ETF每月评论

全球黄金ETF仍现流出,但其趋势随着金价走强而放缓

Published:

PDF XLSX

四月摘要

4月,全球黄金ETF总持仓减少18.3吨(约合11亿美元,资产管理规模减少0.5%,下同),是过去半年以来第五次出现净流出的月份。然而,随着欧洲的黄金ETF基金规模自,1  月以来首次出现上升,全球黄金ETF流出也明显放缓。截至四月底,全球黄金ETF总规模规模为3,567吨(约合2,030亿美元) ,3月时曾一度滑落至2,000亿美元以下,为一年多以来的首次。黄金ETF资产管理规模自2020年11月达到峰值以来,至今已下跌近14%,其中8%源于黄金ETF 流出,6%是由因抛售导致的美元金价下跌所致。2 

 

ZH ETF flows chart

数据截至

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

区域回顾

北美黄金ETF基金(尤其是美国的基金)持仓减少28.4吨(约合16亿美元,-1.6%),几乎代表了全球的总流出量。与此相反,欧洲的黄金ETF在法国、瑞士和英国等国基金的贡献之下,实现了10.6吨(约合5.14亿美元,+0.6%)的净流入。其他地区的黄金ETF基金也实现了净流入,但规模要小得多。3  亚洲上市基金则一反2021年一季度的强劲势头,出现了0.5吨(约合1,300万美元)的小幅流出,其中,中国黄金ETF基金持仓减少了2.0吨(约合1.11亿美元,-2.8%),是主导力量。然而,印度基金持仓却继续增长,4月新增1.3吨(约合8,400万美元,+4.4%)。

低成本黄金ETF板块持续增长 4

全球范围内低成本黄金ETF基金保持强劲势头。4月,伦敦的WisdomTree Core Physical Gold基金流入1.7吨(约合9,300万美元,+473%),SPDR® Gold MiniShares基金流入1.3吨(约合7,400万美元,+1.9%)。此外,三只低成本Xtrackers基金在4月末流入近27.5吨(约合16亿美元),与此同时,其管理的三只收费较高的基金出现同等的资金流出,这或许表明了黄金ETF市场上新旧结构的转变趋势。

黄金价格表现和交易量

黄金价格在4月收盘时报1,768.1美元/盎司,上涨4.5%;4月下半月波动较大但未能突破1,800美元/盎司的关口。5 年内金价跌幅仍为6.5%左右,而其隐含价格波动率仍持续下降,回落到了2020年初疫情爆发前的水平(即14%)。6  这远远低于黄金去年20%的已实现波动率水平,也低于其20年来16%的历史已实现波动率。


黄金日均交易量连续第二个月大幅下降,4月日均交易量为1,380亿美元,比2020年1,830亿美元的平均水平低了25%,与2019年1,460亿美元的平均水平更加接近。4月份黄金交易量的减少主要是由于通过LBMA交易数据显示的COMEX黄金期货成交量的减少。最新的交易商持仓报告(COT)显示,COMEX黄金期货净多仓位上升到540吨,7  但远低于2020年871吨的平均水平。8

市场评论:

我们的短期金价表现归因模型表明,4月份金价回升的主要原因在于美元的走弱,同时利率下降,降低了持有黄金的机会成本,因为金价对上述变量的敏感度仍然较高9  我们认为近期黄金的强势可归因于以下因素:

  • 美元疲软
  • 金价正在“再通胀“周期中追赶其他大宗商品的强劲表现1011
  • 财政刺激措施的增加以及央行持续的宽松立场

更多信息,请关注我们的4月市场评论

各区域黄金ETF流量数据12

美国的基金持续施压全球全球黄金ETF需求

  • 北美基金流出28.4吨(约合16亿美元,-1.6%)
  • 欧洲基金持仓增加10.6吨(约合5.14亿美元,+0.6%)
  • 亚洲上市基金净流出0.5吨(约合1,300万美元)
  • 其他地区有少量流入

