供应

2019全年及第四季度黄金需求趋势

2020年01月30日

供应

2019年,总黄金供应量同比增长2%;黄金价格的表现提振了回收金和金矿商套期保值的数量

  • 2019年,总黄金供应量同比增长2%,至4,776.1吨,这是年度总供应量连续第二次小幅增长
  • 2019年金矿产量下降1%,至3,464吨,为2008年以来产量的首次同比下降
  • 由于金价从6月份开始上涨,回收金的供应量同比增长了11%。
2018 2019 年同比变化
供应量 4,673.0 4,776.1 2%
金矿产量 3,509.3 3,463.7 -1%
生产商净套保 -12.5 8.3 -   
回收金 1,176.1 1,304.1 11%

2019年总黄金供应量略有增加——同比增长2%,至4,776.1吨。这一增长应归因于黄金价格在过去一年中的表现,主要是因为价格的上涨对回收金产生了影响,同时也在一定程度上对净套保产生了影响。虽然金矿产量同比下降1%,但回收金大幅增加(同比增长11%),达到了2012年以来的最高水平,提高了总供应量。适度的生产商净套保——自2016年以来首次实现净套保——也对总体供应做出了贡献。

金矿产量

2019年最后一个季度的金矿产量同比下降2%,至889.5吨。这是自2016年第四季度以来最低水平的第四季度金矿产量,并导致了全年的全面下滑:2019年各季度的金矿产量均出现同比下降。2019年金矿总产量为3,463.7吨,比2018年下降1%。这是自2008年以来首次出现年度金矿产量下降。

 

自2008年以来,金矿产量首次出现下降

自2008年以来,金矿产量首次出现下降

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

金矿产量的增长主要来自未知矿区的新建项目以及一些成熟项目的进展。 俄罗斯金矿产量在2019年同比增长了8%。新建项目开始产出(如Natalka等),以及一些成熟项目产量增加,都促进了总体产量的上升澳大利亚,由于几个金矿产量的增加,以及Mount Morgans和Cadia Valley等项目的扩张,金矿的总产量同比增长了3%。得益于监管环境和审批流程的改善,以及Copler项目的扩张,土耳其的金矿产量出现了大幅增长(同比增长66%)。近年来,政府对黄金开采业的支持力度加大,有助于减少该国的黄金贸易逆差。西非再一次证明了自己是金矿产量增长的动力。该地区其他几个国家,如加纳、布基纳法索和科特迪瓦等的黄金产量都有所增加。

但一些主要黄金生产国金矿产量的下降却抵消了这一增长。作为全球最大的黄金生产国,中国2019年的金矿产量同比下降了6%,这是连续第三年出现下降。中国的黄金生产主要受到近年来开始实施的严格的环境限制的制约。但随着该行业逐渐适应新的监管规定,在一段时间内产量的下降速度已经有所放缓。此外,金价上涨也加速了2019年的许多黄金开采计划。在南非,今年上半年的劳工行动大大减少了黄金方面的业务运营。虽然始于2018年11月的Beatrix、Kloof和Driefontein的罢工已于4月结束,但金矿生产在第三季度仍继续受到罢工余波的影响。在南美洲,当地社区和承包商之间的纠纷——比如墨西哥的Penasquito——也导致黄金产量较2018年有所降低。尽管该地区拥有大量健康的项目,但事实证明,要想获得社会许可是一件颇具挑战性的事情。

但由于Grasberg的活动,印度尼西亚对2019年全球金矿生产产生了最大的影响。Grasberg高品位矿石的枯竭,以及随后从露天开采到地下采矿的过渡是困扰全年的问题。但到2020年,这对全球产量的负面影响将有所减少。该项目一直在扩建其在Grasberg Block Cave的矿场,预计2020年后产量将有所增加。1

生产商净套保

第四季度,金矿商解除净套保达到了29.9吨。这主要是由于期权到期和现有对冲头寸的平仓所致。尽管在最后一个季度出现了大规模的套保解除,但2019年的净套保量仍有8.3吨。其他三个季度解除的套保量未能抵消第二季度49吨的套保量,当时矿商利用金价上涨来保护其项目融资,确保现金预付款。最新的估计数据显示,截至第三季度末,全球金矿商套期保值的账面价值为265吨。

