金饰

黄金需求趋势 2019年第三季度

2019年11月05日

金饰

受价格上涨影响,全球金饰需求下滑16%至460.9吨

  • 第三季度金饰需求下降16%至460.9吨,为2010年以来的最低水平
  • 因金价上涨且经济低迷,消费者推迟了金饰购买计划 
  • 然而,美国的需求在第三季度继续上升,为连续第11个季度同比出现增长
2018年第
3季度
2019年第
3季度
  同比变化
金饰 546.2 460.9 -16%
印度 148.8 101.6 -32%
中国大陆 176.6 156.3 -12%

第三季度全球金饰需求同比下降16%,至460.9吨,为2010年第二季度(422.8吨)以来的最低水平。自6月份开始的金价上涨势头强劲,导致本季度消费者打消了购买新金饰的计划。第三季度黄金平均价格为1472.47美元/盎司——同比增长21%(或259.3美元/盎司)。对全球经济健康状况的担忧加剧了高金价对金饰需求带来的压力,令许多消费者削减了购买计划。本季度全球金饰市场亮点很少且很分散,大多数市场都出现了明显的同比下降,尤其是在亚洲和中东地区。

由于金价高企,全球金饰需求降至2010年以来的最低水平

由于金价高企,全球金饰需求降至2010年以来的最低水平

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

印度

由于消费者信心低迷,印度珠宝需求仅为101.6吨,同比下降近三分之一。 对经济增长放缓的担忧令印度消费者信心进一步下降,致金饰需求承压。多项指标——例如大型快速消费品(FMCG)公司及国内汽车/两轮车销售量均有下滑——表明城市和农村需求都在放缓。1 流动性收紧导致的市场情绪低迷、一些邦雨季降雨过多,以及节日的缺乏,都对当季的金饰需求产生了负面影响。

经济增长的放缓打击了印度城乡消费者的信心

经济增长的放缓打击了印度城乡消费者的信心

来源: 彭博社, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

印度国内的黄金价格也未能对需求产生任何支撑。本季度金价大幅上涨:7月中旬突破了35,000卢比/10克,并在8月底继续攀升至38,795卢比/10克,随后在9月第一周突破了39,011卢比/10克的历史最高。从6月底的34,006卢比/10g开始上涨,两个月内印度金价跃升了约5000卢比/10g,这样的大涨让消费者完全措手不及,许多人因此推迟了金饰购买。尽管由于国际金价下跌和卢比走强,该季度的最后几周印度金价有所调整,但对金饰需求的影响却很小,因为此时恰逢印度Pitru-Paksha节,这个被认为不吉的节日持续16个阴历日,在此期间印度教徒们要祭祀他们的祖先。2

印度的黄金关税 提高了2.5%,达到12.5%,这进一步抑制了当地需求。 更高的税率对黄金交易的活跃度和消费者的情绪都造成了打击,导致新的金饰购买受到影响。在印度,消费者更喜欢以金换金的交易,这类交易平均占到总购买量的50-60%,而零售商们则减少了现有库存。

与婚礼相关的金饰购买为本季度需求提供了一些支撑。 南部Tamil Nadu邦、Kerala邦和Karnataka邦的婚庆日支撑了八月和九月的金饰需求。但由于金价上涨,成交量较上年同比下降了15-20%。珠宝零售商试图通过促销手段(例如工费折扣)来应对这种局面,但收效甚微。

中国

第三季度中国的金饰需求同比下降12%,至156.3吨。这比173.5吨的五年季度平均水平低10%,也是连续第四个季度同比下降。对中国经济健康状况的担忧, 以及猪肉等主要食品价格不断上涨令通货膨胀加剧, 意味着消费者优先考虑了其他方面的支出。

传统的24K金饰在第三季度出现了两位数的同比下滑。由于这些产品占据市场上最大的份额,因此从整体上拉低了金饰需求。但本季度也出现了一些亮点。大多数零售商看到了3D硬金、5G黄金和其他创新产品销量的增长,这些产品轻巧时尚的设计吸引了年轻的消费者。这些高利润产品销售的增长也令本季度金饰零售商的利润得到支撑。但由于目前这些创新产品的市场份额较低,且每件重量较轻,因此它们的销售增长无法扭转整体金饰需求下降的趋势。与行业内人士交流得知,更轻、更美观的产品越来越受欢迎,因此,从长远来看,这些产品有望占据更高的市场份额。 

