黄金在多种货币储备体系中的作用

黄金投资者2018年7月

2018年07月04日

黄金在多种货币储备体系中的作用

引言:数十年来,美元一直是首要储备货币。但现在随着人民币的优势日益扩大,世界正在向多级体系转变。而这种转变可能会引发相当严重的地缘政治混乱。但是对于力图缓解自身风险的国家而言,黄金大有可为。香港大学亚洲全球研究所杰出研究员沈联涛(Andrew Sheng)博士解释了个中原因。

沈联涛(Andrew Sheng)博士
杰出研究员,亚洲环球研究所
香港大学

唯一可行的官方储备替代资产是实物黄金,因为黄金本身就具备必要的流动性、相关性特征和可信度。

现在,一份来自IMF 的工作文件又更进了一步,暂时确认了人民币货币集团的形成,此外还有占主导地位的美元储备货币集团和欧元货币集团。 

不包括人民币在内的话,美元集团在GDP贡献和使用方面显然占据主导地位。以购买力平价(PPP)计算,美元集团在2011-2015年间占全球GDP的60%左右。欧元占26%,英镑占7%,日元占5%。 

但如果人民币作为一个独立集团被纳入,世界的多级化程度将大大加深。美元将占全球GDP的40%,人民币占30%,欧元占20%,日元占5%,英镑占3%。这些数字表明,国际货币体系(IMS)已经从注重美元和欧元的两极化体系转变为真正的多极化体系。 

PPP衡量方式可能会夸大人民币的影响,但毫无疑问,中国正在迅速成为今天这个世界的主导性经济力量。这会对IMS和储备货币产生重大影响。 


已有迹象表明,美国的债务水平削弱了美元作为首要储备货币的地位。美国对世界其他国家的净投资负债占其GDP的40%左右,而这些债务的资金是通过极低的利率获得的。这一点越来越不稳定,尤其是考虑到欧元和人民币集团都拥有经常账户盈余。 

因此,在转向多极储备货币体系的过程中,我们应该采取某些措施来确保IMS依然适用。而黄金在这种环境中可以发挥重要作用。

如今,IMS依赖美元的主导地位,美国必须维持经常账户赤字来为全世界供应美元。随着我们转向多级体系,这种必要性会降低。但讽刺的是,虽然欧盟、中国和其他亚洲国家等盈余经济体的重要性与日俱增,但在没有出现替代性盈余储蓄渠道的情况下,这种情形反而巩固了美元的强势地位。

各国央行的标准储备组合管理战略需要GDP或对外汇储备的支付加权持仓。由于美元占所有外汇交易的88%,这些盈余经济体最终会增加美元储备,从而导致自己的风险集中在美元上,而不是被分散。 

这种方式可能看起来目光短浅,但也许也是无奈之举,因为不存在一家全球性的央行或全球性的财政政策。因此,各国央行和政府不得不试图平衡三种经常互相冲突的需求:储备组合管理战略、国家风险管理战略和全球系统性稳定。

这就是为什么官方储备中持有的美元依然占全球官方储备总量的三分之二左右。新兴市场向发达国家的资本流动之所以发生,是因为各国央行和私人投资者追求只有主导性储备货币市场才能提供的流动性和优越的信用级别。

但这种“非系统”具有明显的固有缺陷,而这可能是很多新兴市场央行不断增持黄金的原因。黄金流动性高,且没有信用或违约风险。

美联储前主席艾伦·格林斯潘明确承认了这一点,并(在2017年2月刊的《黄金投资者》中)公开宣称黄金是终极保障政策。法币的价值取决于自身的信用级别、财政状况以及政府或央行的政策。但黄金不需要交易对手签字,不依赖国家财政或经济政策,因此是最有效的地缘政治风险对冲工具。

为了充分发挥黄金的作用,拥有巨额经常账户盈余的国家必须负责任地认可黄金是分散全球系统性风险的重要工具。

网络货币无法提供合适的替代品。网络货币由匿名数据挖掘者创造,没有交易对手方,未经中央政府登记,波动性高,可能会导致投资者面临欺诈、操纵和盗窃风险。相比之下,黄金的需求独特而多元,使其成为一种理想的投资组合多元化投资标的和潜在的避险资产。 

不可避免的结论是,唯一可行的官方储备替代资产是实物黄金,因为黄金本身就具备必要的流动性、相关性特征和可信度。因此,真正希望分散风险或追求保险的各国央行应该增持黄金。

 

如果在购买黄金时适当考虑中期和长期的金价稳定性,就可以逐步实现这一目标。如果盈余经济体采用更具合作性的储备管理方式,实际上将对IMS的稳定产生更显著的正面影响。 

如今,随着人民币的优势不断扩大,且美国债务水平令人质疑美元的主导地位,IMS正在发生变化。在这样的环境中,黄金可以发挥颇具影响力的作用。为了充分发挥黄金的作用,拥有巨额经常账户盈余的国家必须负责任地认可黄金是分散全球系统性风险的重要工具。 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

The role of gold in a multicurrency reserve system

Gold Investor, July 2018

4 July, 2018

The role of gold in a multicurrency reserve system

The US dollar has been the preeminent reserve currency for decades. Now, however the world is moving to a multipolar system, as the RMB becomes increasingly dominant. This shift could provoke considerable geopolitical turmoil. But, for nations seeking to mitigate their risks, gold has much to offer. Dr Andrew Sheng, Distinguished Fellow, Asia Global Institute, the University of Hong Kong, explains why.

Andrew Sheng
Distinguished Fellow, Asia Global Institute
University of Hong Kong

The only viable alternative asset for official reserves is physical gold, as it alone has the requisite liquidity, correlation characteristics, and trust.

Now, a working paper from the IMF3 has gone one stage further, tentatively identifying the formation of a RMB currency bloc, in addition to the dominant dollar reserve currency bloc and the euro currency bloc.

Excluding the RMB, the dollar bloc is clearly dominant in terms of GDP and usage. In terms of purchasing power parity (PPP), the dollar bloc accounted for about 60% of global GDP between 2011 and 2015. The euro accounted for 26%, sterling accounted for 7%, and the yen accounted for 5%.

If the RMB is included as a separate bloc, however, the world becomes much more multipolar. The dollar would account for 40% of global GDP, with the RMB at 30%, the euro at 20%, the yen at 5% and sterling at 3%. These figures suggest that the international monetary system (IMS) is already shifting from a bipolar focus on the dollar and the euro to a true, multipolar system.

PPP measures may overstate the influence of the RMB but there is little doubt that China is fast becoming the dominant economic force in today’s world. This has significant implications for the IMS and reserve currencies.

There are already signs that US debt levels have undermined the dollar’s status as the dominant reserve currency. The US is running a net investment liability to the rest of the world of around 40% of US GDP, financed by exceptionally low interest rates. This is increasingly unstable, particularly given that the euro- and RMB-bloc are both running current account surpluses.

As we move to a multipolar reserve currency system, therefore, certain steps will need to be taken to ensure the IMS remains fit for purpose. And gold could play an important role in this environment.

Today, the IMS relies on the dominance of the US dollar and the US has to run a current account deficit to supply the world with dollars. As we move to a multipolar system, that need should diminish. Ironically, however, the increasing importance of surplus economies, such as Europe, China and other Asian nations, has reinforced the dollar’s strength without alternative channels for surplus savings.

Among central banks, standard reserves portfolio management strategy calls for GDP or payment-weighted holdings of foreign exchange reserves. As the dollar accounts for 88% of all foreign exchange transactions, these surplus economies end up holding more dollars in their reserves, thus concentrating their risks in the dollar, rather than diversifying their risks.

The approach may seem short-sighted but it is perhaps inevitable, as there is no global central bank and no global fiscal policy. As a result, central banks and governments are forced to try and balance three, often conflicting, demands: portfolio management strategy, national risk management strategy, and global systemic stability.

This explains why dollar holdings in official reserves  have remained at roughly two-thirds of global total official reserves. Capital flows from emerging markets to developed countries have occurred because central banks and private investors have sought the liquidity and superior credit ratings only offered by the dominant reserve currency markets.

The inherent weakness of this ‘non-system’ is clear, however, which may explain why many emerging market central banks are increasing their allocation to gold. It is liquid and has neither credit nor default risk.

The former chairman of the US Federal Reserve, Alan Greenspan, has explicitly recognised this, publicly stating that gold is the ultimate insurance policy. The value of fiat currencies depends on their credit rating, fiscal health, and government or central bank policies. Gold requires no counterparty signature, does not depend on national fiscal or economic policy and is therefore the most effective hedge against geo-political risk.

If gold is to fulfil its potential, countries with large current account surpluses need to play their part, recognising gold as a systemic and significant diversifier of global risk.

Cyber currencies do not offer an appropriate alternative. Created by anonymous data miners, without counterparties or central registration, they are highly volatile and can expose investors to fraud, manipulation, and theft. Gold, by contrast, has a unique and diverse demand profile that makes it an ideal portfolio diversifier and a potential safe haven asset.

The inescapable conclusion is that the only viable alternative asset for official reserves is physical gold, as it alone has the requisite liquidity, correlation characteristics, and trust. Central banks seeking true risk diversification or insurance, therefore, should increase their gold holdings.

It is unlikely that the IMF will include gold in the SDR. However, if surplus economies, particularly large Asian nations, increase their gold holdings, this could pave the way for an IMS reform and simultaneously reduce geopolitical risk.

Such a move could be incrementally achieved if purchases were made with due consideration for medium- and long-term price stability. Indeed, if surplus economies adopted a more cooperative approach towards reserve management, it would have a marked and positive effect on the stability of the IMS.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]