上海-伦敦金折价背后的驱动以及2021 年展望

行业: 市场洞察, 需求

在新冠疫情的冲击下,2020年中国的黄金需求相较2019年降幅达27%,是过去十年中的最低。而国内黄金需求如此疲弱带来的副作用之一则是国内相对于国际金价的折价达到了史上最大。2020年平均-24美元/盎司的境内-外黄金价差较其十年平均水平相去甚远。

我们的研究表明:

  • 中国是一个存在着黄金短缺与黄金进出口限制的国家。我们分析了进口黄金的显性成本与黄金在国内的“稀缺性”带来的隐性成本是如何影响国内金价并令其在大多数时间高于国际金价的
  • 国内疲弱的黄金需求,相对稳定的黄金供应以及黄金出口相应的限制或为2020年国内金价大幅低于国际金价的主要原因
  • 我们也对2021年的中国黄金消费进行了展望:复苏趋势有望延续,但上方空间或被限制
     
 

疲弱的中国黄金需求与前所未见的上海-伦敦现货黄金价差*                                                

疲弱的中国黄金需求与前所未见的上海-伦敦现货黄金价差*

来源: 洲际交易所基准管理机构, 金属聚焦公司, 上海黄金交易所, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*截至2020年12月31日。图中所示中国的黄金消费指季度的中国金饰,金条,金币与黄金ETF需求。季度平均价差计算基于上海黄金交易所的Au9999合约与LBMA上午盘伦敦金价,以美元/盎司计。选取两个合约的原因在于其交易时间最为接近且均为重要的现货黄金基准价

重要信息和免责声明


© 2020 世界黄金协会保留所有权利。世界黄金协会和环形是世界黄金协会及其附属机构的商标。

对伦敦金银市场协会黄金价格(LBMA Gold Price)的引用已获得洲际交易所基准管理机构的许可,仅供参考之用。洲际交易所基准管理机构不对这些价格的准确性,或者这些价格所对应的产品承担任何责任。其他第三方内容属于第三方各自的知识产权,所有权利属于这些第三方。 

未经世界黄金协会或相关版权所有者的事先书面同意,严禁复制或再分发本信息中任何内容,但符合下述规定的除外。
允许根据公平行业实践,将本文的统计数据用于评论目的(包括媒体评论),但必须符合以下两个前提条件:(i) 仅允许使用有限的数据或分析摘录;(ii) 使用其中任何或全部统计数据必须注明引用自世界黄金协会,并在必要时注明引用自金属聚焦公司、Refinitiv GFMS或其他明确的第三方来源。世界黄金协会隶属于金属聚焦公司。

世界黄金协会或其任何附属机构(统称世界黄金协会)不保证任何信息的准确性和完整性。对于使用本文件而造成的直接或间接损失或损害,世界黄金协会不承担任何责任。

本文仅用于教育目的,接收本文即表示您同意其预期目的。本文所含信息不构成购买或销售黄金、任何黄金相关产品或服务或任何其他产品、服务、证券或金融工具(统称“服务”)的建议或要约。本文不考虑任何特定人士的投资目标、财务状况或特殊需要。        

本文包含前瞻性陈述,例如使用“相信”、“预计”、“可能”或“建议”等词语或类似术语的陈述,此类陈述是基于当前预期,可能会被修改。前瞻性陈述包含一些风险和不确定性。无法保证任何前瞻性陈述会成为现实。世界黄金协会不承担更新任何前瞻性陈述的责任。

分散投资不能保证任何投资回报,也不能消除损失风险。在做出任何与服务或投资有关的决定前,投资者应与合适的投资专业人士讨论自身情况。

关于QaurumSM和黄金估值框架 

请注意,通过使用Qaurum、黄金评估框架和其他信息所产生的各种投资回报的最终结果从本质上来说都是假设性的,可能无法反映实际的投资结果,也不能保证未来的结果。分散投资不能保证任何投资回报,也不能消除损失风险。世界黄金协会及其任何附属机构和子公司对该工具的功能不提供任何保证或担保,包括但不限于任何预测、估计或计算。

Rate this content:

Drivers of the Shanghai-London gold price discount and outlook for 2021

Primarily driven by the COVID-19 pandemic and its far-reaching impacts, China’s gold demand in 2020 declined by 27% compared to 2019, the lowest in a decade. One of the side effects from such weakness was the widest Shanghai-London spot gold price discount in history. Averaging -US$24/oz in 2020, the local Chinese gold price spread remained far below its 10-year average between 2010 and 2019. 

Our analysis shows: 

  • China’s gold supply shortage, costs associated with importing gold, as well as restrictions on gold’s imports in China contributed to a local gold price premium during most days
  • Significantly weakened gold demand, relatively ample gold supply and the restrictive nature of gold exports could be main drivers for the record-level Chinese gold price discount in 2020
  • China’s gold consumption in 2021 is likely to recover further, albeit with challenges.
     
 

The significant weakness in China's gold demand contributed to a previously unseen Shanghai-London gold price discount in 2020*

Market Update: Feb 2021

Sources: ICE Benchmark Administration, Metals Focus, Shanghai Gold Exchange, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*As of December 2020. China's gold consumption includes quarterly local demand for gold bars, coins, jewellery and ETF products. The spreads are expressed as quarterly averages of the differences between Au9999 and LBMA Gold Price AM as they have the narrowest trading time window and they are important benchmark spot gold prices.

Important disclaimers and disclosures

© 2021 World Gold Council. All rights reserved. World Gold Council and the Circle device are trademarks of the World Gold Council or its affiliates.
All references to LBMA Gold Price are used with the permission of ICE Benchmark Administration Limited and have been provided for informational purposes only. ICE Benchmark Administration Limited accepts no liability or responsibility for the accuracy of the prices or the underlying product to which the prices may be referenced. Other content is the intellectual property of the respective third party and all rights are reserved to them. 

Reproduction or redistribution of any of this information is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of World Gold Council or the appropriate copyright owners, except as specifically provided below.

The use of the statistics in this information is permitted for the purposes of review and commentary (including media commentary) in line with fair industry practice, subject to the following two pre-conditions: (i) only limited extracts of data or analysis be used; and (ii) any and all use of these statistics is accompanied by a citation to World Gold Council and, where appropriate, to Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS or other identified copyright owners, as their source. World Gold Council is affiliated with Metals Focus.

Neither the World Gold Council nor any of its affiliates (collectively, “WGC”) guarantees the accuracy or completeness of any information. WGC does not accept responsibility for any losses or damages arising directly or indirectly from the use of this information.

This information is for educational purposes only. Nothing contained herein is intended to constitute a recommendation, investment advice, or offer for the purchase or sale of gold, any gold-related products or services or any other products, services, securities or financial instruments (collectively, “Services”). This information does not take into account any investment objectives, financial situation or particular needs of any particular person.    

By receiving this information, you agree with the intended purpose of this information as being for educational purposes only.  Diversification does not guarantee any investment returns and does not eliminate the risk of loss.    

Investors should discuss their individual circumstances with their appropriate investment professionals before making any decision regarding any Services or investments.

This information contains forward-looking statements, such as statements which use the words “believes”, “expects”, “may”, or “suggests”, or similar terminology, which are based on current expectations and are subject to change. Forward-looking statements involve a number of risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that any forward-looking statements will be achieved. WGC assumes no responsibility for updating any forward-looking statements.

Information regarding QaurumSM and the Gold Valuation Framework 

Note that the resulting performance of various investment outcomes that can generated through use of Qaurum, the Gold Valuation Framework and other information are hypothetical in nature, may not reflect actual investment results and are not guarantees of future results. Diversification does not guarantee investment returns and does not eliminate the risk of loss.  World Gold Council and its affiliates and subsidiaries (collectively, “WGC”) provide no warranty or guarantee regarding the functionality of the tool, including without limitation any projections, estimates or calculations.

Rate this content: