波动性去哪里了?

黄金投资者2018年7月

2018年07月04日

波动性去哪里了?

去年金价的波动性特别低,2018年的 金价也一直保持稳定。麦格理集团贵 金属分析师Matthew Turner认为这 种现象可能反映了黄金市场的根本变 化——而这种变化可能会长期持续。

Matthew Turner
副总监
麦格理集团

表面上,2017年似乎是多事之秋——这是特朗普总统上任的第一年,也是法国和德国大选之年,还有英国退欧、朝鲜局势紧张、中国领导人换届。但金价几乎纹丝不动:金价波动处于20多年来的最低水平。

举一个简单的例子:在这一年里,没有任何一个交易日的金价比上一个交易日上涨或下跌2.5%以上(“环比”波动幅度)。上一次出现这种现象是在1996年。

图1:金价波动性,衡量单位为百分比

每日
交易量%
绝对价格
变化%
绝对每日
变化幅度%
>2.5%
的天数
绝对月度
价格变化%
绝对月度
交易区间%
>5%的
月份数量
1991年 9% 0.4% 0.8% 1 2.0% 4.2% 0
1992年 8% 0.4% 0.7% - 2.0% 3.8% 0
1993年 14% 0.6% 1.1% 5 4.0% 6.1% 5
1994年 9% 0.4% 0.7% 1 1.6% 3.7% 0
1995年 7% 0.3% 0.5% - 0.9% 2.4% 0
1996年 6% 0.3% 0.5% - 1.5% 2.7% 0
1997年 13% 0.6% 1.0% 1 3.6% 5.5% 3
1998年 11% 0.5% 0.9% 2 2.7% 5.4% 1
1999年 18% 0.7% 1.2% 7 3.0% 7.1% 2
2000年 11% 0.5% 0.9% 4 2.5% 5.2% 1
2001年 14% 0.6% 1.2% 5 2.5% 5.6% 1
2002年 14% 0.7% 1.3% 3 3.4% 6.3% 3
2003年 17% 0.8% 1.6% 7 3.9% 8.0% 3
2004年 15% 0.7% 1.4% 7 3.5% 7.3% 3
2005年 15% 0.7% 1.3% 1 3.3% 6.1% 2
2006年 23% 1.1% 2.0% 24 4.4% 10.2% 3
2007年 18% 0.8% 1.6% 8 3.5% 7.2% 3
2008年 32% 1.5% 3.0% 41 7.1% 15.0% 7
2009年 19% 0.9% 1.8% 14 5.1% 9.5% 6
2010年 15% 0.7% 1.4% 6 3.3% 6.4% 2
2011年 20% 0.9% 1.8% 16 6.4% 10.3% 8
2012年 14% 0.6% 1.3% 5 3.4% 6.2% 2
2013年 22% 0.9% 1.9% 14 4.9% 10.0% 7
2014年 15% 0.7% 1.4% 4 3.2% 6.5% 3
2015年 14% 0.7% 1.4% 3 3.3% 6.7% 4
2016年 14% 0.7% 1.4% 5 4.6% 8.9% 5
2017年 10% 0.5% 0.9% - 2.0% 5% 1

来源:Macrobond,麦格理策略

交易员比投资者更重视每日价格波动幅度。2017年的每月金价波动幅度也处于低点。例如,2017年金价波动幅度大于5%的月份只有一个(1月),而2016年有5个,2008年有7个。像每日波动幅度一样,上一次出现这么低的月度波动性是在1996年。不出所料,2017年2%的月度金价波动幅度也是1996年以来的最低值,2017年的月均交易区间也是如此。

原因何在?最显而易见的解释很简单:虽然动静不小,但2017年并没有那么激动人心。特朗普总统基本上安然无恙地度过了上任后的第一年,欧洲政治局势也并没有像预期那样令人不安,即使出现问题,也基本上被向好的经济弱化。一项衡量这种局面的学术性指标——经济政策不确定性指数(EPU)——在2017年初达到最高水平,但旋即大幅下跌。EPU真正的大涨出现在2016年——当年发生了英国退欧和特朗普当选——金价波动性确实上升了。

黄金是否有可能经历过某些从根本上降低了其价格波动性的变化?

