供应

黄金需求趋势 2020年上半年及第二季度

2020年07月30日

供应

由于新冠疫情带来的相关阻碍,上半年的全球黄金总供应量减少了6%

  • 由于新冠疫情爆发造成中断,上半年全球黄金总供应量下降了6%,至2,192吨
  • 上半年全球金矿产量下降了5%至1,604吨,这是2014年以来的最低水平,而黄金回收方面也出现了类似情况,回收量同比下降至590吨
  • 第二季度全球黄金总供应量同比下降15%,原因是封锁禁令导致的停工使得金矿产量下降了10%。1
2019年第
2季度
2020年第
2季度
  年同比变化
供应量 1,220.8 1,034.4 -15%
金矿产量 863.2 776.8 -10%
生产商净套保 47.0 -28.0       -       -
回收金 310.6 285.7 -8%

上半年,面对新冠疫情带来的持续问题,黄金市场的供应侧表现出了显著的应变能力。根据目前的估计,全球总供应量为2,192.2吨,比2019年上半年减少了6%。上半年全球金矿产量和黄金回收量同比下降5%,但与疫情造成的影响规模相比,这些降幅并不大。

金矿产量

上半年全球金矿产量同比下降5%至1,603.6吨,为2014年以来最低的上半年水平。整个上半年,主要矿产国实施严格的封锁措施是产量下降的主因。作为全球最大的黄金生产国,中国的黄金开采在二月份受疫情影响最大。随着第一季度末情况的逐渐好转,国内大多数金矿开采恢复了正常的作业。这些影响导致中国上半年金矿产量与去年同期相比整体下降9%。但是在其他主要黄金生产国,例如秘鲁、南非和墨西哥,第一季度实施封锁的时间要晚得多,但一直延续到了第二季度。这些国家的金矿产量从2019年第二季度的863.2吨下降到今年第二季度的776.8吨(同比下降了10%)。

 

疫情影响下,上半年的全球金矿产出出现下滑

GDT Q2 2020 - Chart 7 - Chinese

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

封锁措施对第二季度的黄金开采产生了重大影响。在墨西哥,尽管部分开采作业获得了豁免权,但由于金矿停产60天,该季度金矿产量仍同比下降了62%。在南非,由于实施分段封锁措施,占该国黄金产量大部分的地下开采在6月1日之前不能全面恢复生产,结果导致南非的黄金产量同比下降了59%。3月中旬开始实施的封锁对秘鲁意味着金矿开采要一直暂停到5月初,导致其第二季度金矿产量同比下降了45%。在巴布亚新几内亚,由于政府决定不续签采矿租约,导致该国第二大金矿Porgera停产,影响了金矿的产量。

尽管产量下降在第二季度占据主导地位,但一些生产商的产量却出现了增长。在俄罗斯,由于Natalka和Bystrinsky 等最近上线的项目产量趋稳,其第二季度的金矿产量同比增长了15%。在欧洲,芬兰最大的Kitilla金矿第二季度产量增幅最大,同比增长了54%。但这主要是由于低基数效应,因为该项目于2019年第二季度进行了计划内的维护关闭。在保加利亚,尽管绝对水平仍然较低,但其第二季度的金矿产量同比增长37%。增长的原因是由于2019年8月投入商业生产的Ada Tepe项目产量有所增加。在西非,Burkino Faso第二季度的黄金产量同比增长10%,这是由于Sanbrado项目首次投产以及Wahgnion项目也持续增产,共同提高了总产量。

封锁的影响不仅减少了某些项目的金矿产量,还增加了矿山总维持成本(AISC)。根据最新数据,第一季度的平均总维持成本上升至980美元/盎司,环比增长4%,同比增长7%。尽管总维持成本上涨,但金价的大幅上涨使成本较高的采矿项目依然得以盈利。

尽管全球范围内封锁逐步得到缓解,但上半年造成的中断可能会对2020年的年度金矿产量产生持久影响。由于许多对开采活动的限制直到最近才解除,全球金矿开采可能需要一段时间才能恢复全面生产。

生产商净套保

据估计,全球金矿商在上半年净套保总计18.3吨的黄金。第二季度以美元计价的黄金价格上涨了10%,攀升至2012年第三季度以来的最高水平,一些其他货币计价的金价涨幅甚至更大,尤其是澳大利亚,当地黄金价格再创新高。修正后的数据显示,第一季度最引人注目的净套保发生在澳大利亚,那里的几家金矿商都扩大了他们的美元套保账户。其中最突出的是Saracen Minerals和Northern Star Resources,他们在2019年第四季度联合收购了Kalgoorlie Super Pit之后,都在第二季度增加了套保。

第二季度的初步估计显示生产商解除净套保28吨,但是随着金矿公司发布更多信息,这一数字将来可能会有所修正。

 

尽管部分地区有所增长,但全球的回收金供应还是有所下降

GDT Q2 2020 - Chart 8 - Chinese

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

回收金

与金矿生产类似,黄金回收同样受到了全球范围内严格封锁的影响。上半年全球回收金供应量为570.2吨,同比下降了5%。特别是在第二季度,黄金回收量同比下降了8%,至285.7吨。虽然这在全球范围内是一个相对较小的变化,但开始解除封锁之后,这一降幅其实掩盖了第二季度地区层面更为显著的变化。

黄金回收仍然低迷,许多重要地区仍在应对疫情影响。在南亚,特别是在印度,消费者都待在家里,零售商也都关门了,严格的封锁禁令仍在继续,这些都阻碍了通过常规渠道大量回收黄金。此外,印度的许多消费者选择将其持有的黄金作为抵押获得融资所需的贷款,而不是出售。另外一个重要因素是,掌控印度黄金需求最大份额的农村经济今年表现强劲,减少了遇险抛售黄金的现象。

在美国,特别是在纽约和洛杉矶这两个主要黄金回收中心城市,持续的高新冠肺炎感染率意味着回收活动大大低于正常水平。同样,在中东,封锁措施导致该地区黄金回收量出现同比下降。在新冠肺炎感染率特别高的伊朗,消费者不愿走出家门,导致黄金回收减少。有趣的是,在土耳其,人们对黄金价格还会进一步上涨的预期也是影响消费者不大量回收黄金的一个因素。

但是一些地区,黄金回收水平正在上升。在东亚,尤其是在泰国,黄金回收量增长幅度最大。解除封锁限制引发了一波黄金的回售潮,消费者希望利用金价上涨的机会来支付一些日常开支。这也可能是封锁期间积压的供应造成的结果;4月的回收量最高,而5月和6月则保持较高水平。随着中国市场在第二季度后逐渐回归常态,黄金回收量也随着金价的上涨而有所增加。而这不仅是金饰消费者的行为,金饰零售商也在试图盘活原本较重的24K足金金饰库存,以更轻的硬足金产品进行替代。欧洲是本季度唯一黄金回收量增加的地区,主要来自南欧市场,因为当地金价达到了新的创纪录高位。

脚注

  1. 由于面临的环境具有极大的挑战性,第二季度的数据是临时性的,未来可能会进行修正。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Supply

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2020

30 July, 2020

Supply

Total supply was down 6% in H1 due to coronavirus-related disruption

  • Total H1 supply declined 6% to 2,192t due to disruption caused by the coronavirus outbreak
  • H1 mine production fell 5% to 1,604t – the lowest first half level since 2014 – while recycling saw a similar y-o-y decline to 590t
  • Total supply fell 15% y-o-y in Q2, led by a 10% drop in mine production as many operations remained suspended due to lockdowns.1
Tonnes Q2'19 Q2'20   YoY
Total supply 1,220.8 1,034.4 -15%
Mine production 863.2 776.8 -10%
Net producer hedging 47.0 -28.0 -    -
Recycled gold 310.6 285.7 -8%

During H1, the supply side of the gold market showed significant resilience in the face of ongoing issues stemming from the COVID-19 pandemic. Current estimates put total supply at 2,192.2t, 6% lower than H1 2019. Both mine production and recycled gold registered y-o-y declines of 5% in H1, but these falls were modest by comparison to the scale of disruption caused.

Mine production

Mine production fell 5% y-o-y in H1, to 1,603.6t, its lowest H1 level since 2014. Strict coronavirus lockdowns in key mining nations throughout H1 were the main cause of the decline. Mining operations in China – the world’s largest gold-producing nation – were most affected during February as the country grappled with controlling the spread of the virus; however, the majority of mines returned to full production towards the end of Q1 as the situation eased. This led to an overall decline of 9% y-o-y in Chinese H1 mine production. But in other key producing nations, such as Peru, South Africa and Mexico, lockdowns were imposed much later in Q1 and extended well into Q2. Mine production fell to 776.8t in Q2 from 863.2t in Q2 2019 (-10% y-o-y).

 

Coronavirus-hit gold mining sector saw H1 slowdown in production

Coronavirus-hit gold mining sector sees H1 slowdown in production

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Lockdowns had a significant impact on gold mining in Q2. In Mexico, gold mine production fell 62% y-o-y as mining was suspended for 60 days during the quarter, although some operations were granted exemptions. In South Africa, the phased lockdown meant that underground mining, which accounts for most gold production within the country, was prevented from ramping up to full production until 1 June. As a result, South African gold production fell 59% y-o-y. Lockdowns from mid-March meant that gold mining in Peru was suspended until early May, leading to a 45% y-o-y decline in Q2 mine output. In Papua New Guinea, mine production was hit by the suspension at Porgera, the country’s second largest gold mine, following the government’s decision not to renew its mining lease.

While declines in production dominated the picture in Q2, some producers registered increases. In Russia, Q2 mine production grew by 15% y-o-y as production stabilised at projects that have recently come online, such as Natalka and Bystrinsky. In Europe, Finland’s largest mine, Kitilla, saw the largest increase in production in Q2, up 54% y-o-y. But this is primarily due to a low base effect, as the project underwent a planned maintenance shutdown in Q2 2019. In Bulgaria, production rose by 37% y-o-y in Q2, although absolute levels remain low. This increase was due to additional output from the Ada Tepe project, which reached commercial production in August 2019. In West Africa, Burkino Faso gold production rose 10% y-o-y in Q2, as the first pour at the Sanbrado project and continued ramp-up at the Wahgnion project boosted aggregate output.

The impact of the lockdowns not only curtailed production at certain projects, it also increased all-in sustaining costs (AISC). In Q1 – the latest data available – the quarterly average AISC rose to US$980/oz, 4% higher q-o-q and 7% higher y-o-y. Although AISC rose, the larger increase in the gold price allowed higher-cost mining projects to become profitable.

Despite lockdowns gradually being eased, the disruption seen in H1 will likely have a lasting impact on annual production in 2020. As many restrictions on activity have only recently been lifted it will likely take some time before global gold mining returns to full production.

Net producer hedging

It is estimated that gold miners hedged a total of 18.3t in H1 on a net basis. The US dollar gold price rose by 10% during the quarter, climbing to levels not seen since Q3 2012, and the rise was even greater in some currencies – notably Australia – where the local price hit another record high. And revised data shows that the most notable hedges during Q1 occurred in Australia, where several miners extended their US dollar hedge books. Of these, the most prominent came from Saracen Minerals and Northern Star Resources, with both adding to their hedge books during the quarter following their joint acquisition of the Kalgoorlie Super Pit in Q4 2019.

Initial estimates for Q2 show 28t of net de-hedging, however this is subject to future revision as more information is published by mining companies.

Recycled gold

Recycling, like mine production, was impacted by strict lockdowns across the globe. Recycled gold supply amounted to 570.2t in H1, 5% lower y-o-y. In Q2 specifically, gold recycling fell 8% y-o-y, to 285.7t. While this is a relatively small change at the global level, it masks more significant changes at a regional level seen in Q2, once lockdowns began to lift.

 

Recycling activity was subdued by market lockdowns, despite pockets of growth

Recycling activity subdued by market lockdowns, despite pockets of growth

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Gold recycling remained subdued, with many key regions still grappling with the outbreak. In South Asia, and India specifically, strict lockdowns continued to prevent significant levels of recycling through the usual channels, as consumers were housebound and retailers were closed. Furthermore, many consumers in India opted to use their gold holdings as collateral to obtain loans for their financing needs, rather than selling. And another important factor is that the rural economy, which accounts for the lion’s share of gold demand in India, has performed strongly t=his year, reducing the need for distress selling of gold. 

In the US, continued high infection rates, particularly in the key recycling centres of New York and Los Angeles, meant that activity fell significantly below normal levels. Similarly, in the Middle East, lockdowns led to a y-o-y decline in recycled gold in the region. In Iran, which has suffered particularly high infection rates, consumers were reluctant to leave their homes leading to less recycling. Interestingly, in Turkey, expectations of yet further gold price gains were also a factor influencing consumers not to recycle gold in sizeable volumes.

But some regions are seeing recycled gold levels rise. The largest increase in recycling levels was seen in East Asia, particularly in Thailand. The lifting of lockdown restrictions released a wave of selling back, with consumers looking to take advantage of higher prices and fund some day-to-day expenses. This might also be a result of pent-up supply that built during the lockdowns; April saw the highest recycling levels, while May and June remained elevated. In China, with the market returning to normal at the beginning of Q2, recycled gold supply also increased during the quarter as the gold price rose. This was not limited to jewellery consumers; retailers also looked to replace old 24K jewellery inventories with lighter jewellery pieces. Europe was the only other region to see an increase in recycling during the quarter, mostly from Southern European markets as the local gold price reached a new record level.

Footnotes

  1. Due to the challenging environment, data for Q2 is provisional and may be subject to future revisions.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]