金砖之路以外

黄金投资者 2018年10月

2018年10月18日

金砖之路以外

中国的“一带一路”倡议规模巨大、野宏大,且已在进行中。随着该项目的发展,它可能会对黄金市场产生深远影响,中银国际全球大宗商品市场策略主管傅晓解释了相关原因。

傅晓
中银国际全球大宗
商品市场策略主管

中国的“一带一路”倡议是一项致力于在亚洲和其他地区促进贸易、刺激经济增长的长期发展活动。“一带一路”沿线地区拥有丰富的矿产资源,占全球黄金供需中的很大份额。

因此,黄金开采投资在该地区发挥了主导作用,中国和一些“一带一路”沿线国家成立了许多项目以及合资企业。展望未来,我们预计在黄金勘探、开采、加工、消费和交易领域将出现进一步的深入合作。

欧洲基础设施发达,而东南亚、南亚和中东的基础设施比欧洲落后得多,因此“一带一路”规划了连接亚洲和欧洲的铁路和桥梁,以帮助促进贸易。这应该还会增进黄金开采投资,重塑全球黄金开采格局。

当然,“一带一路”倡议也存在风险,包括政府换届、全球地缘政治紧张局势加剧、项目延期和收债困难。但总体而言,我们认为该倡议是一个有意义的长期战略,可以扩大和深化中国与世界其他地区的联系。我们相信,相关效益将超过风险或潜在损失。

“一带一路”项目覆盖68个国家或地区,这些国家或地区拥有全球一半人口,占全球经济的三分之一左右。

图1: 复兴丝绸之路

复兴丝绸之路

来源:中银国际

在丝绸之路经济带沿线,俄罗斯、中欧和东欧可能会成为最大的投资支出接收方。在海上丝绸之路沿线,资金可能会被均分给南亚、东南亚、中东和非洲。

图1:复兴丝绸之路

Six economic corridors

来源:中银国际

金矿开采投资在中国的“一带一路”倡议中发挥主导作用

“一带一路”沿线地区在全球矿业供需体系中发挥重要作用(图表1)。不同的国家有不同的商品储备、经济结构、产业发展水平和价值链,因此有必要开展经济和行业合作。就黄金行业而言,该地区占全球黄金消费量的80%、全球黄金供应量的25%。中亚和俄罗斯的金矿储量尤为丰富,这些黄金储量将继续成为优先投资标的。

据中国黄金协会的统计,中国目前的黄金产量约占全球的13%左右,拥有大约1.3万吨黄金资源和储备。中亚地区机会也巨大,阿塞拜疆、哈萨克斯坦、吉尔吉斯斯坦、蒙古、巴基斯坦、塔吉克斯坦、土耳其、乌兹别克斯坦和俄罗斯都拥有可观的天然金矿储量(图3)。

“一带一路”倡议可以在这些国家帮助开发矿藏,加快经济和财富的增长。

为了支持中亚和俄罗斯的发展,中国于2015年5月设立了国有黄金投资基金,初始资金为160亿美元。该基金的两大投资者是中国最大的黄金公司山东黄金集团(35%)和陕西黄金集团(25%)。

黄金公司也利用这个机会在中国的丝绸之路沿线开展业务。例如,中国领先的黄金开采公司紫金矿业集团在2005年推行“走出去”战略,在丝绸之路沿线的三个国家——塔吉克斯坦、吉尔吉斯斯坦和俄罗斯——拥有项目,目前紫金矿业一半的黄金是在国外生产,一半的利润(所有大宗商品)是在国外产生。

 

图表1: “一带一路”沿线地区的矿产供需

图表1: “一带一路”沿线地区的矿产供需

来源:美国企业研究所(American Enterprise Institute);中银国际研究、2017年; 美国遗产基金会(Heritage Foundation)

数据截至

commodity resources

通过基础设施建设促进采矿投资和增进金属需求

“一带一路”倡议旨在通过重大基础设施、建设和采矿项目来加强互联互通,以促进贸易和经济合作。我们预计“一带一路”沿线地区的基础设施发展会提高对钢铁、铝、铁矿、铜、镍和锌的需求。

经过改进的运输基础设施也将提高大宗商品的可达性和可交付性。例如,有三条主要铁路通过古代丝绸之路连接中国和欧洲。对这种基础设施投资应该有助于将物料和大宗商品从矿山运输到市场,为采矿项目的进一步开发提供支持。

金矿开采投资已经在”一带一路”沿线地区发挥主导作用。展望未来,我们预计在黄金勘探、开采、加工、消费和交易领域将出现进一步的深入合作。

建设金融合作网络

“一带一路”地区巨大的贸易和投资需求,是一个国家或者甚至几个国家无法满足的。相反,必须开展金融合作才能利用全球资金。因此中国向新成立的亚洲基础设施投资银行(AIIB)、新丝绸之路基金(NSRF)、上海合作组织(SCO)、丝绸之路黄金基金和矿业产业发展基金投入了巨额资金。中国还与周边国家签订了许多双边协议。与此同时,资本市场可以提供其他融资选项,例如上市、并购、项目融资等。资本市场的直接投资还有助于减轻对传统信贷市场的依赖,以期限更长的可持续融资为项目提供支持。

