2021年黄金市场展望

经济复苏与低利率奠定基调

新冠疫情加剧当前风险的同时也带来了新的挑战,让如今的局势更加充满不确定性。但截至去年年底,投资者们普遍持乐观态度,认为最坏的情况已经过去。

展望未来,我们相信投资者会将低利率环境视作增加风险资产的机会,并期盼经济复苏即将到来。即便如此,投资者仍可能面对潜在的投资组合风险,包括:

  • 政府预算赤字激增

  • 通胀压力 

  • 在股票估值已经很高的情况下可能的回调

在这种情况下,我们认为黄金投资仍将得到良好的支持,而黄金消费则应受益于新生的经济复苏,这在新兴市场将更为显著。

2020年的黄金获益于风险、利率与势能

黄金是2020年表现最佳的主要资产之一,得益于以下因素的共同推动:

  • 高风险
  • 低利率
  • 积极的价格势能(尤其在春末与夏季)

黄金也是去年回撤相对最小的主要资产之一,从而帮助投资者及时止损,管理投资组合中的波动风险(图1)。 

8月初,LBMA(伦敦金银市场协会)午盘金价创下2,067.15美元/盎司的历史新高,以其他主要货币计价的黄金价格也升至历史高位(表 1)。尽管随后金价在年内高点下方盘整,但在第三季度和第四季度的大部分时间当中,其始终保持在1,850美元/盎司以上,年内以1,887.60美元/盎司的价格收盘。

有趣的是,下半年黄金价格的表现似乎更多地与实物投资需求相关(无论是以黄金ETF还是金条金币的形式),而并非通过更具投机性的期货市场。例如,COMEX黄金期货的净多头仓位于第一季度达到1,209吨的历史高位,而年底时的水平与之相比却低了近30%。我们认为这是由于COMEX期货在3月份经历了与现货黄金市场的脱节,因此相比其他选择而言,持有期货的成本更高。

有市场消息表明,此次许多投资者将黄金作为一种战略性资产,而并非短期的战术性投资,而去年投资者们对实物和实物相关黄金产品的偏好亦为印证。

 

图 1: 黄金在2020年跑赢了大多数主流资产

图 1: 黄金在2020年跑赢了大多数主流资产

主要资产的年度回报以及最大回撤*

来源: 彭博社, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*截至2020年12月31日。收益率计算基于LBMA黄金价格,彭博巴克莱美国国债指数和全球国债指数(除美国外),ICE BAML 美国3个月国债指数,彭博巴克莱美国企业债和高收益债指数,MSCI新兴市场指数,彭博大宗商品全收益指数,MSCI欧澳远东指数,标普500和纳斯达克指数以及彭博原油全收益指数。

 

表 1: 以主要货币计价的黄金价格均接近或创下历史纪录

以主要货币计价的黄金价格*  

  美元
(盎司)
欧元
(盎司)
日元
(克)
英镑
(盎司)
加元
(盎司)
瑞士法郎
(盎司)
卢比
(10克)
人民币
(克)
土耳其里拉
(盎司)
卢布
(克)
南非兰特
(克)
澳元
(盎司)
2020年收益率 24.6% 14.3% 18.4% 20.8% 22.4% 13.8% 27.6% 17.0% 55.6% 48.4% 30.9% 13.5%
年末价格 1,888 1,543 6,266 1,381 2,405 1,669 44,343 396.9 14,030 4,489 891 2,446
纪录高位 2,067 1,746 7,013 1,573 2,749 1,883 49,803 461.5 16,518 4,907 1,165 2,863
何时创下纪录† 08/06/20 08/06/20 08/06/20 08/06/20 08/06/20 08/06/20 08/06/20 08/06/20 11/06/20 11/02/20 08/06/20 08/06/20

来源:彭博社,洲际交易所基准管理机构,世界黄金协会

*截止2020年12月30日,计算基于以如下货币计价的LBMA下午盘金价:美元,欧元,日元,英镑,加元,瑞士法郎,印度卢比,人民币,土耳其里拉,俄罗斯卢布,南非兰特以及澳元

 

利率,通胀与黄金投资

11-12月的全球股市表现尤为出色,MSCI全球股票指数在此期间上涨了近20%。然而,不断增加的新冠肺炎确诊病例数和据称感染性更强的新冠病毒变株让人们重新变得谨慎起来。但无论是病毒变种还是2021年第一周极为波动的美国政治局势,都未能阻止投资者维持或扩大对风险资产的配置。

