投资

黄金需求趋势2019年第一季度

2019年05月08日

投资

金条和金币需求稍显弱势,为257.8吨; 全球黄金ETF持仓规模增加40.3吨

  • 金条需求下滑5%,主要是因为中国和日本的需求疲软
  • 与之相反,多个市场的金币需求增加,推动全球总量增长12%
  • 第一季度,全球投资者所持有的黄金ETF规模增加了40.3吨。
Q1'18 Q1'19   同比变化
投资 288.4 298.1 3%
金条和金币 261.3 257.8 -1%
印度 32.3 33.6 4%
中国 77.3 71.2 -8%
黄金ETF 27.1 40.3 49%

ETFs

今年,以黄金为依托的交易所交易基金开局良好,第一季度的全球流入为40.3吨。按价值计算,这些资金流入相当于19亿美元。但该季度的规模并非持续不断增加—各个月份具有明显差异:1月份大量流入(+71.4吨)被2月份的流出(-32.9吨)部分抵消,3月份流入流出基本持平(+1.8吨)。第一季度,全球资产管理规模增长近2%,并于第一季度末达到2,482.8吨(合1,034亿美元)。

就地区层面而言,美国和欧洲的上市产品均有可观的净流入,分别为26.4吨和20吨,而亚洲及其他地区的上市基金资产管理规模略有下降(-6.1吨)。

第一季度,美国上市基金增长2%。投资者增持北美上市基金26.4吨,相当于11亿美元的资金流入。但整个季度的流量变动并不一致。1月份强劲流入(+53吨)的主要原因包括:美国政府关门、白宫取消原定的贸易谈判后中美紧张局势升级、以及人们对美国经济健康状况的疑虑日益加深。今年2月,随着更多的策略投资者从其持有基金中获利了结,大部分资金的流向发生了逆转。

尽管美国股市的季度收益率创下了10年来最高水平,但美联储的货币政策向更为中性的立场的转变还是支撑了投资者对黄金的偏好。与此同时,市场预期的转变—从美国加息的预期转向今年余下时间利率保持不变的预期,为黄金ETF的需求提供了支撑。市场对美联储更为鸽派的预期将在今年剩下的时间里继续支撑该地区的黄金ETF需求,尽管股市持续看涨将成为一大不利因素。

欧洲上市的交易所交易基金资产管理规模仍接近历史最高水平。随着欧元计价黄金价格在今年年初几周内飙升至18个月最高点,欧洲地区的黄金ETF持续出现净流入(+20.1吨)。这些产品的资产管理规模创下历史新高,突破1,200吨。自1月份资金流入以来,投资一直保持稳定;2月份的少量的流出已在3月份全部逆转。

地缘政治仍是该地区投资的一大重要驱动因素,在低/负收益率、金融市场动荡和地缘政治担忧的背景下,投资者看重黄金的避险地位。 即将到来的欧洲议会选举,以及右翼民粹主义政党在该地区获得更多支持的可能性,无疑是迫在眉睫的问题。意大利不断膨胀的预算赤字及正在进行的英国退欧进程亦为投资者所担忧。后者解释了为何英国的黄金ETF基金的持有量在第一季度保持在历史高点附近。

第一季度,在其他地区上市的黄金ETF持仓规模出现少量流出。亚洲上市基金流出4.9吨,其中以中国为主。由于投资者们着眼于不断上涨的国内股市,博时黄金ETF(包括I与D份额)与华安易富黄金ETF持仓规模分别下降2.1吨和2.9吨。

金条和金币

2019年第一季度,金条和金币需求总量为257.8吨,同比下降1.4%,中国需求减少及日本净投资缩减导致全球金条需求同比下降5%是主要原因。然而,官方金币需求呈现出自2014年以来的最佳开年局面,同比增长12%,达56.1吨。伊朗、土耳其、南非、英国和美国是此轮增长的最大贡献者。 

 

中国、日本压低全球个人投资需求

中国、日本压低全球个人投资需求

同比变化(吨) 3.2 0 -7.7

来源: 金属聚焦公司, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

今年第一季度,中国的个人投资需求下降8%,至71.2吨。今年开局良好,许多投资者在春节前夕人民币计价黄金价格下跌之际逢低买入。但随着季度流转,2月和3月的个人投资兴趣相对低迷,需求逐步减少。反之,中国的许多个人投资者更加关注不断飙升的股市—沪深300指数在第一季度的涨幅高达30%,并且人民币也在不断走强,这都得益于近期推行旨在促进国内经济增长的财政和货币政策。

