黄金视角——雷曼兄弟破产10年后

《黄金投资者》2019年2月版

2019年02月12日

黄金视角——雷曼兄弟破产10年后

全球金融危机对全球市场、行业和政策制定者产生了深远影响。正如世界黄金协会首席市场策略师芮强(John Reade)所说,它也促使黄金的需求产生了重大而持续的变化。 

芮强 (John Reade)
首席市场策略师
世界黄金协会

2018年是一个重要的周年纪念年:第一次世界大战和西班牙流感大爆发100周年;“水晶之夜”事件(Kristallnacht)80周年;马丁•路德•金和罗伯特•F•肯尼迪遇刺身亡50周年。然而,金融市场以其惯有的短期视角,将焦点聚集在了雷曼兄弟(Lehman Brothers)破产10周年的事件上,因为它似乎标志着全球金融危机(GFC)的震中。关于此次危机的起因,已经有了无数的新闻报道、成千上万的博客、推特和领英帖子。我不打算重述这些评论,但想强调一下最近的两篇文章。 
第一篇,在英国央行(Bank of England)任职逾26年的资深人士Paul Fisher博士在本期《黄金投资者》杂志上就这一主题发表了一些见解深刻的评论。 
第二篇,在2018年10月波士顿举行的伦敦金银市场协会/伦敦铂钯市场协会(LBMA/LPPM)贵金属会议上,Mike Silva发表了一篇精彩的演讲,题为《金融危机的内部视角及其教训》。Mike曾于蒂姆•盖特纳(Tim Geithner)担任纽约联邦储备银行(New York Federal Reserve)行长时任职幕僚长。(该演讲文稿可以在LBMA的网站上找到。)

关注黄金在危机期间和危机之后的表现具有指导意义,但同时值得注意的是,由于全球金融危机,黄金市场也发生了一些结构性变化。

图表1: 2008年7月-2009年7月的金价

 

到2009年3月,金价已轻松超过危机前的水平,并继续强劲上涨。这不仅仅是美元走软的结果。

通常只有在投资者和储户开始寻找美元以外的替代品时,才会出现由危机驱使的大规模买入黄金的行为。他们之所以这么做,是出于对美元走软、通货膨胀或金融体系结构的担忧。这正是在全球金融危机之后发生的事情。到2009年3月,黄金价格已轻松超过危机前的水平,并在2009年下半年、2010年以及2011年的大部分时间里持续强劲上涨。

这不仅仅是美元走软的结果。投资者和投机者也表达了他们对量化宽松和当时其他激进货币政策举措后果的担忧。结果,正如欧元计价的黄金价格走势图所显示的那样,黄金在许多货币中表现良好。有趣的是,欧元计价的黄金价格高企出现在2012年,而不是2011年。因为当时欧元走软,而全球金融危机也令欧洲资产的投资者们,尤其是有意大利和西班牙敞口的投资者,开始担忧。

图表2: 2006年1月以来的金价

 

然而,到了2013年,人们的态度开始转变。随着美国和其它经济体继续复苏,并且没有迹象表明通胀即将飙升,投资者纷纷获利回吐,并削减多头仓位,这一现象在2013年尤其突出。随后金价在2014年和2015年进一步下跌,直到2016年和2017年才实现正回报。

改变了的黄金市场

全球金融危机对全球产生了深远影响,导致经济衰退、失业率飙升、抵押品赎回权丧失和破产频现。它还极大地改变了一些市场。银行业也与以前不同了。如今,监管更加严格,资本缓冲更大,风险承担能力受到严格限制,合规人员数量激增。各银行仍在进行与全球金融危机相关的减记,而一些国家也仍在与过度负债的银行体系艰难作战。

黄金已成为一种更为主流的资产——投资所占需求的比例大幅上升,而且显然是可持续的。

黄金行业也发生了很大变化。如以下图表所示,除黄金ETF的资金流入和流出外,美国和欧洲的金条和金币市场的需求出现了显著且持续的增长。

图表3: 美国及欧洲金条和金币需求强劲*

图表3: 美国及欧洲金条和金币需求强劲*

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

*欧洲不包括俄罗斯和前独联体国家。

 