当前的标普500指数的市销率正处于前所未见的极端水平(图 1),并且美国对冲基金Crescat Capital近期的分析表明,构成其标准普尔500指数估值模型的15项因子均处于(或非常接近)纪录高位。展望未来,我们认为极低的全球利率水平可能会使股价与其估值维持在极端水平。因此投资者可能会经历较强的市场波动及大幅回调。举例来说,如果由于疫苗运输的复杂性或者某些毒株出现大量突变,而导致疫苗接种计划需要更长时间完成,或疫苗有效性不如预期,则上述情况就有可能发生。  

 

图 2:股票市场估值持续攀升

图 2:股票市场估值持续攀升

标普500的市销率*

来源: 彭博社, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*截止2021年1月11日,基于周度数据计算

 

此外,许多投资者担心政府预算赤字扩大会导致潜在风险,再加上低利率环境和货币供应量的增加,可能会造成通胀压力的出现。包括美联储和欧洲央行在内的各国央行均表示出对通胀暂时高于传统目标区间的更高容忍度,这也更凸显了上述担忧。1

在股市回调以及高通胀的情景下,黄金历来表现良好。在通胀率高于3%的年份,黄金价格平均上涨15%。同样值得注意的是,牛津经济研究院 2 的研究显示,黄金在通缩时期应该会有不错的表现。这些时期的特点是低利率和高金融市场压力,而这两点都往往会推高黄金需求。

此外,过去十年中,黄金在紧跟全球货币供应方面比美国短期国债更有效,也因而更好地帮助投资者进行资本保值(图 3)。

 

图 3: 金价与全球货币供应同步上涨

图 3: 金价与全球货币供应同步上涨

全球M2货币供应,3个月期美债与金价*

来源: 彭博社, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 牛津经济研究院, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*截止2020年12月31日,计算基于以美元计算的全球M2货币累计增长,3个月美债全收益指数以及LBMA下午盘美元金价。

 

新兴市场的经济复苏将促进黄金消费

市场调查显示,大多数经济学家预计全球经济在经历2020年的惨淡之后,将在2021年开始复苏。3 尽管全球经济增长相较其全部潜力而言可能仍然相对缓慢,但黄金自8月中旬以来较为稳定的价格表现可能会促进消费。

中国等国家的经济复苏势头尤为明显。中国的防疫成效好于西方,但在2020年初中国疫情得到有效控制之前,其经济损失也较为惨重。考虑到经济增长与中国的黄金消费需求之间的正向关联,我们认为中国的黄金需求可能会继续改善。

同样,印度黄金市场的发展步伐也愈发稳健。关于11月印度排灯节的初步数据显示,虽然金饰需求仍低于平均水平,但相比去年第二季度的低点已有大幅回升。

然而,由于全球经济表现远低于其应有潜力,且金价仍处于历史高位,其他地区的消费需求可能依然会保持低迷。

央行购金需求仍存

经历了2020年上半年积极的黄金增持之后,下半年的央行购金需求更加多变,在月度净购金与净售金之间来回波动。这与多年来的持续购金趋势明显不同,部分是由俄罗斯央行宣布4月起停止购买黄金所致。尽管如此,2020年各国央行仍有望保持净购金步伐(尽管远低于2018年和2019年的创纪录水平)。我们预计2021年变化不会太大。各国央行有充分的理由继续青睐黄金,并将其作为外汇储备的一部分(参见我们的2020年央行黄金储备调查),加之低利率环境,黄金的吸引力将得以继续保持。 

金矿产量有望提升

2020年出现下降之后,金矿产量有望在今年实现恢复。金矿停产的情况在去年第二季度达到顶峰,此后便有所改善。

尽管2021年的发展形势仍存在不确定性,但随着世界从疫情中恢复过来,金矿停产的情况很可能会有所减少。这有望移除金矿公司在2020年遇到的部分挫折,但在一般情况下,这并非是金矿产量的驱动因素。即使潜在的第二波疫情会对矿产国造成影响,主要金矿公司也已采取相应的规定和程序,相比疫情初期,理应会减少停产带来的影响。

全面总结

黄金表现反映了其供求各领域之间的相互作用,而黄金的供需也受到四种关键驱动因素的影响(焦点1)。基于此情况,我们预计有效对冲风险的需求和低利率环境将为黄金的投资需求提供良好的支持,但可能会受到与经济复苏速度及稳健性相关风险偏好的严重影响。