对金价大幅上涨的适度套保反应。2019年,以美元计算的黄金年平均价格上涨了10%,是2011年以来的最大涨幅。许多地方黄金价格的涨幅甚至更大——尤其是以主要生产国货币计价的黄金价格,今年以来,这些货币兑美元的汇率走弱——其中一些达到了新的创纪录水平。乍一看,这似乎违反常理:从6月开始的2019年黄金价格大幅上涨本应使套期保值更具吸引力。尽管今年出现了一些新的套保操作(或对现有头寸进行重组),但矿商们似乎普遍倾向于采取“观望”策略,他们更愿意先看看金价是否会进一步上涨,然后再对未来生产做出承诺。

回收金

今年第四季度,回收金的供应量同比增长了16%,总量达到了335吨。这使得2019年回收金的年供应量达到了1,304.1吨,为2012年以来的最高水平,而当时金价要高得多。

 

作为对2019年金价上涨的回应,回收金供应量有所增加

作为对2019年金价上涨的回应,回收金供应量有所增加

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

尽管需求下降,但由于价格上涨,回收金的供应量猛增。价格是推动回收金供应增加的主要因素:众所周知,黄金价格的变化与回收水平变化之间存在负相关关系。2019年,美元黄金年平均价格上涨10%,这自然会引起消费者的关注。2  在一些关键的消费市场,情况尤其如此。在这些市场中,本币兑美元的走弱导致当地黄金价格涨幅更大,而在印度等一些市场,金价更是创下了历史新高。

在南亚、东亚以及中东地区,回收金供应出现了大幅增长。印度回收金的增幅是整个亚洲最大的,其国内金价突破了此前的纪录高点,并一直保持在较高水平。该年年底,印度国内黄金价格略高于3.9万卢比/10克,比2018年底高出近24%。在中东,尤其是在今年下半年,土耳其和伊朗的回收金数量均出现了明显的同比增长。在伊朗,里亚尔兑美元的汇率暴跌,消费者争先恐后地抓住当地金价上涨的机会获利。

脚注

  1.  基于期末伦敦金银市场协会(LBMA)的黄金价格(PM)。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Supply

Gold Demand Trends Full year and Q4 2019

30 January, 2020

Supply

Total supply up 2% y-o-y in 2019; recycling and producer hedging boosted by gold price performance

  • Total supply increased by 2% y-o-y in 2019 to 4,776.1t, the second consecutive marginal increase in annual supply
  • Mine production fell 1% to 3,464t in 2019, the first y-o-y decline in output since 2008
  • Recycled gold supply rose by 11% y-o-y in response to the gold price rally that began in June.
Tonnes 2018 2019 YoY
Total supply 4,673.0 4,776.1 2%
Mine production 3,509.3 3,463.7 -1%
Net producer hedging -12.5 8.3    -
Recycled gold 1,176.1 1,304.1 11%

Total supply was slightly higher in 2019 – up 2% y-o-y to 4,776.1t. This growth was attributable to the price performance of gold over the year, primarily through its impact on recycling, but also on net hedging to a certain extent. While mine production fell by 1% y-o-y, a sharp increase in gold recycling to its highest level since 2012 (+11% y-o-y) helped boost higher total supply. Modest net producer hedging – the first year of net hedging since 2016 – also contributed to overall supply. 

Mine production

Mine production in the final quarter of 2019 fell 2% y-o-y to 889.5t. This was the lowest level of Q4 mine output since Q4’16 and resulted in a clean sweep: y-o-y declines in all quarters in 2019. Gold mine production totalled 3,463.7t in 2019, 1% lower than in 2018. This is the first annual decline in production since 2008.

First year-on-year decline in mine production since 2008

First year-on-year decline in mine production since 2008

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

Production growth was largely from greenfield and brownfield development. Russian gold mine production saw an 8% increase y-o-y in 2019. The ramp-up of greenfield sites – such as Natalka – and increases at several brownfield sites contributed to the growth in output. Similarly, in Australia, aggregate mine production rose by 3% y-o-y owing to higher production at several mines and the ramp up of projects such as Mount Morgans and Cadia Valley. Mine production in Turkey leapt (+66% y-o-y) due to improvements in the regulatory environment and permitting process, as well as expansion at the Copler project. In recent years the government has become more supportive towards the gold mining industry, helping to reduce the country’s trade deficit in gold. West Africa again proved to be an engine of growth for mine production. Several of the region’s nations, such as Ghana, Burkino Faso and Côte d'Ivoire, all saw increased gold production.

But this was outweighed by declines in some top producing nations. In China, the world’s largest producer, mine output fell 6% y-o-y in 2019, the third consecutive year of decline. Chinese gold production was hampered primarily by the strict environmental restrictions which have come into force in recent years. But the rate of decline has been slowing for some time as the industry becomes compliant with new regulations. In addition, the rising gold price accelerated many gold mining plans in 2019. In South Africa, industrial action in the first half of the year significantly curtailed operations. While the strikes at Beatrix, Kloof and Driefontein – which began in November 2018 – ended in April, mine production continued to feel the after-effects well into Q3. In South America, disputes between local communities and contractors – such as at Peñasquito in Mexico – also led to lower production compared to 2018. While there is a healthy pipeline of projects in this region, obtaining a social licence to operate has proved challenging.

But Indonesia had the biggest impact on global mine production in 2019 due to the activity at Grasberg. The exhaustion of higher-grade ore at Grasberg and its subsequent transition from open pit to underground mining was a constant issue throughout the year. But this drag on global production will not be felt to the same extent in 2020. The project has been ramping up its Grasberg Block Cave mine where output is expected to improve after 2020.1

Net producer hedging

In Q4, net producer de-hedging amounted to 29.9t. This was mostly due to options expirations and closing of existing hedging positions. Despite the sizeable de-hedging in the final quarter, 2019 saw a modest 8.3t of net hedging. De-hedging in the other three quarters failed to offset the 49t of hedging in Q2, when miners took advantage of a higher gold price in order to protect project financing and secure cash prepayments. Latest available estimates put the global hedge book at 265t at the end of Q3.

Modest hedging reaction to substantial gold price rises. In 2019, the annual average gold price – in US dollars – grew by 10%, the largest increase since 2011. The increase in many local gold prices was even greater – particularly in key producer currencies, which weakened against the US dollar during the year – with some reaching new record levels. At first this may seem counterintuitive; the impressive gold price rally of 2019, which began in June, should have made hedging more attractive. And while some fresh hedging (or restructuring of existing positions) was seen during the year, it appears that miners were broadly comfortable to adopt a “wait-and-see” approach, preferring to see if the gold price would rise further before committing their future production.

Recycled gold

Recycled gold supply rose 16% y-o-y in Q4, totalling 335t. This brought the annual supply of recycled gold to 1,304.1t in 2019, the highest since 2012 when the US dollar gold price was significantly higher.

Gold recycling rose in response to the price rally in 2019

Gold recycling rose in response to the price rally in 2019

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

While demand faltered, recycled gold supply jumped in response to price gain. Price was the overwhelming driver of this rise: the negative relationship between changes in the gold price and changes in recycling levels is well known. In 2019, the 10% jump in the annual average US dollar gold price understandably caught the attention of consumers.2 This was especially the case in some key consumer markets where currency weakness against the US dollar generated even greater local gold price gains and in some markets, such as India, led to record price levels.

Recycled gold supply saw sizeable increases in South and East Asia, as well as in the Middle East. India saw the largest up-tick in recycling across Asia, as the gold price blew past the previous record high and remained at elevated levels. The local gold price finished the year just above Rs39,000/10g, almost 24% higher than at the end of 2018. In the Middle East, both Turkey and Iran saw notable y-o-y increases in recycling, particularly in the second half of the year. In Iran, as the rial collapsed against the US dollar, consumers rushed to seize on gains in the local gold price.

Footnotes

  1. Based on end-of-period LBMA Gold Price (PM).

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]