央行

黄金需求趋势 2020年第一季度

2020年04月30日

央行

虽受到新冠疫情影响,第一季度各国央行仍是黄金净买家

  • 第一季度全球各国央行净购金总量为145吨,较2019年第一季度同比减少8%
  • 全球共有6家央行净买入1吨或更多黄金,而去年同期为10家
  • 俄罗斯宣布将在第一季度之后暂停购买黄金。自2005年以来,俄罗斯已经购买了逾1,900吨黄金。
2019年第
1季度
2020年第
1季度
年同比变化
各国央行和其他机构 157.0 145.0 -8%

在动荡不安的第一季度,市场大幅波动,全球出台了前所未有的金融刺激措施,各国央行购买了145吨黄金,较上年同期下降了8%。不过,这比132.9吨的五年季度平均水平仍高出9%。

 

全球各国央行购金放缓,但与长期平均水平保持一致

全球各国央行购金放缓,但与长期平均水平保持一致

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

尽管全球各国央行都在集中精力采取必要措施,以遏制新冠疫情对经济造成的影响,但这显然需要强劲、流动性强、且多样化的国际储备的支持。而全球各国央行黄金净购买量的增加证实,黄金仍是这些储备的重要组成部分。但黄金买家的数量有所较少:今年第一季度,全球至少增加1吨以上黄金储备的央行共有6家,而2019年同期则有10家。

近期的购金央行仍持续增持黄金。本季度超过1吨的大笔购金均来自近期持续买盘的央行。土耳其第一季度新增黄金储备72.7吨,使得黄金储备增至485.2吨,占其总储备的29%。其在2019年成为了主要黄金买家,在本季度迄今为止也是最大买家,占今年第一季度全球各国央行购金总量的50%。

第一季度最大的新闻发生在季度末。俄罗斯央行宣布,将从4月1日起暂停其黄金购买计划。自2005年底(这是俄罗斯14年黄金购买计划的开端)以来,俄罗斯央行一直是全球最大的黄金买家。该行没有给出此举的理由,但此前曾暗示可能缩减其购买计划。在连续4年净买入200吨以上黄金之后,该行宣布将以折扣价购买国内黄金(其主要购金来源),这使得其黄金购买量在2019年降至158.1吨。在第一季度,该行增加了28吨黄金储备,使黄金总储备达到2,299.2吨。面对油价下跌和新冠疫情爆发的经济影响,俄罗斯央行最近一直在动用外汇储备来保护本国货币,黄金在其外汇总储备中所占的比例因此升至21%。我们预计,俄罗斯未来不会再定期购买黄金,这无疑将对全球黄金净购买量产生重大影响。

然而,俄罗斯央行并没有排除未来购买黄金的可能性,称“关于购买黄金的进一步决定将取决于形势的发展”。1 

阿联酋(+7吨)、印度(+6.8吨)、哈萨克斯坦(+2.8吨)和乌兹别克斯坦(+2.2吨)等其他央行,也在第一季度增加了至少1吨官方黄金储备。

全球央行净售金量依然很少。尽管第一季度的购金量低于过去两年的水平,但央行售金的规模依然很小。斯里兰卡央行是第一季度最大的卖家,其黄金储备下降了12.9吨,至6.7吨。在对其资产配置进行内部评估后,该行做出了此出售的决定。2 德国(-2.3吨)和塔吉克斯坦(-2.1吨)是第一季度另两个值得注意的黄金卖家,前者偶尔会将其黄金储备用于其长期的铸币计划。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2020

30 April, 2020

Central Banks and other institutions

Central banks remain net gold buyers in virus-stricken Q1

  • Central bank net purchases totalled 145t in Q1, 8% lower than Q1 2019
  • 6 central banks made net purchases of a tonne or more, compared with 10 over the same period last year
  • Russia announced that after Q1 it will suspend its gold purchases having bought more than 1,900t since 2005.
Tonnes Q1'19 Q1'20 YoY
Central banks & others 157.0 145.0 -8%

During a tumultuous Q1, a quarter which saw significant market volatility and an unprecedented global financial stimulus, central banks bought 145t, down 8% y-o-y.  This is, however, 9% above the five-year quarterly  average of 132.9t.

 

Central banks buying slowed, but stayed in line with longer-term average level

Central banks buying slowed, but stayed in line with longer-term average level

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

While central bankers around the globe were focused on the measures needed to contain the economic impact of COVID-19, the need for robust, liquid and diversified international reserves was apparent. And positive net purchases of gold confirm that it remains an important component of those reserves. But the number of gold buyers was lower: six central banks increased their gold reserves – by at least a tonne – in Q1, compared to ten  in Q1 2019. 

Recent buyers continued to add gold. The most significant purchases during the quarter – those of at least one tonne – were from banks who have been consistent recent buyers.1 Turkey added 72.7t in Q1, boosting gold reserves to 485.2t, 29% of its total reserves. It was by  far the largest buyer during the quarter, having also been the leading buyer in 2019, accounting for 50% of the Q1 global total.

The biggest story from Q1 came right at the end of the quarter. The Central Bank of Russia, the largest gold buyer since the end of 2005 – the start of its 14-year buying streak – announced that it would suspend its gold buying programme from 1 April. The bank gave no reason for the move but has previously signalled that it may scale back its buying programme. Following four consecutive years of 200t+ net purchases, buying slowed to 158.1t in 2019 after the central bank announced it would purchase domestic production – its main source of gold – at a discount. During Q1, the bank added 28t to take total gold reserves to 2,299.2t. It has recently been drawing down reserves to protect its currency in the face of lower oil prices and the economic impact of the coronavirus outbreak, pushing gold’s share of total reserves to 21%. Going forward, we expect the absence of regular Russian gold buying to undoubtedly have a significant impact on the level of global total net purchases. The bank has not ruled out the prospect of gold purchases in the future, however, saying that “Further decisions on gold purchases will depend on how the situation develops”. 2 

Other central banks, namely ,UAE (7t), India (6.8t), Kazakhstan (2.8t) and Uzbekistan (2.2t) increased their official gold reserves increased by at least a tonne in Q1.

Net sales remain scarce. While buying levels in Q1 were lower than we have seen over the last two years, sales continued to be small in scale. The Central Bank of Sri Lanka was the largest seller in Q1, with reserves declining by 12.9t to 6.7t. The bank’s decision to sell came after an internal evaluation of its asset allocation.3 Germany (2.3t) and Tajikistan (2.1t) were the other notable sellers in Q1, with the former sporadically using gold reserves for its longstanding coin-minting programme.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]