同时,我们预计中国和印度等一些新兴市场的经济复苏,可以减少黄金市场在2020年由于消费极度疲软所受到的阻力。

利用我们的黄金估值工具Qaurum焦点 2),我们分析了牛津经济研究院提供的五种宏观经济情景假设下的黄金表现,这五种情景为:    

  • 经济稳步复苏(基本案例情景)
  • 经济复苏延缓
  • 严重金融危机
  •  经济迅速回升
  • 全球疫情再起

分析结果表明,整体而言,黄金在2021年可能会有积极表现,尽管与2020年相比并不那么显著。  主要驱动因素可能是经济复苏下黄金消费需求的改善。此外,长期的低利率环境可能会进一步提振黄金表现,这将几乎消除投资黄金的机会成本。 

我们的估值模型表明,另一种情况是,新冠疫情或任何其他不可预见的风险将导致全球经济恶化,致使消费需求疲软,从而对黄金表现造成不利影响。但这种令市场风险偏好降低的环境,如牛津经济研究院所假设的“严重金融危机”和“全球疫情再起”情形,可能会触发强劲的黄金投资需求,从而抵消其疲软的消费,这与2020年的情况类似。从历史上看,这种情况的发生是由于投资者在这种的环境中寻求优质的流动资产(如黄金)。

1《金融时报》:美联储的政策转变可容忍更高通胀率(2020年8月), 欧洲央行启动针对新通胀目标的政策转变(2020年10月)。

2牛津经济研究院是全球预测和量化分析领域的领导者,也是建模方面的专业机构。

3彭博共识预测可通过在数据终端中使用 ECFC <GO> 功能获得。

4请访问 Qaurum,详细了解每种情景及其对黄金需求、供应和表现的影响。 

5该分析并非对可能结果的详尽列举。上述五种情景反映的是牛津经济研究院全球风险调查所捕捉到的主要投资者担忧。假设市场情绪好转(如由于疫苗效果理想或实现对传染性更强新冠病毒变种的有效控制),则相对于Goldhub.com目前提供的情景,可能会对金价表现造成下行压力。投资者可使用Qaurum的自定义功能修改其输入内容。

重要信息和披露


© 2021世界黄金协会。版权所有。世界黄金协会和圆环图案是世界黄金协会或其附属机构的商标。

对LBMA黄金价格的所有引用已获得洲际交易所基准管理机构的批准,仅供参考之用。对价格和引用价格的标的产品的准确性,洲际交易所基准管理机构不承担任何责任。所有第三方内容均为各第三方的知识产权,所有权利应为该方所有。

未经世界黄金协会或相关知识产权所有者的事先书面同意,不得复制或再分发本文件的任何内容,但符合下述规定的情况除外。信息和统计资料的版权©和/或其他知识产权归世界黄金协会或其附属机构(统称为 "WGC")或本文件中说明的第三方供应商所有。由各自所有者保留所有权利。

本文件中的统计数据仅可用于根据行业的公平做法和以下两个前提条件进行综述和评论:(i)仅允许使用部分节选内容;(ii)使用任何和所有统计资料时都应明确标注内容来源为世界黄金协会以及(在适当情况下)Metals Focus、Refinitiv GFMS或者经过确认的其他版权所有者。世界黄金协会隶属于Metals Focus。

世界黄金协会不保证任何信息的准确性和完整性。对于使用本文件而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,世界黄金协会不承担任何责任。

本文件所含信息仅供参考之用。接受本文件所含信息,这表明你认同其预期目的。本文件所含信息不构成且不可视为构成黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具(统称“服务”)的购买或销售或者收购或招商的建议、投资建议或要约。        

本文件所含信息未考虑投资目标、金融状况或任何人士的特殊需要。

分散投资不保证投资回报,也无法消除损失风险。通过配置黄金而产生的任何投资成果的最终表现,从本质上讲都是假设性的,可能无法反映实际投资结果,也不保证未来的结果。世界黄金协会不为任何假设投资组合中使用的任何计算和模型或任何此类使用所产生的结果提供保证或担保。投资者在就任何服务或投资作出任何决定前,应向合适的投资专业人士咨询其个人情况。

本文件包含前瞻性陈述,如使用 "相信"、"预计"、"可能 "或 "建议 "等词语或类似用语的陈述。这些前瞻性陈述是基于当前预期,可能会被修改。前瞻性陈述包含一些风险和不确定性。无法保证任何前瞻性陈述会成为现实。世界黄金协会不承担更新任何前瞻性陈述的责任。

有关 QaurumSM 与黄金估值框架的信息

注意,通过使用 Qaurum、黄金估值框架及其他信息而取得的各种投资成果的最终表现,从本质上讲是假设性的,可能无法体现实际投资成果,也不保证未来的回报。世界黄金协会及牛津研究院不保证该工具的作用,包括但不限于任何预测、估算或计算。

Rate this content:

Gold Outlook 2021

Economic recovery and low interest rates set the tone

The COVID-19 pandemic raised uncertainty by compounding existing risks and creating new ones. But by the end of last year, investors were optimistic that the worst was over. 

