欧洲央行与黄金

欧洲央行(ECB)于1998年成立,负责管理欧盟的经济与货币一体化。1999年1月1日欧洲统一货币的正式发行以前,拟建欧元区的央行将外汇储备资产移交给了新成立的欧洲央行。

欧洲央行管理委员会在其首批发布的公告中的一份中决定,上述移交的资产应包括各央行的黄金资产。

对于初始移交的近400亿欧元的资产,欧洲央行认为其中15%应为黄金,这清晰地印证了这样一个事实:欧洲的决策者坚信黄金提升了央行的资产表现、增强了公众的信心。

欧洲央行明确表示,上述黄金移交安排不会影响欧元区的整体黄金持有量。剩余的85%会以外汇资产的形式移交,但未表示是否会一直使用该比率。

尽管之后欧洲央行进行过多次的减持,但是由于金价的骤升以及黄金在欧洲央行总储备中的比例大幅的增加。截止2010年9月,欧洲央行储备中26%为黄金。

The ECB and gold

The European Central Bank (ECB) was established in 1998 to help manage the economic and monetary integration of the European Union. Before the official launch of the European single currency on 1st January 1999, the central banks of the prospective euro area transferred foreign reserve assets to the new institution.

In one of its first pronouncements, the governing council of the ECB decided that gold should be part of those transfers.

Of the initial transfer of assets, which amounted to nearly €40 billion,the ECB agreed that 15 per cent should be in gold, a clear demonstration of the fact that European policymakers continued to believe that gold strengthened the balance sheet of a central bank and enhanced public confidence.

The ECB indicated clearly that these transfers of gold would not affect the total consolidated gold holdings of the Eurozone. The remaining 85 per cent was transferred in foreign currency assets, but there was no implication that the ratio would remain the same.

Despite a number of sales, gold’s share of the ECB’s total reserves has grown considerably since then, due to the sharp increase in the gold price. As at July 2016, the ECB had 28 per cent of its reserves in gold.