来自周大福珠宝集团的自信展望

黄金投资者 2018年10月

2018年10月18日

来自周大福珠宝集团的自信展望

周大福珠宝集团是中国一家领先的珠宝零售商,在全国拥有2,500多家店铺,以尖端设计和创新而闻名。执行董事陈世昌对中国金饰行业的长期前景持乐观态度。

陈世昌
周大福珠宝集团
执行董事

据世界黄金协会的统计,中国的金饰行业规模在2002至2013年间增长了四倍。此后出现了一段收缩期,但现在已经恢复增长,周大福对前景充满信心。

执行董事陈世昌表示:“国内经济变得越发倾向于消费驱动,金饰需求继续保持稳定,不仅在一二线城市,在三线城市和其他城市也是如此。”

快速城市化在周大福的增长战略中发挥核心作用,这家零售商还预计自己将受益于中国不断扩大的中产阶级和日益提高的收入水平,因为消费者既想要轻奢产品,又想要高端产品。随着设计变得时尚并得到改进,年轻消费者,尤其是千禧一代也将越来越青睐这个市场。

周大福深知线上媒体的重要性,也对数字营销进行了巨额投资,利用软促销来吸引年轻消费者。该集团还与知名商业合作伙伴合作推出获授权的黄金产品,例如LINEFRIENDS和长草颜团子,以吸引千禧一代和青少年。尽管如此,该公司依然同样重视传统消费者。

陈世昌表示:“我们的「传承」系列,为金饰类产品注入了更多的中华传统文化内涵和工艺,去年一上市就受到了消费者的欢迎。”

展望未来,陈世昌预计需求会来自老人和年轻人。中国每年有1,000多万对新婚夫妇,因此预计传统婚嫁金饰产品的需求将保持强劲。与此同时,周大福认为只要该行业对日新月异的市场动态做出反应,时尚金饰就应该会受益于年轻人日益增长的购买力。

陈世昌提出:“我们要确保提供更符合年轻一代需求的产品,所以我们将继续与不同的商业伙伴合作,利用尖端技术来增加黄金产品的款式。我们还将创造一体化销售渠道,为客户提供更顺畅的全渠道体验。”

随着国内经济变得越发倾向于消费驱动,金饰需求将得以复苏,不仅在一二线城市,在三线城市和其他城市也是如此。

长期而言,这家零售商对需求趋势充满信心。陈世昌解释道:“传统金饰在中国消费者当中扮演着重要的角色,因为传统金饰一直被用作婚嫁和生日礼物,因此市场需求保持稳定。我们对中国金饰市场的长期前景感到乐观,将在级别较低的城市加速开拓。”

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

A confident outlook from Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group

Gold Investor, October 2018

18 October, 2018

A confident outlook from Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group

Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group is a leading jewellery retailer in China, with more than 2,500 stores across the country and a reputation for cutting-edge design and innovation. Executive Director Chan Sai-Cheong holds a positive view on the long-term prospects of the jewellery industry in China.

Chan Sai-Cheong
Chan Sai-Cheong
Executive Director
Chow Tai Fook Jewellery Group

According to the World Gold Council, China’s gold jewellery industry more than quadrupled in size between 2002 and 2013. A period of retrenchment followed but it has now returned to growth and Chow Tai Fook is confident about future prospects.

“The domestic economy has become more consumption- driven and jewellery demand continues to be stable, not just in Tier I and II cities but also in Tier III cities and others as well,” says Executive Director Chan Sai-Cheong.

Rapid urbanisation plays a central role in Chow Tai Fook’s growth strategy, and the retailer also expects to benefit from China’s expanding middle class and rising income levels, as consumers look for both affordable luxuries and high-end products. Young consumers, especially millennials, are also becoming more attracted to the market, as designs are modernised and improved.

3D hard gold is a case in point. It allows Chow Tai Fook to make large pieces of jewellery which are hollow inside and are therefore both light and fashionable. While the bricks-and-mortar retail experience is still essential for the jewellery industry, online channels account for a growing percentage of gold jewellery sales.

Looking ahead, Chow Tai Fook expects the e-commerce market to deliver moderate growth as it continues to evolve. “We believe that e-commerce has entered a more mature stage and it is likely to experience steady rather than explosive growth in the coming year. For us, integration between online and offline has become a key retail trend,” says Chan.

To target more sophisticated customer groups, we have upgraded some of our Chow Tai Fook stores and launched Jewelria, offering international designer jewellery, focused on gem-set products,” says Chan.

Keenly aware of the importance of online media, Chow Tai Fook invests significantly in digital marketing too, using soft promotions to attract young consumers. The group has collaborated with renowned business partners to roll out licensed gold products, such as Line Friends and Budding Pop (a cartoon character), to attract millennials and teens. Nonetheless, the company is mindful of traditional customers too.

“Our heritage collection, CTF HUA, infuses traditional Chinese cultural connotations and techniques into gold jewellery products, which have been popular among consumers since their launch last year,” says Chan.

Looking ahead, Chan expects demand to come from both older and younger generations. With more than 10 million newly wed couples in China every year, demand for traditional wedding gold jewellery products is expected to remain robust. At the same time, Chow Tai Fook believes that fashionable gold jewellery should benefit from young people’s growing purchasing power, as long as the industry responds to the fast-changing market dynamics.

“We need to ensure that we provide products that better accommodate the needs of the younger generation and so we will continue to cooperate with different business partners, leveraging cutting-edge technology to diversify gold product styles. We will also create integrated sales channels to deliver a more seamless omni-channel experience for customers,” says Chan.

As the domestic economy becomes more oriented towards consumption, jewellery demand will recover, not just in Tier I and II cities but in Tier III cities and others as well.

Over the long term, the retailer is confident about demand trends. “Traditional gold jewellery plays a vital role among Chinese consumers, because it is always used as gift for weddings and birthdays, so market demand remains steady. We are optimistic about long-term prospects of the Chinese gold jewellery market and will accelerate development in lower-tier cities,” Chan explains.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]