2019年黄金市场展望——令人鼓舞的信号

《黄金投资者》2019年2月版

2019年02月12日

2019年黄金市场展望——令人鼓舞的信号

2018年的黄金经历了过山车式的行情。今年,我们相信在经济结构改革、金融市场不确定性和地缘政治动荡的支撑下,需求有望增长。世界黄金投资协会投资研究总监Juan Carlos Artigas评估了黄金的前景。 

Juan Carlos Artigas
投资研究总监
世界黄金协会

今年,我们在4个关键指标上看到了更高的风险水平和不确定性:全球股市波动性;潜在的通胀率增幅;欧洲政治和经济的不稳定;以及对全球衰退日益加重的担忧。

黄金几乎不同于任何其他资产,因为黄金既吸引投资者,也吸引消费者。投资者将黄金当作多元化投资标的和长期储蓄工具。消费者将黄金视为装饰品和财富的象征。 

2018年,在良好经济增速的支撑下,许多关键市场的消费需求上涨。但金价面临投资界的阻碍。特朗普总统的减税政策刺激了2018年大部分时间美国股市的长期牛市,而美元走强和美国加息进一步压制了黄金投资需求。 

但是到了第四季度,随着市场的不确定性增加,许多这些负面因素正在消退。结果,黄金需求增加,金价轻松突破1,250美元/盎司。 

2019年,经济结构改革应该会支撑金饰、科技行业和长期储蓄的黄金需求。日益增长的市场不确定性和保护主义经济政策应该会让黄金作为对冲工具更具吸引力。今年美国经济增速将放缓的暗示可能会抑制加息,限制美元的强度。 

日益恶化的金融市场稳定性

在2018年的大部分时间里,黄金交易所交易基金(ETF)被大量减持,尤其是在北美。但随着风险偏好情绪开始转变,局面在第四季度又发生变化。 

今年,我们在4个关键指标上看到了高企的风险水平和不确定性:全球股市波动性;潜在的通胀率增幅;欧洲政治和经济的不稳定;以及对全球衰退日益加重的担忧。

首先,尽管近期出现市场回调,但许多股价依然高企,尤其是在经历了连续十年牛市的美国(图表1)。但债券收益率依然过低。例如,今年开年的10年期美国国债收益率比2008年雷曼危机之前的水平低1.5%,这让投资者几乎无法防范市场进一步波动。事实上,波动性指标已经开始缓慢爬升,芝加哥期权交易所波动性(VIX)指数在2018年最后一个季度飙升。

其次,虽然欧洲大体上已经从主权债务危机中复苏,但它依然容易受到冲击,面临多个严峻挑战。英国退欧一直让投资者惴惴不安,局势也不大可能很快明朗。此外,法国陷入社会动乱,民粹主义力量在意大利、西班牙和德国愈演愈烈。或许是为了应对上述形势,从2016年初开始,欧洲人一直在投资组合中稳步增加黄金。

图表1: 以本币计价的全球股指表现

 

第三,世界各地越来越多的政府正在采取保护主义政策。这些因素虽然短期内利好金价,但本质上会推高通胀率,从而增加劳动力和制造业成本,以及/或增加关税以提高国内生产商对外国生产商的竞争力。目前为止,投资者认为大部分贸易战措辞是在装腔作势。但限制资金、商品和劳动力的流动将造成长期问题。

剧烈波动的市场、欧洲民粹主义和美国保护主义都加剧了衰退风险,尤其是以美国为首的衰退。2018年的美国经济增速很大程度上是特朗普总统减税的附带效应。但未来类似的措施可能更难出台,尤其是在国会分裂的情况下。 

信贷市场已经表明未来的形势不怎么好。信用息差扩大,信贷条件收紧,美国国债收益率曲线非常平滑,一些经济学家预测该曲线将在未来数月内反转。虽然收益率曲线反转不一定导致衰退,但最近几十年来,这种现象总是预示衰退,准确得不可思议。

利率和美元的影响 

传统上,更高的短期利率和美元强度被认为会压制黄金需求。但单凭更高的美国利率并不足以吓阻投资者购买黄金,正如2016至2018年初的旺盛需求所示。今年也是如此,预计美联储将采取更趋中立的政治立场。 

货币方面,美元(DXY)指数已经从2018年的低点上涨10%以上,2016年的一次类似趋势出现之后发生了大幅回调。此外,众所周知,特朗普政府青睐较为弱势的美元,多次表达了对强势美元的竞争劣势的不满。 

以中国和印度为主的新兴市场占黄金消费需求的70%左右。两国正在实施经济改革,这些改革将在未来很多年里促进增长、提高收入水平。

同样重要的是,新兴市场央行继续分散美元敞口,黄金是关键的受益资产。仅仅在2018年,央行的需求就达到了数十年最高水平,因为许多国家在外储中增加黄金,而其中不少国家此前已多年未曾增持黄金。(见第9页,《各国央行转向黄金》)。

