第一轮《央行售金协定》

第一轮《央行售金协定》,又称华盛顿售金协定,于1999年9月26日宣布签署。协议之前一段时期,人们对央行不经协调减持黄金行为导致市场不稳定、使金价急剧下降的担心日益加剧。

当时,也就是1999年9月,央行持有的黄金总量约占全球已开采金量的四分之一,大约33,000公吨,在世界黄金市场中占有举足轻重的地位。

其中西欧地区的央行当时(且现在仍然)拥有大量的黄金储备。荷兰、比利时、奥地利、瑞士和英国央行已经减持,或者宣布减持黄金。其他的央行则看准黄金租赁需求增长的行情,扩大出借、掉期交易和其他衍生工具的运用。出借增加一般导致售出金量增加,意味着市场进一步朝供大于求的方向发展。

除了这些减持行为带来的不稳定影响外,央行的意图也让市场颇为担忧,促使金价进一步下行。这给黄金生产国带来了极大的挑战。这些国家中很多是发展中国家,很大一部分还是高负债穷国。

为了应对这些问题,15个欧洲的央行(当时欧元区11个国家和瑞典、瑞士及英国央行,以及欧洲央行)起草了首轮《央行售金协定》,即“CBGA1”。协议于1999年华盛顿举办的国际货币基金组织年会期间签订。

签约方在协议中表示,黄金将继续作为全球货币储备的重要组成部分,并且同意在协议签署后五年内时间内,将集体减持量限制在2,000公吨内,每年上限约400公吨。

它们还宣布,在签署后五年内不会增加其出借和衍生产品使用幅度。签署银行后来表示,1999年9月其出借黄金总量为2,119.32公吨。

签署银行的黄金储备约占全球黄金储备的45%。此外,其他几个主要持有方,包括美国、日本、澳大利亚、国际货币基金组织和国际清算银行,均非正式地加入了该项协议,或曾经宣布它们不会减持黄金。

该协议的宣布对市场来说是一个重大惊喜。受此影响,其后几天黄金价格急速走高,同时,该协议也大大消减了人们对官方机构意图的疑虑。市场企稳后,市场透明度更高,一大不稳定因素也随之消除。

新闻稿 — 1999年9月26日联合黄金声明

The first Central Bank Gold Agreement

The first Central Bank Gold Agreement, also known as the Washington Agreement on Gold, was announced on 26th September 1999. It followed a period of increasing concern that uncoordinated central bank gold sales were destabilising the market, driving the gold price sharply down.

The first Central Bank Gold Agreement, also known as the Washington Agreement on Gold, was announced on 26th September 1999. It followed a period of increasing concern that uncoordinated central bank gold sales were destabilising the market, driving the gold price sharply down.

At the time, central banks held nearly a quarter of all the gold estimated to be above ground, equivalent to around 33,000 tonnes in September 1999, and had an enormously influential position in the gold markets.

The central banks of Western Europe in particular held—and still hold—substantial stocks of gold in their reserves. Those in the Netherlands, Belgium, Austria, Switzerland and the UK, had already sold gold or announced their intent to do so. Others were taking advantage of rising demand for borrowed gold and increasing their use of lending, swaps and other derivative instruments. An increase in lending typically resulted in additional gold being sold, meaning that the trend was adding further supplies to the market.

In addition to the destabilising effect of these sales, market fears about central bank intentions were causing further falls in the price of gold. This was causing considerable pain for gold producing countries. Among these were a number of developing countries, including a significant number of those classified as HIPCs (Heavily Indebted Poor Countries).

In response to these concerns, 15 European central banks—those of the then 11 Eurozone countries and of Sweden, Switzerland and the UK, as well as the European Central Bank—drew up the first Central Bank Gold Agreement, ‘CBGA1’. The agreement was signed in Washington DC, during the 1999 annual meetings of the International Monetary Fund.

In it, they stated that gold would remain an important element of global monetary reserves, and agreed to limit their collective sales to 2,000 tonnes over the following five years, or around 400 tonnes a year.

They also announced that their lending and use of derivatives would not increase over the same five-year period. The signatory banks later stated that the total amount of their gold they had out on lease in September 1999 was 2,119.32 tonnes.

The signatory banks accounted for around 45 per cent of global gold reserves. In addition a number of other major holders—including the US, Japan, Australia, the IMF and the Bank for International Settlements—either informally associated themselves with the Agreement or announced at other times that they would not sell gold.

The announcement of the agreement came as a major surprise to the market. It prompted a sharp spike in the price over the following days, but it also removed much of the uncertainty surrounding the intentions of the official sector. Once the markets had adapted to it, a major element of instability had been effectively removed with the introduction of greater transparency.

Press release – joint statement on gold, 26th September 1999