中国经济前景

黄金投资者 2018年10月

2018年10月18日

中国经济前景

中国在最近数十年里经历了一段转型增长期。然而如今的风险日益凸显。清华大学五道口金融学院副院长周皓教授评估了中国经济的前景和美国贸易战的影响。

周皓
清华大学五道口
金融学院副院长

问:中国的金融市场在过去30年间经历了日新月异的变化。您认为有哪些亮点?

答:关于近几十年来中国金融市场的发展,有两个重要的事实。首先,中国逐渐稳步走向自由化。利率和债券市场逐渐开放,对进一步的金融改革的兴趣也越来越大。当然,这是一个持续的过程,但已经取得了显著进步。

其次,需要指出的是,我们的市场在发展的同时并没有引发重大市场危机,没有妨碍实际GDP的增速——在过去40年间,GDP增速为每年8-10%。

我认为这两点密切相关。其他转型期经济体也追求过快速的金融改革,即所谓的“一夜之间私有化”,但这往往对经济增长带来负面影响。例如俄罗斯一夜之间将所有银行私有化,但这种“休克疗法”导致了巨大经济损失。

在中国,私营银行和企业获准与国有机构一起成长和发展——GDP在过去40年间增长了8倍。

问:展望未来,汇率改革的正确路径和合适节奏是什么?

答:这是一个非常重要的问题,中国的经济学家持有两种截然相反的观点。一个学派主张立即转变成采用自由浮动汇率,理由是货币贬值会促进出口。另一个学派则担忧资本外流,主张加强管制和政府干预。

我认为两种观点都不对。我觉得中国应该逐步放松货币和资本账户管制。例如,在汇率方面,其他转型经济体的证据表明立即采用自由浮动汇率不一定是最佳策略。

事实上,我主张的速度比政府提议的还要慢。政府曾提出了一项1-3年的改革计划,但那时候中美贸易战还没有爆发。现在我认为3-5年的时间窗口更为合适。

政府要进行微妙的平衡——一方面,要打破隐性政府担保;另一方面,政府要确保市场上有足够的流动性,以免造成不必要的压力。

问:信贷条件在过去一年里有所收紧——这对中国的金融市场和经济有哪些影响?

答:收紧信贷条件、逐步加息的决定在一定程度上是经济增长的一种自然反应。例如,房地产行业近年的信贷条件很宽松。但政府正在通过允许一些金融公司——包括国有和私有——违约来解决隐性担保问题。

显然,企业应该明白,如果无法偿还债务,无法盈利,就会违约。然而,如果这些政策出台的时机不对,例如在贸易战期间出台,就可能会对经济产生严重影响。因此,政府要进行微妙的平衡——一方面,要打破隐性政府担保;另一方面,政府要确保市场上有足够的流动性,以免对中小企业等造成不必要的压力。

幸运的是,为了应对贸易战和贸易战导致的负面情绪,政策制定者撤消了先前的一些紧缩措施。

Great Hall of the People (Chinese Parliament), Tiananmen Square in Beijing, China.

 

问:那么,您如何看待中美贸易战?

答:全球贸易战给我们的经济增加了另一层不确定性。贸易战影响了市场情绪,加剧了人们对系统性风险的担忧。

贸易战升级会损害出口导向型公司,尤其是私营部门的中小企业。事实上,随着不良贷款的增加,以及央行放松了货币政策,以允许中小企业获得更多的二级银行贷款,似乎已经造成了一些公司的损失。

股市也遭到沉重打击,虽然估算结果表明,即使贸易战全面爆发,最多也只会让中国的GDP增速下降1%。经济体系的绝大部分——大约80%的企业——都没有受到贸易战的影响,这也是事实。

所以总而言之,对于一些中小企业和股市情绪来说,短期影响相当严重。但长期影响可能相对轻微。

估算结果表明,即使贸易战全面爆发,最多也只会让中国的GDP增速下降1%。经济体系的绝大部分——大约80%的企业——都没有受到这场贸易战的影响。

问:全球各地的分析师都在密切关注正在形成的系统性金融风险来源。您认为中国的金融体系有何风险?

