对2007-2009年金融危机的反思

《黄金投资者》2019年2月版

2019年02月12日

对2007-2009年金融危机的反思

Paul Fisher在英国央行担任高层职务超过26年,其中,2009年至2014年担任货币政策委员会委员,在金融危机期间的大部分时间内担任该行市场执行董事。现在,他是伦敦国王学院商学院高级研究员,他对金融危机的根源以及危机是否会再次发生等问题进行了思考。

Paul Fisher
伦敦国王学院商学院高
级研究员

是什么导致了2007-2009年的金融危机?许多人将矛头指向失控的全球银行体系和监管的失败。在很大程度上这是正确的,但在我看来,其根源要比这深得多,可以从世界各地不同政府善意但最终被误导的政策行动中找到其中的原因。

美国通常被认为是自由市场的发源地,但其政府的干预程度却令人吃惊,而其中一些干预可能会造成市场扭曲。例如,1977年的《社区再投资法》鼓励——在某些情况下指导——美国金融体系向贫困地区的人们放贷。次级抵押贷款将这种鼓励发挥到了极致——为那些实际上无力支付抵押贷款的人安排抵押贷款,但只要房价继续上涨,这些人就能从自己的住房中获得足够的权益来支付他们的贷款。毕竟,从历史上来看,整个美国的房价从未下跌过,不是吗?所以没有真正的风险,对吗?

美国联邦住房机构及相关机构,如房利美(Fannie Mae)和房地美(Freddie Mac)等也在其中助了一臂之力。虽然官方并未正式承认这些机构会得到财政支持,但在市场交易这些机构的债务时,就好像它们有财政支持一样——而这一假设在2008年9月被证明已经成真了,当时房利美和房地美被官方正式“接管”。这些机构并没有创造次级资产,但凭借廉价的资金来源,它们能够购买“符合标准”的抵押贷款,与市场力量独自担保的贷款相比,他们能够有效地使抵押贷款变得更加便宜、更容易获得,因而有助于提高住房拥有率、推高房价。 

第三个因素是低利率——2000年至2002年互联网泡沫破裂后,美联储长期将利率维持在低位。

这些政策共同推动了整个美国房地产的繁荣,并最终导致房地产泡沫的破灭,这种结局本也并不令人意外。 (图表1)

美国通常被认为是自由市场的发源地,但政府的干预程度却令人吃惊,而其中一些干预可能会造成市场扭曲。

图表1: 美国房价通胀和联邦基金利率

图表1: 美国房价通胀和联邦基金利率

来源: 圣路易斯联邦储备银行; 版权和其他权利

 

美国的进口

与此同时,在亚洲,许多国家的政府在1997年因自身危机而备受煎熬,当时外国资本大量流出,而国际货币基金组织规定的补救措施(对他们而言)令人难以接受。这些国家采用了以出口为主导的新经济模式,汇率要么与美元挂钩,要么对美元普遍压低,以帮助提高他们的出口竞争力。 

因此,美国较低的短期利率被引入了世界各地。由于亚洲储蓄需求旺盛,尤其是在老龄化人口较多的中国和日本,再加上在其它地区也缺乏实体经济的投资机会,导致全球实际利率处于低位。 

这一战略选择在亚洲产生的各种后果是巨大的:该地区出现巨额贸易顺差,其(算术的)必然结果是资本出口,在某些情况下,这些资本输出到较富裕的经济体,这完全颠倒了通常的经济发展模式(图表2)。这些从亚洲流出的资本为美国的巨额经常账户赤字(2006年占国内生产总值的6%)提供了资金,而且它们也共同为美元金融资产的发行提供了资金支持,包括那些由美国抵押贷款尤其是次级抵押贷款支持的资产。

2007年之前,金融体系似乎健康状况良好。但是,在事情进展顺利,风险尚未明朗化时,放松是人类的天性——这当然会导致意想不到的危机。现代风险管理方法严重误入歧途,部分原因是根据市场观察到的低波动性进行的推断,或仅仅是由于对尾部风险估计错误。金融监管似乎在方向盘上睡着了:许多监管机构认为,新的金融工具已经成功地分散了整个体系的风险。但最大的中介机构持有的流动性和资本太少。此外,在这些公司中,有一些似乎是由那些魅力四射、以自我为中心的首席执行官运营的,他们希望以竞争的手段来提高回报率。 

金融监管似乎在方向盘上睡着了:许多监管机构认为,新的金融工具已经成功地分散了整个体系的风险。

图表2: 中国经常账户占GDP的比例

流动性监管力度一般比较弱,而且也并不总是适用。一些银行正在悄悄地利用基于内部模型的风险加权的巴塞尔资本加权体系,以求将资本要求降至最低。此外,为满足这些要求而发行的许多融资证券最终都没能吸收损失。 

全面失败

指责监管机构很容易,但值得注意的是,尽管各国的做法存在巨大差异,但许多不同监管体制下的银行都失败了,这些做法包括:侵入性的与非侵入性的;动态配置的与静态配置的;以原则为基础的和以规则为基础的。不管怎么样,多米诺骨牌全都倒了。有趣的是,那些银行没有崩溃的最重要的发达经济体似乎都是大宗商品生产国,如澳大利亚、挪威,在某种程度上还有加拿大。

在欧洲,微妙的力量在起作用。为寻求收益,欧洲投资者纷纷购买美国资产,尤其是基于信用评级高得令人误解的次级抵押贷款的证券化产品。2007年7月,德国IKB德意志工业银行就是第一批因此而陷落的公司之一。当它所负责的次级资产被证明比银行意识到的风险要高得多时,IKB陷入了困境。但问题远不止于对信贷风险的误判。 

许多欧洲投资者持有以美元计价的资产,这就需要同等数量的美元融资。为了获得这些资金,欧洲银行和相关金融机构向美国货币市场基金(MMFs)出售了大量以美元计价的短期票据。根据国际清算银行的估计, 
  
2008年年中,欧洲银行依靠美国MMFs获得了约1万亿美元的资金,占其所需资金总额的八分之一。对美国的MMFs而言,超过40%的资产都是欧洲银行的债务工具。对银行来说,这是一种典型的借入短期资金、借出长期资金的策略,投资者可以获得的资本很少,而且资产有时被限制在不同类型的特殊用途工具中(如IKB管道、莱茵兰基金等,这是其问题的根源)。

当美国的MMF意识到欧洲银行可疑的信贷状况时,它们购买的债务就少了很多——这不仅让这些银行的资产出现了信贷问题,同时在相对较短的时间内,又使它们的债务中极度缺乏美元资金。在其他融资市场,美元也变得昂贵或枯竭。事实上,欧洲大多数公共银行融资市场部分或完全关闭,因为没有一家公司能够确定谁有破产的风险。

给我一毛钱

2008年,我担任英国央行外汇部门主管(从2009年3月开始担任市场总监)。直到2008年9月,我们才看到伦敦美元资金严重短缺。而早在2007年12月,欧洲央行(ECB)就已经看到了这种压力,并开始向欧洲银行提供美元贷款。

2008年9月15日,雷曼兄弟申请破产。接着AIG破产了,主要储备基金跌破面值,金融体系全面崩溃。欧洲的银行迫切需要美元。欧洲的隔夜美元利率变得极其不稳定——早上,当没人有多余的美元可供借贷时,利率飙升至10%以上,到了下午,美联储一开盘,利率就暴跌至接近于零的水平。

不到一个星期,掌管当时五种主要全球货币的中央银行(美联储、欧洲央行、英格兰银行、日本银行和瑞士国家银行)就开始了新的操作,从美联储借入美元,然后隔夜借出,每晚如此。在这次操作中,美国的货币稳定和其他任何事情一样重要。但人们很快就明白,根本问题是欧洲的结构性和长期性问题。我们在伦敦的贷款总额高达860亿美元。到2009年底,伦敦的美元短缺现象有所缓解,尽管当时全球银行业中一些最知名的机构以及一些不太为人所知的实体都破产了。 

