投资

黄金需求趋势2018第二季度

2018年08月01日

投资

以黄金为依托的ETF的小量增持主要出现在欧洲;第二季度的金条和金币需求没有变化。

  • 随着美国投资者专注于国内经济环境,趋缓的ETF增持量同比大幅降低
  • 金价、股市和地缘政治传递出复杂信号,致使金条和金币需求几乎不变
  • 土耳其的需求暴跌,因为飞涨的国内金价导致回收活动大增
2017年第
2季度
2018年第
2季度
年同比变
化%
投资 310.3 281.4 -9%
金条和金币总需求量 247.8 247.6 -0%
  印度 41.6 39.3 -5%
  中国 62.6 69.5 11%
以黄金为依托的ETF 62.5 33.8 -46%

ETF

全球以黄金为依托的ETF在该季度的增长继续低迷:33.8吨的增持量大幅低于2017年第二季度的62.5吨。尽管全球贸易紧张局势升温,股市波动幅度相对较大,但上半年63吨的增持量是2015年上半年以来的最低水平。在上半年末期,全球持有量为2,434.3吨。在过去4个季度里,出现了稳定的黄金ETF小幅投资,持仓量平均每个季度增加27.2吨。

第二季度的增持趋势在一定程度上与第一季度相反,流入量主要来自欧洲上市的黄金ETF,而北美的黄金ETF则出现了净减持。年初地缘政治问题(主要围绕与朝鲜的紧张关系)和美元走弱使美国投资者感到不安,转而投资黄金ETF。大约在4月中旬,这些问题开始平息,美国经济持续增长,削弱了美国的增持势头。与此同时,欧洲的政治不稳定加剧,这种情况——加上欧元大幅贬值——促使投资者为了避险转投欧洲上市的黄金ETF。

 

2018年迄今为止,欧洲基金吸引了大部分的黄金ETF增持量

2018年迄今为止,欧洲基金吸引了大部分的黄金ETF增持量

资料来源:彭博;公司文件;洲际交易所基准管理机构

数据截至

欧洲黄金ETF吸收了53.2吨增持量,并在该季度末,该地区的资产管理规模达到1,052.7吨。增持量同比增长53%。年初至今,欧洲产品一路领先,上半年占全球增持总量的83%。增持量暗示了地区地缘政治动荡。摇摆不定的意大利选举导致了漫长的谈判,最终在6月形成了民粹主义联盟。对央行政策方向的不确定性进一步刺激了投资者买入黄金为ETF来避险。但由于该地区的投资者缺乏来自以欧元计算的金价的明确信号,这种势头并不明显。

4月北美黄金ETF被大量增持,随后两个月被大幅减持,最终该地区第二季度出现了30.7吨的净减持量。这与2017年第二季度32.3吨的增持量形成鲜明对比。投资者似乎不屑理会糟糕的股市表现,以及美国及其主要贸易伙伴之间不断升级的贸易冲突。不断走强的美元是第二季度以美元计算的金价大跌的原因之一,并压制了消费情绪。年初至今,北美黄金ETF基本没有变化:持仓仅增加4.8吨至1,248.7吨。

亚洲黄金ETF进一步增长:第二季度16.7吨的增持量成绩骄人,使年初至今的总增持量达到10.8吨。中国的博时黄金开放式ETF继续增长,与此同时博时未上市交易黄金基金(I份额和D份额)的持仓量有所降低。该ETF超越了华安易富黄金ETF,成为中国最大的以黄金为依托的ETF,持仓量达30.9吨(截至第二季度末期)。年初至今,亚洲上市的黄金ETF总体持仓增长13%至95.6吨,主要原因是中国的增长。

金条和金币

2018年第二季度的全球金条和金币市场依然低迷。需求为247.6吨,同比持平,在年中阶段与3年平均水平一致:2018上半年需求量为509.1吨,而2015-2017的上半年均量为508.6吨。

价格下跌经常会引发投资者的反应,但是对于很多市场来说,由于本币疲软,即使该季度以美元计算的金价跌幅达5.5%,也未能转化成购买机会。但投资者对货币贬值的担忧也在某些市场成为了需求驱动因素,尤其是在中国和伊朗。

作为全球最大的金条和金币市场,由于黄金受益于日益紧张的贸易战言论导致的避险行为,中国的需求增长11%至69.5吨。 该季度人民币兑美元大幅贬值,跌幅达5%。股市暴跌:上证综指在上半年跌去14%。同比涨幅只是基于需求相对低迷的2017年第二季度。在过去5个季度里,金条和金币需求一直处于60-80吨的相对稳定区间。

中国也有一些重要的政策变化。为了提高市场透明度,进一步保护投资者,中国人民银行发布了与黄金相关的暂行管理办法草案,草案涉及了互联网黄金业务,黄金积存业务,黄金资产管理业务等方面的风险管理。这些管理办法草案将使中国人民银行对黄金产品——例如积存金——拥有更大的监管权,并更好地保护投资者。例如,黄金产品必须将黄金保存在上海黄金交易所批准的金库或中国人民银行批准的金融机构的金库中。

 

中国金条和金币投资:本币汇率和股市的下跌导致第二季度投资量增长11%

中国金条和金币投资:本币汇率和股市的下跌导致第二季度投资量增长11%

来源:金属聚焦公司;汤森路透GFMS;世界黄金协会

数据截至

虽然投资者在4月佛陀满月节期间的金币需求激增,但印度的需求同比下跌5%至39.3吨。政府对来源不明财富的高度重视继续吓跑了某些投资者,而孟买证券交易所敏感指数的大涨——上半年上涨4%——对其他投资者而言有很大吸引力,尤其是城市里的投资者。但从更大的角度来看,很多投资者认为,由于近期卢比贬值,国内金价相对昂贵:第二季度以卢比计算的金价平均同比上涨7.4%,环比上涨2%。在5月16日至6月13日的Adhik Maas期间不宜购买黄金,进一步削弱了购买活动。

泰国的需求为15.1吨,同比持平。以美元计算的金价的下跌被泰铢的贬值抵消,导致国内金价在该季度窄幅震荡。

越南黄金市场获得提振,原因是胡志明股指进入熊市,从5月底的历史高点下跌25%。金条和金币需求上涨7%至9.5吨。

土耳其的需求因经济前景恶化、货币贬值而大跌。 需求同比减半,环比下跌11%,原因是以土耳其里拉计算的国内金价在5月底涨至创纪录高点,几乎触及202土耳其里拉/克。土耳其迅速发展的经济和里拉贬值的威胁在最近几个季度创造了相对旺盛的金条和金币需求。金价在过去12个月里不断上涨,近期在汇率暴跌的背景下进一步大涨,让许多投资者难以承受。第二季度的新买入活动减少,正如在供应部分所解释的 , 随着投资者锁定金价上涨带来的利润,回收活动有所增加。6月的激烈大选和斋月的开始在该季度末期抑制了投资者的兴趣。

相比之下,伊朗衰退的经济、日益强烈的不安全感和几乎贬值一半的货币提振了金条和金币需求。需求大增至15.2吨——同比增长200%——达到2014年第一季度以来的最高季度水平。由于伊朗央行向市场增发了金币,金币需求颇为可观。金币在最近几个季度表现良好,并且不像金饰,无需缴纳9%的增值税。

 

避险行为促使伊朗金条和金币投资翻两番

避险行为促使伊朗金条和金币投资翻两番

来源:金属聚焦公司;汤森路透GFMS;世界黄金协会

数据截至

欧洲金条和金币需求同比下跌15%至33.5吨。 占欧洲市场大部分需求的德国的需求下跌了9%。这个因素加上相对疲软的第一季度需求,使欧洲的该上半年成为2008年以来的需求最低的上半年。该地区的金条交易商表示,对于意大利大选和欧洲央行加息的影响,零售投资者不像黄金ETF投资者那么担忧,在第二季度大部分时间里金价都高于3.5万欧元/千克(原因是欧元贬值),被认为相对昂贵。一些交易商报告称,随着该季度末期以欧元计算的金价大幅下跌,交易活动回升,但对欧洲第二季度的金条和金币需求已经有些于事无补了。

美国的市场需求在最近几个季度止步不前,继续低迷。虽然该季度的需求增长9%,但这仅仅反映了2017年第二季度疲软的需求。2018上半年的投资量仅为11.3吨,是2007年以来最疲软的开年。但美国金条交易商报告称,二级市场依然活跃,交易活动很健康。在该季度末期,以美元计算的金价跌至1,250美元/盎司的低点,零售投资者再次表现出兴趣。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Investment

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2018

1 August, 2018

Investment

Modest inflows into gold-backed ETFs were dominated by Europe; Q2 bar and coin demand was unchanged.

  • Muted ETF inflows were sharply lower y-o-y as US investors focused on domestic economic improvement
  • Bar and coin demand was barely changed amid mixed signals from gold prices, stock markets and geopolitics
  • Turkey saw a sharp decline, as rocketing local gold prices prompted a surge in recycling.
Tonnes Q2'17 Q2'18 YoY
Investment 310.3 281.4 -9%
Bar & coin 247.8 247.6 0%
 India 41.6 39.3 -5%
 Mainland China 62.6 69.5 11%
Gold-backed ETFs 62.5 33.8 -46%

ETFs

Global gold-backed ETFs saw another quarter of muted growth: inflows of 33.8t were considerably lower than the 62.5t increase during Q2 2017.  H1 inflows of 63t were the lowest since the first half of 2015, despite mounting global trade tensions and relatively volatile stock markets. By the end of H1, global holdings stood at 2,434.3t. ETFs have seen steady but modest investment over the last four quarters, with holdings increasing by an average of 27.2t per quarter. 

In something of a reversal of the Q1 trend, inflows in Q2 were directed towards European-listed funds while North American funds saw net outflows. Early in the year geopolitical concern (primarily surrounding tensions with North Korea) together with a weakening of the US dollar, made US investors skittish, driving investment into gold-backed ETFs. Around mid-April, these issues began to subside and the US economy showed continued improvement, taking the momentum out of US inflows. At the same time, Europe saw political instability escalate, and this – in conjunction with a marked depreciation of the euro – encouraged a flight to safety in European-listed gold-backed ETFs. 

European funds have attracted the bulk of inflows into ETFs so far in 2018

GDT Q2 2018 - Investment - European funds chart

Source: Bloomberg; Company Filings; ICE Benchmark Administration;

Data as of

European funds absorbed 53.2t of inflows and AUM in the region reached 1,052.7t by the end of the quarter. Inflows were up by 53% y-o-y. Y-t-d, European products have led the way, accounting for 83% of total global inflows during H1. Inflows were indicative of regional geo-political turbulence. Indecisive Italian elections led to protracted negotiations, finally culminating in the creation of a vocal populist coalition in June. Uncertainty over the direction of central bank policy was a further incentive for investors to seek refuge in gold-backed ETFs. But momentum was less than stellar as investors in the region lacked a clear signal from the euro-denominated price.

Healthy inflows into North American funds in April were followed by two months of strong outflows, resulting in the region seeing net Q2 outflows of 30.7t. This was in stark contrast to the 32.3t of inflows seen in Q2 2017. Investors seemed to shrug off poor equity market performance and the escalating trade conflict between the US and its major trading partners. Instead, the strengthening dollar, which contributed to the sharp decline in the US dollar gold price during Q2, weighed on sentiment. Y-t-d, North American funds are little changed: holdings are up by just 4.8t to 1,248.7t.

Asian funds saw further growth: an impressive 16.7t of inflows in Q2 took y-t-d inflows to 10.8t. China’s Bosera Gold open-ended ETF continued to grow, aided in part by the unwinding of Bosera’s unlisted funds (I and D Shares), and has leapfrogged Huaan Yifu to become China’s largest gold-backed ETF with holdings of 30.9t (as at end Q2). Holdings in Asian-listed ETFs as a group have grown 13% y-t-d to 95.6t, primarily due to growth in China. 

Bar and coin

The global bar and coin market remained subdued in Q2 2018. Demand was flat y-o-y at 247.6t and, at the halfway stage of the year, is bang in line with the three-year average: 509.1t in H1 2018 compared to the H1 average of 508.6t from 2015 to 2017. 

Price dips often tease out an investor response, but, for many markets, the 5.5% fall in the US dollar gold price over the quarter failed to translate into buying opportunities because of local currency weakness. Investor concerns over currency depreciation were, however, a driver of demand in some markets, most notably China and Iran.

China, the world’s largest bar and coin market, saw demand rise 11% to 69.5t as gold benefited from a flight to safety amidst increasingly tense trade-war rhetoric. The yuan weakened drastically against the US dollar, falling 5% over the quarter. And the stock market slumped: the Shanghai Stock Composite index dropped 14% in the first six months of the year. The y-o-y rise was from a relatively soft quarter in Q2 2017. Bar and coin demand has held in a relatively steady range over the last five quarters, hovering between 60 and 80 tonnes.

There were some important policy developments in China too. In a move to increase market transparency and boost investor protection, the People’s Bank of China (PBOC) announced draft regulations concerning the risk management practices of businesses which sell gold investment products over the internet, as well as the management of gold accumulation plans and gold asset management businesses. These draft regulations would provide the PBOC greater oversight of vaulted gold products – such as gold accumulation plans – and stronger investor protection. For example, a vaulted-gold product must have its gold kept at Shanghai Gold Exchange-approved vaults or the vault of a PBOC-approved financial institution.

China bar and coin investment: 11% growth in Q2 fuelled by currency and stock market weakness

GDT Q2 2018 - Investment - Chart China bar and coin

Source: Metals Focus; GFMS, Thomson Reuters; World Gold Council

Data as of

Despite a spurt of investor demand for coins around Akshaya Tritiya in April, demand in India fell 5% y-o-y to 39.3t. The government’s intense focus on unaccounted wealth continued to scare off some investors, while buoyant performance on the Bombay Stock Exchange Sensex –up 4% in the first six months of the year – was a significant draw for others, especially urban investors. But, more broadly, many investors viewed the local gold price as relatively expensive because of the recent rupee depreciation: the average rupee gold price in Q2 was 7.4% higher y-o-y and 2% higher q-o-q. The inauspicious period of Adhik Maas from 16 May to 13 June dampened activity further.  

Demand in Thailand was flat y-o-y at 15.1t. The fall in the US dollar gold price was offset by a fall in the Thai baht leaving the domestic gold price trading in a narrow range over the quarter.

The Vietnamese gold market enjoyed a boost when the Ho Chi Minh stock index entered a bear market, falling 25% from its all-time high in late May. Bar and coin demand rose 7% to 9.5t.  

Turkish demand suffered at the hands of a deteriorating economic outlook and a weak currency. Demand halved y-o-y and dropped 11% q-o-q as the Turkish lira gold price rose to a record high in late May, almost touching TRY202/g. Turkey’s briskly expanding economy and the threat of a weakening lira has created relatively buoyant bar and coin demand in recent quarters. Having bought into a rising gold price over the past 12 months, the recent leap higher off the back of a plummeting currency proved too much for many investors. Fresh buying activity fell in Q2 and, as explained in the supply section, recycling rose as investors locked in profits from gold’s price appreciation. The snap general election in June and the start of Ramadan dampened investor interest towards the end of the quarter.

By contrast, Iran’s weakening economy, growing sense of insecurity and a currency which has almost halved in value, boosted bar and coin demand. It shot up to 15.2t – a 200% increase y-o-y – to reach its highest quarterly level since Q1 2014. Coin demand was healthy as the Iranian central bank increased the amount of gold coins released to the market. Gold coins have performed well in recent quarters as, unlike gold jewellery, they do not attract 9% VAT.

Iranian bar and coin investment quadruples amid flight to safety

GDT Q2 2018 - Investment - Iranian bar and coin chart

Source: Metals Focus; GFMS, Thomson Reuters; World Gold Council

Data as of

European bar and coin demand slipped 15% y-o-y to 33.5t. Germany, which accounts for the lion’s share of the European market, saw demand fall 9%. This combined with a relatively soft Q1 to produce the weakest H1 since 2008. Bullion dealers in the region noted that retail investors were less concerned than ETF investors about the impact of the Italian elections and European Central Bank interest rate rises, and that a gold price above €35k/kg for much of Q2 (due to euro weakness) was perceived as relatively expensive. Some dealers reported an upturn in activity as the euro-denominated price fell sharply towards the end of the quarter, but it was too little too late for Europe’s Q2 bar and coin demand estimate. 

Having languished in recent quarters, the US market remained in the doldrums.  Although demand rose 9%, this was solely a reflection of an extremely weak Q2 2017. With investment of just 11.3t, H1 2018 is the weakest start to the year since 2007. US bullion dealers have, however, reported that the secondary market remains buoyant, with healthy two-way activity. And towards the end of the quarter, when the US dollar gold price reached lows of US$1,250/oz, retail investors showed signs of interest once more.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]