图表2:大型净空头头寸很可能回补,为投资者创造买入机会

图表2:大型净空头头寸很可能回补,为投资者创造买入机会

来源: 彭博社, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, COMEX, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

经济结构改革

以中国和印度为主的新兴市场占黄金消费需求的70%左右。两国正在实施经济改革,这些改革将在未来很多年里促进增长、提高收入水平。 

印度一直在积极致力于经济现代化,减少商业壁垒,促进财政合规。预计该国2019年的经济增速将达到7.5%,远超全球大部分经济体。黄金很容易受益于这种经济扩张,因为金饰需求和日益增长的消费者财富之间存在明确关联。 

中国的收入水平也在不断提高,政府决心实现长期增长,在全球舞台上发挥更大作用。例如,“一带一路”倡议专注于促进区域经济发展,这将为很多新兴市场的黄金需求提供长期支撑。 

在西方,近年来的经济复苏也已致使美国和欧洲部分地区的消费需求出现正增长。 

因此总体而言,我们认为2019年的金饰需求将受益于积极的消费情绪。即使不确定性影响某些司法管辖区的信心,全球需求也应该会小幅增长。

为何现在选择黄金?

黄金提供了一个有趣的战术性机会。按照历史标准,期货市场上的黄金投机仓位依然处于低水平。虽然芝加哥商业交易所管理资产的净多头仓位在2018年12月有所增加,但自从2006年年初首次根据投资者类型划分数据以来,这些头寸仍处于创纪录低位。而可追溯至更早时期的净综合投机仓位,自2001年12月以来首次处于最低水平。近年来,空头头寸大增之后会出现金价大涨,正如我们在2018年末开始目睹的那样(图表2)。

从战略角度来说,我们的研究表明有4个因素使黄金成为有吸引力的投资资产。而黄金一直是投资者投资组合的收益来源。黄金在经济扩张期和衰退期与主要资产类别的相关性一直很低。黄金是一种主流资产,具有与其他金融证券一般的流动性。黄金历来能够提高风险调整后的投资组合收益。这些因素吸引了大大小小的投资者,包括各国央行。央行继续买入黄金使其外储多元化,抵消法币风险。 

因此,从全球角度而言,黄金拥有诸多关键特性。市场风险和不确定性短期内应会继续使黄金具备吸引力;而新兴市场中产阶级的发展、黄金作为一种避险资产的作用及其在科技应用中日益增长的用途,应能为长期的黄金需求提供支撑。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Market outlook for 2019 – encouraging signs for gold

Gold Investor, February 2019

12 February, 2019

Market outlook for 2019 – encouraging signs for gold

Gold experienced a rollercoaster year in 2018. This year, we believe demand is likely to increase, bolstered by structural economic reforms, financial market uncertainty and geopolitical unrest. Juan Carlos Artigas, Director of Investment Research at the World Gold Council, assesses the outlook for gold.

Juan Carlos Artigas
Director, Investment Research
World Gold Council

This year, we see higher levels of risk and uncertainty across four key metrics: global stock market volatility; potential increases in inflation; political and economic instability in Europe; and increasing concerns about a global recession.

Gold is different from almost any other asset because it appeals to both investors and consumers. Investors turn to gold as a diversifier and long-term savings tool. Consumers see gold as an adornment and a sign of wealth.

During 2018, consumer demand rose in many key markets, supported by positive economic growth. But gold faced headwinds from investment. President Trump’s tax cuts fuelled the long bull market in US equities for much of the year, while a strengthening dollar and rising US interest rates acted as further brakes on investment demand for gold.

By the fourth quarter, however, many of these negative factors were easing away, as market uncertainty grew. As a result, demand for gold increased and the price rose comfortably above US$1,250/oz.

In 2019, structural economic reforms should support gold demand for jewellery, technology and long-term savings. Increased market uncertainty and protectionist economic policies should make gold increasingly attractive as a hedge. And suggestions that the US economy will experience weaker growth this year could curtail rising interest rates and limit dollar strength.

Deteriorating financial market stability

Gold-backed exchange traded funds (ETFs) experienced significant outflows for most of 2018, particularly in North America. But the pattern started to change in the fourth quarter, as sentiment towards risk began to shift.

This year, we see high levels of risk and uncertainty across four key metrics: global stock market volatility; potential increases in inflation; political and economic instability in Europe; and increasing concerns about a global recession.

First, despite the recent market correction, many stock prices remain elevated, especially in the US, after a decade-long bull run (Chart 1). Yet, bond yields remain stubbornly low. The 10-year Treasury yield, for example, began the year 1.5% below its 2008 pre-Lehman crisis level, providing investors with very little protection against further market volatility. Indeed, volatility metrics have begun to creep up, with the CBOE Volatility (VIX) Index soaring in the last quarter of 2018.

