第二轮《央行售金协定》

2004年3月8日,签署银行宣布签订第二轮《央行售金协定》。与第一轮协议一样,“CBGA2”期限为五年,即2004年9月27日至2009年9月26日。

第二轮协议开篇重申了第一轮协议中的第一条:“黄金将仍然是世界货币储备中的一项重要组成元素”。

协议的其他部分阐述了与第一轮协议类似的立场,另外也有一些重要的不同之处。

英国因之前就已声明无黄金减持计划,只签署了第一轮协议而未参与第二轮。希腊在1999年还未成为欧元区成员,所以未签署第一轮协议,但签署了第二轮协议。2006年12月,斯洛文尼亚于加入欧元区前不久成为第二轮协议的签约方。塞浦路斯和马耳他也在加入欧盟后签署了第二轮《央行售金协定》。

第二轮《央行售金协定》中,签约方在五年内最多可减持黄金2,500公吨,每年减持上限为500公吨;较第一轮协议的上限有所增加,上一轮协议限额分别为年上限400公吨,五年上限2,000公吨。

第二轮《央行售金协定》还规定央行的期货和黄金租赁使用额度不得超过1999年以前的大约2,100公吨水平。

欧洲央行新闻稿 — 2004年3月8日联合黄金声明

The second Central Bank Gold Agreement

On 8th March 2004, the signatory banks announced the second Central Bank Gold Agreement. Like the first agreement, ‘CBGA2’ covered a five-year period, in this case from 27th September 2004 to 26th September 2009.

On 8th March 2004, the signatory banks announced the second Central Bank Gold Agreement. Like the first agreement, ‘CBGA2’ covered a five-year period, in this case from 27th September 2004 to 26th September 2009.

The second agreement started by reaffirming the first clause in its predecessor: “Gold will remain an important element of global monetary reserves”.

While the rest of the agreement covered similar ground to the first, there were some important differences.

The UK signed the first agreement but not the second, having previously stated that it had no plans to sell gold. Greece, which had not been a member of the Eurozone in 1999, did not sign the first Agreement but signed the second. Slovenia became a signatory to the second Agreement in December 2006, shortly before adopting the euro as its currency. Cyprus and Malta also joined CBGA2 just after they joined the euro.

In CBGA2, the maximum amount of gold that the signatories could sell over the five years was 2,500 tonnes, with an annual ceiling of 500 tonnes; an increase over the previous agreement, which permitted annual sales of 400 tonnes, up to a maximum of 2,000 tonnes over five years.

CBGA2 also limited central banks from increasing their use of futures and gold leasing above pre-1999 levels of around 2,100 tonnes.

ECB Press release – Joint statement on gold, March 8th 2004