中国投资者为何可以受益于黄金?

黄金投资者 2018年10月

2018年10月18日

中国投资者为何可以受益于黄金?

黄金是一种久经考验的资产,能够降低投资组合风险,提高收益。因此,中国投资者可以受益于将黄金作为投资组合的一部分,世界黄金协会中国区投资总监杨振海解释了相关原因。

杨振海
世界黄金协会
中国区投资总监

今年中国投资者面临严峻挑战,股票和企业债均陷入困境。自2018年1月1日以来,沪深300指数的表现比MSCI全球指数低20%左右,而AA+信用债与中国国家开发银行(CDB)债券之间的信用利差飙升至超过200个基点,突显了对国内公司前景的担忧(图表1)。CFETS人民币汇率指数也大幅下跌(该指数旨在反映人民币兑一篮子货币的表现),从2018年第二季度近98点的峰值下降到现在的93以下。

图表1: 信用利差走扩,股票收益低于全球整体股票表现

图表1: 信用利差走扩,股票收益低于全球整体股票表现

数据来源:Wind;世界黄金协会

有众多原因导致了上述弱势表现的发生。就国内方面而言,去杠杆和防控影子银行政策的加码起到了至关重要的作用。但中国也受到了国际问题的冲击:美联储缩表以及中美贸易争端就是两个很明显的例子。

这种形势让中国投资者陷入困境。股票和债券期货市场尚不成熟,无法提供有效的对冲工具。在国内,投资者也很难保护自己免受货币疲软带来的影响。

在这种环境下,出于四个主要的原因,黄金投资的优势变得尤为突出。

首先,黄金与其他资产类别的低相关性甚至负相关性是全球许多机构投资者在其投资组合中适度配置黄金的原因之一(表格1)。如今,黄金与传统资产的低相关性尤为重要,因为市场的相互关联程度日益加深,波动性一直令人担忧。增加黄金之类的资产普遍被视为一种理智的风险缓解方式。

Table 1: Cross-asset correlations

其次,黄金可以作为替代货币。长期的货币宽松政策导致货币供应量急剧增加,法定货币价值下降。例如,在过去十年里,美元、欧元和人民币相比黄金已经大幅贬值(图表2)。自2007年6月以来,美元和欧元相比黄金贬值了一半左右,人民币则贬值了大约三分之一。

图表2: 货币相对黄金的长期贬值趋势

图表2: 货币相对黄金的长期贬值趋势

数据来源: Wind;世界黄金协会

第三,黄金没有信用风险。黄金不以任何政府义务为支撑,因而也不属于任何形式的负债。在投资组合中配置有实物支撑的黄金产品,有助于保护投资者免于信用风险,在危机时期令人格外放心。

在中国机构投资者的投资组合中,如果黄金占6%,投资组合的波动性就会降低,夏普比率将从0.46提高到0.54,并且依然可以保持5%的收益率。

最后,黄金市场是一个具有深度流动性的市场。投资者可以通过上海黄金交易所、上海期货交易所和证券交易所(四只黄金ETF)的黄金合约购入黄金(图表3)。2017年1月至2018年6月,上述三家交易所平均每天黄金合约单边交易总额为541亿元人民币,让投资者易于投资黄金。

图表3: 中国ETF自2017年以来日均交易额 (十亿人民币)

图表3: 中国ETF自2017年以来日均交易额 (十亿人民币)

注:此图展示了华安黄金ETF的日均交易量, 因为该ETF在4只中国黄金ETF中拥有最高的日均交易量。
数据来源:Wind;世界黄金协会

数据截至

黄金的最佳配置

黄金带来的财富保值好处将意味着机构投资者可以有效配置一部分资金到黄金上。但合适的金额是多少?以下案例研究采用了NewFrontierAdvisors开发的优化模拟程序,并结合2007年1月至2017年12月期间的下列数据,以代表中国投资者的主要资产类别 (表格2)。案例分析模拟了投资组合不同目标收益率情况下的最优黄金配置比例变化。结果表明,随着投资目标组合收益率从4.0%提高到5.5%,黄金的最优配置比例从3%提高到6%(图表4)

Table 2: Major asset classes

 

图表4: 实现投资组合不同目标收益率的最优权重

图表4: 实现投资组合不同目标收益率的最优权重

注:投资组合经理预先确定不同的名义目标收益率, 并推导出每种资产类别的权重。
数据来源:Wind;世界黄金协会

数据截至

案例分析进一步表明,在中国机构投资者的投资组合中,如果黄金占6%,投资组合的波动性就会降低,夏普比率将从从0.46提高到0.54,并且依然可以保持5%的收益率(图表5)

增加黄金之类的资产普遍被视为一种理智的风险缓解方式。

分析结果发人深省。但这个结果也呼应了我们先前的研究。通过世界黄金协会对全球投资组合的分析表明,无论是投资于美国、欧洲还是英国的资产,适度的黄金配置有利于大多数均衡型投资组合。上述分析对中国资产投资者也同样适用。黄金与其他主流资产的相关性很低,风险调整后的收益率也大幅度提升。因此,黄金有望成为中国投资者的一种有益资产。

图表5: 相同目标收益率情况下黄金对投资组合夏普比率的影响

图表5: 相同目标收益率情况下黄金对投资组合夏普比率的影响

注:夏普比率是指投资组合真实收益率与其标准偏差之比
数据来源:Wind;世界黄金协会

数据截至

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Why Chinese investors could benefit from gold

Gold Investor, October 2018

18 October, 2018

Why Chinese investors could benefit from gold

Gold is a proven investment asset, capable of reducing portfolio risk and boosting returns. As such, Chinese investors could benefit from allocating some of their portfolio assets to gold, as World Gold Council Director of Investment Fred Yang explains.

