ETF每月评论

全球黄金ETF在今年前五个月的流入超过了此前任何一年的纪录

修订版:

于2020年6月11日进行修改:修改详情请参见报告末尾处附注

月度流量 月度流量数据

摘要

全球黄金ETF总持仓在五月再度增长154吨,这相当于85亿美元(总资产规模上升4.3%)的净流入,总规模达到了3,510吨的历史新高。1 今年截至目前,全球黄金ETF已有623吨(约合337亿美元)的净流入,这已超过了2016年创下的240亿美元的最高年度净流入水平。

尽管股市与债市走强,金价的上涨以及净流入的强劲还是令全球黄金ETF总资产管理规模同样达到了1,950亿美元的历史新高。在4月与5月一共43个交易日中,全球黄金ETF在41个交易日中都实现了资金净流入。与之类似的是2016年的五月与六月,黄金ETF在这两个月中仅有4个交易日没有净流入。

北美地区黄金ETF净流入为所有地区中最高。从历史上看,该地区的基金流量与金价表现密切相关。五月也是北美地区基金(持仓上升102吨,净流入56亿美元,资产管理规模增长5.6%)连续第二个月引领全球其他地区,其持仓总规模达1,815吨,超过了2012年12月创下的1,736吨的高位。在占比达65%的英国基金的主导下,欧洲地区黄金ETF总持仓上升了45吨(24亿美元,2.9%)。以中国地区黄金ETF为主的亚洲基金总持仓增长了4.8吨(2.62亿美元,4.7%)。

 

ETF 流量1

ZH ETF flows chart

来源: 彭博社, 公司文件, 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

宏观驱动

各国股市在五月均表现强势。举例而言,在五月,美股从其在三月的低位回升了近40%,这也是2009年以来美股表现最为强劲的两个月。尽管风险资产似乎处于牛市氛围中,金价以及黄金ETF的净流入还是得到了多重因素的支撑:

不确定性仍存。

  • 新冠疫情对全球经济与社会的影响依旧存在;
  • 中美关系紧张;
  • 就业市场受到了几代未见的挑战,在美国,失业率已至14%,并有可能迅速升至1930年代大萧条中的水平;

各国央行的资产购买计划。

  • 宽松的货币政策已经扩展至看起来十分不可能受到干预的资产类别上,例如美国的高收益债(垃圾债)ETF。这很有可能令债券收益率进一步降低,这有利于减少持有黄金的机会成本。

面对不断膨胀的财政预算赤字以及高企的股债估值,投资者寻求对冲的意愿不断上升,这驱动全球黄金ETF的总持仓超过了德国的官方黄金储备,以及除美国外的所有国家的黄金储备。这反映了黄金ETF作为一项配置黄金的工具,在投资者中的接受度不断上升。

金价表现

美元金价在五月上涨了2.6%,收于1,728美元/盎司。金价的波动率从三月份的极端水平大幅下滑,而其30日已实现波动率也降幅近半。隐含波动率(投资者对金价未来波动率的预期)仍处高位,暗示投资者对短期金价有大幅变动的预期。

截至发布时,今年黄金已跑赢了大多数主流资产,涨幅超15%。黄金的表现将其从一般的大宗商品区别开来,同期,基于广泛大宗商品的指数跌幅在22%至30%之间,油价(WTI)更是跌去40%。

全球黄金成交量在五月出现回升,从四月的1,400亿美元/日上升至1,640亿美元/日,与此形成对比的是,其他资产的成交量大幅下跌。尽管目前黄金日均成交量仍低于三月份创下的2,330亿美元/日的高位,但是这仍高于2019年1,450亿美元/日的水平。COMEX黄金期货净多仓位4大幅下滑至798吨,是去年5月至今年5月这一年来的最低水平,也低于2月份创下的1,209吨(630亿美元)的纪录高位。

展望

支撑黄金投资需求的驱动仍存,并有新的利好因素出现:

  • 各国央行政策导致的低利率环境,并且通胀预期也有所抬升;
  • 新冠疫情带来的对全球经济和社会的不确定性,以及潜在的二次爆发;
  • 未来上市公司的盈利预期下降,令股市的过高估值更甚;我们在《黄金:有效的对冲工具》 中讨论了黄金作为一项有效的对冲资产的可行性;
  • 近期爆发的美国种族相关的国内动荡令市场的不确定性加重。

各地区流量2

五月,北美地区黄金ETF总持仓创纪录新高

  • 北美地区:净流入102吨(56亿美元,5.6%)
  • 欧洲地区:持仓增长45吨(24亿美元,2.9%)
  • 亚洲地区:持仓上升4.8吨(2.62亿美元,4.7%)
  • 其他地区:流入2.6吨(1.36亿美元,4.3%)

具体基金流量变化

SPDR® Gold Shares 与 iShares Gold Trust在五月实现的净流入占据全球基金净流入的57%

  • 北美:SPDR® Gold Shares 的流入冠绝全球,持仓上升67吨(37亿美元,6.4%),iShares Gold Trust 持仓增加20吨(11亿美元,4.7%)。 Aberdeen Standard Physical Gold Shares则领先低成本基金3的流入, 持仓上升4.1吨(2.25亿美元,12.5%),Graniteshares Gold 与 SPDR® Gold MiniShares 紧随其后,规模均有0.85亿美元的增长;
  • 欧洲:iShares Physical与 Invesco Physical Gold持仓分别上升 23.3吨 (13亿美元,11.8%)和6.9吨(3.84亿美元,3.5%)。
  • 中国:华安黄金ETF持仓上升1.5吨(0.83亿美元,5.5%),同时,工银瑞信黄金ETF和前海开源黄金ETF在五月上市,其持仓共计2.3吨,令中国的黄金ETF总资产上升了4%。

长期趋势

全球黄金ETF总资产增长在今年仅用了五个月内就超过了此前最高的年度增幅

  • 全球黄金ETF资产管理规模在过去的12个月中总规模几乎翻倍,升幅90%;
  • 在五月的强劲流入后,当前全球黄金ETF的资产管理规模和持仓量再创历史新高;
  • 英国的黄金ETF规模继续上升,在区域和全球的市场份额不断增长,目前占据欧洲黄金ETF市场总规模的48%,全球的21%;
  • 美国的低成本黄金ETF 在过去的12个月总持仓翻倍,增至99吨,与整体亚洲地区基金的持仓总量相当。3

更正 

2020年6月4日,我们在相关报告中表示,2020年截至目前以美元以及以吨数计量的全球黄金ETF累计净流入均创下历史新高。在随后历史数据查验中,我们发现在计算2009年以吨数计量的年度总净流入时,几只瑞士地区的黄金ETF被忽略了。这导致的结果是,虽然以美元计价,2020年前五个月全球黄金ETF的累计净流入确实超过了历史上任何一年的年度累计净流入,但以吨数计量,2020年截至五月623吨的累计净流入不及2009年的646吨的年度总流入。

脚注

  1. 我们会定期审查我们跟踪的全球黄金ETF并根据最新信息调整我们的名单。

  2. 备注:我们同时以盎司/吨和美元来计算黄金ETF流量,因为这两项指标均与准确了解黄金ETF表现息息相关。吨数变化可直接反映持仓水平的波动,而流量的美元价值则为金融行业标准,能够展示投向黄金ETF的资金规模。在某些月份,就不同地区观察,文中以黄金吨数计算的流量与其美元价值的比例似乎并不一致。但实际上,两项数字均无误。差异是月内黄金价格表现、美元走势和流动时点之间相互作用的结果。例如,欧洲在月初黄金价格较低的时候经历了资金流出,但在月末黄金价格上涨的时候资产规模又有所增加。又或者,欧元/美元汇率在基金有流量的时候大幅变动,也可能造成吨数变动与美元流量的不同

  3. 美国低成本黄金ETF指在美国设立、交易,且年度管理费率不超过20个基点的黄金ETF。目前,该类基金包括Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, 与 Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

  4. 净多仓位是指在COMEX期货市场上管理基金与其他净多仓位

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

ETF Monthly commentary

Gold ETF inflows through May outpace records for any calendar year in only 5 months

Published:

Revised: 12 June 2020. Please see note at the end of report for more details.

PDF XLSX

May highlights

Continuing their growth streak, gold-backed ETFs (gold ETFs) added 154 tonnes (t) – net inflows of US$8.5bn (+4.3%) across all regions in May, boosting global holdings to a new all-time high of 3,510t.1 Year-to-date inflows of US$33.7bn exceed the highest level of annual inflows of US$24bn seen in 2016.

Positive flows combined with a rising gold price also pushed assets under management (AUM) in gold ETFs to new record highs of US$195bn, even as stock and bond prices increased. Global gold ETFs had inflows in all but two trading days during April and May (41 of 43 days). The only other historical period with similarly consistent inflows occurred in May and June of 2016, when funds experienced inflows in all but four trading days.

North American-listed gold ETFs led regional inflows during May. Flows in the region are historically more correlated with gold’s price behaviour. The region’s funds led inflows for a second straight month, adding 102t (US$5.6bn, 5.6% AUM). North American funds now hold 1,815t of gold, surpassing the previous highs of 1,736t they held in December 2012. European funds added 45t (US$2.4bn, 2.9%), led by UK-based funds, which accounted for 65% of the total in the region. Asian funds – primarily in China – grew, adding 4.8t (US$262mn, 4.7%), and funds in other regions grew 4.3%, adding 2.6t and US$136mn.

 

ETF flows 1

ETF flows chart

Sources: Bloomberg, Company Filings, ICE Benchmark Administration, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Macroeconomic drivers

Stock markets rallied in May in nearly every major country. In the US, as one example, stocks were up by almost 40% from late March lows, the strongest two-month performance since 2009. Global stocks collectively were higher by 6% during the month. Despite this seemingly bullish environment for risk assets, various drivers propelled the gold price and gold ETF inflows including:

Lingering uncertainty

  • The economic and social impact of COVID-19, as most economies remain shut down or are slowly reopening.
  • Tensions between the US and China continue to escalate.
  • Labour markets are facing challenges not seen in generations. In the US, the unemployment rate is already at 14% and may soon reach levels last during the Great Depression of the 1930s.

Ongoing asset purchases by central banks

  • Monetary policy intervention is expanding into asset classes that would have seemed incredibly unlikely even a few months ago, such as high yield (junk) bond ETFs in the US. This has helped push bond yields even lower, reducing gold’s opportunity cost further and adding to market uncertainty as we are in unchartered waters.

As investors look to hedge the economic risks of ballooning budget deficits and high valuations for both stocks and bonds, collective holdings of gold ETFs have now surpassed Germany’s official gold reserves and exceed the official gold reserves of every country except for the US. This also highlights the increasing acceptance of gold ETFs among investors as a means to gain exposure to gold.

Price performance

Gold in US dollars was higher by 2.6% in May, finishing the month at US$1,728/oz. Gold volatility decreased significantly from the extreme levels in March, and 30-day realised volatility fell by nearly half from 29% in April to 15% in May. Implied volatility – or how much investors expected gold would move across tenors – remained somewhat elevated, signaling that investors expect meaningful moves in the gold prices in the near-term.

At the time of publication, gold has outperformed most major asset classes this year, up by more than 15%. Gold’s performance continues to distinguish itself from the wider commodity spectrum, as broader commodity indices are down 22% - 30% this year and oil (WTI) is down by more than 40%. Oil did see a significant jump in May, up over 70%, albeit off a very suppressed level, to finish back above US$30 a barrel.

Gold global trading volumes, picked up in May, rising from US$140bn in April to US$164bn during the month, as other asset class volumes experienced a sharp decline. Gold trading volumes are far below the y-t-d record of US$233bn a day in March, but above the 2019 daily average of US$145bn. COMEX net longs4, via the Commitment of Traders (COT) report, fell sharply to 789t, the lowest levels in one year, and below the all-time highs of 1,209t (US$63bn) experienced in February this year.

Looking forward

Many of the positive gold demand drivers remain, with a few additions:

  • The lower rate environment, driven by continued central bank activity, coupled with an uptick in inflation expectations
  • COVID uncertainty, both from an economic and social perspective, as well as the potential for a second wave of outbreaks
  • Future stock earnings expectations have fallen, driving valuations even higher. Our recent Investment Update: Gold, an efficient hedge notes a viable argument for using gold as a portfolio hedge
  • Race-related civil unrest in the US has recently emerged, creating additional uncertainty in markets

Regional flows2

North American fund holdings reached all-time highs in May

  • North American funds had inflows of 102t (US$5.6bn, 5.6% AUM)
  • Holdings in European funds increased by 45t (US$2.4bn, 2.9%)
  • Funds listed in Asia added 4.8t (US$262mn, 4.7%)
  • Other regions had inflows of 2.6t (US$136mn, 4.3%).

Individual flows

SPDR® Gold Shares and iShares Gold Trust represented 57% of all global inflows in May

  • In North America, SPDR® Gold Shares led global inflows, adding 67t (US$3.7bn, 6.4%), while iShares Gold Trust added 20t (US$1.1bn, 4.7%). Aberdeen Standard Physical Gold Shares led low-cost3 inflows adding 4.1t (US$225mn, 12.5%), followed by Graniteshares Gold and SPDR® Gold MiniShares which each added US$85mn.
  • Two UK-based funds led European-fund inflows: iShares Physical added 23.3t (US$1.3bn, 11.8%), Invesco Physical Gold added 6.9t (US$384mn, 3.5%).
  • In China, Huaan Yifu added 1.5t (US$83mn, 5.5%). Two new funds (ICBC Credit Suisse Gold and Frist Seafront Gold) were listed in China during the month. Their collective assets of 2.3t add 4% to China’s total gold ETF assets.

Long-term trends

Gold ETF assets have experienced the largest calendar-year asset growth in only 5 months

  • Over the past 12 months assets in global gold-backed ETFs have nearly doubled (+90%)
  • Following the May inflows, both holdings and assets of gold-backed ETFs continue to make all-time highs
  • UK-based gold funds continue to take regional and global market share, now representing 48% of European assets and 21% of global assets
  • Low-cost gold-backed ETFs in the US have doubled their collective holdings in the past year to 99t, which is roughly the size of all Asian-based funds3

Correction 

On 4 June 2020, we reported that global gold ETF flows year-to-date in 2020 set a historical record in both US dollars and tonnage terms. During a subsequent database review, we discovered that a handful of Swiss-based funds were inadvertently omitted from the 2009 aggregated tonnage calculation. Consequently, while the total fund flows measured in US dollars between January 2020 and May 2020 did set a historical record, surpassing all previous annual figures, the tonnage increase through May of 623t is below the revised 2009 increase of 646t.

Footnotes

  1. We regularly review the global gold-backed ETF universe and adjust the list of funds and holdings based on newly available data and information.

  2. We calculate gold-backed ETF flows both in ounces/tonnes of gold and in US dollars because these two metrics are relevant in understanding funds’ performance. The change in tonnes gives a direct measure of how holdings evolve, while the dollar value of flows is a finance industry standard that gives a perspective of how much investment reaches the funds. There are some months where the reported flows measured in tonnes of gold and their dollar-value equivalent seem inconsistent across regions. Both figures are correct. The disparity is due to the interaction between the performance of the gold price intra-month, the direction and movement of the US dollar and the timing of the flows. For example, hypothetically, if European funds were to experience outflows early in the month when the price of gold was low but gained assets later in the month when the price of gold increased, and/or if the euro/dollar currency rate moved meaningfully when there were flows, there might be a discrepancy between tonnage change and flows.

  3. Low-cost US-based gold-backed ETFs are defined as exchange traded open-ended funds listed in the US, backed by physical gold, with annual management fees of 20bps or less. At present, these include Aberdeen Physical Swiss Gold Shares, SPDR® Gold MiniShares, Graniteshares Gold Trust, and Perth Mint Physical Gold ETF.

  4. Net longs represent Money Manager and Other Net long positioning in the COMEX futures market.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]