第三轮《央行售金协定》

第三轮《央行售金协定》(CBGA3)目前仍在执行期,对欧元体系以及瑞典、瑞士央行的黄金销售作出限定。与之前两轮协议一样,第三轮《央行售金协定》有效期五年,即第二轮协议终止的2009年9月27日至2014年9月26日。

第三轮《央行售金协定》再次重申之前两轮协议中所声明的“黄金仍然是全球货币储备中的一个重要组成部分”。另外,这轮协议与之前的协议相比也有两项重要的不同之处。

第一,银行减少了可减持的黄金总量,年上限为400公吨,五年上限为2,000公吨,比第二轮《央行售金协定》的五年上限2,500公吨少500公吨。在第二轮《央行售金协定》期间的最后2年,签约方曾大幅压低售出其获准执行的年减持量,所以第三轮《央行售金协定》降低上限对市场参与者来说也是情理之中的事情。

国际货币基金组织黄金销售

第三轮《央行售金协定》中的第二个显著区别是它承认国际货币基金组织有意减持一定黄金。

2007年国际货币基金组织的一份内部报告建议其调整收益模式结构,之后,其执行委员会于2009年9月批准出售403.3公吨黄金,约占其持有的黄金总量的八分之一。

国际货币基金组织通过与其他央行场外交易完成了第一阶段的减持,所以,官方机构的黄金持有量不变。其中200公吨售给印度央行,向斯里兰卡和孟加拉国央行各出售10公吨,另外还向毛里求斯央行出售2公吨。

2010年2月,国际货币基金组织开始分阶段在市场上销售黄金,每月减持约15 — 20公吨。

在第一和第二轮《央行售金协定》中,签约方承诺其在衍生产品和出借市场中的活动额度不超过1999年9月签署第一轮《央行售金协定》时的水平。2009年签署的第三轮协议中无类似要求,但近几年央行在上述领域的活动非常有限。

欧洲央行新闻稿 —2009年8月7日联合黄金声明

国际货币基金组织新闻稿 — 国际货币基金组织开始在市场上减持黄金

The third Central Bank Gold Agreement

The third Central Bank Gold Agreement (CBGA3), which is currently in force, covers the gold sales of the Eurosystem central banks, as well as Sweden and Switzerland. Like the previous two agreements, CBGA3 covers a five-year period, in this case from 27th September 2009, when the second Agreement expired, to 26th September 2014.

CBGA3 reaffirmed that "gold remains an important element of global monetary reserves", as was stated in the two previous agreements. This agreement also included two important departures from those that came before it.

Firstly, the banks reduced the maximum amount of gold that they could collectively sell, capping annual sales at 400 tonnes, and total sales across the five-year period at 2,000 tonnes. This is 500 tonnes lower than the 2,500 tonnes ceiling for the previous five-year agreement, CBGA2. During the final two years of CBGA2, the signatories had significantly undersold their permitted annual ceiling, so the reduced total in CBGA3 did not come as a surprise to market participants.

IMF gold sales

The second significant difference in the new agreement recognised the fact that the International Monetary Fund intended to sell a proportion of its gold.

Following an internal report in 2007 that recommended it restructure its income models, the International Monetary Fund’s executive board approved the sale of 403.3 tonnes of gold in September 2009, around one-eighth of the institution’s total gold holdings.

The IMF conducted the first phase of these sales in off-market deals with other central banks, thereby leaving the stock of gold in the official sector unchanged. This included 200 tonnes sold to the Reserve Bank of India, 10 tonnes each to the central banks of Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, and 2 tonnes to the Mauritian central bank.

The IMF began phased on-market sales in February 2010 and has sold around 15-20 tonnes of gold per month since that date.

In CBGA1 and CBGA2, signatories undertook not to increase their activities in the derivatives and lending markets above the levels of September 1999, when the first CBGA was signed. The 2009 agreement includes no similar commitment, although central bank activity in these fields has been very limited in recent years.

ECB Press release - Joint statement on gold, August 7th 2009

IMF Press release – IMF to begin on-market sales of gold