Fred Yang
Fred Yang
Director, Investment, China
World Gold Council

China’s investors have faced a challenging time this year, hit by falling prices in both equity and corporate bond markets. China’s leading index, the CSI 300, has underperformed the MSCI World Index by around 20% since 1 January 2018. At the same time, the credit spread between AA+ corporate bonds and the quasisovereign China Development Bank bond has ballooned to more than 200bps, highlighting concerns about prospects for domestic companies (Chart 1). The CFETS RMB Index has also taken a tumble. Designed to reflect the RMB’s performance versus a basket of currencies, it fell from a peak of nearly 98 in the 2nd quarter of this year to below 93 in early August.

Chart 1: Widening credit spread and poor stock performance against MSCI World Index

Chart 1: Widening credit spread and poor stock performace against MSCI World Index

Source: Wind; World Gold Council

There are many reasons for this widespread underperformance. On the domestic front, deleveraging and tighter rules on shadow banking have played an important role. But China has also been buffeted by problems on the international stage, including the Federal Reserve’s desire to shrink its balance sheet and the escalating trade war with the US.

The situation puts China’s investors in a difficult position. Equity and bond futures markets do not provide effective hedging tools, as they are comparatively shallow and restricted. And currency weakness is a further problem, particularly for onshore investors.

In such an environment, the benefits of gold investment stand out, for four distinct reasons.

First, gold has a low and sometimes negative correlation with other asset classes (Table 1). For this reason alone, many institutional investors include a modest allocation to gold in their portfolio. Today, gold’s lack of correlation with conventional assets is particularly significant because markets are increasingly inter-connected and volatility is a persistent concern. Diversification into assets such as gold is widely accepted as a smart way to mitigate risk.

Table 1: Cross-asset correlations

Table 1: Cross-asset correlations

Second, gold can act as an alternative currency. A prolonged period of monetary easing has caused a sharp increase in money supply and reduced the value of fiat currencies. Over the past decade, for example, the US dollar, euro and RMB have depreciated sharply against gold (Chart 2). The dollar and the euro have more or less halved in value against gold since June 2007, while the RMB has fallen by around a third.

Chart 2: Currencies have depreciated over time relative to gold

Chart 2: Currencies have depreciated over time relative to gold

Source: Wind; World Gold Council

Third, gold has no credit risk. It does not constitute an obligation of a government so it is not a liability. As such, ownership of allocated physical gold protects investors from credit risk, providing considerable comfort during times of crisis.

If a Chinese institutional investor makes a 6% allocation to gold, it would reduce the volatility of their portfolio, increase the sharpe ratio from 0.46 to 0.54 and still keep the target return of 5%.

Finally, the gold market is both deep and liquid. Investors can access gold through contracts on the Shanghai Gold Exchange, the Shanghai Futures Exchange and the four ETFs listed separately on Shanghai and Shenzhen Stock Exchanges (Chart 3). The combined average daily trading volume across these products between January 2017 and June 2018 totalled RMB 54.1 billion (bn), making it easy for investors to gain exposure to gold.

Chart 3: China ETFs daily trading volume (bn CNY) since 2017

Chart 3: China ETFs daily trading volume (bn CNY) since 2017

Note: The average daily trading volume of HuaAn Gold ETF is illustrated here as it has the highest one among the four China Gold ETFs.
Source: Wind; World Gold Council

Data as of

Optimal allocation

The wealth preservation benefits that gold can bring would suggest that institutional investors can usefully allocate some capital to gold. But how much is the right amount? A recent study used an optimisation simulation process developed by asset management specialists New Frontier Advisors. The study incorporated data from January 2007 to December 2017, representing the major asset classes owned by Chinese investors (Table 2). It then considered the optimal gold allocation for portfolios with different nominal target returns. The results were noteworthy, suggesting that the optimal allocation to gold increases from 3% to 6% as portfolios’ nominal target returns increase from 4% to 5.5% (Chart 4).

Table 2: Major asset classes

Table 2: Major asset classes

*10-year annualised historical nominal return from January 2007 to December 2017.
Note: Returns are gross without accounting for transactions costs.
Source: Wind; World Gold Council

Chart 4: The optimal allocation to gold increases with nominal target return

Chart 4: The optimal allocation to gold increases with nominal target return

Note: Different nominal target return is pre-determined by portfolio manager to derived weightings of each asset class.
Source: Wind; World Gold CouncilSource: Metals Focus; World Gold Council

Data as of

The analysis further shows that if a Chinese institutional investor makes a 6% allocation to gold it would reduce the volatility of its portfolio, increase the sharpe ratio from 0.46 to 0.54 and still keep the target return of 5% (Chart 5).

Diversification into assets such as gold is widely accepted as a smart way to mitigate risk.

The analysis is thought-provoking. But it also echoes the findings of studies we have conducted. Whether institutions are invested in US-, European- or UK-listed assets, research indicates that most well-balanced portfolios would benefit from a modest allocation to gold. The same is true for investors exposed to Chinese assets. Gold has a low correlation with other mainstream assets and boosts risk-adjusted returns. As such, it has the potential to be a rewarding asset for Chinese investors.

Chart 5: Performance of an institutional portfolio with or without gold

Chart 5: Performance of an institutional portfolio with or without gold

Note: The Sharpe ratio is defined as the portfolio real return divided by its standard deviation.
Source: Wind; World Gold Council

Data as of

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]