不过,金价的波动趋势自2008年以来基本上一路走低。

有些人可能会说个中原因很简单——全球金融危机是一种几十年一遇的风险,而我们现在正在回归常态,但2016年的波动性低于2013年,同时2017年的波动性低于1996年至全球金融危机爆发之前的任何一年。换句话说,2017年不单纯是平静的一年。

图2:全年日均价格波动百分比

GI July 2018 Where has the volatility gone? - ZH - Chart 2: Annual average daily % price moves

来源:Macrobond,麦格理策略

数据截至

我们看到有两种广义的解释:更广泛的宏观经济和金融环境的转变,以及黄金内部基本面的转变。

第一种转变的原因是投资者意识到包括股票在内的很多其他资产的价格波动都出现了下降。事实上,在过去90年里,只有1964年的标普波动如此之低。

对此的解释众说纷纭,其中很多说法与央行政策有关。利率、通胀和经济增速一直非常稳定。此外,如果投资者开始相信央行将通过放松货币政策来应对股市下跌,那么任何松动都可能会被视为买入机会,从而降低价格波动性。虽然黄金不会直接受益于货币宽松,但会得到间接好处。一般而言,货币宽松和接近于零的利率会降低持有成本,进而降低波动性。

全球金融危机后遗症的重要影响还体现在市场对未来的波动性还有过高预期。在这种环境中,就像房主夸大房子被烧毁的可能性一样,保险销售是一直会有利可图的。这种现象加上对收益的追求,导致了波动性抛售策略大增,通常包括多种资产和资产类别的波动性抛售。在某些情况下,这种策略会抑制预期和实际波动,而这有助于解释为什么波动性没有回到全球金融危机爆发之前的水平,反而超过了这个水平。

第二种解释源于投资者意识到并非所有资产的波动性都经历过下滑。例如,原油价格波动性在全球金融危机至2013年间出现过下滑,但又在2014-2016年间大涨,涨幅大到难以判断其长期趋势。由于原油与黄金一样,都受到相同的宏观趋势和金融战略的影响,因此该波动性加剧似乎是由影响原油的基本面变化驱动的,例如定价权从中东转向美国页岩油生产商。

黄金需求本身颇具灵活性,因为它不是必需品。但日益重要的亚洲金饰需求无疑推高了黄金需求。

图3:环比日均价格变化百分比,1999-2018年

  %
美国长期国债0.29
美元指数(DXY)0.38
标普500指数0.78
黄金0.81
1
铂金1.05
1.16
原油1.35
白银1.38
1.42
1.53

来源:Macrobond,麦格理策略

 

相比之下,黄金是否有可能经历过某些从根本上降低了其价格波动性的变化?

我们知道,基本面因素确实会影响波动性。我们也知道,金价波动通常远远低于原油,事实上也远远低于大部分其他大宗商品(图3)。在过去10年里,金价的日均变动幅度为0.8%,而铝为1%,铜为1.2%,石油和白银为1.4%,镍为1.5%。这在一定程度上体现了黄金高于基本供需的交易量,尤其是自从ETF和类似产品问世以来。但基本供需的性质更重要。基本供需的特点是高度灵活,库存充裕,这意味着任何供应/需求失衡都不需要大幅价格波动来修正。

近年来这些特质是否变得更加突出了?在供应方面,金矿产量似乎并没有变得对价格更敏感,虽然黄金回收活动可能发生了这种变化。然而,最大的变化在于需求方面。黄金需求本身颇具灵活性,因为黄金不像石油和其他大宗商品,并不是必需品。但日益重要的亚洲金饰需求无疑推高了黄金需求,对2013年以投资者为首的黄金抛售起到了缓冲作用,有助于保持此后黄金价格的窄幅波动。

展望未来,有一点似乎格外明显。金价在2017年的极低波动性是由很多因素共同造成的,包括短期和长期因素、实体经济和金融因素。

 

而这降低了发生大幅逆转的可能性。有些因素显然即将消失,例如低利率,但其他因素(例如对价格敏感的需求)依然强势。当然,正如股市投资者在2月标普500指数中价格波动处于2012年以来最高水平之时发现的那样,过去的波动性表现再也不能保证未来的波动性表现了,它说明不了任何问题。

在2018年,黄金至今依然没有受到动荡不安的市场的影响——事实上,按照某些衡量标准如交易区间来看,金价的波动性处于上世纪70年代初(当时黄金与美元挂钩)以来的最低水平。这正是很多投资者期望的结果。但有时候好事也会让人难以消受。

 

而这降低了发生大幅逆转的可能性。有些因素显然即将消失,例如低利率,但其他因素(例如对价格敏感的需求)依然强势。当然,正如股市投资者在2月标普500指数中价格波动处于2012年以来最高水平之时发现的那样,过去的波动性表现再也不能保证未来的波动性表现了,它说明不了任何问题。

在2018年,黄金至今依然没有受到动荡不安的市场的影响——事实上,按照某些衡量标准如交易区间来看,金价的波动性处于上世纪70年代初(当时黄金与美元挂钩)以来的最低水平。这正是很多投资者期望的结果。但有时候好事也会让人难以消受。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Where has the volatility gone?

Gold Investor, July 2018

4 July, 2018

Where has the volatility gone?

The gold price exhibited particularly low volatility last year and prices have been stable in 2018 as well. Matthew Turner, precious metals analyst at Macquarie, suggests this may reflect fundamental changes in the market – which could be here to stay.

Matthew Turner
Associate Director
Maquarie

At first glance, 2017 seemed an eventful year – the first year of President Trump, elections in France and Germany, Brexit, tensions in North Korea, changes to Chinese leadership. But gold barely moved: price volatility was at its lowest in more than 20 years.

To give a simple example: there wasn’t a single trading day during the year when gold ended more than 2.5% higher or lower than it had ended the previous day (the ‘day-on-day’ move). This was last seen in 1996.

Table 1: Gold price volatility, various % measures

Year Daily vol Absolute
price change
Absolute
daily range
No of
>2.5% days
Absolute monthly
price change
Absolute monthly
trading range
No of
>5% months
1991 9% 0.4% 0.8% 1 2.0% 4.2% 0
1992 8% 0.4% 0.7% - 2.0% 3.8% 0
1993 14% 0.6% 1.1% 5 4.0% 6.1% 5
1994 9% 0.4% 0.7% 1 1.6% 3.7% 0
1995 7% 0.3% 0.5% - 0.9% 2.4% 0
1996 6% 0.3% 0.5% - 1.5% 2.7% 0
1997 13% 0.6% 1.0% 1 3.6% 5.5% 3
1998 11% 0.5% 0.9% 2 2.7% 5.4% 1
1999 18% 0.7% 1.2% 7 3.0% 7.1% 2
2000 11% 0.5% 0.9% 4 2.5% 5.2% 1
2001 14% 0.6% 1.2% 5 2.5% 5.6% 1
2002 14% 0.7% 1.3% 3 3.4% 6.3% 3
2003 17% 0.8% 1.6% 7 3.9% 8.0% 3
2004 15% 0.7% 1.4% 7 3.5% 7.3% 3
2005 15% 0.7% 1.3% 1 3.3% 6.1% 2
2006 23% 1.1% 2.0% 24 4.4% 10.2% 3
2007 18% 0.8% 1.6% 8 3.5% 7.2% 3
2008 32% 1.5% 3.0% 41 7.1% 15.0% 7
2009 19% 0.9% 1.8% 14 5.1% 9.5% 6
2010 15% 0.7% 1.4% 6 3.3% 6.4% 2
2011 20% 0.9% 1.8% 16 6.4% 10.3% 8
2012 14% 0.6% 1.3% 5 3.4% 6.2% 2
2013 22% 0.9% 1.9% 14 4.9% 10.0% 7
2014 15% 0.7% 1.4% 4 3.2% 6.5% 3
2015 14% 0.7% 1.4% 3 3.3% 6.7% 4
2016 14% 0.7% 1.4% 5 4.6% 8.9% 5
2017 10% 0.5% 0.9% - 2.0% 5% 1

Source: Macrobond, Macquarie Strategy

Daily price moves matter to traders but less so to investors. However, gold volatility in 2017 was also low on a monthly basis. For example, there was just one month in 2017 when gold moved by more than 5% (January), compared to five months in 2016 and seven in 2008. Like the daily moves, monthly volatility was last this low in 1996. Not surprisingly, gold’s 2% monthly average price move in 2017 was also the lowest since 1996, as was its average monthly trading range.

So what is going on? The most obvious explanation would simply be that for all the noise, 2017 wasn’t that exciting a year. President Trump made it through his first year largely unscathed, European politics caused fewer upsets than expected, and even when issues arose, they were largely overshadowed by the improving economy. One academic attempt to measure this – the economic policy uncertainty index (EPU) – peaked at the start of the year but fell sharply thereafter. The real increase in the EPU came in 2016 – the year of Brexit and Trump’s election – and gold volatility did rise in response.

Is it possible that gold has experienced certain changes that have reduced its volatility fundamentally?

Nevertheless, the trend in gold volatility has been mostly lower since 2008. Some might say there is a simple explanation for this – the GFC was a once in a generation risk and we are now returning to normality, but 2016 was less volatile than 2013, and 2017 saw less volatility than even any pre-GFC year after 1996. In other words, there is more to it than just a quiet year.

Chart 2: Annual average daily % price moves

GI July 2018 Where has the volatility gone? - Chart 2: Annual average daily % price moves

Source: Macrobond, Macquarie Strategy

Data as of

We see two broad explanations: shifts in the wider macro- economic and financial environment and shifts in gold’s internal fundamentals.

The first stems from the realisation that many other asset prices, including equities, have experienced falling volatility. Indeed, over the past 90 years, 1964 is the only year that S&P volatility was this low.

Various reasons have been put forward for this, many relating to central bank policy. Interest rates, inflation and growth have all been very stable. Furthermore, if investors have come to believe that central banks will respond to falling equity prices by easing monetary policy, then any dip is likely to be viewed as a buying opportunity, thus reducing price swings. Gold does not benefit from such largesse directly, but there are indirect benefits. And in general, easy money and near-zero interest rates cut the cost of holding inventory, which in turn reduces volatility.

The legacy of the GFC also matters in that market expectations of future volatility have turned out to be too high. In such a world, much as when householders overstate the likelihood of their house burning down, selling insurance has been profitable. This, coupled with the search for yield, has led to a significant increase in volatility-selling strategies, usually aggregated across multiple assets and asset classes. In certain circumstances, these can dampen both expected and actual volatility, helping to explain why volatility has not just seen a reversion to the pre-GFC mean, but overshot it.

The second explanation stems from the realisation that not all assets have experienced falling volatility. Crude oil’s price volatility, for example, fell between the GFC and 2013, but it jumped significantly between 2014 and 2016, so much so that a longer-term trend is hard to discern. As oil has been affected by the same macro trends and financial strategies as gold, this increase seems driven by fundamental shifts affecting crude, such as the change in pricing power from the Middle East to US shale producers.

Demand for gold is naturally quite elastic because it is not a necessity. But the growing importance of Asian jewellery demand has surely made it more so.

Table 2: Average DoD price change, %, 1999–2018

  %
US long-dated bonds0.29
DXY0.38
S&P 5000.78
Gold0.81
Aluminium1
Platinum1.05
Copper1.16
Brent oil1.35
Silver1.38
Palladium1.42
Nickel1.53

Source: Macrobond, Macquarie Strategy

Is it possible that gold, by contrast, has experienced certain changes that have reduced its volatility fundamentally?

We know that fundamental factors do drive volatility. And we know that the gold price is typically far less volatile than that of crude oil or indeed most other commodities (Table 2). Over the past 10 years, the gold price has changed by an average of 0.8% on a daily basis, compared to aluminium’s 1%, copper’s 1.2%, oil and silver’s 1.4%, and nickel’s 1.5%. This partly reflects gold’s high traded volume compared to underlying supply and demand, particularly since the introduction of ETFs and similar products. But the nature of that underlying supply and demand is even more important. It is characterised by high elasticity and plentiful stocks, which means that any supply/demand imbalances do not require large price shifts to correct.

Might these attributes have become even more prominent in recent years? On the supply side, mine production does not seem to have become more price sensitive, although recycling may have. The biggest shift, however, has been on the demand side. Demand for gold is naturally quite elastic because it is not a necessity, unlike oil and many other commodities. But the growing importance of Asian jewellery demand has surely made it more so, cushioning gold’s investor-led sell-off in 2013 and helping to keep its narrow range since.

Looking ahead, one point would seem to stand out. Gold’s extremely low volatility in 2017 was driven by many factors, both short-term and long-term, physical and financial. That reduces the chance of a sharp reversal. Some factors are clearly coming to an end, such as low interest rates, but others, such as price-sensitive demand, remain strong.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]