主要基金流量变化

美国SPDR® Gold Shares基金流出量全球领先,其次为iShares Gold Trust

  • 北美:SPDR® Gold Shares流出20.4吨(约合11亿美元,-2.0%),其次为iShares Gold Trust,流出8.2吨(约合4.58亿美元,-1.7%)。SPDR® Gold MiniShares持仓增加1.3吨(约合7,400万美元,+1.9%),Graniteshares Gold Trust增加0.2吨(约合1,420万美元,+1.4%)。
  • 欧洲13  :Amundi Physical Gold持仓增加3.7吨(约合2.17亿美元,+7.3%),iShares Physical Gold增加1.9吨(约合1.24亿美元,+1.0%)。WisdomTree Physical Gold流出3.4吨(约合1.9亿美元,-3.1%)
  • 亚洲:两只印度基金ICICI Prudential Gold和Nippon India合计持仓增加1吨(约合6,000万美元),而中国的华安易富黄金ETF则流出1.5吨(约合8,100万美元,-4.7%)
     

长期趋势

全球黄金ETF资产管理规模自2020年8月的金价最高点以来已下跌超过20%

  • 全球整体黄金ETF流量的下行趋势仍由美国主导
  • 最近几个月黄金ETF流量与金价和利率关联度较高,但尚未“赶上”4月黄金价格的强劲表现
  • 尽管其他地区表现不佳,但亚洲黄金ETF市场仍相对强劲

脚注

  1. 我们会定期核查全球黄金ETF,并根据最新数据和信息调整基金名单和持仓量。

  2. 基于截至2021年4月30日的LBMA午盘金价。

  3. “其他”地区包括澳大利亚、南非、土耳其、沙特阿拉伯以及阿联酋。

  4. 美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率不超过20个基点的黄金ETF开放式基金,由实体黄金支持。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, Goldman Sachs Physical Gold ETF, CI Gold Bullion Fund, WisdomTree Core Physical Gold以及Xtrackers IE Physical Gold ETC。

  5. 基于截至2021年4月30日的LBMA午盘金价。

  6. 隐含波动率基于COMEX黄金期货3个月的平价看涨期权。

  7. 截至2021年4月30日。

  8. 净多仓位包含基金经理仓位与其他类型交易商在COMEX黄金期货市场上的净多仓位。

  9. 我们同时以盎司/吨数和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨位变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同。

  10. 鉴于母公司基金之间的直接流动,我们不直接讨论Xtrackers单只基金的流量变动。

Rate this content:

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold ETF outflows continue, but slow with gold price strength

Published:

PDF XLSX

April highlights

Global gold ETFs lost 18.3t tonnes (t) (-US$1.1bn, -0.5% AUM) in April, marking outflows for five of the past six months. However, global outflows slowed significantly, as European funds added assets for the first time since January. Global assets under management (AUM) stand at 3,567t (US$203.0bn),1  after slipping below $200bn for the first time in over a year during March. Since the peak asset levels in November 2020, gold ETF AUM has fallen nearly 14%, with 8% coming from outflows and 6% coming from the gold price selloff in US dollar terms.2 

 

ETF flows chart

Data as of

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

April regional overview

North American funds, particularly in the US, represented nearly all the global outflows as the region lost 28.4t (-US$1.6bn, -1.6%). In contrast, European funds saw inflows of 10.6t (US$514mn, 0.6%), from funds across France, Switzerland, and the UK. Funds in 'Other' regions also experienced net inflows but they were considerably smaller in magnitude.3  Asian-listed funds reversed their 2021 strength with very minor outflows of 0.5t (-US$13mn) led by China, which lost 2.0t (-US$111mn, -2.8%). However, funds in India continued to grow, adding 1.3t (US$84mn, 4.4%) during the month.

Low-cost gold ETF segment continues to grow 4

We continue to see strong inflows into low-cost ETFs across the globe, most recently evidenced by 1.7t (US$93mn, 473%) into WisdomTree Core Physical Gold in London and 1.3t (US$74mn, 1.9%) into SPDR® Gold MiniShares during in April. In addition, late last month, there were inflows of approximately 27.5t or US$1.6bn into three low-cost Xtrackers funds, which coincided with equivalent outflows from three of their higher-fee funds, which may indicate a transfer to the newer structures.  