各国央行也改变了策略,扭转了长期以来的抛售趋势,集体买入黄金,作为收益、流动性、多样化和降低信贷风险的来源,如以下图表所示。 

图表4: 全球央行黄金净需求

图表4: 全球央行黄金净需求

来源: 金属聚焦公司, Refinitiv GFMS, 世界黄金协会; 版权和其他权利

 

近年来,央行购买黄金的趋势有所加快。自2017年初以来,大约有20家央行增加了其黄金储备,如今,这成为了黄金市场最有趣的趋势之一。在世界黄金协会内部,我们认为,以下五个原因使得各国央行对黄金表现出越来越浓厚的兴趣:

  1. 外汇储备正在增长。
  2. 黄金正重新成为一种重要的战略资产,各国正寻求通过去美元化从美国获得政治独立。
  3. 美元目前走强,但资产估值、当前水平和预算赤字正在削弱其吸引力。
  4. 全球风险上升,英镑和欧元等其它储备资产质量下降/恶化,正在推动多元化需求。
  5. 全球贸易格局的变化以及对国际货币体系未来状态的预期显示,随着中国金融市场的发展和开放,美元的主导地位将下降。

过去10年,黄金消费的地域分布也发生了重大变化,因为黄金需求已经“从西向东”转移。新兴市场已经成为更重要的黄金消费者,中国和印度目前占全球黄金消费需求的50%以上,而其他新兴市场的重要性也在不断上升,而美国、西欧和日本的黄金消费比重已经下降。 

现在和未来

那么,我们现在处于什么位置,下一步该怎么办?

毫无疑问,与雷曼破产前相比,黄金已成为一种更为主流的资产——投资所占需求的比例大幅上升,而且显然是可持续的。

此外,尽管在过去几年中黄金价格与其他资产相比表现不佳,尤其是对比美国股市,但在经历了可以说是美国历史上持续时间最长的股市牛市之后,这一趋势或许是我们应该能预期的。然而,越来越多的迹象表明,“大衰退”后的漫长而周期性的经济复苏即将结束,而且即使在2018年底出现波动之后,美国股市估值仍在上升,因此,此时可能是考虑将部分投资组合多元化,进行黄金投资的绝佳时机。黄金在全球金融危机期间中的表现,显示出其作为一种多元化投资工具的实力。即使不会出现另一场金融危机,我们也没有理由相信未来不会发生经济放缓的情况。 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

The gold perspective – 10 years after Lehman Brothers failed

Gold Investor, February 2019

12 February, 2019

The gold perspective – 10 years after Lehman Brothers failed

The Global Financial Crisis had a profound effect on markets, industries and policymakers worldwide. It also prompted a significant and sustained shift in demand for gold, as World Gold Council Chief Market Strategist John Reade explains.

John Reade
Chief Market Strategist
World Gold Council

2018 was an important year for anniversaries: a century since the end of the Great War and the Spanish influenza pandemic; 80 years since Kristallnacht; and 50 years since the assassinations of Martin Luther King and Robert F Kennedy. Financial markets, however, with their usual shorter-term perspective, have focused on the 10th anniversary of the failure of Lehman Brothers, as it appeared to mark the epicentre of the Global Financial Crisis (GFC). There have been acres of news articles – and gigabytes of blogs, tweets and LinkedIn posts – about the cause of the crisis. I don’t intend to rehash these comments but I would highlight two recent contributions.

First, Dr Paul Fisher, a senior figure at the Bank of England for more than 26 years, makes several insightful observations on the subject in this edition of Gold Investor.

Second, Mike Silva, former Chief of Staff to Tim Geithner of the New York Federal Reserve, gave an excellent presentation titled Inside Perspective on the Financial Crisis and the Lessons Learned at the LBMA/LPPM Precious Metals Conference in Boston in October 2018. (The presentation and a video interview are available on the LBMA website.)

Focusing on how gold performed during and after the crisis is instructive, however, and it is also worth noting some of the structural changes to the gold market that took place as a consequence of the GFC.

Chart 1: Gold price in US dollars from July 2008 to July 2009

Chart 1: Gold price in US dollars from July 2008 to July 2009

Sources: Bloomberg; Disclaimer

 

By March 2009, gold was comfortably above its pre-crisis level and went on to make further strong gains. This was not just a consequence of the US dollar weakening.

