现金的诅咒和黄金的诱惑

《黄金投资者》2019年2月版

2019年02月12日

现金的诅咒和黄金的诱惑

著名经济学家肯•罗格夫(Ken Rogoff)在其著作《现金的诅咒》一书中指出,过度依赖纸币是造成从逃税到恐怖主义等各种问题的罪魁祸首。他还认为,在一个基本上没有现金的社会,货币政策将更加有效。他说,加密货币并不是纸币的有效替代品,但随着现金逐渐消失,黄金的作用可能会增强。 

肯●罗格夫 (Ken Rogoff)
哈佛大学经济学与公共政策教授

首先是支票,然后是借记卡和信用卡,再然后是电子转账,最近是智能手机应用程序。随着每一项创新出现,现金变得越来越不重要了。例如,在世纪之交,美国35%的合法交易都是以现金进行的。如今,这一数字已降至7%,未来10年预计将降至2%左右。 

然而,与此同时,正如哈佛大学经济学教授、公共政策教授肯•罗格夫(Ken Rogoff)所说,纸币的供应量却在不断增加。“现金需求完全在减少。但供给却持续上升。几乎都是大面额纸币,主要用于规避税收和监管,当然还有犯罪。

“最终,这些纸币将很少用于合法交易,人们也将无法再进行洗钱操作,最后央行将不得不把它们全部购回。但我认为这个过程应该加快。”他补充说。 

公平征税是罗格夫支持无现金社会的主要原因之一。“据美国国税局估计,大约15%的欠税从未被征收。现金密集型企业约占这些未收收入的一半。在欧洲,这个数字要高得多,特别是在意大利、西班牙、希腊和德国。问题是,这会让我们其他人的税负更高。”他表示。

纸币更少,税收更多

仅在美国,涉及的金额就相当可观——据罗格夫说,联邦层面的金额约为5000亿美元,地方和各州层面的金额约为2000亿至3000亿美元。

罗格夫提出,“美联储通过印钞赚得约800亿美元,但如果它能收回哪怕部分未缴税款,都将远远弥补印钞收入的损失。在现代数字世界中,央行将有大量赚钱的机会——比如作为信托机构、最后的清算机构等类似机构。”

“此外,如果我们在美国保留占流通票据总量5-10%的小额票,美联储每年仍将创造高达80亿美元的收入。而且如果我们摆脱大面额纸币,小面额纸币的数量很可能大幅上升——因此,即使我们变成基本无现金的社会,央行仍将持续是利润的中心。”他补充说。

罗格夫还认为,如果流通中的现金只有小面额纸币和硬币,那么央行在适当的时候将更有能力引入负利率,因为储户没有太多选择,只能把大部分钱存在银行。这可能会产生广泛的经济影响。

“此外,如果我们在美国保留占流通票据总量5-10%的小额票,美联储每年仍将创造高达80亿美元的收入。而且如果我们摆脱大面额纸币,小面额纸币的数量很可能大幅上升——因此,即使我们变成基本无现金的社会,央行仍将持续是利润的中心。”他补充说。

罗格夫还认为,如果流通中的现金只有小面额纸币和硬币,那么央行在适当的时候将更有能力引入负利率,因为储户没有太多选择,只能把大部分钱存在银行。这可能会产生广泛的经济影响。 

“货币政策是必不可少的微调工具。财政政策显然也很关键,但它具有高度的政治性——而且永远如此。量化宽松更大程度上是一种假象。因此在某些时候,能够引入有效的负利率是非常重要的。在无现金的经济环境下,这样做要容易得多。”他说。
 

现金在合法的、符合税收的交易中消失,但央行印发的钞票数量却在爆炸式增长,这两者之间存在着令人难以置信的脱节。

加密怀疑论者

一些人认为,随着时间的推移,加密货币能够——也可能应该——取代现金。它们是数字化的,驳斥了对银行的需求,而且它们几乎是匿名的。然而,罗格夫对此高度怀疑。 

“认为硅谷的少数天才可以创造一个政府无法触及的世界,这种想法天真得令人瞠目结舌。而认为加密货币将取代美元的想法同样愚蠢。”他说。

罗格夫认为,如果加密货币变得更加普及,它们可能会限制财政政策的有效性,并最终限制货币政策的有效性。但他认为这种情况永远不会发生。“加密货币并不是一种货币。而且它们将受到监管。我们看到,英国和美国已经开始监管,并将继续加强。而还没有这么做的唯一理由是因为加密货币还没有那么重要。”

罗格夫表示,监管相对简单:政府只需限制比特币及其同类货币的消费渠道。他说:“大多数人希望能够在商店里使用它,或者把它存入银行,所以这是限制它发展的方式。” 

这并不意味着数字货币的潜力有限——只是它们背后的系统在未来可能会有很大的不同。“货币供应将越来越数字化。在20年内,几乎所有央行都将发行某种类型的数字零售货币,你应该能够在央行拥有至少一个数字储蓄账户。”

加密货币的狂热者谈论的是无需准入和需要准入的系统。区块链是不需要准入许可的,因为它不依赖或不需要中央认证机构。罗格夫预测:“我认为,未来的数字货币将通过一个准入系统和一个中央机构进行操作,因此它们可能是加密的,但不会是匿名的。”

历史教训

即使现金成为一种日益减少的资源,而监管制度改变了加密货币的性质,但罗格夫相信黄金将会继续保值,而且几乎肯定会升值。 

“如果回顾货币的历史,你会发现黄金有着独特的作用,我认为这不是偶然现象。 
有人说,如果几千年前黄金没有被选为货币,那么它今天就没有作用了。我不同意这种观点。黄金有很多有用的特性和独特的属性,所以我认为它现在的地位绝非偶然现象。它是一种货币资产,我认为即使你以另一种方式重演历史,黄金依然会被再次推到台前。”他说。

“纸币越来越少,但人们仍然需要储存财富、保护隐私,以及在互不信任的各方之间进行交易——黄金充当了这一角色。它可能是纸币的最佳替代品,所以很难想象它的交易价值不会随着时间的推移而上升。黄金在新技术中有着各种各样的用途,这在几年前甚至没人能够想得到。因此,总体而言,人们很难看到黄金的作用逐渐减弱。”他补充道。

除了作为一种储存财富的手段,罗格夫认为黄金也是一种有价值的长期投资——既是一种多样化投资,也是一种风险缓解工具。 
 

随着美国经济占比逐渐缩小,全球经济的美元化程度提高,这种平衡就会变得越来越脆弱。

更多黄金需求

即使现金成为一种日益减少的资源,而监管制度改变了加密货币的性质,但罗格夫相信黄金将会继续保值,而且几乎肯定会升值。 

“如果回顾货币的历史,你会发现黄金有着独特的作用,我认为这不是偶然现象。 
有人说,如果几千年前黄金没有被选为货币,那么它今天就没有作用了。我不同意这种观点。黄金有很多有用的特性和独特的属性,所以我认为它现在的地位绝非偶然现象。它是一种货币资产,我认为即使你以另一种方式重演历史,黄金依然会被再次推到台前。”他说。

“纸币越来越少,但人们仍然需要储存财富、保护隐私,以及在互不信任的各方之间进行交易——黄金充当了这一角色。它可能是纸币的最佳替代品,所以很难想象它的交易价值不会随着时间的推移而上升。黄金在新技术中有着各种各样的用途,这在几年前甚至没人能够想得到。因此,总体而言,人们很难看到黄金的作用逐渐减弱。”他补充道。

除了作为一种储存财富的手段,罗格夫认为黄金也是一种有价值的长期投资——既是一种多样化投资,也是一种风险缓解工具。 

价,众多商品也用美元标价。因此,如今美元的主导地位比其在布雷顿森林体系之下时更强——但这并不意味着它是稳定的。”他说。 

“我们现在已经有上万亿美元的赤字,目前它们是可控的。但如果允许企业、地方、各州和联邦的债务继续增长,美国迟早会面临压力。如果到那时赤字翻了一倍或两倍,必然会出现通货膨胀。我们的体系不是为高通胀建立的,因此它将导致难以置信的金融动荡和压力。这可能需要几十年的时间,但这些东西总是会在某个时候爆炸。而且,随着美国经济占比逐渐缩小,全球经济的美元化程度提高,这种平衡就会变得越来越脆弱。”他补充道。

风险缓解

在这种背景下,持有黄金的理由变得更加清楚了。“关键是,美国国债并不是一种无风险的资产。可能两到三年之内没有太大风险,但长期来说并不一定如此,所以如果你想制定一个40年的计划,应该更加多样化一些。让我们面对现实吧——如果你是一名对冲基金经理,你有3-4%的机会被淘汰,却有96%的机会变得非常富有,那么这是值得赌上一把的。但如果你代表一个国家,那可不是一个明智的选择。”罗格夫解释说。

作为一种对冲工具,黄金有着巨大的价值。因此,对于高净值个人来说,甚至对一些养老基金来说,持有少量黄金资产也是有意义的。

他认为,机构投资者和富有的个人也应该将投资组合的一部分配置为黄金。“作为一种对冲工具,黄金有着巨大的价值。你永远不知道会发生什么,当真正糟糕的事情发生时,黄金对你来说可能会很有价值。因此,对于高净值(HNW)个人来说,甚至可能对一些养老基金来说,持有少量黄金资产也是有意义的。”他说。

展望未来,罗格夫认为,随着黄金在全球角色的演变,其价值也可能会上升。“我怀疑黄金的实际价值会上升。我认为数字货币的趋势将增强黄金的价值。随着新兴市场的扩张和对美国的信任度的降低,黄金的价值也将会因此加强。因此,在我看来,使黄金成为更大的投资组合配置的一部分是非常合理的。”他总结道。 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

The curse of cash and the allure of gold

Gold Investor, February 2019

12 February, 2019

The curse of cash and the allure of gold

In his book The Curse of Cash, leading economist Ken Rogoff suggests that excessive reliance on paper money is responsible for ills ranging from tax evasion to terrorism. He also believes that monetary policy would be more effective in a largely cashless society. Cryptocurrencies are not an effective replacement for paper money, he says, but gold’s role is likely to increase as cash fades from view.

Ken Rogoff
Professor of Economics and Public Policy
Harvard University

First there were cheques, then debit and credit cards, then electronic transfers and, most recently, smartphone applications. With each innovation, cash has become less relevant. At the turn of the century for example, 35% of all legal transactions by value were conducted in cash in the United States. Today, that figure has declined to 7% and it is expected to fall to around 2% in the next decade.

At the same time, however, the supply of paper money keeps rising, as Ken Rogoff, Professor of Economics and Professor of Public Policy at Harvard University, explains. “Cash is totally in decline. But supply keeps going up. It is almost all in large denomination notes and it is mainly used for tax evasion, regulatory evasion and of course crime.

“Eventually these notes will be so little used in legal transactions that people won’t be able to launder them anymore and then the central banks will just have to buy them back. But I think the process should be accelerated,” he adds.

Fair taxation is one of the principal reasons that Rogoff cites in favour of a largely cashless society. “The US Internal Revenue Service estimates that around 15% of all taxes owed are never collected. Cash-intensive businesses account for about half of those uncollected revenues. In Europe, the figures are much higher, particularly in Italy, Spain, Greece and Germany. And the problem is that this makes taxes higher for the rest of us,” he says.

Fewer notes, more taxes

In the US alone, the sums involved are substantial – around US$500 billion (bn) at a federal level and a further US$200–300bn at local and state level, according to Rogoff.

“The Federal Reserve makes around US$80bn from printing cash but if it could recoup even a portion of those unpaid taxes, that would more than compensate for the loss of printing revenues. And in a modern digital world, central banks will have plenty of opportunities to make money – as trusted parties, clearing houses of last resort and such like,” Rogoff suggests.

“Also, if we kept smaller bills in the United States, which account for 5–10% of total bills in circulation, the Fed would still be making up to US$8bn a year. And the chances are that if we got rid of larger notes, the number of smaller notes would rise a lot – so central banks would continue as profit centres, even if we became largely cashless,” he adds.

Rogoff suggests too that if the only cash in circulation comprised small notes and coins, central banks would be more able to introduce negative interest rates, if and when appropriate, because savers would not have much option but to keep most of their money in the bank. This could have widespread economic implications. “Monetary policy is an essential fine-tuning tool. Fiscal policy is obviously critical too but it’s highly political – and it’s always going to be that way. Quantitative easing is mostly smoke and mirrors. So being able to introduce effective negative interest rates is very important, at certain times. And it would be much easier to do in a cashless economy,” he says.

There is an incredible disconnect between the fact that cash is disappearing in legal, tax-compliant transactions but exploding in terms of how much central banks are printing. 

Crypto-sceptic

Some people believe that cryptocurrencies could – and possibly should – replace cash over time. They are digital, they refute the need for banks and they are virtually anonymous. Rogoff is highly sceptical, however.

“The idea that a few geniuses in Silicon Valley can create a world that governments can’t touch is stupefyingly naïve. And the idea that cryptocurrencies will replace the dollar is equally foolish,” he says.

Rogoff suggests that if cryptocurrencies became more pervasive, they could limit the effectiveness of fiscal policy and, ultimately, monetary policy. But he does not believe this will ever happen. “Cryptocurrencies are not a currency. And they will be regulated. We see regulation starting to happen in the UK and the US and it will keep ramping up. The only reason it hasn’t done so already is because cryptocurrencies just don’t matter that much.”

Rogoff suggests that regulation is relatively straightforward: governments simply need to limit the outlets where Bitcoin and its ilk can be spent. “Most people want to be able to use it in a store or take it into a bank so that’s the way to limit its development,” he says.

