金饰

黄金需求趋势2019年第一季度

2019年05月08日

金饰

金饰需求小幅上涨,至530.3吨

  • 大部分增长来自印度,当地黄金价格的适时调整刺激了婚庆相关商品的需求

  • 美国的需求实现连续第九个季度增长,增长1%,至24吨,为2009年以来的第一季度总需求的最高水平

  • 与此同时,中国在该季度的需求同比下降2%,至 184.1吨,这是由于经济增速放缓及国际贸易摩擦影响了消费者情绪。

Q1'18 Q1'19   同比变化
全球总量 527.3 530.3 1%
印度 119.2 125.4 5%
中国 187.5 184.1 -2%

今年第一季度,全球金饰需求小幅上升至530.3吨,价值222亿美元。印度为需求增长的主要驱动因素:需求为125.4吨,为2015年以来第一季度的最高水平。尽管美国的需求继续增长,但鉴于政府长期停摆打击了1月份的需求,增速有所放缓。中东地区开始复苏,出现适度同比增长,尽管这主要是因为阿联酋和沙特阿拉伯出台增值税打击了2018年第一季度的需求。伊朗是个明显的例外,其需求下降了10%。

印度  

婚礼采购和较低的价格将印度金饰需求推高至125.4吨(同比增长5%)。第一季度的前半需求低迷;长达一个月的Kharmas/Malmas不吉时期于1月中旬结束后,当地黄金价格随之大幅上涨,在2月第三周达到33,730卢比/10克。1 随后价格迅速回落,在3月第一周跌至32,000卢比/10克,消费者利用价格调整这一机会,争相购买婚庆相关商品,将当地价格推高至溢价水平。

更多的吉日刺激了对婚庆相关商品的需求。2019年第一季度,印度日历上有21个婚礼吉日,是2018年第一季度的三倍。这是印度金饰需求增长的一大关键因素。

婚礼天数增加为印度第一季度的金饰需求提供支撑

婚礼天数增加为印度第一季度的金饰需求提供支撑

来源: Drik Panchang, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

截至目前,该市场几乎未受到于3月中旬生效的现金流动限制的影响。《选举行为守则》规定,任何人在未持有证明现金合法来源和最终用途相关文件的情况下,不得携带超过5万卢比(约合700美元)的现金。但考虑到印度大选的时间——4月11日至5月19日,这可能会在一定程度上抑制第二季度的需求。

零售促销同样吸引了消费者。有组织的零售商们意识到,金饰面临着来自电子产品、设计师品牌和假期消费等日益激烈的竞争,因此推出了促销计划来吸引消费者。最常见的方式是金饰加工费的打折促销活动,但一些零售商也开始积极促销低纯度(14k)的轻量级金饰,主打消费群体为年轻消费者。除了这些促销活动,金饰需求可能还将在第二季度得到提振,原因包括传统的婚礼季采购、5月7日的Akshaya Tritiya节,以及高于去年的农作物价格。2

中国

今年第一季度,中国消费者在购买金饰方面相对保守。尽管传统的春节假期刺激了需求,但金饰需求仍下降了2%,至184.1吨。市场面临一些不利因素:第一季度的黄金价格波动相对较大,消费者对国内经济增速放缓的局面仍持谨慎态度,尤其是在国际贸易冲突的背景之下。

尽管增长乏力,中国的金饰市场仍在不断创新和发展。古法金和3D硬金在过去的12-18个月里均已在市场上夺得一席之地,紧随其后的是一种新的黄金品类,与22k黄金展开竞争。“5G黄金”或“硬足金”确保24k黄金的纯度的同时,还拥有3D硬金的硬度以及18k黄金的时尚设计。这将成为未来一年里值得关注的细分市场。

中东和土耳其

今年第一季度,中东和土耳其的金饰市场喜忧参半。尽管土耳其和伊朗的需求都受到了货币贬值的冲击,但埃及的增长可观。尽管阿联酋和沙特阿拉伯均实现了增长,但这主要是因为增值税的出台,导致2018年第一季度的金饰市场非常疲软。

由于里拉兑美元汇率进一步下跌,推动当地黄金价格稳步走高,土耳其金饰需求下降12%,至8.9吨。消费者面临着持续的经济困境:失业率升至15%,不断上升的通货膨胀冲击可支配收入。尽管以里拉计价的黄金价格仍低于2018年8月创下的记录高点,但它延续了自11月下旬开始的稳步攀升。3

