金饰

黄金需求趋势 2020年第一季度

2020年04月30日

金饰

新冠肺炎和金价飙升的双重影响令全球金饰需求暴跌39%

  • 第一季度金饰需求降至325.8吨的历史低点,同比下降39%
  • 按价值计算,第一季度全球金饰需求降至166亿美元,为全球金融危机余波影响下2010年第二季度以来的最低水平
  • 作为最大的金饰市场,封锁措施令中国的金饰需求在第一季度受到重挫——需求同比下降了65%
2019年第
1季度
2020年第
1季度
  年同比变化
世界总量 533.4 325.8 -39%
印度 125.4 73.9 -41%
中国大陆 183.6 64.0 -65%

因为许多国家本地黄金价格飙升,同时为了遏制冠状病毒的蔓延而关闭市场,导致金饰消费在第一季度出现大幅下降。一季度的全球金饰需求创下记录新低,同比下降39%,至325.8吨。这比558.1吨的五年季度平均水平低了42%。尽管季度平均金价处于每盎司1582.8美元的高位,但全球金饰需求价值仍同比下降26%,降至166亿美元的10年低点。

由于冠状病毒的蔓延,以及金价高企和急剧上涨的影响,全球金饰市场几乎无一例外地出现了同比下滑的情况。

 

对冠状病毒在全球产生影响的担忧推动金价上涨

对冠状病毒在全球产生影响的担忧推动金价上涨

来源: CNN, Datastream, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会, 世界卫生组织; 版权和其他权利

注意:指数水平 100 = 2020年1月1日

 

中国

中国第一季度金饰需求同比下降65%至64吨。今年1月爆发的新冠肺炎疫情使中国的金饰需求降至13年来的最低水平。上海黄金交易所(SGE)季度平均金价达到历史最高,另外大范围的封锁措施也在一定程度上限制了消费者的收入,这些都造成了重大的影响——正如我们在最近的报告《中国黄金市场》中所讨论的,黄金价格和消费支出是中国金饰需求的两个基本驱动因素。 

在这个季度的大部分时间里,购物中心都很冷清。由于停工和居高不下的通货膨胀,家庭收入受到限制,非必需品支出也随之受限。根据国家统计局(NBS)的数据,中国第一季度GDP同比下降6.8%,可支配收入同比平均下降3.9%。在这种情况下,中国消费者将生活必需品,而不是黄金首饰等休闲用品的支出放在首位。因此虽然中国的整体零售销售同比下降了19%,但食品和饮料等必需品的销售额却增长了13%。

与此同时,本地黄金季度平均价格创下了自2002年上海黄金交易所成立以来的最高水平。AU9999和AU(T+D)合约的第一季度均价均创下355元人民币/克的历史新高。高金价进一步压低了中国的金饰需求。

受线上销售渠道的支持,重量更轻、设计新颖的创新产品的表现继续优于其他类别。由于民众被限制在家中,中国的金饰零售商正在积极寻找新的销售渠道;网络营销和直播销售开始流行起来。这些渠道为低迷的金饰销售提供了一些支持,尤其是新颖的24K硬金产品。正如我们在2019年北京珠宝展的报告中所提到的,与传统上厚重的24K黄金产品相比,这些金饰以其精美的设计、更轻的重量和相对较低的件单价吸引了许多年轻消费者(网上购物的最大群体)。考虑到本季度消费者预算的限制,这种价格优势是此类产品保持其需求韧性的关键。

中国一家领先的金饰零售商告诉我们,2月底他们的在线商店在推出后的两天内就吸引了大量新客户。轻巧的24K硬金产品尤其受欢迎。

但阴云密布的金饰市场或许还有一线希望。金饰行业可能会加速拥抱新技术应用。如上所述,在线渠道对于许多金饰商在第一季度的生存至关重要,这可能会刺激其在数字平台建设方面的投资。正如我们在全球消费者研究报告《2019年零售黄金洞察》中强调的,中国的Z世代消费者崇尚科技,但与黄金的情感联系较弱;因此,这些技术进步可能有助于提高黄金在这些受众中的受欢迎程度。

中国政府刺激消费的措施和金饰零售商的促销活动,可能会对中国第二季度及以后的金饰需求形成支撑。例如,今年3月份,许多城市发放了价值数十亿元人民币的电子代金券,以刺民众在激餐饮和购物等休闲活动方面的消费。周大福等中国领先的金饰零售商在许多产品上提供折扣优惠,以进一步支持销售。尽管这些措施在提升中国金饰需求方面的效果还有待观察,但据国家统计局报道,与2月份相比,3月份金银珠宝销售额同比降幅有所收窄。 1

 