This does not mean digital currencies have limited potential – just that the systems behind them are likely to be rather different in future. “Money supply will increasingly be digital. In 20 years’ time, pretty much all the central banks will be issuing digital retail currencies of a sort and you should be able to hold at least a digital savings account with your central bank.

“Cryptocurrency enthusiasts talk about permissionless and permissioned systems. Blockchain is permissionless because it does not rely on or need a central trusted authority. I think the digital currencies of the future will operate via a permissioned system with a central party, so they may be encrypted but they won’t be anonymous,” Rogoff predicts.

A history lesson

Even as cash becomes a dwindling resource and regulation changes the nature of cryptocurrencies, Rogoff believes that gold will retain and almost certainly increase its value.

“If you look at the history of currency, gold has a unique role and I don’t think it’s accidental. Some people say that if gold hadn’t been selected as a currency thousands of years ago, it would not have a role today. I don’t agree. Gold has a lot of useful properties and unique features so I don’t think its status is in any way accidental. It’s a monetary asset and I think if you replayed history another way, you would come out with gold again,” he says.

“As we have less and less paper currency, there will still be a need to store wealth, to have privacy and to carry out transactions between parties who don’t trust one another – gold fills that role. It’s probably the best substitute for paper currency so it’s hard to imagine its transaction value won’t go up over time. And there are all kinds of uses for gold in new technology that nobody even thought of years ago. So overall, it’s hard to see gold’s role diminishing,” he adds.

In addition to gold being a store of wealth, Rogoff takes the view that it is a valuable long-term investment too – both as a diversification- and risk-mitigation tool.

As the US economy becomes proportionately smaller and the dollarisation of the global economy becomes larger, the equilibrium  becomes increasingly fragile. 

More gold needed

He is particularly concerned about the amount of gold held by emerging market central banks, suggesting they should increase their gold reserves by several percentage points. 

“Emerging market central banks should hold fewer dollars and more gold as a way of diversifying their portfolio. It’s a simple question of diversification. At the moment, most emerging market central banks hold 1–2% of their reserves in gold, with 70–80% in dollars and the rest in euros and other currencies. I think a 5% allocation seems a natural position to take as part of an effective diversification policy – although it could be higher. After all, the US share of the global economy is shrinking, power is being centralised and we don’t know what the future holds,” he says. 

Rogoff’s rationale is clear: the US dollar is increasingly dominant on the global stage yet US deficits are increasing and may well continue to do so. 

“The dollar is more widely used than ever. A growing chunk of European corporate bonds are in dollars, not in euros. Whenever Asian countries issue debt abroad, they do so in dollars. Reserves are in dollars and numerous goods are priced in dollars. So the dollar is more dominant today than under Bretton Woods – but that doesn’t mean it’s stable,” he says. 

“We already have trillion-dollar deficits right now and they’re manageable. But if corporate, local, state and federal debt is allowed to grow, there will come a point when the US gets stressed. And if deficits have doubled or tripled by then, inflation is bound to ensue. Our system is not built for high inflation so it would cause incredible financial turmoil and stress. It may take decades but these things always tend to blow up at some point. And, as the US economy becomes proportionately smaller and the dollarisation of the global economy becomes larger, the equilibrium becomes increasingly fragile,” he adds. 

Risk mitigation

Against this backdrop, the rationale for holding gold becomes even clearer. “The point is, Treasury bills are not a riskless asset. They may be for two to three years but not necessarily for the long term, so if you want to build a 40-year plan, you should have some diversification. Let’s face it – if you’re a hedge fund manager and there is a 3–4% chance you will get wiped out and a 96% chance you will get very rich, that’s a bet worth taking. If you’re a country, that’s not such a smart bet,” Rogoff explains.

As a hedge, gold has enormous value. So it makes sense for HNW individuals and even for some pension funds to hold a small percentage of their assets in gold.

He believes that institutional investors and wealthy individuals should also allocate a proportion of their portfolio to gold. “As a hedge, gold has enormous value. You never know what’s going to happen and when something really bad happens, gold is probably going to be worth a lot to you. So it makes sense for high net worth (HNW) individuals and perhaps even for some pension funds to hold a small percentage of their assets in gold,” he says.

Looking ahead, Rogoff suggests that gold is also likely to increase in value as its global role evolves. “I suspect gold’s value will go up in real terms. I think the trend towards digital currencies will strengthen the value of gold. As emerging markets expand and trust the US less, that will also strengthen the value of gold. So, as part of a larger portfolio allocation, it seems very reasonable to me,” he concludes.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]