在这种情况下,金饰需求下降实属意料之中。另一方面,随着经济日益艰难和地缘政治环境日趋恶化,金条和金币的需求也随之飙升。

 

由于里拉疲软推高了当地黄金价格,土耳其金饰需求收缩 

由于里拉疲软推高了当地黄金价格,土耳其金饰需求收缩

来源: Datastream, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

伊朗面临类似挑战。伊朗仍然深受制裁影响,第一季度的本币兑美元汇率下跌21%。因此,金饰需求同比下降10%,至9.6吨,为四年以来第一季度金饰需求的最低水平。随着需求从2018年第二季度至第四季度的严重疲软中复苏,2019第一季度的需求相对乐观(增长了27%)。但我们认为,在2019年余下的时间里,市场或将承压,继续出现同比下滑现象。

该地区其他国家第一季度的金饰需求走强,主要是因为2018年需求疲软,而非真正的需求强劲。阿联酋和沙特阿拉伯的需求同比分别增长了6%和10%。由于新增值税政策出台,2018年第一季度的需求大幅下滑,因而与2019年第一季度形成鲜明对比。阿联酋向游客提供的增值税退税政策接受度有限:尤其是,印度游客不愿申报,以防他们的信息被印度税务机关发现。沙特阿拉伯在其本地驱动的重压之下继续下滑;缺乏经验、相对缺乏技能的当地劳动力正努力填补外籍工人留下的空缺。

埃及的情况是更为真实的结构性改善。需求实现连续五个季度同比增长,增至6.9吨。当地货币的持续升值助推当地黄金价格大幅下跌,刺激了本季度需求。精明的制造商为削减劳动力成本,将生产转移到埃及,此举促进了金饰贸易。

西方

美国金饰市场略有增长:第一季度的需求达24吨。尽管这是第三大金饰市场连续第九个季度实现同比增长,但其增速明显放缓。政府长期停摆打击了1月份的需求,当月金饰进口下降即为最佳证明。

但该市场仍有一些闪光点。高端金饰市场依然强劲。在较为富裕和/或以拉美裔美国人为主的地区,独立零售商的季度业绩强劲。低端、大众市场零售商的恢复能力较差,尽管黄金所面临的来自品牌银饰和时装首饰的挑战正在消退,预示着黄金需求形势向好。令人担忧的是,在婚礼市场中,铂金和基本金属正在蚕食黄金作为男性结婚戒指首选金属的地位。

欧洲金饰需求下滑1%,至12.7吨,与2017年第一季度持平。该地区的疲软主要是由于英国和法国的需求下降,这两个地区的需求受到经济前景脆弱和政治不确定性的打击。
 

亚洲其他国家

第一季度,亚洲地区规模较小市场的表现参差不齐。市场表现分为疲软(韩国和新加坡)、稳定(马来西亚、日本和泰国)以及强劲(越南和印度尼西亚)。
韩国的市场疲软现象最为明显,其需求下降了19%,至5.0吨,为自2009年以来第一季度的最低水平。该市场因全球贸易周期及卷入中美贸易争端而受到影响。第一季度的出口总额出现两年多来的首次下滑,失业率因此升至9年来最高水平

与之相反的是,越南第一季度的形势较为乐观:金饰需求同比增长6%,至5.4吨,为2011年第一季度以来金饰需求最为强劲的一个季度。健康、持续的经济增长对收入产生了积极影响,在越南新年(春节假期,亦是购买黄金的传统时机)期间为金饰需求提供了支持。

日本的金饰消费者似乎深受黄金的投资属性吸引。零售商称“kihei”项链(一种用于投资目的的普通大克重黄金产品)颇受人们欢迎。这种现象十分有趣,因为它表明希望从黄金投资收益中获利的金饰买家与黄金个人投资者之间存在脱节,而在第一季度,后者主要从投资持有中获利。

脚注

  1. 根据印度历法,Kharmas(亦称Malmas)时期是印度北部遵循的不吉利时期。

  2. Akshaya Tritya(印度佛陀满月节)是印度历法中一个非常吉祥的神圣日子,人们认为它会带来好运和成功。在Akshaya购买黄金极为常见,因为人们相信这会带给他们繁荣富足的未来。

  3. 第一季度的季度平均价格创下了225.3里拉/克的记录,这一平均价格平衡了2018年第三季度以来的峰值和最低值。 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Jewellery