Looking ahead, we believe that investors will likely see the low interest rate environment as an opportunity to add risk assets in the hope that economic recovery is on the immediate horizon. That said, investors will likely also be navigating potential portfolio risks including:

  • ballooning budget deficits

  • inflationary pressures 

  • market corrections amid already high equity valuations.

In our outlook for gold, we believe investment demand will remain well supported while gold consumption should benefit from the nascent economic recovery, especially in emerging markets.  

Gold gained from risk, rates and momentum

Gold was one of the best performing major assets of 2020 driven by a combination of: 

  • high risk 
  • low interest rates 
  • positive price momentum – especially during late spring and summer. 

Gold also had one of the lowest drawdowns during the year, thus helping investors limit losses and manage volatility risk in their portfolios (Chart 1). 

By early August, the LBMA Gold Price PM reached a historical high of US$2,067.15/oz as well as record highs in all other major currencies  (Table 1). While the gold price subsequently consolidated below its intra-year high, it remained comfortably above US$1,850/oz for most of Q3 and Q4, finishing the year at US$1,887.60/oz.

Interestingly, gold’s price performance in the second half of the year seemed to be linked more to physical investment demand – whether in the form of gold ETFs or bar and coins – rather than through the more speculative futures market. For example, COMEX net long positioning reached an all-time high of 1,209 tonnes (t) in Q1 but ended the year almost 30% below this level. We believe this was due to the dislocation that COMEX futures experienced in March relative to the spot gold price, making it more expensive to hold futures compared to other choices. 

Investors’ preference for physical and physical-linked gold products last year further supports anecdotal evidence that, this time around, gold was used by many as a strategic asset rather than purely as a tactical play. 

 

Gold Outlook Chart 1: Gold outperformed major assets in 2020

Gold outperformed major assets in 2020

Yearly returns and maximum drawdowns of select assets*

Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*As of 31 December 2020. Returns based on the LBMA Gold Price, Bloomberg Barclays US Treasury Index and Global Treasury Index ex US, Bloomberg Barclays US Corporate and High Yield Indices, MSCI EM Index, Bloomberg Commodity TR Index, MSCI EAFE Index, S&P 500 & NASDAQ Indices, and Bloomberg Oil TR Index. Maximum drawdown computed relative to the 2020 initial value for each respective index.

 

Gold Outlook Table 1: The gold price is near or above record highs across key currencies

Gold price and annual return in key currencies*

  USD
(oz)
EUR
(oz)
JPY
(g)
GBP
(oz)
CAD
(oz)
CHF
(oz)
INR
(10g)
RMB
(g)
TRY
(oz)
RUB
(g)
ZAR
(g)
AUD
(oz)
2020 return 24.6% 14.3% 18.4% 20.8% 22.4% 13.8% 27.6% 17.0% 55.6% 48.4% 30.9% 13.5%
Year-end price 1,888 1,543 6,266 1,381 2,405 1,669 44,343 396.9 14,030 4,489 891 2,446
Record high 2,067 1,746 7,013 1,573 2,749 1,883 49,803 461.5 16,518 4,907 1,165 2,863
Date† 6 Aug 6 Aug 6 Aug 6 Aug 6 Aug 6 Aug 6 Aug 6 Aug 6 Nov 2 Nov 6 Aug 6 Aug

Source: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council

*As of 30 December 2020. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM in local currencies: US dollar (USD), euro (EUR), Japanese yen (JPY), pound sterling (GBP), Canadian dollar (CAD), Swiss franc (CHF), Indian rupee (INR), Chinese yuan (RMB), Turkish lira (TRY), Russian rouble (RUB), South African rand (ZAR), and Australian dollar (AUD).
† All dates correspond to 2020.

 

Gold investment to react to rates and inflation

Global stocks performed particularly well during November and December, with the MSCI All World Index increasing by almost 20% over the period. However, rising COVID-19 cases and a reportedly more infectious new variant of the virus created a renewed sense of caution. Yet, neither this nor the highly volatile US political events during the first week of 2021 have deterred investors from maintaining or expanding their exposure to risk assets. 

The S&P 500 price-to-sales ratio is at unprecedented levels (Chart 2) and analysis by Crescat Capital suggests that the 15 factors that make up their S&P 500 valuation model are at – or very near – record highs. Going forward, we believe that the very low level of interest rates worldwide will likely keep stock prices and valuations high. As such, investors may experience strong market swings and significant pullbacks. These could occur, for example, if vaccination programmes take longer to distribute – or are less effective – than expected, given logistical complexities or the high number of mutations reported in some strains. 

 

Gold Outlook Chart 2: Equity market valuations continue to climb

Equity market valuations continue to climb

Price-to-sales ratio for the S&P 500*

Sources: Bloomberg, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*As of 11 January 2021. Based on weekly data.

 

In addition, many investors are concerned about the potential risks resulting from expanding budget deficits, which, combined with the low interest rate environment and growing money supply, may result in inflationary pressures. This concern is underscored by the fact that central banks, including the US Federal Reserve and European Central Bank, have signalled greater tolerance for inflation to be temporarily above their traditional target bands.1

Gold has historically performed well amid equity market pullbacks as well as high inflation. In years when inflation was higher than 3%, gold’s price increased 15% on average. Notably too, research by Oxford Economics2 shows that gold should do well in periods of deflation. Such periods are typically characterised by low interest rates and high financial stress, all of which tend to foster demand for gold. 

Further, gold has been more effective in keeping up with global money supply over the past decade than US T-bills, thus better helping investors preserve capital (Chart 3). 

 

Gold Outlook Chart 3: Gold has kept up with money supply growth

Gold has kept up with money supply growth

Global M2 growth, US 3m T-bill total return, gold price*

Sources: Bloomberg, ICE Benchmark Administration, Oxford Economics, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*As of 31 December 2020. Based on global M2 cumulative growth measured in USD, total return index of 3-month US T-bill and LBMA Gold Price PM USD.

 

EM economic recovery to benefit consumer demand

Market surveys indicate that most economists expect growth to recover in 2021 from its dismal performance during 2020.3 And although global economic growth is likely to remain anaemic relative to its full potential for some time, gold’s more stable price performance since mid-August may foster buying opportunities for consumers. 

The economic recovery may particularly realise in countries like China, which suffered heavy losses in early 2020 before the spread of the pandemic was controlled more effectively than in many western countries. Given the positive link between economic growth and Chinese demand, we believe that gold consumption in the region may continue to improve. 

Similarly, the Indian gold market appears to be on a stronger footing. Initial data from the Dhanteras festival in November suggest that while jewellery demand was still below average, it had substantially recovered from the lows seen in Q2 of last year.

However, with the global economy operating well below potential and with gold prices at historical high levels, consumer demand may remain subdued in other regions.

Central bank demand not going away

After positive gold demand in H1, central bank demand became more variable in the second half of 2020, oscillating between monthly net purchases and net sales. This was a marked change from the consistent buying seen for many years, driven in part by the decision of the Central Bank of Russia to halt its buying program in April. Nonetheless, central banks are on course to finish 2020 as net purchasers (although well below the record levels of buying seen in both 2018 and 2019). And we don’t expect 2021 to be much different. There are good reasons why central banks continue to favour gold as part of their foreign reserves (see our Central Bank Gold Reserve Survey 2020) which, combined with the low interest rate environment, continue to make gold attractive. 

Mine production likely to improve

Recovery in mine production is likely this year after the fall seen so far in 2020. Production interruptions peaked during the second quarter of last year and have since waned. 

While there is still uncertainty about how 2021 may evolve, it seems very likely that mines will experience fewer stoppages as the world recovers from the pandemic. This would remove a headwind that companies experienced in 2020 but that is not commonly part of production drivers. Even if potential second waves impact producing countries, major companies have introduced protocols and procedures that should reduce the impact of stoppages compared to those seen in the early stages of the pandemic.

Putting it all together

The performance of gold responds to the interaction of the various sectors of demand and supply, which are, in turn, influenced by the interplay of four key drivers (Focus 1). In this context, we expect that the need for effective hedges and the low-rate environment will keep investment demand well supported, but it may be heavily influenced by the perceptions of risk linked to the speed and robustness of the economic recovery.

At the same time, we anticipate that the economic recovery in some emerging markets, such as China and India, may limit some of the headwinds the gold market experienced in 2020 caused by extremely weak gold consumption. 

Using Qaurum, our gold valuation tool (Focus 2), we analysed the performance of gold as implied by five different hypothetical macroeconomic scenarios provided by Oxford Economics. These are: 4  

The results of the analysis suggest that, in general, gold may see a positive, though more subdued, performance in 2021.5 This may be driven primarily by a recovery of consumer demand relative to 2020 as economic conditions improve. In addition, gold’s performance may be boosted further by the prolonged low interest rate environment which would all but remove the opportunity cost of investing in gold. 

Alternatively, our valuation model suggests that a global economic relapse from COVID-19 or any other unforeseen risks could result in weak consumer demand, thus creating a headwind for gold’s performance. However, a risk-off environment such the one captured by Oxford Economics’ “deep financial crisis” or “global second wave” may result in strong gold investment demand, which could offset low consumption as it did during 2020. Historically, this behaviour has occurred as investors look for high quality, liquid assets, such as gold, in these risk-off environments. 

1FT: Fed to tolerate higher inflation in policy shift (August 2020) and The ECB begins its shift to a new inflation goal (October 2020).

2Oxford Economics is a leader in global forecasting and quantitative analysis and a specialist in modelling.

3Bloomberg consensus forecasts are available by using the function ECFC <GO> in its data terminals.

4Visit Qaurum for important disclosure about Oxford Economics’ data, as well as a detailed description of each scenario; the assumptions underlying and data used for each scenario; and its respective hypothetical impact on gold demand, supply and performance. 

5This is not an exhaustive list of possible outcomes. These five scenarios reflect key investor concerns captured by Oxford Economics’ Global Risk Survey. Hypothetically, improving market sentiment – for example, due to effective vaccination programmes or the containment of the more transmissible COVID-19 variant – could put downward pressure on gold’s price performance relative to the scenarios currently available on Goldhub.com. Investors can modify the inputs using Qaurum’s customisation function.

Important disclaimers and disclosures

© 2021 World Gold Council. All rights reserved. World Gold Council and the Circle device are trademarks of the World Gold Council or its affiliates.

All references to LBMA Gold Price are used with the permission of ICE Benchmark Administration Limited and have been provided for informational purposes only. ICE Benchmark Administration Limited accepts no liability or responsibility for the accuracy of the prices or the underlying product to which the prices may be referenced. Other content is the intellectual property of the respective third party and all rights are reserved to them. 

Reproduction or redistribution of any of this information is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of World Gold Council or the appropriate copyright owners, except as specifically provided below. Information and statistics are copyright © and/or other intellectual property of the World Gold Council or its affiliates (collectively, “WGC”) or third-party providers identified herein. All rights of the respective owners are reserved.

The use of the statistics in this information is permitted for the purposes of review and commentary (including media commentary) in line with fair industry practice, subject to the following two pre-conditions: (i) only limited extracts of data or analysis be used; and (ii) any and all use of these statistics is accompanied by a citation to World Gold Council and, where appropriate, to Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS or other identified copyright owners as their source. World Gold Council is affiliated with Metals Focus.

WGC does not guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information nor accepts responsibility for any losses or damages arising directly or indirectly from the use of this information.

This information is for educational purposes only and by receiving this information, you agree with its intended purpose. Nothing contained herein is intended to constitute a recommendation, investment advice, or offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”). 


This information does not take into account any investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any particular person. 

Diversification does not guarantee any investment returns and does not eliminate the risk of loss. The resulting performance of any investment outcomes that can be generated through allocation to gold are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. WGC does not guarantee or warranty any calculations and models used in any hypothetical portfolios or any outcomes resulting from any such use. Investors should discuss their individual circumstancs with their appropriate investment professionals before making any decision regarding any Services or investments.

This information may contain forward-looking statements, such as statements which use the words “believes”, “expects”, “may”, or “suggests”, or similar terminology, which are based on current expectations and are subject to change. Forward-looking statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that any forward-looking statements will be achieved. WGC assumes no responsibility for updating any forward-looking statements.

Information regarding QaurumSM and the Gold Valuation Framework

Note that the resulting performance of various investment outcomes that can generated through use of Qaurum, the Gold Valuation Framework and other information are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. Neither WGC nor Oxford Economics provides any warranty or guarantee regarding the functionality of the tool, including without limitation any projections, estimates or calculations.

Rate this content: