央行

黄金需求趋势 2020年上半年及第二季度

2020年07月30日

央行

2020上半年全球各国央行黄金需求为233吨,购金量跌至此前的纪录水平之下

  • 2020年上半年全球各国央行净购金总量为233吨,同比下降39%1
  • 由于各国央行黄金需求量仍然强劲,这实际仅比十年上半年平均水平的247吨低了6%
  • 购金央行也更加集中, 2020年上半年,全球增加黄金储备的银行数量有所减少。
2019年第
2季度
2020年第
2季度
年同比变化
各国央行和其他机构 231.7 114.7 -50%

上半年,在生活的各个方面均受到前所未有破坏的影响下,全球各国央行净购金量仅为233.4吨,较2019年同期385.7吨的购金水平(自2000年以来的最高上半年净购金量)减少了39%。但与2010上半年的平均水平247.1吨相比,该水平仅降低了6%。2010年开始,各国央行成为了黄金的年度净购买者。

 

上半年的全球央行购金量降至接近十年平均水平

GDT Q2 2020 - Chart 6 - Chinese

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

全球央行持续购买黄金的意愿与我们2020年对各国央行进行的调研结果大致相符。有20%受访央行表示未来12个月有购买黄金的意向(2019年该比例为8%),而导致这一积极情绪的主要原因是与经济环境相关的因素(例如负利率)。我们预计,各国央行在2020年接下来的时间里仍将保持净购入黄金,即使数量将低于前两年。

尽管新冠疫情爆发于第一季度,当时对金融市场造成了冲击,但事实上,第二季度的情况仍然动荡不安。全球各经济体在这一时期的特点就是持续的封锁状态和对新冠疫情最终影响的广泛不确定性。在这种令人沮丧的情况下,各国央行净购金总量仅为114.7吨(同比下降了50%),比五年季度平均水平134.6吨低了15%,远低于2018年和2019年165吨的季度平均水平。第二季度也是俄罗斯央行(自2014年起的主要黄金买家)暂停购买黄金以来的第一个季度。

与最近几年相比,第二季度的购金央行也更加集中。在该季度中,全球共有六家央行增加了1吨或更多的黄金储备。4 相比之下,在过去的十二个季度中,这样的央行平均有九家。土耳其仍然是最大的黄金购买国。土耳其央行黄金储备增加了97.8吨,占第二季度储备全球央行购金量的85%,使其黄金储备量达到583吨(占其总外汇储备的38%)。上半年土耳其净购金量总计为170.5吨,而其自2017年5月恢复购买以来的净购金量现已超过450吨。厄瓜多尔(+7.5吨)、印度(+4.7吨)、乌兹别克斯坦(+4.7吨)和捷克共和国(+1.2吨)是第二季度其他一些比较重要且频繁的买家。

净售金量方面,2020年上半年全球减少1吨或更多黄金储备的央行数量比2019年同期有所增加(2020年7家,2019年2家)。尽管如此,黄金出售的绝对数量仍然很少:今年上半年,全球总售金量为42.5吨。
 

脚注

  1. 最新季度数据的修正主要是因为对土耳其黄金储备量的测算有所改进。
  2. 基于发布时的可用数据。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central Banks and other institutions

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2020

30 July, 2020

Central Banks and other institutions

Central bank demand reached 233t in H1, as buying fell below record-setting pace

  • Central bank net purchases totalled 233t in H1 2020, 39% lower y-o-y1
  • This is 6% below the 10-year H1 average of 247t as volume of demand remains robust
  • Buying has become more concentrated, with fewer banks adding to reserves so far in 2020
Tonnes Q2'19 Q2'20 YoY
Central banks & others 231.7 114.7 -50%

Amid unprecedented disruption to all aspects of life in H1, global central banks bought 233.4t of gold on a net basis. This is 39% lower than the 385.7t seen in H1 2019 – the highest level of H1 net purchases in our records going back to 2000. But H1 2020 demand was only 6% below the H1 average of 247.1t going back to 2010, when central banks became net purchasers on an annual basis.

 

Central bank buying slowed in H1 to just below average pace

Central bank buying slows in H1 to just below average pace

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

The continued buying is broadly in line with our 2020 Central Bank Survey. 20% of respondents indicated that they intend to buy gold in the next 12 months (compared with 8% in 2019), citing factors related to the economic environment – such as negative interest rates – as reasons for their positive sentiment. We expect central banks to remain net purchasers in 2020, but in volumes below those of the two preceding years.

While the coronavirus outbreak took hold in Q1, sending shockwaves through financial markets, Q2 proved to be just as – if not more – tumultuous. Economies across the world were marked by continued lockdowns and widespread uncertainty over the ultimate impact of the pandemic. Amidst these gloomy conditions, central bank net purchases totalled 114.7t (-50% y-o-y), 15% below the five-year quarterly average of 134.6t and well below the ~165t quarterly average in both 2018 and 2019. Q2 also marked the first quarter since Russia – a major gold buyer since 2014 – suspended its gold purchasing.

Q2 purchases were also more concentrated than we have seen in recent years. During the quarter, six central banks increased their gold reserves by a tonne or more.2 This compares with an average of nine over the last 12 quarters. Turkey remained the largest gold buyer by some distance. Turkish gold reserves grew by 97.8t, accounting for 85% of the quarterly global total, taking its gold reserves to 583t (38% of total reserves). Y-t-d net purchases total 170.5t, while net purchases since May 2017 – when it resumed buying – now exceed 450t. Ecuador (7.5t), India (4.7t), Uzbekistan (4.7t), and Czech Republic (1.2t) were the other significant, and familiar, buyers during the quarter.

Turning to net sales, H1 2020 saw a slight rise in the number of banks reducing their gold reserves by a tonne or more compared to H1 2019 (seven versus two). But despite this, the absolute volume of gold being sold remains modest: in H1, gross sales totalled 42.5t.

Footnotes

  1. Revisions to recent quarterly data is largely due to improvements in the measurement of Turkish gold reserves.
  2. Based on available data at time of publication.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]