意大利政治风险暗示应选择防御性配置

黄金投资者2018年7月

2018年07月04日

意大利政治风险暗示应选择防御性配置

Brunello Rosa是独立宏观经济咨询公司Rosa & Roubini Associates的首席执行官兼研究部负责人。作为伦敦大学、伦敦政治经济学院的研究员和查塔姆研究所的活跃成员,Rosa认为未来几个月意大利的政治环境会对金融市场产生深远影响。

Brunello Rosa
CEO and Head of Research
Rosa and Roubini

在过去几周里,意大利的政治事态引起了投资者的注意,因为该国很可能会退出欧元区,否则其新的“民粹”政府可能会在财政纪律和移民等关键欧盟问题上采取更具对抗性的立场。

大部分意大利人认为欧元没有为该国带来经济利益。

 

图1:意大利的人均实际GDP低于欧元区成立之初

GI July 2018 Italy and European political risks suggest defensive positioning - ZH - Chart 1

来源:世界银行国民核算数据和经合组织国民核算数据文件。注:人均实际GDP。

数据截至

金融市场普遍认为,意大利显然再次出现了“货币改值风险”。意大利和德国国债的收益率差距扩大了(收益率曲线的长端和短端都是如此);股市下跌了(尤其是最能代表该国风险的银行股);针对主权债务违约的保险溢价也增加了(根据信用违约互换合约的记录)。甚至有人担心意大利可能会引发新的全球金融危机,尤其如果在下次大选(无论何时举行)时为该国是否继续留在欧元区进行全民公投的话。

自6月初新政府成立以来,其中一些紧张态势(及其对金融市场的影响)有所缓解,但我们认为这只是暂时缓解。

为什么?因为意大利两个最主要的反建制政党联盟党和五星运动党已经崛起,而崛起的根本原因是,大部分意大利人认为欧元没有为该国带来经济利益。

意大利现在的人均实际GDP低于1999年欧元问世之际。德国的人均实际GDP在同一时期增长了25%,连希腊的表现都优于意大利。

意大利现在的人均实际GDP低于1999年欧元问世之际,这一事实最能体现这种所谓的失败。德国的人均实际GDP在同一时期增长了25%,连希腊的表现都好于意大利,尽管希腊经历了自2008年以来的经济萧条(见图1)。因此,意大利人觉得这些数字证明了在欧元问世之前,其实他们的日子过得更好。

意大利人似乎忘记了采用统一货币带来的好处,例如更低的利率和通胀率,以及意大利巨额国债偿还费用的大幅下降(债务利息支出从GDP的12%猛降至5%或以下)。他们似乎对以下事实感到遗憾:失去货币主权意味着无法采用定期货币贬值来恢复由于意大利制度诸多低效之处而失去的竞争力。这些低效缺陷包括劳动力市场僵化、公共和私人研发投资低迷、逃税避税现象泛滥成灾、公共和私人部门腐败不堪、公共管理和法律制度功能失调且成本高昂。

面对是否继续采用统一货币的选择时(大选可能会促使这个时刻到来,因为这是大选辩论的中心议题),意大利人可能首先会决定留下来,因为他们害怕可能在大选之前就要开始付出独自退出的代价——一些人很可能会开始取出银行账户里的资金,就像希腊人在2012-2015年的做法一样。然而,意大利人可能会想要逐渐退出欧元区,因为他们认为意大利已经具备了在世界经济舞台上成功立足的条件,包括一个依然庞大、可以向世界各地出口的工业部门。

即使只有一小部分承诺被纳入2019年的预算,意大利与欧盟和欧洲市场爆发新冲突也几乎不可避免。

如果这种分析是正确的,那么“意大利问题”将很快回到欧洲谈判桌上:也许最早在今年9月,新政府必须起草要提交给布鲁塞尔的预算,然后国会在12月之前批准该预算。新政府合同的承诺包括出台统一税制、最低收入政策和放弃前总理马里奥·蒙蒂于2012年推出的养老金制度改革。即使只有一小部分承诺被纳入2019年的预算,意大利与欧盟和欧洲市场爆发新冲突也几乎不可避免,尤其是如果评级机构打算将意大利债务评级下调到只比“垃圾”高一级的话。

黄金作为针对各种资产类别潜在回调的对冲工具,依然是多元化投资组合的一个关键组成部分。

那么金融市场和资产配置会受到何种影响?在过去几周里观察到的一些极端现象(股价下跌、短期和长期利率及利差飙升、信用违约互换保费增加、以及所谓的“国际互换与衍生品协会(ISDA)利差”扩大)可能会再次显现出来,尤其是在投资者再次发觉货币改值风险的情况下。在资产配置方面,我们这段时间一直建议投资者采取“防御性配置范围内适度冒险的立场”,暗示重点配置主权债券和非流动资产,例如私人股本和房地产,同时对股票保持有效中性的配置。在这种背景下,黄金作为针对各种资产类别潜在回调的对冲工具,依然是多元化投资组合的一个关键组成部分。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Italy and European political risks suggest defensive positioning

Gold Investor, July 2018

4 July, 2018

Italy and European political risks suggest defensive positioning

Brunello Rosa is CEO and head of research at the independent macro- economic consultancy firm Rosa & Roubini Associates. A research fellow at the University of London, an associate at the London School of Economics and an active member of Chatham House, Rosa believes the Italian political environment could have profound implications for financial markets over the coming months.

Brunello Rosa
CEO and Head of Research
Rosa and Roubini

Political developments in Italy have catalysed investors’ attention over the last few weeks, as the possibility emerged that the country might leave the Eurozone, or that its new ‘populist’ government might adopt a much more confrontational stance on key EU matters, such as fiscal discipline and migrants.

The majority of Italians believe the euro has not delivered economically for the country.

Chart 1: Italy’s per-capita real GDP is lower than it was at the beginning of the euro-area

GI July 2018 Italy and European political risks suggest defensive positioning - Chart 1

Source: World Bank national accounts data, and OECD National Accounts data files. Note: Real GDP per capita

Data as of

The return of the so-called ‘re-denomination risk’ for Italy was apparent across financial markets. The yield differential widened between Italian and German bonds (at both the long and short end of the yield curve); equity prices fell (especially bank shares, the best proxy for the country risk) and there was an increase in insurance premia against a sovereign default (as registered by credit-default swaps).

Some even feared that Italy could trigger another global financial crisis, especially if the next general election (whenever it might occur) becomes a de-facto referendum on the country’s participation in the single currency.

Some of these tensions (and their impact on financial markets) have receded since a new government was formed at the beginning of June, but we believe this is just a temporary relief.

Why? Because Italy’s two anti-system parties par excellence, the League and Five Star Movement, have risen to power for one fundamental reason: the majority of Italians believe the euro has not delivered economically for the country.

Italy’s real GDP per capita is lower now than it was when the euro was launched in 1999. Germany’s per-capita real GDP increased by more than 25% over the same period and even Greece has done better than Italy.

The clearest indication of this perceived failure is the fact that Italy’s real GDP per capita is lower now than when the euro was launched in 1999. Germany’s per-capita real GDP increased by more than 25% over the same period and even Greece has done better than Italy, in spite of the economic depression that the country has suffered since 2008 (see Chart 1). So, Italians feel vindicated by those figures when they say that they were better off before the introduction of the euro.

They seem to have forgotten the benefits brought about by the adoption of the single currency, such as much lower interest and inflation rates, and a dramatic fall in the servicing costs of Italy’s gigantic public debt (with expenditure on debt interest collapsing from 12% of GDP to 5% or below). They seem to regret the fact that the loss of monetary sovereignty means it is impossible to resort to periodic currency devaluations as a way of re-gaining competitiveness lost because of the many inefficiencies of the Italian system. These include labour market rigidities, low public and private investment in research and development, unbearable levels of tax evasion and avoidance, intolerable levels of public and private corruption, dysfunctional and costly public administration and legal system.

When confronted with the choice of remaining in or leaving the single currency (which could happen via a general election in which the central debate is exactly that), Italians might initially decide to stay, fearing the costs of a solitary exit, which they could start to experience even before the vote – as a few people would probably start to withdraw money from their bank accounts, as the Greeks did between 2012 and 2015. However, over time Italians might be tempted to leave the Eurozone, feeling that they have what it takes to stand successfully on the global economic stage, including a still-large industrial sector that could export worldwide.

If even a fraction of the new government’s promises were to be included in the budget for 2019, a new collision course with the EU, and the market, will become almost inevitable.

If this analysis is correct, the ‘Italian issue’ will soon be back on the European discussion tables: perhaps as early as September, when the new government will need to draft the budget that has to be sent to Brussels, before the national parliament can approve it by December. The new ‘government contract’ includes promises such as the introduction of a flat tax system, a minimum income policy and a backtracking of the pension system reform introduced by former Prime Minister Mario Monti in 2012. If even a fraction of these were to be included in the budget for 2019, a new collision course with the EU, and the market, will become almost inevitable, particularly if the rating agencies were to downgrade Italian debt to one notch above ‘junk’.

Gold will remain a crucial component of diversified portfolios, as a hedge against potential corrections across asset classes.

What are the implications for financial markets and asset allocation? Some of the extreme moves observed in the last few weeks (falling equity prices, spikes in short- and long-term rates and yield spreads, a rise in CDS premia and so-called ‘ISDA spreads’) could become apparent again, especially if the redenomination risk were to re-appear on investors’ radar screen. In terms of asset allocation, we have suggested for some time that investors adopt a ‘moderate risk-taking stance, within a defensive positioning’, implying quite a large weighting to sovereign bonds and illiquid assets such as private equity and real estate, while being effectively neutral on equities. In this context, gold will remain a crucial component of diversified portfolios, as a hedge against potential corrections across asset classes.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]