黄金和电子行业

黄金投资者2018年7月

2018年07月04日

黄金和电子行业

黄金在电子行业中具有独特的作用,随着该行业的扩张,黄金需求一直在增长。金属聚焦公司的Elvis Chou评估了黄金在未来数年里的前景。

Elvis Chou
Consultant
Metals Focus

数十年来,黄金在电子行业一直发挥着重要作用。黄金不像铜和银等其他高导电金属,它不会被腐蚀或失去光泽。黄金是一种柔韧的金属,很容易被拉进细线中或被镀进薄层中。这些物理特性让黄金成为广泛电子应用的理想材料。

需求集中在两个特定领域:连接器和接点的涂层,以及半导体封装里的金焊线(GBW)。GBW近年来经历了重大变化,面临巨大压力,在2010年以来的5年时间里拉低了黄金需求。但如今黄金的前景似乎更有希望。在2017年,电子行业使用了265吨黄金,同比增长4%,这是自2010年以来首次出现同比增长。

GBW在电子行业被广泛使用了50多年,主要用于互连集成电路(IC)或其他半导体设备及其封装。但降低成本的努力和技术创新推动了采用其他材料来代替黄金,尤其是铜。与此同时,对制成品微型化、性能和可靠性改善、以及能耗降低的追求都促使了IC制造商为先进半导体封装寻找替代材料。取代线焊的几种新的解决方案已经问世,包括倒片封装、晶圆级别封装(WLP)和硅通孔封装(TSV)。

尽管如此,线焊依然是最主流的互连技术,据电子行业咨询公司TechSearch International的统计,线焊依然占封装市场总份额的75%左右。这反映了线焊的灵活、可靠,以及适合多种用途的事实。

从历史上看,黄金曾经是占主导地位的线焊材料。但多年以来,希望被取代的压力使黄金的市场份额逐年下滑。例如,根据全球半导体产业协会SEMI的统计,黄金在线焊市场上的份额被铜、镀钯铜和银线蚕食,从2011年的77%跌至去年的不到35%(根据长度而非重量来衡量)。节约举措使需求进一步承压,因为业内公司试图通过使用更便宜的替代材料来削减成本。

在2017年,电子行业使用了265吨黄金,同比增长4%,这是2010年以来首次出现同比增长。

然而,近年来有一些迹象表明黄金需求情况正在好转。GBW销量去年复苏,促成了2010年以来电子行业需求的首次增长,金属聚焦公司预计2018年的结果也会如此,反映了黄金在闪存、汽车电子和各种传感器市场的强劲需求。

在内存领域,对于固态存储器(不需要电源来保存数据的非易失性存储器),NAND闪存在成本和性能方面成为一种有效的解决方案。GBW是NAND闪存封装的首选材料,所以消费电子和企业服务器行业数据存储产品销量的强劲增长转化成了黄金需求的增长。

智能手机、笔记本电脑、PC、相机和物联网(IoT)设备内存的扩大也帮助了提振黄金需求。例如,咨询公司Counterpoint近期的一次调查显示,去年智能手机的平均内存大小超过了50GB,预计今年年底将达到60GB。虽然技术进步意味着线缆变得越来越细,并降低了有线连接的需求,但我们依然预计黄金销量会增长,因为数据存储器的需求继续增长。

我们还看到消费电子的指纹传感器的普及率不断提高,红外传感器也被广泛用于汽车、安防与监控、以及工业自动化系统。其中很多传感器都需要使用黄金。

汽车行业是GBW的另一个需求来源。汽车行业正在迅速转向电气化和自动驾驶,而黄金依然是首选线焊材料,因为汽车电子的安全和可靠性要求很严格,这些要求往往比材料成本考量更重要。因此,黄金需求主要由日益增长的电子控制系统数量所驱动,这些系统是满足安全法规、能效、排放控制、驾驶信息和驾驶员辅助要求的必要条件。这个趋势可能会持续多年,促使每辆汽车的平均黄金使用量稳步增长。

多个行业和应用领域的传感器需求也出现了暴增。3D面部识别传感器就体现了这一趋势,其在智能手机、汽车系统、传媒与娱乐、医疗设备、安防与监控领域的使用量越来越大。我们认为目前的产能和产能扩张计划难以满足市场需求,这些应用的关键元件——垂直腔面发射激光器(VCSEL)——在2019年底之前可能都会供不应求。

在其他领域,我们还看到消费电子的指纹传感器的普及率不断提高,红外传感器也被广泛用于汽车、安防与监控、以及工业自动化系统。这些传感器都需要使用黄金,所以该领域的增长应该也会在未来一段时期内支撑黄金需求。

还有其他三个领域也有可能在不久的将来支撑黄金需求。首先,预计美国、中国内地、日本、韩国和中国台湾将于今年推出商用5G服务,从而刺激基础设施的发展,进而推高无线通信设备中功率放大功能使用的含金元件的需求。其次,加密货币开采所需的显卡使半导体需求大增,这一趋势似乎可以延续。最后,人工智能的发展需要大数据分析,这种需求应该会支撑存储器市场的进一步增长,从而促进黄金需求。

最终,尽管成本削减和材料替代带给黄金的压力绝不会停止,但就电子行业需求而言,短期到中期的前景看起来依旧光明。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Gold and the electronics sector

Gold Investor, July 2018

4 July, 2018

Gold and the electronics sector

Gold has a unique role to play in the electronics sector and demand has been rising as the industry expands. Elvis Chou of Metals Focus assesses prospects for gold over the coming years.

