供应

黄金需求趋势 2019年第二季度

2019年08月01日

供应

由于创纪录的金矿产量和更高的回收量,第二季度全球黄金总供应量增加了6%,使得上半年的增长率达到了2%。

  • 第二季度金矿产量同比增长2%;是有史以来产量最高的第二季度
  • 2019年第二季度,全球金矿商套期保值量减少了10.5吨,据估算,6月底套保量约为209吨
  • 临近季度末金价的大幅上涨推动,回收金总量同比上升9%。
2018年第
2季度
2019年第
2季度
同比变化
供应量 1,121.3 1,186.7 6%
金矿产量 869.2 882.6 2%
生产商对冲额 -37.7 -10.5    -
再生金量 289.8 314.6 9%

金矿产量 

今年第二季度,全球金矿产量同比增长2%,达到882.6吨。继一季度产量突破847.5吨的记录之后,这是全球产量第二季度的创纪录水平。目前上半年金矿总产量为1730.2吨,比2018年上半年增长1.1%。正如我们在之前的黄金需求趋势报告中所指出的,这是今年非常强劲的开局。

主要黄金生产国在第二季度的产量出现显著增长。受益于新项目的开展,加拿大和俄罗斯的黄金产量均同比增长9%。在加拿大,Brucejack、Rainy river 和 Moose River产量持续上涨,再加上Meliadine开采项目的上线,令二季度金矿产量出现增长。在俄罗斯,Natalka项目产量增加,加上来自其他几个矿场,特别是该国东部地区的产量增长,共同推动了总产量的增加。美国的黄金产量也出现了类似的增长(同比增长9%)。Carlin和Cripple Creek产量的增加抵消了Goldstrike和Cortez预期的产量下降。多个金矿产量的增加令澳大利亚的黄金产量也有所上升(+6%),哈萨克斯坦的二季度的黄金产量(+18%)则受益于Kyzyl项目的持续增产。在西非,非洲大陆最大的黄金生产国加纳的金矿产量同比增长6%,增量部分主要来自Ahafo和Akyem。

中国、南非和印度尼西亚的产量继续下降。中国的黄金产量出现了又一个季度的同比下降。2017年实施的更严格的环境法规继续对中国的金矿行业产生影响,尽管该负面影响有所减弱,但全国产量仍同比下降4%。受劳工行动影响,南非的产量同比下降12%。由于2018年11月开始的罢工,Beatrix、Kloof和Driefontein的产量大幅下降,罢工直到4月底才结束。印度尼西亚的金矿产量下降了48%。Grasberg,露天金矿最后阶段的高等级矿品开采枯竭,以及随后转向地下开采,令印尼的金矿产量相较2018年继续下降。Batu Hijau矿山仍受到露天开采7期工程扩张计划、铜精矿出口限制以及当地冶炼能力不足的制约。

货币疲软助力矿商利润率的提升。黄金生产国货币的疲软帮助降低了非美元成本,令南非、中国、澳大利亚、俄罗斯和加纳等主产国矿商可用资金出现增长。不断上涨的金价——尤其是以主产国货币计价的金价——对于矿商而言仍更具优势,令其利润率提升。这使该行业处于相当健康的状况。

生产商净套保

今年第二季度,黄金矿商净套保解除行为令全球金矿生产商的净套保总量减少了10.5吨:据估计,截至6月底,全球金矿商套保总量约为209吨。年初至今,净套保解除量为8.3吨。

尽管金价上涨,但套期保值总量并不高。第二季度的黄金价格上涨叠加生产国货币的走弱,致以多种货币计价的金价达到多年来(在某些情况下甚至达到创纪录)的高点。

第二季度末的金价上涨推动供应增长(指数 01/01/19=100)

第二季度末的金价上涨推动供应增长(指数 01/01/19=100)

来源: Datastream, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

澳大利亚的矿商一直是最活跃的,在过去一年主导了全球套保总量的规模。当地创纪录的金价——首次突破2000澳元/盎司——吸引了一些新的套保仓位。1 例如,Resolute Mining在二季度增加了3万 盎司的套保量。在其他地区,不断上涨的黄金价格还并没有吸引到值得关注的套保量的增长。新增套保仓位仍然是零星的、战术性的。

回收金

第二季度回收金供应量为314.6吨,比去年同期增长9%。2019年至今,金价表现强劲,尤其在第二季度突破1350美元/盎司的关键心理价位后,由于一些消费者希望在高位锁定利润,市场上出现了一波抛售浪潮。年初至今,回收黄金总量为602吨,较2018年同期增长7%,为2016年金价飙升导致的大量抛售以来上半年回收量的最高水平。

第二季度的黄金回收量达到了2016年以来的最高水平

第二季度的黄金回收量达到了2016年以来的最高水平

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

考虑到金价在第二季度的表现,回收量的增加或许并不令人意外,但回收金市场间的差异却较为明显。在北美和欧洲等西方市场,6月份回收量的增加是该季度整体增长的主要原因。4月和5月的回收金供应量变动不大,这意味着6月份的供应增加对第二季度的总体平稳增长提供了助力。

在中东,伊朗再次出现了强劲的回收金绝对量的增长,略高于去年同期水平。在五月份国际金价下跌之际,美元兑里亚尔汇率的波动支撑了当地的黄金价格,但随后在6月份抵消了金价的上涨。另一方面,尽管价格上涨,土耳其的回收金供应的增长却低了很多。其原因在于消费者对价格的预期,他们普遍认为涨势还将持续,因此等待以更高价格卖出。埃及的回收市场在2016年激增之后,目前正在向正常水平恢复,这也意味着该市场的回收金供应再次出现了同比下滑。

在中国,第二季度的回收金供应同比增加明显。虽然四月和五月市场比较平静,但随着6月份金价上涨,消费者在珠宝商开展的回购促销活动的吸引下,纷纷抛售黄金。此外,中国黄金回收市场近期的进展也可能是黄金回购量增加的原因之一。随着6月份金价升至32,000卢比/10克以上,印度的黄金回收量也开始增加。不过,在亚洲其它地区,人们对金价上涨的反应更加温和。
 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Supply

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2019

1 August, 2019

Supply

Total Q2 supply pushed 6% higher by record mine production and higher recycling, contributing to 2% growth in H1.

  • Mine production up 2% y-o-y in Q2; highest second quarter on record
  • Global hedge book fell by 10.5t in Q2 2019, now estimated at 209t at the end of June
  • Recycled gold boosted 9% y-o-y by higher gold prices towards the end of the quarter.
Tonnes Q2'18 Q2'19 YoY
Total supply 1,121.3 1,186.7 6%
Mine production 869.2 882.6 2%
Net producer hedging -37.7 -10.5    -    -
Recycled gold 289.8 314.6 9%

Mine production

Global mine production grew 2% y-o-y in Q2, reaching 882.6t. This is a record level of global output for a second quarter and follows on from a Q1 record of 847.5t. Total H1 mine production now stands at 1,730.2t, 1.1% higher than H1 2018. As we noted in our previous Gold Demand Trends report, this represents a very strong start to the year. 

Some key producing nations saw significant gains in Q2. Canadian and Russian gold output saw a 9% increase y-o-y as both benefited from new projects. In Canada, the continued ramp-up of Brucejack, Rainy River and Moose River, as well as Meliadine coming online, boosted quarterly production. In Russia, the ramp-up of the Natalka project – in addition to increases from several other mines, particularly in the eastern region of the country – pushed aggregate output higher. The US saw a similar increase in gold production (+9% y-o-y). Higher output from Carlin and Cripple Creek helped offset lower expected output from Goldstrike and Cortez. Australian gold production (+6%) was boosted by stronger output from several mines, while Kazakhstan (+18%) benefited from the continued ramp-up of the Kyzyl project. In West Africa, Ghana – the continent’s largest producing nation – saw a 6% y-o-y increase in production, primarily from Ahafo and Akyem.

China, South Africa and Indonesia saw continued declines. Chinese gold production registered another quarter of y-o-y declines. National output fell 4% y-o-y as the stricter environmental regulations imposed in 2017 continued to impact the industry – albeit to a lesser degree. South African production fell 12% y-o-y, disrupted by industrial action. Output from Beatrix, Kloof and Driefontein was cut significantly due to strikes that began in November 2018 and only drew to a close at the end of April. In Indonesia, national production fell by 48%. At Grasberg, the exhaustion of higher grades in the final phase of the open pit and the subsequent switch to underground mining continued to depress volumes relative to 2018. Batu Hijau remains constrained by Phase 7 open pit expansion, as well as by copper concentration export limits and the lack of local smelting capacity.

Weaker currencies help improve miners’ margins. Weaker producer currencies helped pushed non-US dollar costs down, boosting miners’ coffers in key mining nations such as South Africa, China, Australia, Russia and Ghana. An increasing gold price – especially in key producer currencies – was still more advantageous, pushing margins higher. This puts the industry in a reasonably healthy position.

Net producer hedging

Net de-hedging by gold miners in Q2 reduced the global hedge book by 10.5t: it was estimated to stand at 209t at the end of June. Y-t-d, net de-hedging totalled 8.3t.

Modest levels of hedging despite the higher gold price. Q2 was marked by an increasing gold price and weakening producer currencies. As a result, the gold price in a range of currencies hit multi-year – and in some cases record – highs. 

The gold price rally towards the end of Q2 boosted supply (index 01/01/19=100)

The gold price rally towards the end of Q2 boosted supply (index 01/01/19=100)

Sources: Datastream, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Australian miners have been the most active, dictating the size of the global hedge book over the last year. Record local prices – which breached A$2,000/oz for the first time - tempted some into adding fresh positions.1 For example, Resolute Mining added a further 30koz to their existing hedge book during the quarter. Elsewhere, rising gold prices have yet to draw out significant levels of hedging. Fresh positions continue to be sporadic and tactical.

Recycled gold

Recycled gold supply totalled 314.6t in Q2, 9% higher than the same period last year. The strong gold performance so far in 2019, especially in Q2 when it broke through the psychological US$1,350/oz level, encouraged a wave of selling as some consumers looked to lock in profits. Y-t-d recycled gold totalled 602t, 7% higher than the same period in 2018 and the highest H1 since 2016 when a huge rally in the gold price prompted significant selling back.

Q2 saw the highest level of recycled gold since 2016

Q2 saw the highest level of recycled gold since 2016

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

While the rise in recycling may be unsurprising given the gold price performance in Q2, the response was far from uniform. In western markets – North America and Europe – higher recycling volumes in June were responsible for much of the increase over the quarter. The supply of recycled gold in April and May was relatively subdued, which meant the boost in June helped achieve a modest overall increase in Q2.

In the Middle East, Iran again saw robust absolute levels of recycling, modestly higher y-o-y. The volatile USD/rial exchange rate helped support local gold prices in May – as international prices fell – but then countered the gold price rally in June.  Turkey, on the other hand, saw much more modest levels of recycling despite higher prices. The reason for this was price expectations amongst consumers, who generally believed that the rally had further to run and so waited to sell at higher prices. The ongoing normalisation of Egypt’s recycling market – following the surge in 2016 – meant another y-o-y decline.

In China, recycled gold supply in Q2 was noticeably higher y-o-y. While April and May were quiet, consumers were enticed to sell their gold through promotions offered by jewellers as the price rose in June. And, higher volumes may also have been helped by recent advances made in China’s gold recycling market. India too saw more recycling as the gold price rose above Rs32,000/10g in June. Elsewhere in Asia though, the response to the price increase was far more muted.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]