Second, while Europe has largely recovered from the sovereign debt crisis, it remains vulnerable to shocks and faces several major challenges. Brexit has created persistent unease among investors and clarity is unlikely to emerge anytime soon. In addition, France is grappling with social unrest, while populist forces have been gaining momentum in Italy, Spain and Germany. Perhaps in response, Europeans have been steadily adding gold to their portfolios since early 2016.

Chart 1: Performance of global stock indices in local currency

Chart 1: Performance of global stock indices in local currency

Sources: Bloomberg, MSCI, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Third, more and more governments around the world are embracing protectionist policies. While these can have a positive effect in the short term, they are inherently inflationary, driving higher labour and manufacturing costs and/or higher tariffs imposed to promote local producers over foreign ones. To date, investors have taken much of the US/China trade war rhetoric as posturing. However, any restrictions on the flow of capital, goods and labour will create long-term issues.

Volatile markets, European populism and US protectionism have all increased the risk of recession, possibly led by the US. A significant proportion of the growth seen in 2018 was a byproduct of President Trump’s tax cuts. But similar measures may be more difficult to enact in future, particularly with a split Congress.

Credit markets are already indicating that the future will be less benign. Spreads have widened, credit conditions have tightened and the US Treasury curve is very flat, with some economists predicting it will invert over the next few months. While an inverted yield curve does not cause recessions, it has preceded them with uncanny accuracy over recent decades.

The impact of rates and the dollar

Traditionally, higher short-term interest rates and US dollar strength have been cited as limiting demand for gold. But higher US interest rates alone are not enough to deter investors from buying gold, as evidenced by robust demand between 2016 and the early part of 2018. This year too, the US Federal Reserve (Fed) is expected to adopt an increasingly neutral policy stance.

On the currency front, the US Dollar (DXY) Index has already appreciated by more than 10% from its 2018 low and a similar trend in 2016 was followed by significant correction. Additionally, the Trump administration is known to favour a weaker dollar, having often expressed frustration about the competitive disadvantage of a strong currency.

Emerging markets account for around 70% of gold consumer demand, led by China and India. Both countries are implementing economic changes that will promote growth and income levels over many years.

Importantly too, emerging market central banks continue to diversify their exposure to US dollars and gold is a key beneficiary. In 2018 alone, central bank demand hit a record high, in recent history, as a number of countries added gold to their foreign reserves, many after multi-year absences (see page 9, Central banks turn to gold).

Chart 2: Large net short positions are often prone to covering, creating buying opportunities for investors

Chart 2: Large net short positions are often prone to covering

Sources: Bloomberg, U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, COMEX , World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Structural economic reforms

Emerging markets account for around 70% of gold consumer demand, led by China and India. Both countries are implementing economic changes that will promote growth and income levels over many years.

India has been actively modernising its economy, reducing barriers for commerce and promoting fiscal compliance. The country is expected to grow by 7.5% in 2019, significantly outpacing most global economies. Gold is well positioned to benefit from this expansion, as there is an unequivocal link between jewellery demand and growing consumer wealth.

Income levels are rising in China too, with the government determined to deliver long-term growth and claim a growing role on the global stage. The ‘Belt and Road’ initiative, for example, is focused on promoting regional economic development, which should, over time, support demand for gold across many emerging markets.

In the West, economic recovery in recent years has resulted in positive consumer demand in the US and parts of Europe.

Overall, therefore, we believe that gold jewellery demand will benefit from positive consumer sentiment in 2019. Even if uncertainty affects confidence in certain jurisdictions, global demand should still increase marginally.

Why gold, why now?

Tactically, gold presents an interesting opportunity. Gold speculative positioning in futures markets remains low by historical standards. While CME-managed money net long positions increased in December 2018, they were at record lows, since data was first broken down by investor type in 2006, earlier in the year. Net combined speculative positions, which go back further, were at their lowest for the first time since December 2001. And in recent years, a large increase in short positions has been followed by a sharp rally in gold as we started to witness towards the end of 2018 (Chart 2).

More strategically, there are four factors that make gold an attractive investment asset. It has been a source of return for investors’ portfolios. Its correlation to major asset classes has been low in both expansionary and recessionary periods. It is a mainstream asset that is as liquid as other financial securities. It has historically improved portfolio risk-adjusted returns. These factors appeal to investors small and large, including central banks as they continue buying gold to diversify their foreign reserves and counterbalance fiat currency risk.

From a global perspective, therefore, gold has a number of key attributes. In the short term, market risk and uncertainty will continue to make gold attractive; in the longer term, gold’s performance will be supported by the development of the middle class in emerging markets, gold’s role as an asset of last resort and its growing use in technological applications.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]