投资

黄金需求趋势 2019年第二季度

2019年08月01日

投资

总投资同比增长1%,稳健的黄金ETF资金的流入弥补了金条和金币需求量12%的下降。

  • 今年第二季度,全球黄金ETF持有量增长67.2吨,达到2548吨
  • 受对英国脱欧的担忧和货币疲软的影响,在英国上市的黄金ETF吸引了第二季度最大的资金流入
  • 随着金价达到关键水平,6月份出现了获利回吐,令金条和金币投资降至10年来的低点。
2018年第
2季度
2019年第
2季度
  同比变化
投资 282.0 285.8 1%
金条和金币总需求量 248.2 218.6 -12%
印度 39.3 44.5 13%
中国大陆 69.5 49.5 -29%
黄金ETFs及类似产品 33.8 67.2 99%

ETF

今年第二季度,投资者增持了67.2吨的黄金ETF,总持有量达到6年最高点的2548吨。6月份强劲的流入(+126.7吨)超过了4月份的大规模流出(-57.2吨)。 

以美元价值计算,由于资金净流入和金价走高,全球黄金ETF的管理资产规模增长至1154亿美元,为2013年4月以来的最高水平。今年上半年净流入107.5吨,高于2018年上半年的60.9吨。 

地缘政治的不确定性、各国央行发表的鸽派货币政策评论,以及金价的不断上涨,都是促使投资者增持黄金的关键因素。

2019年截止目前,欧洲地区黄金ETF的规模增长占据全球流入的较大部分。今年上半年,欧洲黄金ETF的持有量增加了87.2吨,其中第二季度增加了67.2吨。 

在英国上市的基金在第二季度处于领先地位:本季度该地区基金吸引了全球黄金ETF流入的约75%。受英国脱欧的不确定性以及特蕾莎•梅辞去首相后的领导权之争影响,投资者试图在黄金中寻求避风港。英镑的大幅贬值也推动了本季度的黄金ETF流入,其主因在于英国脱欧谈判一再失败后被削弱的英国的经济增长前景。 

德国地区的基金也收获了可观的流入:中美贸易摩擦令该地区投资者感到压力,相对安全的黄金受到青睐。持续的全球贸易不确定性令德国的汽车业受到冲击,汽车制造商Daimler AG公司和汽车行业供应商BASF最近发布的利润预警凸显了这一点。坊间证据显示,这种脆弱性是推动资金流入黄金ETF的一个因素。

此外,极低的利率也为黄金投资者提供了额外的动力:今年6月,德国10年期国债收益率跌至-0.33%的历史低点。这一创纪录的低国债收益率令黄金的吸引力上升:英国和德国黄金ETF的持有量在第二季度分别增长11%(达到创纪录的554.1吨)和2%(达到338.5吨)。 

第二季度美国基金温和增长4.8吨,6月份巨额的流入逆转了此前的流出。 
北美地区黄金ETF在4月和5月的流出总计60.2吨,但到了6月份出现强劲增长,其规模增加了65吨。6月份以美元计价的黄金价格9%的上涨可能吸引了一些趋势投资者,该地区流动性最佳的基金的强劲流入或为印证。总体而言,美国与各贸易伙伴之间持续的紧张关系,以及投资者对低利率的预期:,美联储发出了更为鸽派的货币政策立场——投资者预计在2019年剩余时间里,可能出现多达三次的降息1 ,都对北美黄金ETF的流入起到支撑作用。

在其它地区,黄金ETF在本季度又出现了小规模的流出。亚洲地区基金规模下降4.1吨;最主要的原因是中国华安易富黄金ETF流出5.4吨。我们认为,上半年中国地区基金总共流出9吨,是投资者获利了结和转向更高风险资产的结果。其它地区的黄金ETF总规模下降0.5吨。2 这部分资产规模仍然较小,总持有量仅为31吨。

金条和金币

2019年第二季度,个人黄金投资需求相对疲软。 该部分需求连续第三个季度同比下降,今年第二季度总量同比下降12%,至218.6吨;其中,中国地区的减少约占全球需求下降总量的三分之二。而全球上半年的需求量为476.9吨,处于2009年以来的最低水平。 

由于获利了结的增加,上半年金条和金币需求降至2009年以来最低水平

由于获利了结的增加,上半年金条和金币需求降至2009年以来最低水平

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

在本季度开局稳定之后,随着金价上涨,个人黄金投资在6月份停滞不前。 一些投资者卖出部分投资在高位获利离场,而另一些投资者则持观望态度,这部分投资者认为金价上涨无法持续,他们可以在金价回调之际以更低的价格入场。 

黄金市场巨头在第二季度出现了分歧。中国第二季度金条和金币需求降至49.5吨,为2016年第三季度以来的最低水平,原因是投资者担忧情绪消退,且黄金价格持续上升处于高位。对汇率的担忧是过去18个月支撑中国的个人黄金投资需求的主要因素,而这在5月份有所缓解,主因在于中国央行副行长潘功胜承诺将保持汇率稳定。在随后的6月份,当地黄金价格飙升至322元人民币/克,这是六年半来的最高点。在目睹了中国大妈们在2013年对黄金的狂热追捧以及随后的亏损之后,中国投资者决定静观其变,等待一个波动较小的价格环境。以上因素均抑制了新增购买量,增加了投资者的获利了结。

与疲软的个人投资需求形成鲜明对比的是,上海黄金交易所的投机交易量大幅飙升。6月份,以保证金交易的上海黄金交易所的Au(T+D)黄金合约成交量达到2,062吨,为有记录以来的第二高位。 

另一方面,印度是本季度为数不多的亮点之一。 今年第二季度,该地区金条和金币的需求同比增长13%,达到44.5吨,是第二季度五年以来的最高点。一年一度的印度教和耆那教节日:Akshaya Tritiya支撑了5月份的黄金需求,节日期间黄金销量同比飙升约20-25%。据业内人士估计,黄金投资产品约占这些销售的60%。由于投资者认为金价还将继续上涨,在印度卢比黄金价格本季度末达到34,006卢比/10克,接近2013年8月创下的34,500卢比/10克的历史高点之际,印度个人投资者的获利了结行为相对较少。

中东地区需求下降27%,仅有15.7吨,主要原因是伊朗地区同比31%的个人黄金投资需求的下滑。 这是自2016年以来伊朗金条和金币需求首次出现同比下降。疲软的里亚尔和5月份高得令人瞠目的当地黄金价格——平均6,050,110里亚尔/克——使许多投资者望而却步,并促使部分投资者获利了结。 

土耳其个人黄金投资需求同比下降15%,至9.9吨。当地黄金价格在整个季度都有所上涨,并在6月25日达到创纪录的263,893里亚尔/克,促使一些投资者对其持有的部分黄金进行获利了结。 

在东亚,泰国的需求降至12.9吨,为2010年第四季度以来的最低季度水平。这在一定程度上反映出资金从实物黄金转向在泰国证交所交易的对冲外汇风险的,现金结算的黄金合约的趋势。该合约于2018年第四季度推出,并且越来越受到泰国黄金交易商的欢迎。 

在越南,个人黄金投资总量稳定在9吨。美元黄金价格的上涨推动了部分投资者高位获利了结,也令越南黄金批发市场价格低于国际现货价格,并导致了非官方的黄金的跨境流出。 

美国的个人黄金投资需求依然疲软。 第二季度的总量仅为3吨,上半年的需求量为9.8吨,这是自2007年以来的最低水平。美国造币厂第二季度金条金币销量降至19,000盎司,为2006年第三季度以来的最低水平。在许多传统的黄金投资者关注于美国经济的健康增长、低失业率和持续的工资增长之际,美国的个人黄金投资市场已苦苦挣扎了一段时间。6月份金价上涨引发部分投资者抛售黄金,而二级市场金币溢价跌至全球金融危机爆发前以来的最低水平,并刺激了美国对德国的黄金出口。

美国经济的蓬勃发展重创美国鹰币销售

美国经济的蓬勃发展重创美国鹰币销售

来源: 彭博社, 美国造币厂, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

注:图表显示了黄金的总销量(包括一盎司、半盎司、四分之一盎司和十分之一盎司的鹰币)。

 

在欧洲,尽管价格上涨导致的获利了结规模没有那么显著,但该地区的个人黄金投资需求依然疲弱。 第二季度该需求为32.4吨,为2008年以来的最低水平。尽管德国的需求略有上升(同比增长1%),但这是与较低基数相比得出的结果(2018年第二季度是自2010年以来需求第三低的季度)。尽管如此,电视营销活动似乎还是刺激了大众对小金条(1克-3克)的兴趣。

脚注

  1. 截至2019年7月29日

  2. “其他”类别的黄金ETF包括在澳大利亚、南非和土耳其上市的基金。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2019

1 August, 2019

Investment

Total investment 1% firmer y-o-y, as healthy ETF inflows counterbalanced a 12% drop in bar and coin demand.

  • Holdings in global gold-backed ETFs grew by 67.2t in Q2, to reach 2,548t
  • UK-listed ETFs attracted the greatest inflows in Q2, due to Brexit concerns and currency weakness
  • Profit-taking erupted in June as the gold price reached key levels, driving bar and coin investment down to a decade low.
Tonnes Q2'18 Q2'19   YoY
Investment 282.0 285.8 1%
Bar & coin 248.2 218.6 -12%
  India 39.3 44.5 13%
  China 69.5 49.5 -29%
Gold-backed ETFs 33.8 67.2 99%

ETFs

Investors added 67.2t to their holdings of gold-backed ETFs in Q2, taking total holdings to a six-year high of 2,548t. Strong inflows in June (+126.7t) outweighed April’s sizable outflows (-57.2t). 

In terms of US dollar value, AUM in the sector grew to US$115.4bn – the highest since April 2013 – on a combination of net inflows and a higher gold price. Net inflows throughout H1 reached 107.5t, compared with 60.9t in H1 2018. 

Geopolitical uncertainty, dovish monetary policy commentary by central banks, and a rising gold price were among the key factors that drove investors to increase their holdings. 

European-listed products have absorbed the bulk of the inflows so far in 2019. Holdings of gold-backed ETFs in Europe grew by 87.2t over the first half-year, with 67.2t of that growth occurring in Q2. 

UK-listed funds led the way in Q2: around 75% of all global inflows during the quarter were directed towards these products. Investors sought the safe haven of gold amid the uncertainty surrounding Brexit and the leadership battle that followed Theresa May’s resignation as Prime Minister. The sharp drop in the value of the pound also fuelled inflows during the quarter as the UK’s growth prospects were cut following repeated failures in Brexit negotiations.  

German-based funds also saw decent inflows: the US-China trade war weighed heavily on investors’ minds as they sought the relative safety of gold. The German auto sector is vulnerable to continued global trade uncertainty, as highlighted by recent profit warnings rom car maker Daimler AG and supplier to the auto sector, BASF. Anecdotal evidence suggests that this vulnerability was a factor driving inflows into gold-backed ETFs.

And gold investors had the added incentive of very low rates: the yield on 10-year German government bonds reached historic lows of -0.33% in June. Such record lows enhanced gold’s investment appeal: holdings in UK- and German-listed funds increased by 11% (to a record 554.1t) and 2% (to 338.5t), respectively, in Q2. 

US funds grew by a modest 4.8t in Q2, as hefty inflows in June reversed prior outflows. Combined outflows of 60.2t in April and May gave way to strong growth in June, when North American funds added 65t. The 9% rise in the US dollar gold price during the month likely attracted momentum investors, as seen by strong inflows into the most liquid funds. Overall, North American inflows were supported by continued tension between the US and various trade partners, as well as expectations of lower interest rates, as the Federal Reserve signalled a more dovish stance – with up to three rate cuts now being priced in throughout the remainder of 2019.1

Elsewhere, gold-backed ETFs saw another quarter of very modest outflows. Asian-listed funds lost 4.1t; much of this was due to a 5.4t outflow from China’s Huaan Yifu fund. Total H1 outflows of 9t from Chinese funds have – we believe – been a function of profit taking and a shift to riskier assets in the region. Gold-backed ETFs in other regions lost 0.5t.2 This segment remains small, with aggregate holdings of just 31t.

Bar and coin

The retail investment market was relatively soft in Q2 2019. It experienced its third consecutive q-o-q decline and demand fell 12% y-o-y to 218.6t; China accounted for around two-thirds of the drop. Global H1 demand of 476.9t was at its lowest level since 2009. 

H1 bar and coin demand fall to its lowest level since 2009 due to profit-taking

H1 bar and coin demand fall to its lowest level since 2009 due to profit-taking

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

After a steady start to the quarter, retail investment stalled in June as the gold price rallied. Some investors sold a portion of their investments to realise profits, while others sat on the side-lines in the belief that the rally would be short-lived and that they could enter the market at a lower price. 

Gold market giants diverged in the second quarter. In China, Q2 bar and coin demand fell to 49.5t, its lowest level since Q3 2016, as investor worries faded and the gold price rallied. Currency concerns – which have supported gold investment over the past 18 months – eased in May as Pan Gongsheng, Vice-Governor of the People’s Bank of China, pledged to keep the exchange rate stable. And in June the local gold price rose sharply to a six-and-a-half year high of 322yuan/g. Having witnessed the Chinese Damas’ rush to gold in 2013, and their subsequent losses, Chinese investors decided to sit back and wait for a less volatile price environment. These factors combined to depress fresh purchases and boost investor sales.

In contrast to the soft retail investment demand, speculative trading activity on the Shanghai Gold Exchange shot through the roof. In June, trading volumes of the Au(T+D) margin-traded gold contract hit 2,062t, the second highest level on record.    

India, on the other hand, was one of the few bright spots this quarter. Bar and coin demand rose 13% y-o-y to reach 44.5t in Q2, a five-year high for second quarter demand. Akshaya Tritiya, the annual Hindu and Jain festival, supported demand in May, with the volume of gold sold soaring some 20-25% y-o-y during the festival. Industry contacts estimated that gold investment products accounted for around 60% of these sales. Investor liquidations were limited despite the sharp rise in the rupee gold price, which finished the quarter at Rs34,006/10g, close to the record high of Rs34,500/10g set in August 2013, as investors felt the rally had further to run.  

Demand in the Middle East was down 27% to 15.7t, largely due to a drop in Iranian demand, which fell 31% y-o-y. This was the first y-o-y decline in Iranian bar and coin demand since 2016. The weak rial and the eye-wateringly high local gold price, which averaged IRR6,050,110/g in May, pushed gold out of reach for many investors and encouraged others to take profits. 

Retail investment in Turkey fell 15% y-o-y to 9.9t. The local gold price was elevated throughout the quarter and hit a record high of TRY 263,893/g on 25 June, prompting some investors to take profits on a portion of their gold holdings. 

In East Asia, demand in Thailand dropped to 12.9t, its lowest quarterly level since Q4 2010. This partly reflects a shift away from physical gold to a FX-hedged cash-settled contract traded on the Thai Stock Exchange. This contract was launched in Q4 2018 and has proved increasingly popular with Thailand’s gold traders.   

In Vietnam, retail investment was steady at 9t. The rally in the US dollar gold price drew out some sales – pushing the Vietnamese wholesale gold market to a discount against the global spot price – and gave rise to unofficial flows out of the country.   

Retail demand in the US remained weak. Q2 demand was just 3t, taking H1 demand to 9.8t – the lowest level since 2007.  Q2 bullion coin sales from the US Mint fell to 19,000oz, the lowest level since Q3 2006. This market has been struggling for some time, with many traditional gold investors focused on America’s healthy economic growth, low unemployment, and continued wage growth. The gold price rally in June triggered selling by some investors, and coin premiums in the secondary market fell to their lowest level since before the global financial crisis, spurring gold exports from the US to Germany.

Buoyant US economy has hit US Eagle bullion coin sales hard

Buoyant US economy has hit US Eagle sales hard

Sources: Bloomberg, US Mint, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Note: chart shows the total volume of gold sold (includes one ounce, half ounce, quarter ounce and tenth ounce Eagle coins).

 

Although the scale of retail disinvestment in response to the price rally was less pronounced in Europe, demand was weak nonetheless. At 32.4t in Q2, it stood at its lowest level since 2008. And while German demand was marginally firmer (up 1% y-o-y) the increase is in comparison to a low base (Q2 2018 was the third lowest quarter since 2010). Despite this weakness, it appears that television marketing campaigns have fuelled the appetite for small gold bars (between 1g-3g) amongst the mass retail market. 

Footnotes

  1. As of 29 July 2019
  2. The ‘other’ category of gold-backed ETFs includes fund listed in Australia, South Africa and Turkey.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]