十月的国庆长假对于金饰销售增长的促进作用逐渐减弱,今年国庆同样未能提振金饰销量。正如我们在《2018年全年黄金需求趋势》中提到的那样,近年来,越来越少的消费者将国庆黄金周视作购物的节日。尤其是年轻一代消费者,他们更喜欢在黄金周把钱花在体验式项目上。根据中国商务部的数据,国庆节期间,中国国内旅游人数为7.82亿,同比增长8%。此外, 黄金周期间,中国大陆的票房收入同比增长超过了100%。

三季度快速上涨的金价令消费者处于观望状态

三季度快速上涨的金价令消费者处于观望状态

本季度,不仅主要黄金生产国货币:加元,卢布,南非兰特和澳元黄金价格创下历史新高,以欧元、英镑、印度卢比和土耳其里拉等货币计价的黄金价格也达到历史最高值。

来源: Datastream, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

中东地区和土耳其

整个中东地区的金饰需求下降了12%,至35.3吨,几乎所有市场都出现了大幅下滑。 由于当地货币与美元挂钩,阿联酋和沙特阿拉伯的消费者都承受了国际金价全面上涨带来的压力。阿联酋的黄金首饰需求下降了21%,至5.4吨,而在沙特阿拉伯,这一需求下降了26%,至8.8吨。需求减弱的主要原因是金价上涨,而对地区经济增长和安全的担忧也令消费者信心受到了压制。在埃及,由于埃及镑的稳定帮助抵消了美元价格的上涨,因此金饰需求同比下降幅度比较温和——下降了5%,至7吨。

土耳其和伊朗是整幅金饰需求惨淡画面中的两个例外情况,但这几乎完全要归功于低基数效应。 尽管当地黄金价格超过了去年的最高纪录,但土耳其的金饰需求在第三季度增长了5%,达到7.6吨。然而,这样的同比涨幅主要来源于低基数 - 2018年第三季度的总需求仅为7.2吨,是2012年第四季度以来的最低水平。伊朗第三季度的同比增幅最大,达到32%,至6.1吨。这标志着自2018年第三季度以来的显著复苏,当时金饰需求同比暴跌近60%,至4.6吨,为我们记录中的最低水平。伊朗里亚尔5月份开始小幅反弹,在一定程度上抵消了今年国际金价上涨的影响。

西方国家

在美国,第三季度金饰需求同比增长1%,至28.5吨。虽然这是连续第11个季度增长,但增速低于第二季度(+3%)。本季度消费者对经济保持乐观态度,这对当地金饰销售形成支撑,但与上半年相比还是略有下降。第三季度金价的大幅上涨也令需求承压。

欧洲金饰需求第三季度小幅下降了1%至12.4吨。面对本季度以欧元和英镑计价的创纪录的黄金价格,以及对欧洲经济健康状况的持续担忧,消费者仍对其金饰支出保持谨慎态度。英国金饰需求的同比跌幅最大:下滑4%至4.4吨,围绕脱欧的担忧加剧,政治家和谈判代表竞相争取在10月31日最后期限之前达成协议。法国和西班牙金饰需求同比的小幅增长未能扭转欧洲金饰需求整体的下滑。 

亚洲其他地区

对经济放缓的担忧和金价的上涨抑制了亚洲较小市场对金饰的需求。由于经济疲软且当地黄金价格创历史新高,印尼消费者第三季度的金饰需求减少了15%,至8.8吨。这是三年来的最低水平,比五年的季度平均水平9.8吨低10%。在这种背景下,黄金回购比购买新的金饰更受欢迎。

越南的金饰需求同比下降12%,至3.6吨,是2016年第三季度以来的最低水平,也是2017年第一季度以来的首次同比下降。消费者和零售商都对不断上涨的当地金价(达到8年来的最高点)和当地货币波动的加剧保持谨慎态度。在泰国,由于金价上涨和经济增长放缓,金饰需求同比大幅下降12%至2.7吨。

相比之下,日本的情况似乎相对健康。金饰需求增长了5%,至4.2吨。尽管金价上涨,但市场对广受欢迎的Kihei金链——作为准投资产品的传统重金链——的需求保持良好势头。