已有迹象表明,中国黄金市场供需日趋收紧。由于政府控制了黄金进口配额,今年一季度的黄金进口量是自2014年以来最低的第一季度。供应减少推高了上海金基准价相对伦敦金定价的溢价。 
 

 

中国溢价上升反映出供应吃紧

中国溢价上升反映出供应吃紧

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 上海黄金交易所, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

日本的黄金市场今非昔比。在本世纪之交,黄金年度需求偶有超过100吨。如今,日本的金条和金币的销售随处可见。由于2018年8月至2019年2月日本黄金价格上涨14%,投资者从中获利,因而在2019年第一季度,日本净投资缩减6.2吨,与2018年第一季度的1.5吨净买入相比呈现出大幅逆转。尽管日本的零售金条和金币市场出现萎缩,但对kihei金饰(一种用于投资目的的重型、高纯度的金饰)的需求出现激增。详情请参阅金饰章节。 

 

日本的个人投资市场今非昔比

日本的个人投资市场今非昔比

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

印度第一季度黄金价格下跌,推动需求同比增长4%。第一季度,印度对金条和金币的需求增至33.6吨,这是因为卢比走强,当地金价自高点回落之际,投资者逢低买入。尽管需求增加,但仍相对疲软,不断上涨的股市仍是众多城市投资者的兴趣所在。

尽管互联网投资黄金目前仅占需求的一小部分,但其提供商的格局仍在不断演变。Google Pay为该市场的新进入者,并于近期宣布与印度唯一获得伦敦金银市场协会(LBMA)认证的精炼公司MMTC-PAMP达成协议。 对数码科技有了解的黄金投资者可通过其智能手机上诸如PayTM Gold、PhonePe、MobiKwik、SafeGold、以及如今的Google Pay之类的应用,购买黄金的门槛低至1卢比。

东南亚的主要市场保持健康发展。泰国作为该地区最大的黄金市场,其个人投资需求在第一季度稳定在21.3吨。越南农历新年前后(春节假期)的强劲需求提振了零售金条和金币市场,同比增长5%,至13.3吨。随着国内黄金价格在经历了近2018年底大幅波动后企稳,印度尼西亚的黄金需求增长了5%。

中东需求同比增长10%。这主要得益于伊朗金条和金币市场需求的强劲增长,同比上升20%。这部分增长抵消了沙特阿拉伯和阿联酋的需求萎缩(均同比下降了5%)。尽管伊朗的同比增长强劲,但其各季度的需求有所下滑。

伊朗里亚尔持续暴跌,2019年第一季度下跌了21%左右,使一些当地的个人投资者无力承担黄金的投资。

 

伊朗的金条和金币需求已从近期高点回落

伊朗的金条和金币需求已从近期高点回落

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

在经历了2018年下半年的低迷期后,土耳其的金条和金币市场于2019年第一季度恢复活力。由于投资者对经济及政治局面越来越感到不安,土耳其金条金币需求同比增长了25%,至16.4吨。逼近15%的失业率,持续攀升的通胀,以及国内和国际政治紧张局势均加剧了投资者的担忧。

美国的金条和金币需求量同比增长38%。今年的良好开局更多地折射出2018年第一季度的疲软,而非个人投资者对黄金兴趣的强劲反弹。其7.6吨的黄金需求量仍相对疲软,远远低于12.9吨的三年季度平均及13.7吨的五年季度平均水平。1月份表现尤其强劲,但3月份黄金价格跌破1,300美元时,许多交易商对个人投资者的兴趣缺乏感到失望。

欧洲经济及政治的不确定性推动投资增长。随着投资者日益意识到经济增长放缓、衰退可能性加大以及持续的政治风险,欧洲金条和金币的需求量上升了10%,至44吨。

该地区最大的黄金市场德国需求小幅上涨3%,至24.1吨。而欧洲需求整体增长的主要驱动来自于相对较小的欧洲其他各国市场。英国的需求量增长58%,至3.6吨,相当于1.148亿英镑(合1.495亿美元),为2012年以来的最高季度价值,这是因为投资者希望保护自己的财富,免受退欧可能带来的潜在动荡的影响。
 

 

英国退欧推动英国投资价值达到六年最高水平

英国退欧推动英国投资价值达到六年最高水平

来源: Datastream, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2019

2 May, 2019

Investment

Bar and coin demand marginally weaker at 257.8t; ETFs saw inflows of 40.3t.

