金饰

黄金需求趋势 2019年第二季度

2019年08月01日

金饰

第二季度全球金饰需求温和增长,涨幅为2%,至531.7吨

  • 上半年需求小幅走强,达到1,061.9吨——为四年来的高点
  • 婚礼季和节日采购的影响推动了印度在本季度初对黄金的需求,但随着6月份金价上涨,需求大幅放缓
  • 中国的金饰消费也体现出了类似的模式:在4月和5月的温和增长之后,随着金价飙升和消费者信心萎缩,需求大幅下滑。
2018年第
2季度
2019年第
2季度
  同比变化
金饰 520.8 531.7 2%
印度 149.9 168.6 12%
中国大陆 144.1 137.8 -4%

2019年第二季度黄金首饰的消费量为531.7吨,比2018年第二季度增长了2%。上半年的总需求量为1,061.9吨,比去年的1,048.2吨增长了1%。其中大部分增长来自印度,该国金饰需求从2018年的低位开始有所增长。包括美国和少数中东国家在内的一些地区的需求也出现了小幅增长,但6月份的价格上涨抑制了许多市场的金饰需求。

6月份美元黄金价格大幅上涨,其他货币的黄金价格即使没超过,至少也复制了美元的上涨趋势。这对一些零售价格与金价走势关系更为紧密的市场(包括亚洲和中东大部分地区)的需求产生了复杂的影响。对于那些将此视为长期上涨开端的消费者来说,这是在价格进一步上涨之前买入的信号。对其他人而言,则是一个观望信号,他们在等待价格的稳定或回落。 

以其他货币计价的金价涨幅与美元金价的涨幅相当,甚至有所超越

以其他货币计价的金价涨幅与美元金价的涨幅相当,甚至有所超越

来源: Datastream, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

指数水平01/01/2018 = 100

 

印度 

印度的金饰需求实现了自2017年第二季度以来最高的季度同比增长。需求增长了18.7吨(12%),达到168.6吨,而2018年第二季度仅为149.9吨。主要原因有两个:与2018年相比,结婚吉日更多;另外,当地黄金价格较2月和3月的水平有所下降。

4月和5月年内黄金价格的下跌刺激了婚礼季和节日大采购。与去年同期相比,第二季度结婚吉日的天数有所增加(37天Vs.21天),这驱动了印度金饰市场本季度头两个月来的增长,与第一季度趋势相似。 

婚礼吉日天数增加有利于上半年印度珠宝需求

婚礼吉日天数增加有利于上半年印度珠宝需求

来源: Drik Panchang, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

而这一利好又恰恰遇上了第一季度的金价下跌,从而放大了正面影响:金价从3月底的32,000卢比/10克跌至约31,500至31,600卢比/10克。由于金价比2月份的33,500卢比/10克低了近2000卢比/10克,消费者们纷纷在Akshaya Tritiya(5月7日)吉日抢购黄金。印度南部和西部的购买力较强; 南部的卡纳塔克邦、泰米尔纳德邦和喀拉拉邦在Akshaya Tritiya吉日的销售情况特别火爆。

但印度的金饰需求也并非没有阻碍。选举期间经济放缓和对现金流动的限制拖累了4月和5月的需求。而随着婚礼季的结束,雨季来临。且在这之后金价开始飙升。 

今年6月,随着金价飙升至新高,黄金需求逐渐萎缩。与美元价格上涨相呼应,印度国内黄金价格一路飙升,到6月20日突破33,500卢比/10克,达到接近历史最高水平的34,006卢比/10克。由于国内价格如此之高,本季度最后十天的需求几乎停滞。尽管零售商开展促销活动以吸引消费者——例如,提供降低加工费——但消费者对此不予理睬,仍对价格的剧烈波动持谨慎态度。Titan在其季度更新中评论道:“本季度宏观经济环境艰难,令消费受到冲击。而金价高企,特别是6月份的金价,也影响了珠宝行业的增长。” 

随着需求大幅下降,到本季度末,印度本地市场的黄金价格相对于国际金价的折扣达到23美元/盎司——这是自2016年8月以来的最高水平。

关税上调限制了第三季度的需求前景。6月份黄金需求低迷的一个原因是,消费者预期印度政府将在7月初的预算中宣布降低黄金关税。事实上,这些希望完全没有根据:黄金的关税反而提高了2.5%。虽然我们认为这不会对印度的黄金需求产生长期影响,但我们确实认为它将对第三季度的印度需求产生抑制作用,特别是在黄金价格持续走高的情况下。

中国

中国的金饰需求连续第三个季度出现同比下滑。第二季度金饰需求同比下降4%,至137.8吨。加之相对疲软的第一季度数据,上半年需求共321.4吨,下降了3%。 

即便是传统的消费淡季,中国金饰需求在4月和5月仍相对乐观,展厅通过促销活动和高端产品的持续创新/开发来吸引消费者。但是,当6月份金价开始大幅上涨,金饰需求几近停滞,零售商的促销努力也无法将消费者吸引回来。据报道,在本季度即将结束时,各金饰展厅内门可罗雀。 
尽管本季度最后几周形势艰难,但随着主要品牌扩大其零售网络,并向较低级别的城市延伸,零售市场仍在继续发展。例如,在本季度,周大福在中国大陆净增115家门店。 

消费者的注意力继续转向该行业近年来开发的更新颖、纯度更高、品质更优的产品,这在一定程度上反映了该行业在推广这些利润更高的产品方面所做的努力。超高纯度、99.999%纯金首饰的销售继续增长,新的“5G”黄金品类销量也在继续增长——尽管与其他类别相比,其规模仍然很小。

中东和土耳其

中东地区需求小幅增长:该地区几个市场有所增长,埃及金饰需求8%的增长冠绝中东。 在国内经济环境持续改善的情况下,埃及金饰需求连续第六个季度实现同比增长。上半年需求总计12.5吨,为2016年以来的最高水平。但从历史上看,该地区金饰需求仍然非常疲软,持续的货币稳定未能弥补美元黄金价格的大幅上涨,令需求受到抑制。

伊朗金饰需求连续第六个季度出现下滑:同比下降5%,仅有6.3吨。 该国仍处于国际制裁之下,陷入困境的本地货币导致当地黄金价格的飙升——5月份的月平均价格创下了历史新高。由于预见不到缓和的机会,该地区的金饰需求在今年剩余时间的前景不容乐观。 

土耳其第二季度的金饰需求同比下降4%,其原因是金价居高不下和经济环境充满挑战。这使上半年的需求跌至18.6吨的三年低点。疲软的消费者支出、居高不下的失业率以及动荡的政治局势,削弱了本已十分脆弱的消费者信心。再加上里拉持续贬值——它将当地黄金价格推高至2018年的历史高点——金饰需求的疲软的景况也在意料之中。 

西方国家

美国金饰需求连续第十个季度上涨,上半年升至53.4吨的10年高点。 全球第三大金饰市场从2018年第四季度/2019年第一季度政府停摆的影响中复苏,消费者信心在本季度头两个月有所回升,但由于对中国贸易战的担忧日益加剧,6月份消费者信心又有所回落。 

欧洲第二季度出现边际亏损:需求小幅下降至14.3吨。由于对英国脱欧的担忧和消费者信心的脆弱,法国和德国的小幅增长未能弥补英国和意大利的下跌。欧洲整个地区的需求仅占全球金饰需求的3%。

亚洲其他地区

对于亚洲较小的市场来说,第二季度喜忧参半:泰国金饰需求大幅下降,而印尼的需求则出现强劲上涨。 相对疲弱的经济增长、政治不稳定以及对高价值品交易的更严格控制,使泰国的金饰需求降至近6年来的最低水平。需求下降12%,仅为2.2吨。 

尽管价格大幅上涨,但印尼消费者在第二季度购买了11.8吨的金饰——这是自2015年第一季度以来的最高季度购买量。降低企业税率 (印尼总统Joko Widodo竞选时的一个主要承诺)可能会对本已健康的经济增长率起到进一步提升的作用,从长期来看,这对可支配收入和金饰需求的增长是个好兆头。

越南的金饰需求同比增长2%,主要是因为4月和5月的强劲表现(当时价格相对较低),这抵消了6月份金价开始上涨后的金饰消费回落。 健康的经济增长持续支撑着市场,体现在零售网络的扩张上。PNJ和DOJI等主要珠宝商都拥有雄心勃勃的扩张计划,对计划在2019/2020年开设的零售店数量设定了大胆的目标。 
 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Jewellery

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2019

1 August, 2019

Jewellery

Modest growth in Q2 jewellery demand, up 2% to 531.7t

  • H1 demand was marginally firmer at 1,061.9t – a four-year high
  • Indian demand was boosted early in the quarter by the wedding season and festival buying, before slowing sharply as the gold price rallied in June
  • Chinese jewellery consumption followed a similar pattern: modest growth in April and May was followed by a collapse in demand as gold prices rocketed and consumer sentiment withered.
Tonnes Q2'18 Q2'19   YoY
World total 520.8 531.7 2%
India 149.9 168.6 12%
China 144.1 137.8 -4%

Gold jewellery consumption in Q2 2019 of 531.7t was 2% higher than Q2 2018. Total H1 demand of 1,061.9t was up 1% on last year’s 1,048.2t. Much of this growth came from India, where the jewellery market improved from the low base of 2018. There were a few areas of modest improvement, including the US and a handful of Middle Eastern countries, but the June price rally curtailed jewellery demand across many markets.

The sharp rise in the US dollar gold price in June was replicated – if not exceeded – by the gold price in other currencies. This had mixed implications for demand in those markets where retail prices more closely respond to the underlying gold price, including much of Asia and the Middle East. For consumers who saw it as the beginning of an extended rally, it was a signal to buy before prices rose further. For others, it was a signal to hold off and wait for prices to settle or fall back.

US$ gold price rise was matched – or exceeded – by the price in other currencies

US$ gold price rise was matched – or exceeded – by the price in other currencies

Sources: Datastream, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Index level 01/01/2018 = 100

 

India 

Indian jewellery demand had its best quarter of y-o-y growth since Q2 2017. Demand gained 18.7t (12%), to 168.6t compared with 149.9t in Q2 2018, largely due to two factors: a higher number of auspicious wedding days compared with 2018, and local gold prices moving lower from the levels seen in February and March.

Wedding season and festival-buying spurred by lower intra-year gold prices in April and May. In a similar trend to Q1, a higher number of auspicious wedding days in Q2 compared with last year (37 vs. 21) was a boon to India’s jewellery market during the first two months of the quarter. 

Higher number of wedding days was positive for H1 Indian jewellery

Higher number of wedding days was positive for H1 Indian jewellery demand

Sources: Drik Panchang, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

The fact that this coincided with a fall in gold prices from Q1 magnified the positive impact: prices dropped to around Rs31,500-31,600/10g compared with Rs 32,000/10g at the end of March. And with prices almost Rs2000/10g lower than the Rs33,500/10g seen in February, consumers rushed to purchase gold on the auspicious day of Akshaya Tritiya (7 May). Purchases were strong in southern and western India; the southern states of Karnataka, Tamil Nadu and Kerala witnessed particularly robust Akshaya Tritiya sales.

But India was not without its headwinds. The slowing economic environment and restrictions on the movement of cash during the elections were a drag on demand in April and May. As the wedding season came to an end, the monsoon set in. And then the gold price rocketed. 

Demand fizzled out in June as the gold price took off, reaching new highs. Mirroring the rise in the US dollar price, the domestic gold price traced a steep upward trajectory, breaching Rs33,500/10g by 20 June to reach a near-record Rs34,006/10g. With such lofty domestic prices, demand almost ground to a halt in the last ten days of the quarter. Retailers ran promotional campaigns to attract consumers – for example, offering discounts on labour charges – but consumers steered clear, wary of the sharp price volatility. In its quarterly update, Titan commented that, “The quarter witnessed a tough macro-economic environment with consumption being hit. Very high gold prices particularly in June also impacted growth in the Jewellery industry.” 

As demand tailed off sharply, the price discount in the local market reached US$23/oz by the end of the quarter – a level not seen since August 2016.

Higher customs duty curbs the outlook for Q3. A contributory factor to the subdued demand in June was an expectation among consumers that the Indian government would announce a reduction in customs duty on gold in its early July budget. As it transpired, these hopes were entirely unfounded: the duty on gold was raised by 2.5%. Although we do not expect this to have a long-term impact on gold demand in India, we do see it having a dampening impact on Q3, particularly as gold prices have remained elevated.