Elvis Chou
Consultant
Metals Focus

Gold has played an important role in the electronics sector for decades. It does not corrode or tarnish, unlike other highly conductive metals, such as copper and silver. And it is a soft, pliable material, which can be easily drawn out into narrow wires or plated into thin coatings. These physical properties make gold the ideal material for a wide range of electronic applications.

Demand centres on two specific areas: coatings for connectors and contacts, and gold bonding wire (GBW) within semiconductor packages. But GBW has experienced significant changes and pressures in recent years, driving down demand in the first half of this decade. Now, however, the outlook seems more promising. In 2017, the electronics sector used 265 tonnes of gold, a 4% increase on 2016 and the first year-on-year percentage growth since 2010.

GBW has been widely used within the electronics sector for more than 50 years, primarily to interconnect integrated circuits (IC) or other semiconductor devices and their packages. But cost reduction efforts and technological innovation have fuelled waves of substitution away from gold and into other materials, notably copper. Meanwhile the strive for end-product miniaturisation, performance and reliability improvements, and reduced power consumption have pushed IC manufacturers towards alternatives for advanced semiconductor packaging. Several new solutions have been developed as alternatives to wire bonding, including flip-chip, wafer-level package (WLP), and through-silicon via (TSVs).

Nonetheless, wire bonding remains the most prolific interconnection technology, still accounting for around 75% of the total packaging market, according to electronics consultancy, TechSearch International. This reflects the method’s flexibility and reliability, as well as the fact it suits a wide variety of applications.

Historically, gold was the dominant material used in wire bonding. Substitution pressures, however, have seen its market share decline over the years. For example, according to the global semiconductor industry association SEMI, gold’s share of the wire bonding market dropped from 77% in 2011 to less than 35% last year (measured in length rather than weight), displaced by copper, palladium- coated-copper and silver wires. Thrifting has added further pressure to demand, as companies have tried to cut costs by using cheaper alternatives to gold.

In 2017, the electronics sector used 265 tonnes of gold, a 4% increase on 2016 and the first year-on-year percentage growth since 2010.

Gains in memory capacity across smartphones, laptops, PCs, cameras and Internet of Things (IoT) devices have helped as well. According to a recent survey from consultancy Counterpoint for instance, the average memory installation per smartphone exceeded 50GB last year and is expected to reach 60GB by the end of this year. While advances in technology mean that wires are becoming thinner and fewer wire connections are needed, we still expect gold offtake to increase, as demand for data storage continues to grow.

We see growing penetration of fingerprint sensors in consumer electronics, and widespread use of infrared sensors in automotive, security and surveillance, and industrial automation systems. Many of these sensors require gold.

The automotive sector is another source of demand for GBW. The industry is shifting rapidly towards electrification and autonomous driving and gold remains the preferred metal for wire bonding, as vehicle electronics have tight safety and reliability requirements, which tend to outweigh material cost considerations. Here therefore, gold demand is driven primarily by the increasing number of electronic control systems required to meet safety regulations, energy efficiency, emissions control, driving information, and driver assistance. This trend is likely to continue for several years, prompting steady growth in the average gold loading per vehicle.

There is also a surge in demand for sensors across numerous industries and applications. 3D sensors for facial recognition exemplify this trend, increasingly used in smartphones, automotive systems, media & entertainment, healthcare devices, and security & surveillance systems. Our understanding is that current capacity and planned expansions will struggle to meet market demand and the key component for these applications – vertical-cavity surface-emitting laser (VCSELs) – is likely to be in short supply until the end of 2019.

Elsewhere too, we see growing penetration of fingerprint sensors in consumer electronics, and widespread use of infrared sensors in automotive, security and surveillance, and industrial automation systems. All of these sensors require gold, so growth in this sector should also underpin gold demand for some time to come.

Three other sectors are likely to support gold demand growth in the near future too. First, commercial 5G services are expected to launch in the US, China, Japan, Korea, and Taiwan this year, spurring infrastructure development and in turn driving demand for gold-bearing components that are used in power amplification for wireless communications. Second, graphic cards for crypto-currency mining have driven tremendous demand for semiconductors and this looks likely to continue. Finally, developments in artificial intelligence require big data analysis, which should underpin further growth for the memory sector – and hence gold demand.

Ultimately, although thrifting and substitution will never stop weighing on gold, the near- to medium-term outlook for electronics demand looks bright.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]