黄金作为一种资产类别

黄金是一种流动性强但稀缺的资产,它不需要任何的支付承诺。作为一项投资,它在投资组合中扮演四个基本角色:

  • 一种资产多元化组合产品,可以减轻市场风险时的损失

  • 一种长期回报的来源

  • 一种没有信用风险的流动性资产,其表现优于法定货币

  • 一种提高整体投资组合表现的手段。

我们的分析显示,在过去十年中,在平均养老基金投资组合中增加2%-10%的黄金投资,既能增加投资回报,也能降低波动性。

如何投资黄金

投资黄金的方式多种多样。投资者应考虑其所在市场提供的产品选择以及适合其自身情况的投资形式。

投资性金条和金币

最简单的黄金投资方式之一是通过银行或信誉良好的经销商购买投资性金条和金币。通过这种形式购买黄金时,投资者支付的价格会高于现货黄金价格,并且投资者必须考虑交付、存放和保险问题。过去十年,小型金条和金币约占年度黄金投资需求的三分之二,占全球黄金需求的四分之一左右。

投资性金币(也称为金币)通常由政府发行并且具有面值。它们的形式各异,而其价值则取决于其黄金含量:它们的纯度一般介于91.67%(22K)到99.99%(24K)之间。

投资性金条可按1g、10g、20g、50g、100g和1000g面额以及1、10、100和400金衡盎司购买。这些金条都由行业认可的制造商制造并且纯度介于99.5% - 99.99%之间。大型机构通常信赖伦敦合格交割标准(LGD)金条 ,LGD金条是伦敦清算用标准金条,重约400金衡盎司。

黄金投资帐户

金库黄金是为投资者存放于专业金库内的投资性黄金(金条或金币)。金库黄金的购买者无需自己保管黄金便可获得其购买黄金的完全所有权。目标客户主要是个人投资者,包括从大众市场客户到高净值个人。

金库黄金为客户提供的优势在于其将实物黄金所有权与现代投资产品相结合。投资者获得黄金的直接所有权,但不会面临常见的相关挑战,例如寻找值得信赖的经销商、运输和安全保管黄金以及获取来源和质量证明以供转售(无需含量测定)。

黄金储蓄计划

定期黄金储蓄计划可通过定期购买(例如每周或每月)来帮助客户持有黄金。黄金储蓄计划提供商会代表客户安全地存放好他们的黄金,并且这些计划通常面向大众市场消费者,因为最低投资额和定期储蓄额都比较低。

客户借助黄金储蓄计划追求不同的目标。有些客户使用这些计划,以小额定期投资方式增加自己的黄金持有量。因此,他们关注的是黄金的财务收益,将其用作一种基础资产、储蓄工具或使投资多元化以及降低风险的手段。小额定期投资的均摊成本的效果也提供了另外一种优势,因为投资是随着时间逐渐积累的,而投资者受短期价格波动的影响较低。

黄金凭证

黄金凭证为客户证明其存放在专业金库的实物黄金所有权。客户会收到注有其姓名的个人凭证以证明他们的所有权,并要求他们在销售或提取所持有黄金时出具该凭证。黄金凭证通常面向富裕的个人投资者开放。

黄金凭证对于想要拥有实物黄金但又无需(立即)占有黄金的投资者来说十分便利。总成本相对较低,因为这种所有权通常由集中分配式的大量金条提供,溢价低于单个金条。

黄金ETF和类似产品

以实物黄金为依托的黄金交易所交易基金(ETF)、交易所交易商品(ETC)及类似产品都属于投资黄金的交易所交易投资工具。它们约占黄金投资需求的三分之一。实物黄金ETF的交易方式类似于通过交易所买卖公司股票。实物黄金ETF同时面向个人和机构投资者,价格通常会追踪现货黄金价格的表现。

实物黄金ETF允许投资者通过现代投资产品的便利获取黄金价格风险敞口。购买黄金ETF份额的客户不必直接交易实物黄金,也无需考虑其持有黄金的安全保管事宜;他们可以像购买上市公司股票一样,方便快捷地购买黄金ETF份额。

黄金期货、期权和远期交易

黄金期货是按指定条款(包括价格、数量、质量和日期)在未来某时购买或销售黄金的协议。黄金期货属于标准化合约,在受监管的交易所内进行交易,可让投资者灵活做多或做空黄金。通常企业客户会运用黄金期货来进行风险管理,或是机构投资者将其用于投机目的。

由于专业市场参与者交易产生大量合约,所以黄金期货市场通常流动性和效率都极高。期货交易通过中央结算机构结算,结算机构要求客户存入保证金。这增强了投资者的安全保障,降低了交易对手风险,可让他们无需进行尽职调查即可交易。期货交易收取的费用和佣金相对较低。

黄金期权是一种合约,给予投资者在未来按照特定条款(例如价格)购买或销售黄金的权利。与期货的不同之处在于,投资者没有行使期权的义务。期权可以在交易所交易,也可以在场外(OTC)交易. 

黄金远期交易和黄金期货类似,主要的不同之处在于远期交易不在交易所进行,因此不属于标准化交易。它属于未来日期买卖黄金的双边协议。其交易价格高于期货,因为是针对投资者的特定需求而定制的。

Gold as an asset class

Gold is a highly liquid yet scarce asset, which is no one’s liability. As an investment it can play four fundamental roles in a portfolio:

  • a diversifier that can mitigate losses in times of market stress

  • a source of long-term returns

  • a liquid asset with no credit risk that has outperformed fiat currencies

  • a means to enhance overall portfolio performance.

Our analysis shows that, over the last decade, adding between 2%-10% in gold to the average pension fund portfolio would have both increased returns and reduced volatility.

How to invest

There are many ways to invest in gold. Investors should consider the options available in their market, and the form of investment that is appropriate to their circumstances.

Investment bars & coins

One of the simplest ways of investing in gold is to buy investment bars and coins, from a bank or reputable dealer. When buying gold in these forms, investors pay a premium over the spot gold price, and investors must take care of delivery, storage and insurance. Small bars and coins accounted for approximately two-thirds of annual gold investment demand and around one quarter of global gold demand over the past decade.  

Investment gold coins (also known as bullion coins) are typically issued by governments and have a face value. They take different forms but their value is derived from their gold content: they are typically of a purity between 91.67% (22 carat) or 99.99% (24 carat). 

Investment gold bars can be purchased in 1, 10, 20, 50, 100, and 1,000 gram denominations as well as 1, 10, 100 and 400 troy ounces. These bars are manufactured by industry-accredited manufacturers and have a purity of between 99.5% - 99.99%. Large institutions often rely on the London Good Delivery (LGD) bar, which is used for clearing in London and weighs approximately 400 troy ounces. 

Gold investment accounts

Vaulted gold is investment gold (bars or coins) which is stored in professional vaults on behalf of investors. Buyers of vaulted gold acquire outright ownership of the gold without needing to store it themselves. Target customers are primarily private investors, ranging from mass-market clients to high net worth individuals. 

Vaulted gold provides customers with the advantage of physical gold ownership combined with a modern investment product. Investors obtain direct ownership of gold but do not incur the typical associated challenges, such as finding a trustworthy dealer, transporting and safely storing the gold and obtaining proof of provenance and quality in the case of resale (removing the potential need for assaying).

Gold savings plans

Regular gold savings plans allow customers to build gold holdings by making periodic purchases, for example on a weekly or monthly basis. Providers of gold savings plans safely store customers’ gold on their behalf and these plans are typically targeted at mass market consumers because both minimum investments and regular savings amounts are low.

Customers pursue different objectives with gold savings plans. Some customers use them to increase their gold holdings in small, regular increments. As such, they focus on the financial benefits of gold, using it as a foundational asset, a savings tool or a means of diversification and risk mitigation. The cost average effect of small, regular investments provides an additional benefit, since the investment is accumulated incrementally over time, the investor is less exposed to short-term price fluctuations.

Gold certificates

Gold certificates provide ownership of physical gold, which is stored in professional vaults on the customer’s behalf. They receive a personalised certificate in their name, which provides evidence of ownership and is required for the sale or withdrawal of their holdings. Gold certificates are typically aimed at affluent private investors.

Gold certificates are particularly convenient for investors who want to own physical gold without taking (immediate) possession of it. The overall costs are comparatively low because ownership is often provided in pooled allocated large bars, which are available at a lower premium than individual bars. 

Gold-backed ETFs & similar products

Physically-backed gold exchange-traded funds (ETFs), exchange-traded commodities (ETCs), and similar products are exchange-traded investment vehicles which invest in gold bullion. They account for approximately one-third of gold investment demand. Shares in physical gold ETFs can be bought and sold similarly to shares of companies through exchanges. Physical gold ETFs are targeted at both individual and institutional investors and the price usually tracks the performance of the underlying gold spot price.

Physical gold ETFs allow investors to gain exposure to the gold price through the convenience of a modern investment product. Customers who buy shares in ETFs do not have to trade physical gold directly or manage the safekeeping of their holdings; they can buy shares in these ETFs as easily and quickly as they would buy shares in listed companies.

Gold futures, options & forwards

Gold futures are agreements to buy or sell gold in the future at specified terms, including price, quantity, quality and date. Gold futures are standardised contracts, which are traded on regulated exchanges and give investors the flexibility to go either long or short on gold. They are typically used by corporate customers for risk management purposes or by institutional customers for speculative purposes. 

The market for gold futures is usually highly liquid and efficient, due to the large numbers of contracts traded by professional market participants. The trades are settled through a central clearing house, at which deposit margins are required. This provides increased security for investors, reducing counterparty risk and allowing them to trade without performing their own due diligence checks. Fees or commission charged for trading futures are comparatively low.

Gold options are contracts that give the investor has the right to either purchase or sell gold in the future, at specific terms such as price. Unlike futures, the investor is not obliged to exercise the option. Options can be traded on exchanges or OTC. 

Gold forwards are similar to gold futures with the main exception that they are not traded on an exchange and are therefore not standardised. They are bilateral agreements on the purchase and sale of gold at a future date. They trade at a premium to futures as they are customised to the specific needs of the investor.