Price performance and trading volumes

Gold finished the month 4.5% higher at US$1,768.1/oz, flirting but failing to break through resistance at US$1,800/oz during the second half of April.5 Gold remains 6.5% lower during the year, while its implied price volatility continues to fall and is back to the early 2020 pre-COVID levels of 14%.6  This is well below gold’s realised volatility levels of 20% last year and lower than its historical  20-year realised volatility of 16%. 

Gold daily trading averages fell significantly for a second straight month, averaging US$138bn per day during April. This is 25% below the 2020 average of US$183bn, more in-line with the 2019 average of US$146bn. The decrease in April was largely a function of lower COMEX futures volumes reported through the LBMA Trade Data. Net long positioning, via the recent Commitment of Traders (COT) report for gold COMEX futures, ticked higher to 540t,7  well below the 2020 average net long level of 871t.8

Market Commentary:

Our short-term price-performance model suggests that the primary driver of gold’s recovery during April was a weaker US dollar, alongside declining interest rates, impacting the opportunity cost of holding gold as sensitivity to these variables remains elevated.9  We also believe the recent strength in gold was a function of:

  • The weaker US dollar
  • Gold prices catching up to other commodities ‘reflation’ strength1011  
  • Increased fiscal stimulus and continued central bank support

For more details see Gold Market Commentary, April 2021.

Regional flows12

US funds continue to weigh on global gold ETF demand

  • North American funds had outflows of 28.4t (-US$1.6bn, -1.6%)
  • Holdings in European funds rose by 10.6t (US$514mn, 0.6%)
  • Funds listed in Asia had net outflows of 0.5t (-US$13mn)
  • Other regions had minor inflows.

Individual flows

SPDR® Gold Shares (US) led global outflows in April, followed by iShares Gold Trust

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares lost 20.4t (-US$1.1bn, -2.0%), followed by iShares Gold Trust, which lost 8.2t (-US$458mn, -1.7%). SPDR® Gold MiniShares had holdings rise by 1.3t (US$74mn, 1.9%), while Graniteshares Gold Trust added 0.5t (US$30.3mn, -4.2%)
  • In Europe13, Amundi Physical Gold added 3.7t (US$217mn, 7.3%), while iShares Physical Gold added 1.9t (US$124mn, 1.0%). WisdomTree Physical Gold lost 3.4t (-US$190mn, -3.1%)
  • In Asia, two Indian funds ICICI Prudential Gold and Nippon India combined to add 1t (US$60mn), while Huaan Yifu Gold lost 1.5t (-US$81mn, -4.7%.

Long-term trends

Global AUM has fallen over 20% since the August 2020 high

  • The downward trend in overall global flows continues to be dominated by US funds
  • Gold ETF flows have been largely correlated with gold prices and interest rates in recent months, but have yet to ‘catch up’ to gold strong April performance
  • Asian gold ETF holdings continue to grow assets despite other regions faltering.

Footnotes

  1. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information.

  2. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM as of 30 April 2021.

  3. ‘Other’ region includes Australia, South Africa, Turkey, Saudi Arabia, and the United Arab Emirates.

  4. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined as exchange-traded open-ended funds listed in the US and Europe, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees and other expenses like fx costs of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, Goldman Sachs Physical Gold ETF, CI Gold Bullion Fund, WisdomTree Core Physical Gold, and Xtrackers IE Physical Gold ETC.

  5. Based on the LBMA Gold Price PM as of 30 April 2021. 

  6. Implied volatility based on the 3-month at-the-money call option in COMEX gold futures.

  7. As of 30 April 2021.

  8. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other Net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

  9. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance-industry standard that gives a perspective on how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar, and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month, when the price of gold was low, but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

  10. We do not directly discuss the Xtrackers individual fund flows in the section given the direct movement between the parent company funds.

Rate this content: