供应

黄金需求趋势2018第二季度

2018年08月01日

供应

在产量和回收活动增长的支撑下,第二季度的供应总量同比增长3%

  • 该季度是史上供应量最高的第二季度,上半年的金矿产量同比提高了4%
  • 第二季度金价走弱,净套保解除量为10吨;全球套保量现在为248吨
  • 在土耳其和伊朗的推动下,回收金供应量在第二季度增长4%
2017年第
2季度
2018年第
2季度
年同比变
化%
供应量 1,086.1 1,120.2 3%
金矿产量 811.4 835.5 3%
生产商净套保 -8.2 -10.0 -
回收金 282.9 294.7 4%

金矿产量

来自金矿生产的供应量在第二季度同比增长3%——从811.4吨增至835.5吨——是有史以来供应量最高的第二季度。上半年的金矿产量从1,571.7吨增至1,629.5吨(同比增长4%)。强劲的金矿产量主要归因于多个项目产能的持续扩大,以及黄金开采公司增加的资本支出(虽然依然处于历史低位)。

一些主要生产国产量的下滑被其他生产国产量的大幅增长超越。在全球领先的黄金生产国中国,2017年出台的环境改造法规继续影响着产量(同比下跌5%)。此外,中国生态环境部在当年6月发起了有史以来最大规模的合规检查。在美国,金罗斯Kettle River-Buckhorn金矿结束开采,以及巴里克内华达州焙烧炉的关停维护计划都抑制了生产水平(同比下跌8%)。TauTona和Cooke地下金矿——都是亏损金矿——的关闭使南非产量同比下滑5%。1 2

俄罗斯在第二季度的产量同比增长16%,原因是Natalka金矿产能的扩大支撑了马加丹、阿穆尔和伊尔库茨克地区的产量增长。印尼最大金矿Grasberg较高品位金矿的持续开采使全国产量同比增长18%。最大的同比增幅出现在加拿大,Brucejack、Rainy River和Moose River三大新开发项目产能的持续扩大将产量提高了21%。在坦桑尼亚,近年来围绕Acacia Mining的问题已经平息,总产量有恢复增长的迹象。3

 

第二季度一些国家的产出增长超过了其他国家的下降

第二季度一些国家的产出增长超过了其他国家的下降

来源:金属聚焦公司;世界黄金协会

黄金生产的前景似乎令人乐观。多家黄金生产商录得强劲的第二季度产量,有些生产商提高了2018年的指引数据。项目规划继续改善,主要原因是中小型开采公司的产量增长。多个项目在第二季度开始投产,有助于支撑全球产量水平。资本支出也在第二季度同比增长14%,这表明开采公司将继续坚持增加产量。但由于石油和钢铁(钢铁受到贸易关税的影响)等原料成本上涨,该季度的成本压力也在增加。这些压力目前没有对供应产生巨大影响,但压力持续的时间越长,影响就越大(金价目前依然低迷)。

生产商净套保

2018年第一季度净套保量达到32.2吨以后,黄金开采公司在第二季度的净套保解除量为10吨。4 第二季度金价疲软,加上现有的短期仓位到期,削弱了套保生产的动机。在第二季度末期,全球套保量为248吨。

套保依然是一种策略而非战略。 自2014年第一季度以来,出现净套保解除的季度数量和套保一样多。这表明黄金开采公司近年来的套保行为是一种策略而非战略。国内和国际金价的波动和具体项目的融资继续在套保决策过程中发挥关键作用。

 

生产商套保依然是一种策略而非战略

生产商套保依然是一种策略而非战略

来源:金属聚焦公司;世界黄金协会

数据截至

回收金

黄金回收量——尤其是用于换取现金的黄金——在第二季度增长4%,从282.9吨增至294.7吨。上半年的回收金供应量同比略有增长(575.3吨,去年同期为570.2吨)。

土耳其和伊朗是第二季度回收金增长的主要驱动因素。这两个国家货币的贬值推高了国内金价,促使消费者锁定持有黄金产生的利润。伊朗不断恶化的经济状况迫使一些消费者卖出黄金,从而支撑了该国的黄金回收活动。

作为全球第二大黄金消费国,印度的黄金回收量同比有所增长。 这种增长并不完全出人意料,因为在重要的播种季到来之前,农村地区的消费者会卖出黄金——就像往常一样——以获得购买农用设备和种子的资金 。来自后续收获活动的收入至少将有一部分被重新投资于黄金。这种季节性回收增幅如今比前几年更为明显,因为货币贬值推高了国内金价,成为消费者卖出黄金的动机之一。

在美国和欧洲等西方市场,黄金回收活动依然相对稳定。 靠近市场的库存的缩减、廉价抛售的缺失和国内金价的低迷,这些因素都不利于黄金回收活动变得活跃。

脚注

  1. thevault.exchange/?get_group_doc=143/1502785037-PR20170628AGARestructureSAOps.pdf

  2. thevault.exchange/?get_group_doc=245/1509510468-ReleasewithlogoSibanye-StillwatersconcludestheS189processrelatingtoCookeandBeatrixWestoperations1Nov2017.pdf

  3. 2017年3月,坦桑尼亚政府禁止Acacia Mining出口黄金/铜精矿,严重扰乱了生产。

  4. 2018年第一季度生产商净套保量已被上修,增加26.4吨,原因是一些黄金开采公司在第一季度最新交易数据发布之前公布了估算结果。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Supply

Gold Demand Trends Q2 2018

1 August, 2018

Supply

Q2 total supply was up 3% y-o-y, supported by production and recycling growth

  • Q2 was the highest second quarter on record, boosting mine production by 4% y-o-y during H1
  • Net de-hedging of 10t in Q2 as gold price weakened; global hedgebook now 248t
  • Recycled gold supply grew 4% in Q2, driven by Turkey and Iran
Tonnes Q2'17 Q2'18 YoY
Total supply 1,086.1 1,120.2 2%
Mine production 811.4 835.5 3%
Net producer hedging -8.2 -10.0 -
Recycled gold 282.9 294.7 4%

Mine production

Supply from gold mine production grew 3% y-o-y in Q2 – from 811.4t to 835.5t – the highest Q2 on our records. Looking at H1, mine production rose from 1,571.7t to 1,629.5t (4% y-o-y). This strength in mine output is mainly attributable to the continued ramp-up of several projects, as well as further capital expenditure from gold miners (albeit still at a historically low level).

Declines in some major producing nations were outweighed by substantial gains in others. China, the world’s leading producer of gold, environmental reforms introduced in 2017 continued to impact production (-5% y-o-y). Furthermore, in June the Ministry of Ecology and Environment (MEE) launched the largest ever number of compliance inspections. In the US, the completion of mining at Kinross Kettle River-Buckhorn and a planned shutdown for maintenance purposes at the Barrick Nevada roaster, dented production levels (-8% y-o-y). Closures at TauTona and Cooke underground – both loss-making operations – contributed to a 5% y-o-y decline in South African output.1 2

Russian production in Q2 rose 16% y-o-y as growth in the Magadan, Amur and Irkusk regions was supported by the ramp-up of Natalka. In Indonesia, continued mining of higher grades at the country’s biggest mine, Grasberg, saw national output rise 18% y-o-y. The largest y-o-y rise was seen in Canada, where the continued ramp-up of three greenfield projects, Brucejack, Rainy River and Moose River, boosted production by 21%. In Tanzania, recent issues surrounding Acacia Mining have stabilised, leading to green shoots of growth in overall production.3

 

Q2 output growth in some countries outweighs declines in others

Q2 output growth in some countries outweighs declines in other

Metals Focus; World Gold Council

The outlook for gold production appears optimistic.Several gold miners reported strong levels of Q2 production, with some raising guidance for 2018. And the project pipeline continues to improve, largely due to output growth from junior and mid-tier miners. Q2 saw several projects begin production, helping to support global output levels. Capital expenditure also increased 14% y-o-y during Q2, signalling a further commitment from miners to grow production. However, cost pressures also built up during the quarter due to higher raw material costs such as oil and steel, with the latter affected by trade tariffs. These pressures are not having a substantial impact on supply currently, but could have a greater impact the longer they continue (and the gold price remains subdued).

Net producer hedging

Following 32.2t of net hedging in Q1 2018, gold miners switched to 10t net de-hedging in Q2.  The weakness in the Q2 gold price reduced the incentive to hedge production, coupled with existing short-term positions reaching maturity. At the end of Q2 the global hedgebook stood at 248t.

Hedging remains tactical rather than strategic. Since Q1 2014, an equal number of quarters have seen de-hedging as hedging. This reveals the tactical, rather than strategic, nature of hedging by gold miners over recent years. Movements in the gold price – in local currency terms as well as internationally – continue to be a key factor in the hedging decision-making process, as does project-specific financing.

 

Producer hedging remains tactical rather than strategic

GDT Q2 2018 - Supply - Producer hedging chart

Source: Metals Focus; World Gold Council

Data as of

Recycled gold

Gold recycling – specifically gold exchanged for cash – grew by 4% in Q2, from 282.9t to 294.7t. Supply from recycling in H1 was marginally higher than H1 2017 (575.3t v. 570.2t).

Turkey and Iran were the primary drivers of gold recycling growth in Q2. Currency weakness in both countries boosted local gold prices, enticing consumers to lock in profits from their holdings. In Iran, recycling was supported by the country’s deteriorating economic situation, compelling some consumers to sell.

Recycling in India, the world’s second largest consumer of gold, was higher y-o-y. This increase is not entirely unexpected as ahead of the important sowing season consumers in rural communities sold gold – as they usually do – to fund farming equipment and seed purchases.Income from the subsequent harvest will be at least partially reinvested in gold. This seasonal uplift is more pronounced than in recent years due to currency weakness boosting local prices, and this has created another incentive for consumers to sell gold.

In western markets, such as the US and Europe, gold recycling remained relatively stable. A combination of depleted near-market stocks, an absence of distress selling and an anaemic local gold price, created unfavourable conditions for gold recycling to flourish.

Footnotes

  1. thevault.exchange/?get_group_doc=143/1502785037-PR20170628AGARestructureSAOps.pdf

  2. thevault.exchange/?get_group_doc=245/1509510468-ReleasewithlogoSibanye-StillwatersconcludestheS189processrelatingtoCookeandBeatrixWestoperations1Nov2017.pdf

  3. In March 2017, the Tanzanian government banned Acacia Mining from exporting gold/copper concentrate, severely disrupting output.

  4. Q12018 net producer hedging has been revised up by 26.4t owning to the estimates being published before prior to the release of Q1 trading updates by some gold miners.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]