答:答:有三个令人担忧的领域。首先,中国的债务与GDP之比为250%,这对于一个新兴市场来说太高了。其次是地方政府和国有企业积累的债务:地方政府债务难以计量和管理;国有企业的效率历来低于私营企业,因此应对高债务水平的能力较差。第三是影子银行部门,这个部门被认为很脆弱,尤其是加息以后。

我认为,人们应该不偏不倚地看待中国金融体系的内部风险。没错,债务与GDP的比率是很高,但经济增速每年依然有6%左右,所以这个比率的可持续性可能比人们想象中要高。此外,虽然某些经济领域负债严重,但其他领域并非如此。中国家庭的债务非常少,可能会加大杠杆。中央政府也几乎没有负债,并持有3万亿美元外汇储备,所以中国经济的灵活性可能比外部观察员想象的要高。我们还应该记住,降低债务水平的速度过快,可能会引发经济衰退。

在影子银行方面,资产管理行业在2010-2016年的增速极为可观。但从那时候开始,部分实体经济,例如制造业和房地产迅速增长,吸引了来自影子银行业的资金。政府还出台了一些政策来清理这个行业过度发展的部分,尤其重视清理专门用于吸引小投资者的产品。监管意图是好的,但我认为有些监管收紧举措可能过于激进了。事实上,根据市场的反馈,今年年初某些措施有所放松。

问:在全球格局方面,您认为潜在的系统性风险来源于哪里?

答:我的个人观点是,欧洲——尤其是欧元——给全球经济和国际金融体系带来的风险最大。我担心类似希腊的情况带来的潜在系统性风险,因为南欧经济体比北欧脆弱得多,如果没有得到适当的纠正,可能会导致严重的结构性失衡。

欧元还引发了内部矛盾,因为欧元区有一个央行,但没有财政凝聚力或统一性。在过去,政治不统一的货币联盟通常会崩溃。如果欧元崩溃,可能会导致金融危机。

我认为英国退欧也是一个相关风险,尤其是硬退欧或未能达成协议的退欧。

但我相信现在的全球风险低于一年前,因为整体经济增速正在提高。

问:您对黄金有何看法?

答:我有一个猜想:随着美国和中国经济增速的提高,黄金需求也会增长。因此总体而言,我预测在美国、中国和其他GDP正在增长的国家,黄金需求会增加。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

The economic outlook for China

Gold Investor, October 2018

18 October, 2018

The economic outlook for China

China has been through a period of transformational growth in recent decades. Today, however, risks loom large. Zhou Hao, Associate Dean at Tsinghua University PBC School of Finance, assesses the outlook for the Chinese economy and the impact of the US trade war.

Zhou Hao
Zhou Hao
Associate Dean
Tsinghua University PBC School of Finance

Q: China’s financial markets have undergone rapid change in the past 30 years. What are the highlights, in your view?

A: There are two important facts about the development of China’s financial markets in recent decades. First, China has moved slowly but steadily towards liberalisation. Interest rate and bond markets have gradually opened up and there has been growing interest in further financial reform. Of course, this is an ongoing process but there has been steady and significant progress.

Second, it should be noted that our markets have developed without provoking any significant market crises and without impeding real GDP growth – which has averaged 8-10% per annum for the past 40 years.

I believe that these two points are closely linked. Other transitional economies have pursued rapid financial reform, so-called “overnight privatisation,” but it has often had an adverse effect on growth. Russia, for instance, privatised all its banks overnight but that type of “shock therapy” caused tremendous economic damage.

In China, privately owned banks and businesses are allowed to grow and develop alongside state-owned institutions – and GDP has risen eight-fold in the past 40 years.

Q: Thinking about the future, what is the right path and proper pace for exchange rate reform?

A: This is a very important issue and there are two opposing and extreme views among economists in China. One school of thought advocates an immediate move to a free float, on the grounds that a depreciating currency would boost exports. The other school worries about capital outflows and advocates tighter controls and more government intervention.

I believe that both are wrong. I think we should keep loosening currency and capital account controls but gradually. On the exchange rate, for example, evidence from other transitional economies suggests that an immediate free float is not always the best strategy.

In fact, I would advocate an even slower pace than the government has proposed. It has suggested a one- to three-year programme of reform but that was before the trade war erupted between the US and China. Now I think a three- to five-year timeframe is more appropriate.

The government needs to play a delicate balancing act – on the one hand, it needs to break the implicit government guarantee; on the other one, it needs to ensure there is sufficient liquidity in the market so as not to create unnecessary distress.

Q: Credit conditions have tightened in the past year – what are the implications for China’s financial markets and economy?

A: The decision to tighten credit conditions and gradually raise interest rates is partially a natural response to economic growth. The housing sector, for example, has experienced buoyant conditions in recent years. But the government is also trying to break the implicit guarantee problem by allowing some financial firms – both stateowned and private – to experience default.

Clearly, it is good for firms to understand that if they cannot pay their debts and they cannot make a profit, they will go into default. However, if these policies are introduced at the wrong time, during a trade war, for example, they may have too harsh an effect on the economy. As such, the government needs to play a delicate balancing act – on the one hand, it needs to break the implicit government guarantee; on the other one, it needs to ensure there is sufficient liquidity in the market so as not to create unnecessary distress for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) and others.

Fortunately, policymakers have reversed some earlier tightening in response to the trade war and resultant negative sentiment.

Great Hall of the People (Chinese Parliament), Tiananmen Square in Beijing, China.
Great Hall of the People (Chinese Parliament), Tiananmen Square in Beijing, China.

 

Q: So, what are your views on the US-China trade war?

A: The global trade war adds another layer of uncertainty to our economy. It has affected market sentiment and increased concerns about systemic risk.

Any escalation would damage export-oriented firms, particularly SMEs in the private sector. In fact, it seems as if there have already been casualties, as non-performing loans have increased and the People’s Bank of China has loosened monetary policy to allow SMEs to take out more secondary bank loans.

The stock market has been badly hit too, although estimates suggest that even a full-blown trade war would reduce Chinese GDP growth by a maximum of 1%. It is also true that the vast majority of the economy – about 80% of all businesses – remain unaffected by this trade war.

So, in sum, the short-term impact is quite harsh, for some SMEs and for (stock) market sentiment. But the long-term impact may be relatively slight.

Estimates suggest that even a full-blown trade war would reduce Chinese GDP growth by a maximum of 1%. And the vast majority of the economy – about 80% of all businesses – remain unaffected by this trade war.

Q: Analysts around the world pay keen attention to emerging sources of systemic financial risk. As you look at China’s financial system, which risks stand out for you?

A: There are three broad areas of concern. First, China’s debt to GDP ratio: at 250%, it is considered too high for an emerging market. Second, the debt accumulated by local government and state-owned enterprises: local government debt is hard to measure and hard to manage; state-owned enterprises are traditionally less efficient than their private counterparts so less able to cope with high levels of debt. And third, the shadow banking sector, which is considered vulnerable, particularly as interest rates rise.

I believe that people should adopt a balanced view of risk within the Chinese financial system. Yes, the debt to GDP ratio is high but the economy is still growing at around 6% a year, so that ratio may be more sustainable than people think. Also, even though some areas of the economy are heavily indebted, others are not. Chinese households have very few borrowings and could become more leveraged. The central government has very little debt too and it has US$3 trillion of foreign exchange reserves, so there may be more flex in the economy than outside observers think. We should also bear in mind that if debt levels are reduced too abruptly, that may provoke a recession.

In terms of shadow banking, the asset management sector in particular experienced tremendous growth between 2010 and 2016. Since then, however, parts of the real economy, such as manufacturing and housing, have been growing rapidly and attracting capital away from the shadow banking industry. Policies have also been introduced to clean up over-extended parts of the industry, with particular focus on products designed to appeal to small investors. The regulation is well intentioned but I believe that some regulation tightening could have been too aggressive. In fact, certain measures were reined in earlier this year, following market feedback.

Q: Turning your attention to the global landscape, where do you see potential sources of systemic financial risk?

A: My personal view is that Europe – specifically the euro – poses the biggest risk to the global economy and international financial system. I worry about potential systemic risk arising from a Greece-like situation, because Southern European economies are so much weaker than those in Northern Europe, and that creates a serious structural imbalance without a proper remedy.

The euro also creates an internal inconsistency, because there is one central bank for the Eurozone but no fiscal cohesion or unification. In the past, currency union without political unification typically broke down. If that happened with the euro, it could potentially ignite a financial crisis.

I would suggest that Brexit is another related risk, particularly a hard or no-deal Brexit.

Nonetheless, I believe that the world is less risky today than, say, a year ago because economic growth is generally improving.

Q: Do you have a view on gold?

A: I have a conjecture: as economic growth in the US and China improves, demand for gold should improve as well. Overall therefore, I predict rising demand for gold in the US, China and other countries where GDP is growing.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]