China

China’s jewellery market saw a third consecutive quarter of y-o-y decline. Jewellery demand in Q2 dropped 4% y-o-y to 137.8t. When combined with the relatively soft Q1 number, this resulted in a 3% decline in H1 demand, to 321.4t.  

In what is traditionally a seasonally slow quarter, Chinese jewellery demand was relatively upbeat in April and May as showrooms tempted consumers with promotions and continued innovation/development of premium products. But demand ground to a halt once the June price rally began and retailer’s promotional efforts could not tempt consumers back. Reportedly, showrooms were deserted as the quarter came to a close. 

Notwithstanding the difficult conditions witnessed in the final few weeks of the quarter, the retail landscape continues to develop as leading brands expand their networks and extend their reach into lower-tier cities. Chow Tai Fook, for example, opened a net 115 stores in mainland China during the quarter. Chow Tai Fook, for example, opened a net 115 stores in mainland China during the quarter.

Consumers continue to shift their attention towards the more innovative and higher-purity, premium ranges that have been developed by the industry in recent years, and in part this reflects the efforts of the trade in promoting these higher-margin products. Sales of ultra-high purity, 99.999% pure gold jewellery continued to grow, as did the new “5G” gold sector – although the latter remains small compared with other categories.

Middle East & Turkey

Middle Eastern demand grew fractionally: several markets across the region improved, led by an 8% recovery in Egypt. Jewellery demand in Egypt registered its sixth consecutive quarter of y-o-y growth amid continued improvement in the domestic economic environment. H1 demand totalled 12.5t – a level last seen in 2016. But the market remains very weak on a historical basis and continued currency stability failed to compensate for the sharp rise in the US dollar gold price, which put the brakes on demand during June.

Iran saw a sixth consecutive quarter of weakness: down 5% y-o-y to 6.3t. The country remained in the grip of international sanctions and the beleaguered local currency sent local gold prices soaring – the monthly average price in May was at record highs. With no respite foreseen, there is little optimism in the outlook for the remainder of the year. 

High gold prices and the challenging economic environment were behind the 4% y-o-y decline in Q2 Turkish jewellery demand. This pushed H1 demand to a three-year low of 18.6t. Weak consumer spending, stubbornly high unemployment and the turbulent political scenario undermined already fragile consumer sentiment. Coupled with continued depreciation of the lira – which pushed local gold prices back up towards 2018’s record highs – the picture for jewellery demand was unsurprisingly weak. 

The West

Tenth consecutive quarter of growth in US jewellery demand lifted H1 to a decade high of 53.4t. The world’s third largest jewellery market recovered from the effect of the Q4 2018/Q1 2019 government shutdown and consumer confidence rallied in the first two months of the quarter, before slipping back in June as concerns grew over the trade war with China. 

Europe saw marginal losses in Q2: demand edged down to 14.3t. Modest improvements in France and Germany failed to match losses in the UK and Italy, due to Brexit concerns and fragile consumer confidence respectively. As a region, Europe accounts for just 3% of global jewellery demand.

Other Asia

Q2 was another quarter of mixed fortunes for the smaller Asian markets: Thailand experienced a sharp fall while Indonesia saw strong gains. Relatively weak economic growth, political instability and stricter controls on high-value transactions knocked jewellery demand in Thailand to its lowest for almost six years. Demand dropped 12% to just 2.2t. 

Despite the sharp price rise, consumers in Indonesia bought 11.8t of jewellery in Q2 – their highest rate of quarterly buying since Q1 2015. An already healthy rate of economic growth may be bolstered by lower corporate tax rates (a key election pledge of President Joko Widodo), which – over the longer term – bodes well for disposable income and jewellery growth. 

Vietnamese demand was 2% higher y-o-y, largely due to a strong performance in April and May (when prices were relatively low), and this offset a downturn in June once the price rise began. The healthy economic growth that has continued to support the market, is reflected in the expansion of the retail network. Major jewellers, such as PNJ and DOJI boast aggressive expansion plans, with bold targets for the number of retail outlets they plan to open in 2019/2020.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]