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2019

2 May, 2019

Jewellery

Gold jewellery demand marginally higher at 530.3t

  • Much of this growth came from India, where wedding-related demand was boosted by a timely correction in the local gold price
  • Demand in the US increased for the ninth consecutive quarter, gaining 1% to 24t – the highest Q1 total since 2009
  • Meanwhile, Chinese demand fell 2% y-o-y to 184.1t as the slowing economy and international trade frictions affected consumer sentiment during the quarter.
Tonnes Q1'18 Q1'19   YoY
World total 527.3 530.3 1%
India 119.2 125.4 5%
China 187.5 184.1 -2%

Global demand for gold jewellery inched up to 530.3t in Q1, worth US$22.2bn. India was the primary driver of growth: demand of 125.4t was the highest Q1 since 2015. Although demand in the US continued to expand, the pace of growth slowed as the prolonged government shutdown hit demand in January. The Middle East region saw a modest y-o-y recovery, although this is largely because demand in Q1 2018 was hit by the introduction of VAT in the UAE and Saudi Arabia. Iran was a notable exception, falling by 10%.

India 

Wedding purchases and lower prices lifted Indian gold jewellery demand to 125.4t (+5% y-o-y). The first half of the quarter was subdued; the month-long inauspicious period of Kharmas/Malmas ended in mid-January and was followed by a sharp rise in the local gold price, hitting Rs33,730/10g by the third week of February.1 Prices then swiftly retreated, falling to Rs32,000/10g by the first week of March, and consumers took advantage of the correction, rushing to make wedding-related purchases and pushing the local price to a premium. 

A higher number of auspicious days boosted wedding-related demand. There were 21 auspicious wedding days in the Hindu calendar during Q1 2019 – three times that of Q1 2018. This was a crucial factor behind the growth in India’s jewellery demand.

Greater number of wedding days supported Q1 Indian jewellery demand

Greater number of wedding days supported Q1 Indian jewellery demand

Sources: Drik Panchang, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

So far, the market has been largely unaffected by the restrictions on cash movement that came into force mid-March. The code of conduct for elections restricts anyone from carrying cash worth more than Rs50,000 (approx. US$700) without also carrying documentation proving the legal source of, and end use for, that cash. But this could act as something of a headwind for demand throughout the second quarter, given the timing of the election - 11 April to 19 May. 

Retail promotions also attracted consumers. Organised retailers, conscious that gold jewellery faces growing competition from electronics, designer brands and vacations, have launched promotional schemes to attract consumers. Most common were campaigns offering discounts on jewellery-making charges, but some retailers also began actively promoting low carat (14c), lightweight jewellery, specifically targeting younger consumers. Alongside these promotional efforts, jewellery demand will likely be boosted in Q2, by traditional wedding season buying, the Akshaya Tritiya festival on 7 May and higher crop prices than last year.2

China

Chinese consumers were relatively conservative in their jewellery buying in Q1. Demand softened by 2% to 184.1t, despite the traditional boost from the Chinese New Year holiday. The market faced a few headwinds: gold prices were relatively volatile during Q1 and consumers remained wary of the slowdown in the domestic economy, particularly against the background of the international trade conflict. 

But regardless of the lack of growth, China’s jewellery market continued to innovate and develop. Hot on the heels of antique crafted gold and 3D hard gold, which have both gained a solid foothold in the market over the last 12-18 months, a new category of gold was introduced to compete with 22k. ‘5G’ or ‘HD’ gold offers the purity of 24k gold combined with the rigidity of 3D hard gold and the fashionable designs of 18k. This will be a segment of the market to watch over the coming year. 

Middle East & Turkey

Jewellery markets in the Middle East and Turkey experienced mixed fortunes in Q1. While demand in both Turkey and Iran was hit by sliding currencies, Egypt registered decent gains. Although the UAE and Saudi Arabia saw growth, this was largely because Q1 2018 was very weak due to the introduction of VAT.

Jewellery demand in Turkey fell 12% to 8.9t as the lira slid further against the US dollar, pushing local gold prices steadily higher. Consumers faced continued economic hardship: unemployment rose to 15% and rising inflation hit disposable incomes. Although the lira-denominated gold price remained below the record spike from August 2018, it continued the steady grind higher that began in late November.3 Against this backdrop a fall in jewellery demand was entirely to be expected. On the other hand, bar and coin demand jumped in response to the increasingly difficult economic and geo political environment.