脚注

  1. 例如,印度领先的快消品公司Hindustan Lever公布2019年第三季度增速放缓 

  2. <p>Pitru-Paksha节持续的时间为9月13日至28日。</p>

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Jewellery

Gold Demand Trends Q3 2019

5 November, 2019

Jewellery

Jewellery demand was weakened by higher prices, down 16% to 460.9t

  • Jewellery demand fell 16% to 460.9t in Q3, its lowest level since 2010
  • Consumers deferred purchases due to higher prices and the subdued economic sentiment 
  • US demand, however, continued to grow in Q3, up y-o-y for the eleventh consecutive quarter
Tonnes Q3'18 Q3'19   YoY
World total 546.2 460.9 -16%
India 148.8 101.6 -32%
China 176.6 156.3 -12%

Jewellery demand fell 16% y-o-y in Q3 to 460.9t, its lowest level since Q2 2010 (422.8t). Consumers were deterred from making fresh purchases during the quarter as the price rally – which began in June – gathered momentum. The quarterly average gold price in Q3 was US$1472.47 – 21% (or US$259.3/oz) higher y-o-y. This price pressure was exacerbated by concerns over the health of the global economy, which encouraged many consumers to moderate their buying plans. Bright spots were few and far between, with most markets seeing significant y-o-y declines, particularly in Asia and the Middle East.

Jewellery demand fell to its lowest level since 2010 due to the higher price

Jewellery demand fell to its lowest level since 2010 due to the higher price

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

India

Indian jewellery demand of 101.6t was almost a third lower y-o-y due to weaker consumer sentiment. Jewellery demand suffered as consumer confidence fell further over concerns around the slowing economy. Several indicators – such as lower sales volumes reported by large fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) companies and domestic car/two-wheeler sales – pointed towards a slowdown in both urban and rural demand.1 Weak sentiment due to a liquidity crunch, excessive monsoon rains in some states, and the absence of any festivals, also influenced demand in the quarter.

Economic slowdown dampened urban and rural consumer sentiment in India

Economic slowdown dampened urban and rural consumer sentiment in India

Sources: Bloomberg, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Demand received no support from the domestic price either. The gold price rally powered ahead during the quarter: it breached the Rs35,000/10g level in mid-July and continued climbing to Rs38,795/10g by the end of August, before  reaching an all-time high of Rs39,011/10g during the first week of September. The two-month leap of ~Rs5,000/10g – from Rs34,006/10g at the end of June – caught consumers completely off-guard, prompting many to delay buying. Despite a correction in the final few weeks of the quarter – due to the decrease in the international gold price and a strengthening rupee – the impact on demand was muted as it coincided with Pitru-Paksha, an inauspicious 16 lunar day period during which Hindus pay homage to their ancestors.2

Demand was further dented by a 2.5% rise in the custom duty to 12.5%. This higher rate hit sentiment amongst both the gold trade and consumers, and fresh jewellery purchases suffered as a result. Consumers preferred gold-to-gold exchanges, which accounted for an average of 50-60% of purchases, while retailers wound down existing stocks.

Wedding-related purchases provided some support during the quarter. Wedding days in the Southern states of Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Karnataka supported jewellery demand during August and September. But volumes were 15-20% lower y-o-y due to the higher gold price. Jewellery retailers attempted to counter this by offering promotions – such as discounts on labour charges – but with limited impact.

China

Jewellery demand in China declined 12% y-o-y in Q3 to 156.3t. This is 10% below the five-year quarterly average of 173.5t and the fourth consecutive quarter of y-o-y declines. Concerns over the health of the Chinese economy, as well as rising inflation in staples such as pork, meant that consumers prioritised spending elsewhere.

Plain and mass-appeal 24K gold jewellery suffered a double-digit y-o-y decline in Q3. As these products account for the largest segment in the market, this dragged overall jewellery demand lower. But there were bright spots during the quarter. Most retailers saw growth in the sales of 3D hard gold, 5G gold and other innovative products with lightweight and fashionable designs that appeal to younger consumers. Growth in these high-margin products also helped shore up jewellers’ profits during the quarter. But the lower market share and lighter per-piece weight of these innovative products meant that their sales growth couldn’t reverse the falling trend in jewellery demand. Talks with our trade partners in the industry indicate that lighter, more aesthetic products are growing in popularity- consequently, these products are expected to take a larger share of the market in the longer run.

In what has become an increasingly visible trend, the traditional jewellery sales boost again failed to materialise during the long National Day holiday in October. As we mentioned in Gold Demand Trends Full Year 2018, the relevance of the golden week holiday as a shopping occasion has been fading over recent years. Consumers, especially the younger generation, prefer to spend their money on experiential purchases. According to the Ministry of Commerce, there were 782 million domestic tourist trips made in China during the holiday, a rise of 8% y-o-y. In addition, China’s mainland box office revenue increased by more than 100% y-o-y during golden week.

Momentum in the gold price rally during Q3 kept consumers on the sidelines

Momentum in the gold price rally during Q3 kept consumers on the side-lines

Sources: Datastream, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Index level 01/01/2018 = 100

 

Middle East and Turkey

Demand for jewellery across the Middle East fell 12% to 35.3t, with nearly all markets seeing significant declines. With their local currencies pegged to the US dollar, consumers in both the UAE and Saudi Arabia were exposed to the full rise in the international gold price. In the UAE, gold jewellery demand fell 21% to 5.4t, while in Saudi Arabia it dropped 26% to 8.8t. The higher gold price was the primary reason for weaker demand, but consumer sentiment was also depressed due to concerns over regional economic growth and security. In Egypt, the y-o-y decline was more modest – down 5% to 7t – as the stability in the pound helped to offset the rise in the US dollar price.

Turkey and Iran were the two exceptions in an otherwise dismal picture, although this was almost entirely due to the low-base effect. Despite the local gold price surpassing last year’s record highs, Turkish jewellery demand grew by 5% to 7.6t in Q3. However, the y-o-y comparison is flattered by Q3 2018 demand totalling just 7.2t, the lowest level of demand since Q4 2012. Iran recorded the largest y-o-y increase in Q3, rising by 32% to 6.1t. This marks a significant recovery from Q3 2018, when jewellery demand collapsed by almost 60% y-o-y to 4.6t, the lowest level in our records. The modest recovery in the Iranian rial, which begun in May, helped offset some of the rise in the international gold price this year.

The West

In the US, jewellery demand in Q3 was 1% higher y-o-y at 28.5t. While this is the eleventh consecutive quarter of growth, it was at a slower pace than in Q2 (+3%). Consumer confidence in the economy remained upbeat during the quarter, helping to support sales, but deteriorated slightly compared to the first half of the year. Demand was also hampered by the substantial rise in the gold price during Q3.

European jewellery demand fell fractionally in Q3, down 1% to 12.4t. Faced with record prices in both euros and sterling during the quarter, and ongoing concerns over the health of European economies, consumers remained cautious with their spending. The largest y-o-y decline was seen in the UK: demand fell 4% to 4.4t with concerns surrounding Brexit intensifying as politicians and negotiators raced to reach an agreement ahead of the 31 October deadline. Modest y-o-y increases in France and Spain failed to offset the overall decline across the region.  

Other Asia

Fears over an economic slowdown and higher gold prices dented demand in smaller Asian markets. Faced with a record local gold price amidst sluggish economic activity, Indonesian consumers reduced their jewellery demand by 15% in Q3 to 8.8t. This is the lowest level in three years, and 10% below the five-year quarterly average of 9.8t. Under these conditions, selling back took precedence over new purchases.

Vietnamese jewellery demand declined by 12% y-o-y to 3.6t, the lowest level of demand since Q3 2016 and the first y-o-y decline since Q1 2017. Both consumers and retailers remained cautious over the rising local gold price (which reached an eight-year high) and heightened volatility in the local currency. In Thailand, jewellery demand fell sharply by 12% y-o-y to 2.7t, due to the higher gold price and weaker economic growth.

By contrast, the picture in Japan appears relatively healthy. Jewellery demand rose by 5% to 4.2t. Despite the higher gold price, demand for the popular Kihei gold chains – plain, heavy gold chains that serve as quasi-investment products – held up well.

Footnotes

  1. Pitru-Paksha occurred between 13 - 28 September.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]