grew by 4% y-o-y to US$20.8bn, reflecting the far stronger gold price compared with H1 2019. Market lockdowns were an obstacle to bar and coin investment, although this was less of an issue in markets where online investment is more established.

 

Gold bar demand restrained by supply chain bottlenecks amid coronavirus disruption

Gold bar demand restrained by supply chain bottlenecks amid coronavirus disruption

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council, World Gold Council via QaurumSM; Disclaimer


China’s bar and coin demand remained soft compared to 2019 despite a q-o-q rebound as the country emerged from lockdown. While Q2 demand witnessed a modest 10% q-o-q rise, it was still 18% lower y-o-y at 40.7t. And the extent of Q1 losses meant H1 bar and coin demand of 77.7t fell short of H1 2019’s relatively modest 120.6t (-36%) y-o-y.

Q2 GDP growth rose to 3.2% (from -6.8% in Q1), relieving the pressure on Chinese investor incomes to some extent. Our analysis suggests that consumer expenditure in China is positively correlated to gold bar and coin sales. But economic concerns are far from over. Money supply growth and currency depreciation are the side effects of the government’s expansionary measures. Concern over the economic impact of these measures supported safe-haven demand for gold, particularly considering it was the best performing asset in China in H1. 

While a rising gold price is generally a deterrent for gold jewellery demand, an upward gold price trajectory tends to draw investors’ attention, and this helped to improve bar and coin demand in Q2. The sharp and relatively volatile gains in the local price during April and May discouraged bar and coin demand. But by mid-June, investors had gained confidence in the steadily rising price, leading to a resurgence of demand, although there were also bouts of selling-back. 

Disinvestment in Thailand wiped out the previous year’s demand: investors sold 40.6t of gold. Thailand was the biggest contributor to the y-o-y decline in bar and coin investment in both Q2 and H1, as demand was hit by the double-whammy of record gold prices and a tourism-dependent economy ravaged by the global pandemic. Job losses and lower income levels at a time of rapidly rising gold prices prompted a surge of disinvestment as Thai investors used their gold holdings to fund their financial needs.  

Japan saw a sixth consecutive quarter of net disinvestment, with investors selling a net 2.4t of gold bars and coins in Q2. The modest scale of the disinvestment reflects the limited access to physical outlets due to the state of emergency imposed in response to the pandemic. Net investment in H1 2020 was -8.9t compared with -9.3t in H1 2019.

Investment across the rest of the East Asian region was similarly influenced by the high and rising gold price, market lockdown conditions and the resultant economic squeeze.

India recorded the weakest H1 for gold bar and coin demand on record of 47.8t (-39% y-o-y). Demand for bar and coin faced hurdles in the quarter as retail shops and bullion dealers were closed until mid-May due to the nationwide lockdown. The fact that lockdown was in place during the key gold-buying Akshaya Tritiya festival dented demand. Investment began to recover alongside the gradual re-opening of the market from 18 May onwards. The record gold price had the dual impact of encouraging some investors to add to their holdings, while others were more inclined to take profits.

During the lockdown India saw growing interest in digital gold,1 albeit that this remains a very small part of the total market. But the challenging conditions experienced in 2020 so far may result in steady growth in this area of investment demand.

Investors in Turkey continued to focus on gold’s role as a safe haven and inflation hedge: H1 bar and coin demand of 36.8t was the strongest for seven years. Despite the lira gold price hitting record highs, investors used pullbacks as buying opportunities and added 13.5t to their gold investments in Q2. Negative real interest rates on lira investments, the prospect of high inflation and high price expectations all underpinned the strength in demand.

Strict lockdowns across much of the Middle East region weighed on bar and coin demand throughout those markets. Where investors were able to trade, distress selling largely offset investment fuelled by price gains.

Amid the uncertainty of the global pandemic, Western investors focused on gold’s safe-haven role while also being attracted by the strong price gains. Despite the strength of investment, supply chain constraints – notably the Q2 closure of some mints and refineries – may have prevented the full extent of retail demand from being realised in some markets.

Q2 bar and coin demand in the US more than quadrupled y-o-y to 13.8t. This resulted in a near-trebling of H1 demand to 29.3t. Gold’s price strength drew considerable investment in Q2; however, the July breach of US$1,800/oz triggered profit-taking and the market has seen more robust two-way activity so far in Q3. The strength of US bar and coin investment reflected that of gold ETFs, with investors across the spectrum similarly motivated by concerns over the economic impact of coronavirus and the rising gold price.

European investors amassed 137.4t of gold bars and coins in the first half of the year – the highest H1 total since 2010. The bulk of this growth came from Germany, Austria and Switzerland, although UK investors also sought the safety of gold. The rush for gold, at a time when capacity was constrained and supply chains squeezed by lockdown measures, pushed up premiums on small bars and coins.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]