Jewellery demand in Turkey shrank as lira weakness pushed up local prices

Jewellery demand in Turkey shrank as lira weakness pushed up local prices

Sources: Datastream, ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Iran faced similar challenges. The country remained crippled by sanctions and the currency slid by 21% against the US dollar during Q1. Demand consequently fell 10% y-o-y to 9.6t – the lowest Q1 for four years. The q-o-q comparison was relatively positive (+27%) as demand recovered from the severe weakness of Q2-Q4 2018. But we believe the market will remain under pressure over the remainder of 2019, with continued y-o-y declines coming through. 

Firmer Q1 jewellery demand across the rest of the region was more a function of 2018 weakness than any real strength. Demand in the UAE and Saudi Arabia made y-o-y gains of 6% and 10% respectively. But the comparison is with a weak Q1 2018 – a time when demand slumped as a new VAT was introduced. The VAT refund offered to tourists in the UAE has only seen limited take-up: in particular, Indian tourists are reluctant to claim in case their information finds its way to the Indian tax authorities.  And Saudi Arabia continues to sag under the weight of its localisation drive; the inexperienced, relatively unskilled local workforce is struggling to fill the void left by expat workers.

The story in Egypt was one of more genuine, structural improvement. Demand saw a fifth consecutive quarter of y‑o‑y growth, rising to 6.9t. Continued appreciation in the local currency helped drive a sharp drop in the local gold price and this fuelled demand during the quarter. The jewellery trade got a boost after cost-savvy manufacturers shifted production to Egypt in an effort to slash labour costs.

The West

The US jewellery market saw marginal growth: demand reached 24t in Q1. Although this was the ninth consecutive quarter of y-o-y growth in the third largest gold jewellery market, the pace of expansion slowed notably. The prolonged government shutdown hit demand in January, as demonstrated by a drop in gold jewellery imports that month. 

But a few bright spots remain. The higher-end jewellery segment remains robust. And independent retailers in more affluent and/or Hispanic-dominated areas reported a strong quarter. Lower-tier, mass market retailers however, were less resilient although the challenge to gold from branded silver and costume jewellery is fading, which bodes well for demand. One area of concern is the wedding market, where platinum and base metals are encroaching on gold’s position as the metal of choice for men’s wedding bands.

European jewellery demand slipped 1% to 12.7t – on a par with Q1 2017. The regional weakness was chiefly due to losses in the UK and France, where demand was hit by the fragile economic outlook and political uncertainty. 
 

Other Asia

The smaller markets in the Asian region were a mixed bag in Q1. Performance ranged across the spectrum from weak (South Korea and Singapore), to stable/firm (Malaysia, Japan and Thailand) and strong (Vietnam and Indonesia). 

Weakness was most pronounced in South Korea where demand fell 19% to 5.0t, the lowest Q1 since 2009. The market was undermined by its exposure to the global trade cycle and the US/China trade dispute. Total Q1 exports declined for the first time in more than two years, with unemployment consequently rising to a nine-year high.

The Q1 picture in Vietnam was contrastingly positive: jewellery demand grew 6% y-o-y to 5.4t, the strongest quarter for jewellery demand since Q1 2011. A healthy and sustained rate of economic growth has had a positive income effect, supporting jewellery demand during the Vietnamese New Year (Tet holiday) – a traditional gold-buying occasion.

Jewellery consumers in Japan seemed to be attracted to gold’s investment properties. Retailers reported that ‘kihei’ chains – plain, heavy gold chains that serve as quasi-investment products – were popular. This is interesting as it suggests a disconnect between gold jewellery buyers wanting to benefit from gold’s investment benefits and gold retail investors, who mostly took profits on their investment holdings in Q1.

Footnotes

  1. The period of Kharmas (also knowns as Malmas) is an inauspicious period in the Hindu calendar followed in North India.

  2. Akshaya Tritya is a highly auspicious holy day in the Hindu calendar, which is believed to bring good luck and success. It is popular to buy gold on Akshaya due to the belief that it will being prosperity in future.

  3. Quarterly average prices in Q1 reached a record (of TRY225.3/g) as this average smoothed out the sharp peaks and troughs from Q3 2018.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]