应对冠状病毒的封锁措施和金价的高企降低了中国和印度的黄金需求

应对冠状病毒的封锁措施和金价的高企降低了中国和印度的黄金需求

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

印度

受货币贬值和经济增长放缓的影响,印度金价上涨,而新冠肺炎疫情更是加剧了当地金价的涨幅,导致印度一季度金饰需求下降了41%至73.9吨,为11年新低。尽管婚礼季在本季度初一定程度上提升了需求,但2月中旬以来当地金价的大幅上涨令当地消费者延缓了金饰采购,令整体需求放缓。第一季度后期,封锁政策生效导致当地金饰市场遭到重创:3月份的需求下降了60-80%。

第一季度当地平均金价为41,124卢比/10克,同比上涨26.6%。当地黄金价格在2020年第一季度继续上涨,并突破了之前的历史高位。卢比走弱,加上美元黄金价格上涨,导致3月份当地黄金价格创下了44,315卢比/10克的历史新高。

消费者对经济增长的担忧也影响了需求。自2019年第一季度以来,印度GDP增速一直呈下降趋势,今年第一季度,复苏的迹象依旧微弱。在这样的背景下,消费者在非必需品上的支出下降了。今年3月爆发的新冠肺炎疫情使这种情况变得更加严重。

城市中产阶级消费者和农村消费者在打开钱包购买黄金时变得更加谨慎,令3月初金饰店的客流量有所减少。随后,零售商店在3月中旬逐渐关停,本季度最后一周则开始实施全面封锁。印度储备银行在2020年2月27日至3月7日期间对13个城市进行的调查显示,尽管本季度前两个月消费者信心略有上升,但人们对整体经济形势、就业前景和家庭收入仍然持悲观态度。2

尽管第一季度需求已受到重创,但由于封锁期将延续到5月份,我们预计新冠肺炎的影响将在第二季度更为严重。这将影响到主要购买季佛陀满月节期间以及与婚礼相关的购买活动对黄金的需求。尽管一些品牌零售商在报告中称,人们对其线上平台的兴趣有所增加,但封锁措施带来的物流问题,使它们难以履行产生的订单。

中东和土耳其

一季度,土耳其金饰消费同比下降10%,至8.6吨。尽管与2019年第一季度相比,需求有所下降,但面对当地金价在整个第一季度屡创新高的现状,需求仍相对具有良好的韧性。造成这种现象的部分原因是出于上升的22克拉黄金首饰的避险需求,另一部分原因是由于比较的基数是非常疲软的2019年第一季度。然而,由于政府从4月份开始实施封锁措施,绝大多数金饰店关闭,这使得第二季度的金饰需求前景非常黯淡。

中东地区的金饰需求同比下降9%,至42.9吨。该地区的市场也受到了新冠疫情的影响。伊朗比该地区大多数其他市场更早、更严重地受到了疫情的重创,这反映在该国金饰需求下降了20%,仅为7.7吨上。

埃及再一次成为例外:本季度的金饰需求同比持平,为6.9吨。尽管疫情仍在继续,埃及仍选择不实施全面封锁,这使当地市场免受类似中东地区其他国家遭受的损失。不过,第二季度的前景不太乐观,因为中东地区封锁措施对经济的影响预计会持续下去。

西方国家

今年第一季度,美国金饰需求出现自2016年第四季度以来的首次同比下降。过去3年美国金饰消费的健康增长突然出现逆转,需求同比下滑3.7%,至23.1吨,降幅几乎全部由新冠肺炎疫情导致。

由于各州的针对遏制疫情蔓延采取的限制措施令美国经济萎缩,因此在1月和2月的上涨之后,3月份美国的金饰需求出现大幅下降:到一季度末,美国大部分地区都受到了一定程度的限制。随之而来的失业率上升和消费者对可自由支配支出的谨慎态度只会放大疫情对美国金饰需求的影响。尽管线上需求的增长带来了一定的补偿,但目前通过在线渠道实现的销售规模太小,不足以产生显著影响。

欧洲的金饰需求也同样疲软:该地区普遍出现两位数的下降。该地区第一季度金饰需求同比下降15%,至10.8吨的历史最低水平。毫无意外,损失最严重的是意大利(同比下降22%)和英国(同比下降20%)。在今年3月新冠疫情对市场形成打击之前,英国1月和2月的零售销售就已经比较疲软。到本季度末,所有四个黄金纯度检验标记办公室都关闭了,这在历史上还是第一次。

亚洲其他地区

规模较小的东亚市场在第一季度都出现了两位数的跌幅,原先引发需求疲软的主因 - 高金价被高金价新冠疫情所取代。印度尼西亚(下降55%)和泰国(下降45%)的损失尤其严重。

日本金饰需求的抗跌能力相对较强,一季度同比降幅仅为10%。由于在第一季度实施的限制措施较少,需求仅略有下降,至3.1吨。不过,第二季度的前景却不太乐观:自3月底以来,市场需求增长已经明显放缓,由于新冠肺炎病例数量急剧上升,日本首相安倍晋三在4月份宣布国家进入紧急状态

 

尽管黄金价格高企,但第一季度金饰需求的美元价值却跌至10年低点

尽管黄金价格高企,但第一季度金饰需求的美元价值却跌至10年低点

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Jewellery

Gold Demand Trends Q1 2020

30 April, 2020

Jewellery

Twin effects of COVID 19 and soaring gold prices caused global jewellery demand to plummet 39%

  • Q1 jewellery demand fell to a record low in our series of 325.8t, 39% lower y-o-y
  • In value terms, Q1 global demand fell to US$16.6bn, its lowest since Q2 2010 in the aftermath of the Global Financial Crisis 
  • China, the largest jewellery market, was hardest-hit by lockdown measures in Q1 – demand  was slashed by 65% y-o-y.
Tonnes Q1'19 Q1'20   YoY
World total 533.4 325.8 -39%
India 125.4 73.9 -41%
China, P.R.:Mainland 183.6 64.0 -65%

Jewellery consumption plunged in Q1 as local gold prices in various countries rocketed and markets were shuttered in efforts to contain the coronavirus pandemic. Global jewellery demand hit the lowest quarterly total in our series, dropping 39% y-o-y to 325.8t. This is 42% below the five-year quarterly average of 558.1t. The value of global demand sank 26% y-o-y to a 10-year low of US$16.6bn, in spite of a quarterly average gold price of US$1,582.8/oz.

Almost without exception, jewellery markets across the globe recorded y-o-y losses as the impact of the coronavirus compounded the effect of high, and steeply rising, gold prices.

 

Fears over global impact of coronavirus helped drive gold prices up

Fears over global impact of coronavirus helped drive gold prices up

Sources: CNN, Datastream, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council, WHO; Disclaimer

Note: Index level 100 =01/01/2020

China

China’s Q1 jewellery demand fell 65% y-o-y to 64t. The COVID-19 outbreak, which took a meaningful hold in January, slashed jewellery demand to its lowest for more than 13 years. The highest quarterly average Shanghai Gold Exchange (SGE) gold price ever, combined with consumers’ budgets being limited by widespread lockdowns, also took their toll – price and consumer expenditure being two key fundamental drivers of China’s jewellery demand, as discussed in our recent report China’s gold market.  

Shopping malls were desolate for most of the quarter. Spending on non-necessities was limited as household incomes were restricted by a combination of the shutdown and stubbornly high inflation. According to the National Bureau of Statistics (NBS), with China’s Q1 GDP declining by 6.8% y-o-y, disposable income was 3.9% lower y-o-y on average. In such circumstances, Chinese consumers prioritised expenditure on necessities rather than on recreational items such as gold jewellery. While overall retail sales in China fell by 19% y-o-y, sales of necessities such as food and drinks rose 13%.

Meanwhile, the quarterly average local gold price reached a new record since the establishment of the SGE in 2002. The Q1 average price for both AU9999 and AU(T+D) contracts reached record highs of RMB355/g. This drove jewellery demand down further.

Innovative products with lighter weights and fashionable designs continued to outperform other categories as online platforms provided some support. With the public confined to their homes, Chinese jewellery retailers were actively searching for new sales channels; and online marketing and livestreaming became popular. These channels provided an element of support for jewellery sales, especially innovative hard 24K products. 24K products. As we mentioned in our report on the 2019 Beijing Jewellery Fair, these pieces have already attracted many young consumers (the largest segment of online shoppers) with their intricate designs, lighter weights and relatively low per-piece prices compared with chunky traditional 24K products. This price advantage was vital to the category’s resilience, given the limitations of consumers’ budgets during the quarter.

One of China’s leading jewellery retailers told us that their digital store attracted a substantial number of new customers within two days of its late February launch. And light, 24K hard products were particularly popular.  

But the clouded jewellery market may have some silver-linings. Jewellers’ adoption of technology is likely to accelerate. As mentioned above, online channels were vital to many jewellers’ survival in Q1, which may encourage investment in building digital platforms. As we highlighted in our Global consumer research report, Retail gold insights 2019, China’s Gen Z consumers are highly technologically-savvy, but less emotionally connected with gold; such technological advances could therefore help improve gold’s popularity among this audience.

Consumption stimulating policies from the Chinese government and promotions by jewellery retailers could be supportive for China’s jewellery demand in Q2 and beyond. For instance, in March, many cities handed out e-vouchers worth billions of renminbi to boost leisure spending on activities such as dining and shopping. Leading Chinese jewellery retailers such as Chow Tai Fook offered discounts on a wide range of products to further support sales. While the effectiveness of these measures in boosting Chinese jewellery demand remains to be seen, sales of gold, silver and diamond jewellery posted a narrower y-o-y decline in March compared with February, according to the NBS. 1

 

Coronavirus lockdown and high gold prices slashed demand in China and India

Coronavirus lockdown and high gold prices slashed demand in China and India

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

India 

Q1 jewellery demand fell 41% to an eleven-year low of 73.9t as COVID-19 compounded the impact of higher domestic gold prices amid a depreciating currency and softer economic growth. Although the wedding season lifted demand early in the quarter, a sharp increase in local gold prices from mid-February led to a slowdown in demand as consumers held back on purchases. Later in the quarter the market suffered as the lockdown took effect: demand in March slumped by between 60-80%.

The Q1 average price of Rs41,124/10g in Q1 was 26.6% higher y-o-y. The local gold price continued its upward trajectory in Q1 2020 and breached previous historical highs. A weaker rupee, combined with a rising dollar gold price, resulted in the local gold price closing at an all-time high of Rs44,315/10g in March.

Concerns around economic growth impacted demand. India’s GDP growth has been on a downward trajectory since Q1 2019 and green shoots of recovery were sparse in Q1. Against such a backdrop, consumer spending on non-essential items declined. This was accentuated by the outbreak of COVID-19 in March. Middle-class urban consumers and rural consumers became more cautious in opening their wallets to purchase gold, and footfall to jewellery stores slowed early in March. This was followed by a gradual closing of retail stores mid-month, before full lockdown was imposed in the final week of the quarter. According to a Reserve Bank of India (RBI) survey conducted across 13 cities between 27 February and 7 March 2020, although consumer confidence increased slightly in the first two months of the quarter, sentiment on the general economic situation, employment scenario and household income remained pessimistic.2

While Q1 demand was hard hit, we expect the impact of COVID-19 to be more severe in the second quarter, as the lockdown extends into May. This will impact gold demand during the key buying festival of Akshaya Tritiya, as well as wedding-related purchases. Although some branded retailers have reported increased interest in their online platforms, logistical issues imposed by lockdown measures have made it difficult to fulfil the orders they generate.

Middle East & Turkey

Turkish jewellery consumption fell by 10% y-o-y in Q1 to 8.6t. Although demand was lower in comparison with Q1 2019, it was relatively resilient in the face of local gold prices hitting new highs throughout Q1. This was partly due to safe-haven demand for 22 carat gold jewellery, and partly due to the comparison with a very weak Q1 2019. However, the Q2 outlook is negative as the government began to impose lockdowns in April, which have closed the vast majority of jewellery stores.

Jewellery demand in the Middle East was 9% lower y-o-y at 42.9t. Markets across the region were also disrupted by coronavirus. Iran was hit by the virus earlier, and more severely, than most other markets in the region, and this  is reflected in the 20% decline in demand to 7.7t. 

Egypt was again something of an outlier: demand was unchanged from Q1 2019 at 6.9t. Despite the ongoing pandemic, Egypt elected not to undertake a total lockdown and this insulated the market from the losses sustained across the rest of the region. The outlook for Q2 is less positive, however, as the economic impact of the region’s lockdown is expected to take hold. 

The West

Q1 saw the first y-o-y decline in US jewellery demand since Q4 2016. The healthy growth in US jewellery consumption over the last three years abruptly reversed in Q1. Demand slipped 3.7% y-o-y to 23.1t, the decline being almost purely COVID-related.

After gains in January and February, demand fell sharply in March as state-level restrictions triggered the downturn: by quarter-end, much of the US was under some degree of restriction. The consequent jump in unemployment and caution towards discretionary spending only magnified the impact on demand. While there was some compensation from growth in online demand, the volume of sales being made via this channel is currently too small to make a notable impact. 

Jewellery demand in Europe was similarly weak: double-digit declines were common across the region. Q1 demand fell 15% y-o-y to a record low for our series of 10.8t. Unsurprisingly, losses were most pronounced in Italy (-22% y-o-y) and the UK (-20% y-o-y). Retail sales in the UK had already been weak in January and February before COVID-19 hit the market in March.  By quarter-end, all four hallmarking offices had closed for the first time in history. 

Other Asia

The smaller east Asian markets all sustained double-digit losses in Q1, with price-driven weakness giving way to the impact of coronavirus. Indonesia (-55%) and Thailand (-45%) suffered particularly severe losses. 

Japan was relatively resilient, with y-o-y losses contained to ‘just’ 10%. Demand was modestly lower at 3.1t as few restrictions were imposed during Q1. The prospects for Q2, however, are less optimistic: the market has seen a significant slowdown since the end of March and PM Shinzo Abe declared a state of emergency in April as the number of COVID-19 cases roses sharply.

 

US$ value of Q1 jewellery demand sank to a 10-year low despite lofty gold price

US$ value of Q1 jewellery demand sank to a 10-year low despite lofty gold price

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]