这将为中国黄金市场的进一步发展提供机会。上海黄金交易所等市场基础设施可以建立自己的价值定位,来满足银行、采矿公司和寻求在中国销售其产品的精炼商的需求。这可以逐渐提高中国黄金市场的流动性。

风险和效益

“一带一路”倡议既带来了机会,也带来了挑战。包括边境冲突和资源国家主义在内的地区政治和社会的不稳定可能会成为障碍。该地区的很多国家还拥有政治变化频繁的特点,这可能会影响某些政策和项目的执行。

许多寻求海外扩张的中国企业依然需要获得更多经验。法律或文化差异可能导致项目开工延迟,长期而言,收债可能具有挑战性。此外,由于投资者对发展中国家的主权风险越来越谨慎,中国不温不火的GDP增速可能会限制对外采矿投资的加速。

但总体而言,我们认为“一带一路”倡议是一项有意义的长期承诺,可以深化中国与“一带一路”沿线地区的关系,为这些地区带来财富。在我们看来,改善“一带一路”沿线地区经济关系、促进全球可持续增长的好处应该会超过相关风险或潜在损失。随着该倡议的启动和发展,黄金可以发挥重要作用。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Beyond the golden brick road

Gold Investor, October 2018

18 October, 2018

Beyond the golden brick road

China’s “Belt and Road” initiative is vast in size, ambitious in scope and already underway. As the project evolves, it is likely to have a farreaching impact on the gold market, as Xiao Fu, Head of Commodity Markets’ Strategy at the Bank of China International, explains.

Xiao Fu
Xiao Fu
Head of Commodity Markets’ Strategy
Bank of China International

China’s “Belt and Road” (B&R) initiative is a long-term development campaign to boost trade and stimulate economic growth across Asia and beyond. The B&R region is rich in mining resources and accounts for a significant share of global gold supply and demand.

As such, gold mining investment has played a leading role across the region, with a number of projects and joint ventures taking place between China and certain B&R countries. Looking ahead, we expect further indepth cooperation to emerge in gold exploration, mining, processing, consumption and trading.

Infrastructure facilities are well developed in Europe but are much less so in Southeast Asia, South Asia and the Middle East, so railways and bridges are being planned between Asia and Europe to help boost trade. This should also enhance gold mining investment and reshape the world map for gold mining.

Naturally, there are risks attached to the B&R initiative, including government changes, rising geopolitical tension globally, project delays and the difficulty of debt collection. Overall, however, we believe the initiative is a meaningful long-term strategy that can widen and deepen China’s connection with the rest of the world. And we are confident that the benefits will outweigh the risks or potential losses.

The Belt and Road initiative covers 68 countries or regions, which house half the world’s population and comprise almost one-third of the global economy.

Investment is expected to be split 60/40 across the 21st Century Maritime Silk Road and Silk Road Economic Belt (Figures 1 and 2)

Figure 1: Reviving the Silk Road

Reviving the Silk Road

Source: BOCI, 2017

Along the Silk Road Economic Belt, Russia and Central and Eastern Europe are likely to be the biggest recipients of investment spending. Along the Maritime Road, funding could be split evenly across South Asia, Southeast Asia, the Middle East and Africa.

Figure 2: Six economic corridors

Six economic corridors

Source: BOCI, 2017

Gold mining investment plays a leading role in China’s B&R initiative

The B&R region plays an important role in the global mining demand and supply system (Chart 1). Different countries have different commodities reserves, economic structures, industry development levels and value chains, so economic and industrial cooperation is a necessity. In terms of gold, the region accounts for 80% of global gold consumption and 25% of global gold supply. Central Asia and Russia in particular have rich deposits of gold, which will remain a priority in terms of investment.

China currently produces around 13% of the world’s gold and, according to the China Gold Association, has about 13,000 tonnes of gold resources and reserves. But there are huge opportunities across the Central Asian region, with Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Pakistan, Tajikistan, Turkey, Uzbekistan and Russia all possessing sizeable natural gold deposits (Figure 3). This is where the B&R initiative can help develop deposits and accelerate economic growth and wealth.

To support development in Central Asia and Russia, China’s state-run Gold Investment Fund was set up in May 2015 with an initial amount of US$16 billion. The two largest investors in the fund are China’s largest gold companies, Shandong Gold Group (35%) and Shaanxi Gold Group (25%). Gold companies have also taken the opportunity to do business across China’s Silk Road. China’s leading gold miner, Zijin Mining Group Co, for example, embarked on a “go global” strategy in 2005, has projects in three countries along the Silk Road – Tajikistan, Kyrgyzstan and Russia – and already produces half of gold production abroad and generates half of its profits (all commodities) abroad.