  • Bar demand fell 5%, chiefly due to weakness in China and Japan.
  • Contrastingly, coin demand increased in several markets, pushing the global total up 12%.
  • Investors globally added 40.3t to gold-backed ETF holdings in Q1.
Tonnes Q1'18 Q1'19   YoY
Investment 288.4 298.1 3%
Bar & coin 261.3 257.8 -1%
  India 32.3 33.6 4%
  China 77.3 71.2 -8%
Gold-backed ETFs 27.1 40.3 49%

ETFs

Gold-backed ETFs saw a strong start to the year, with 40.3t of global inflows during Q1. In value terms, those inflows were equivalent to US$1.9bn. But flows during the quarter were not just one way – there were notable monthly variations: chunky inflows in January (+71.4t) were partially offset by February outflows (-32.9t) while March was broadly neutral (+1.8t). Global AUM grew almost 2% during Q1, to reach 2,482.8t (US$103.4bn) by quarter-end. 

At a regional level, products listed in the US and Europe both had decent inflows – of 26.4t and 20t respectively – while AUM in funds listed in Asia and other regions declined slightly (-6.1t).

US-listed funds grew by 2% during Q1. Investors added 26.4t to their holdings of North American-listed funds, equal to US$1.1bn of inflows. But investment flows were not consistent throughout the quarter.  Strong January inflows (+53t) were supported by the US government shutdown, an escalation in US/China tensions after the White House cancelled a planned trade discussion, and growing doubts over the health of the US economy. February saw much of those flows reversed as the more tactical investors took profit on their holdings.

Despite US stock markets generating their strongest quarterly returns in ten years, investor sentiment in Q1 was underpinned by the shifting stance of the Federal Reserve, which adopted a more neutral monetary policy approach. The concurrent shift in market expectations – from a predicted scenario of US rate rises to one in which rates stay unchanged over the remainder of this year – supported demand for gold-backed ETFs. And this more dovish outlook should underpin regional demand for the rest of 2019, although continued strength in the stock market would be a headwind.  

AUM in European-listed ETFs remains near all-time highs. As the euro gold price surged to an 18-month high in the early weeks of the year, investment flowed in to regional gold-backed ETFs (+20.1t). AUM in these products hit record levels, breaching 1,200t.  Since the January influx, investment has been steady; marginal February outflows were fully reversed in March.

Geopolitics remains a key driver of investment in the region, with investors prizing gold’s safe haven status amid the background of low/negative yields, financial market volatility and geopolitical worries. The forthcoming European parliamentary elections and the possibility that right-wing, populist parties will gain more of a foothold in the region, are a looming concern. As are Italy’s burgeoning budget deficit and the ongoing Brexit saga. The latter helps to explain why holdings in UK-listed funds remained near all-time highs in Q1.

Gold-backed ETFs listed in other regions saw small outflows in Q1. Asian-listed funds lost 4.9t, much of which came from China. Continued rotation out of Bosera’s funds meant a decline of 2.1t in the holdings of those two products. And the Huaan Yifu Gold fund lost 2.9t as investors fixed their attention on the rallying domestic stock market. 

Bars and coins

Bar and coin demand totalled 257.8t in Q1 2019, down 1.4% compared to the same period last year. This was largely due to a drop in Chinese demand and net disinvestment in Japan, which pushed global bar demand down 5% y-o-y. Official coin demand, however, had its best start since 2014, rising 12% y-o-y to reach 56.1t. Iran, Turkey, South Africa, the UK and US accounted for most of this growth. 

China and Japan pushed global retail investment demand down

China and Japan pushed global retail investment demand down

Bar and coin demand (y-o-y tonnage change, top and bottom 10)
Y-o-y tonnage change 3.2 0 -7.7

Sources: Metals Focus, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Retail investment demand in China fell 8% to 71.2t in Q1. The year started strongly with many investors taking advantage of the dip in the renminbi-denominated gold price ahead of Chinese New Year. But demand petered out as the quarter progressed, with relatively low levels of retail interest in February and March. Instead, many retail investors in China were more focused on the surging stock market – the Shanghai Shenzhen CSI 300 was up a staggering 30% in Q1 – and stronger currency, both of which were aided by recent fiscal and monetary policies designed to boost domestic economic growth. 

There are signs that the domestic supply and demand balance in China’s gold trading market is getting tighter. Gold imports fell to their lowest Q1 level since 2014, as authorities controlled gold import quotas. The fall in supply helped push up the premium of the Shanghai Gold Benchmark Price over the LBMA Gold Price.  

Rising China premium reflects tighter supply

Rising China premium reflects tighter supply

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Shanghai Gold Exchange, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Japan is not the gold market it used to be. Around the turn of the millennium, demand occasionally exceeded 100t a year. Today, it is not unusual for Japan to be a seller of bars and coins. In Q1 2019, it saw net disinvestment of 6.2t, a sharp reversal on the 1.5t it bought in Q1 2018, as investors took profits from the 14% rally in the local gold price between August 2018 and February 2019. But while Japan’s retail bar and coin market contracted, demand for kihei jewellery – chunky, high-carat, quasi-investment jewellery – flourished. Please see the jewellery section for more detail.  

Japan's retail investment market is a shadow of its former self

Japan's retail investment market is a shadow of its former self

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

A Q1 price dip in India boosted demand 4% y-o-y. Demand for bars and coins in India rose to 33.6t in Q1, as the rupee strengthened and investors took advantage of the local gold price coming off its recent highs. But while demand increased, it remains relatively soft, with rising equity markets continuing to be a source of interest for many urban investors.

Although it currently represents only a small part of demand, the landscape of internet investment gold providers continues to evolve. Google Pay is a new entrant to the market, recently announcing a deal with India’s only LBMA-accredited refiner, MMTC-PAMP. India’s digital-savvy gold investors now have the option of purchasing gold for as little as one rupee using apps on their smartphone, such as PayTM Gold, PhonePe, MobiKwik, Safe Gold, and now Google Pay. 

South East Asia’s largest markets remained healthy. Retail investment demand in Thailand – the region’s largest gold market – was steady in Q1 at 21.3t. Strong demand around the lunar new year (TET holiday) in Vietnam buoyed the retail bar and coin market, which was up 5% y-o-y at 13.3t. And demand in Indonesia rose 5%, as the domestic gold price steadied after a burst of volatility towards the end of 2018. 

Demand in the Middle East was up 10% y-o-y. This was mostly due to the strength of the Iranian bar and coin market, up 20% y-o-y. This outweighed the contraction of demand in Saudi Arabia and the UAE, both down 5% y-o-y. 

While Iran saw strong y-o-y growth, demand eased q-o-q. The continued free fall of the Iranian rial – down around 21% in Q1 2019 – made gold unaffordable for some local retail investors. 

Iran bar and coin demand has come off recent highs

Iran bar and coin demand has come off recent highs

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

After a subdued H2 2018, the Turkish bar and coin market sprang back to life in Q1. Demand rose 25% y-o-y to reach 16.4t as investors became increasingly unsettled by the economic and political backdrop. Unemployment edged towards 15% and inflation crept higher, while domestic and international political tensions added to investor concerns. 

US bar and coin demand rose 38% y-o-y. This positive start to the year is more reflective of a weak Q1 2018 than a strong rebound in retail investor interest in gold. At 7.6t, demand was still relatively soft – comfortably below the three- and five-year quarterly averages of 12.9t and 13.7t respectively. January stood out as a particularly strong month, but many dealers were disappointed with the lack of retail interest when the gold price fell beneath US$1,300 in March. 

Economic and political uncertainty drove higher investment in Europe.  Bar and coin demand rose 10% to 44t as investors became increasingly aware of the slowdown in economic growth, a heightened possibility of recession, and continued political risk. Germany, the region’s largest gold market, rose a modest 3% to 24.1t. The main drivers of growth, however, were Europe’s smaller markets. In the UK, demand rose 58% to 3.6t – equivalent to £114.8mn (US$149.5mn) – the highest quarterly value since 2012, as investors looked to protect their wealth against the potential turmoil a chaotic departure from the European Union could bring. 

Brexit boosts UK investment value to six-year high

Brexit boosts UK investment value to six-year high

Sources: Datastream, ICE Benchmark Administration, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]