A crisis-driven major move into gold usually occurs only when investors and savers start to look for alternatives to the US dollar, fuelled by fears of US dollar weakness, inflation or about the very fabric of the financial system. And that is exactly what happened following the GFC. By March 2009, gold was comfortably above its pre-crisis level and went on to make strong gains throughout the second half of 2009, 2010 and most of 2011.

This was not just a consequence of the US dollar weakening. Investors and speculators were also expressing their concerns about the consequences of quantitative easing and other radical monetary policy moves of that time. As a result, gold performed well in many currencies, as the chart of gold in euros shows (Chart 2). Interestingly, gold’s high in euros occurred in 2012 rather than in 2011. That was when the currency weakened as the GFC started to worry investors in European assets, especially those with Italian and Spanish exposure.

Chart 2: Gold price in euros since January 2006

Chart 2: Gold price in euros since January 2006

Sources: Bloomberg; Disclaimer

 

By 2013, however, attitudes were beginning to shift. As the US and other economies continued to recover and there was no sign of an imminent surge in inflation, investors took profits and cut long positions, especially in 2013. The price then fell further in 2014 and 2015, before gold posted positive returns in 2016 and 2017.

A changed gold market

The GFC had a profound effect worldwide, precipitating economic recession, soaring unemployment, foreclosures and bankruptcies. It also changed some markets dramatically. Banking is not the same industry as it was. Today it is more tightly regulated, with larger capital buffers, tightly limited risk-taking ability and an explosion in the numbers of compliance staff. Lenders are still making GFC-related writedowns and some countries are still struggling with an overly indebted banking system.

Gold has become a more mainstream asset – the proportion of demand made up by investment has increased substantially and apparently sustainably.

The gold industry has changed considerably too. Aside from inflows and outflows into gold-backed exchange-traded funds (ETFs), the bar and coin market in the US and Europe has seen a marked and sustained increase in demand, as shown in Chart 3.

Chart 3: Bar and coin demand strengthened in US and Europe*

Chart 3: Bar and coin demand strengthened in US and Europe*

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

*Europe excluding Russia and ex-CIS countries.

 

Central banks have changed tack too, reversing a long-standing selling tendency and collectively buying gold as a source of return, liquidity, diversification and credit risk reduction, as shown in Chart 4.

Chart 4: Net global central bank gold demand

Chart 4: Net global central bank gold demand

Sources: Metals Focus, Refinitiv GFMS, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

 

This trend of central banks buying gold has accelerated in recent years. Around 20 central banks have added gold to their reserves since the start of 2017 and today, this is one of the most interesting trends in the gold market. At the World Gold Council, we believe there are five reasons why central banks are showing an increased interest in gold:

  1. FX reserves are growing.
  2. Gold is re-emerging as a strategically important asset and countries are seeking political independence from the US via dedollarisation.
  3. The US dollar is strong now, but asset valuations, current levels and budget deficits are undermining its attraction.
  4. Higher global risks and the diminished/deteriorating quality of other reserve assets, such as sterling and the euro, are fuelling demand for diversification.
  5. Changes in global trade patterns and the expected future state of the international monetary system, which will see the US dollar become less dominant as China’s financial markets develop and open up.

The geographical breakdown of gold consumption has also changed substantially over the past decade, as gold demand has moved ‘West to East.’ Emerging markets have become much more important consumers of gold, with China and India now making up more than 50% of global consumer demand and other emerging markets increasingly important, even as the US, Western Europe and Japan have become less significant consumers.

Now and next

So where do we stand now, and where to next?

There is no doubt that gold has become a more mainstream asset than it was before Lehman failed – the proportion of demand made up by investment has increased substantially and apparently sustainably.

And, although the gold price has underperformed other assets in the past few years, especially US equities, that’s probably what we should expect after arguably the longest US equity bull market in history. However, with growing indications that the lengthy, cyclical economic recovery from the Great Recession is approaching its end, and with US equity valuations still elevated even after the volatility seen at the end of 2018, it is probably a great time to think about diversifying some portfolio holdings into gold. Gold’s behaviour throughout the GFC demonstrated its strength as a diversifier. There is no reason to believe this would not be the case in a future economic slowdown, even if another financial crisis does not materialise.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]