Chart 1: Mining demand and supply of B&R region

Chart 1: Mining demand and supply of B&R region ZH

Source: American Enterprise Institute; BOCI Research, 2017; Heritage Foundation

Data as of

Figure 3: Commodity resources are abundant along B&R routes

Country Natural resources
Kazakhstan Crude oil, natural gas, coal, iron, copper,zinc, other mineral and forest resources
Uzbekistan Gold, oil, natural gas, coal, uranium, copper,tungsten, etc.
Kyrgyzstan Coal, mercury, antimony, etc.
Turkmenistan Crop oil, natural gas, salt, iodine and other mineral resources; crops such as wheat and cotton
Tajikistan Lead, zinc, tungsten, antimony, mercury, coal, natural gas, uranium, etc.
Saudi Arabia Petroleum, natural gas, silver, copper, iron, bauxite, phosphorus, etc.
Iran Crude oil, natural gas, silver, copper, zinc,chromium, gold, manganese, antimony, lead, marble, etc.
Georgia Crude oil, natural gas, manganese, coal,copper, other mineral resources and forest resources
United Arab Emirates Crude oil, natural gas 
Jordan Phosphate, potassium, copper, manganese, shale oil, etc.
Kuwait Crude oil, natural gas
Oman Crude oil, natural gas, fisheries, copper, gold, silver, chromium, iron, manganese, magnesium, coal, limestone, marble, gypsum, phosphate, salt, quartz, kaolin, etc.
Qatar Crude oil, natural gas
Azerbaijan Oil, natural gas, mineral water, iron, molybdenum, copper and gold and other mineral resources and animal and plant resources
Vietnam Offshore crude oil, natural gas, coal, iron, aluminium, manganese, chromium, tin, titanium, phosphorus and other mineral resources and marine and forest resources
Malaysia Crude oil, iron, gold, tungsten, coal, bauxite, manganese and other minerals and rubber, palm oil and pepper and other natural resources
Indonesia Crude oil, natural gas, tin, coal, uranium, copper, other mineral resources and marine and forest resources
Thailand Crude oil, natural gas, coal, oil shale, tin, tungsten, antimony, lead, manganese, iron, zinc, copper and molybdenum, nickel, chromium, uranium, thorium

Source: BOCI, 2017

Infrastructure facilities to enhance mining investment and boost metals demand

The B&R initiative is designed to deliver increased connectivity through major infrastructure, construction and mining projects, in order to foster trade and economic cooperation. We expect infrastructure development in the B&R region to boost demand for steel, aluminium, iron ore, copper, nickel and zinc.

Improved transport infrastructure will also increase the accessibility and deliverability of commodities. There are three major railway lines, for example, connecting China to Europe via the ancient silk route. The investment in this infrastructure should make it easier to transport materials and commodities from mines to markets, supporting the further development of mining projects.

Gold mining investment has played a leading role across the B&R region. Looking ahead, we expect further in-depth cooperation to emerge in gold exploration, mining, processing, consumption and trading.

Building a financial cooperation network

The huge trade and investment demands from the B&R area cannot be satisfied by a single nation or even several countries. Instead, financial cooperation is needed to leverage global capital. So China has committed vast amounts of money to the new Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB), the New Silk Road Fund (NSRF), the Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO), the Silk Road Gold Fund and the Mining Industry Development Fund. It has also made numerous bilateral arrangements with countries. Meanwhile, capital markets can offer other fund-raising options, such as flotations, M&A, project finance, etc. Direct capital market investment can also help to reduce reliance on traditional credit markets and support projects with longer-term, sustainable funding.

This should provide opportunities for the further development of China’s gold market. Market infrastructure providers, such as the Shanghai Gold Exchange, could develop its value proposition to meet the needs of banks, mines and refiners looking to sell their output in China. Over time this could boost the depth of liquidity in China’s gold market.

Risks vs. benefits

The B&R initiative brings both opportunities and challenges. Regional political and social instability can be an obstacle, including border clashes and resource nationalism. Many countries in the region are also characterised by frequent political change, which can impact the implementation of certain policies and projects.

For Chinese companies looking to expand overseas, many still need to gain more experience. Legal or cultural differences may result in projects starting late and, in the long term, debt collection may prove challenging. Furthermore, China’s moderate GDP growth rates may limit the acceleration of outward mining investments, as investors become increasingly cautious of sovereign risks in developing countries.

Overall, however, we believe the B&R initiative is a meaningful long-term commitment, which can deepen China’s connection and bring wealth along the B&R region. The benefits from improving economic ties along the B&R region and promoting sustainable global growth, in our view, should outweigh the risks or potential losses. And gold can play an important part as the initiative unfolds and develops.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]