欧洲大陆对美元资金需求的结构性问题需要更长时间才能得到缓解,目前仍未得到彻底解决。在一些地方,这一点仍然很明显,包括在外汇市场上将欧元兑换成美元的成本(即所谓的“基础互换”),以及欧洲央行的美元贷款业务,这些业务仍然偶尔被使用,尤其是在年底或其他报告日期时。

可能还会出现另一场危机——最有可能的时机是,与金融危机打交道的一代人都退休之时。银行系统应该更加有力。但金融危机永远不会完全重演。

继续前行

自金融危机以来,已经取得了相当大的进展。银行的资本制度已得到显著加强,新的流动性制度也已建立。目前,美国、欧洲和英国的银行都要接受协调一致的压力测试。 

在英国,我们更进一步,重组了整个监管体系,成立了一个新的金融政策委员会,并建立“双峰”监管模式,即审慎监管机构(prudential Regulation Authority)和金融市场行为监管机构(Financial conduct Authority)这两个独立的监管机构,以纠正上世纪90年代架构中的一个错误。英国央行创建了一套新的广泛的支持流动性的业务。英国还引入了一项新的高级经理人制度,以确保资深银行家认真对待自己的责任(如果不认真,就会被追究责任)。

所有这些改变够了吗?也许不够。金融部门擅长游说,削弱已经实施的各种措施。对于在全球开展业务的银行来说,我们仍然没有所有的答案,因为当地央行无法直接满足外汇需求。许多监管机构担心,他们的银行系统被来自其他国家的分支机构所主导——这是欧盟内部目前正在强调的一个特殊问题。

可能还会出现另一场危机——最有可能的时机是,与金融危机打交道的一代人都退休之时。银行系统应该更有力地应对我们在2007-2008年经历的那种冲击。但金融危机永远不会完全重演。下一次危机可能来自一个完全不同的源头:或许是网络黑客,或许是新技术公司对银行系统的去中介化。或者是气候变化,因为它不仅会破坏金融体系,而且会破坏全球经济整体。然而,重要的是,我们必须记住并记录金融危机的根源,以便那些应对下一场危机的人能够获得更好的信息,准备得更充分。

脚注

  1. Baba, N. McCauley, R.N.和Ramaswamy, S.,《美元货币市场基金与非美国银行》,国际清算银行季刊,2009年3月。
    www.bis.org/publ/qtrpdf/r_qt0903g.pdf 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Reflections on the Great Financial Crisis of 2007–2009

Gold Investor, February 2019

12 February, 2019

Reflections on the Great Financial Crisis of 2007–2009

Paul Fisher was a senior figure at the Bank of England for over 26 years – a member of the Monetary Policy Committee from 2009–2014 and Executive Director for Markets during most of the Great Financial Crisis. He considers the origins of the crisis and whether it could happen again.

Paul Fisher
Senior Research Fellow
Business School King’s College, London

What caused the Great Financial Crisis (GFC) of 2007– 2009? Many fingers have been pointed at the global banking system, which had got out of control, and failures in regulation. That is true to a large extent, but in my view the root causes go much deeper and are to be found in well-meaning, but ultimately misguided, policy actions by various authorities around the world.

The United States is often considered to be the home of free markets, but there is a surprising degree of intervention by the authorities, some of which can be market distorting. The Community Reinvestment Act 1977, for example, encouraged – and in some cases directed – the US financial system to lend money to people in poor districts. Subprime lending took that encouragement to extremes – arranging mortgages for people who could not really afford them, but who could gain enough equity in their homes to support their loans, as long as house prices continued to rise. And after all, house prices had historically never fallen across the whole of the US, had they? So there was no real risk, was there?

Also relevant was the contribution of the US Federal Housing Agency and related bodies, such as Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac. Although not formally supposed to be financially backstopped by the authorities, the market traded these bodies’ debt as if they were – an assumption which proved to be justified in September 2008, when Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac were taken into official ‘conservatorship.’ These institutions did not create subprime assets but, with cheap funding sources, they were able to buy up ‘conforming’ mortgages, and effectively make mortgages cheaper and more accessible than market forces alone would warrant, helping to increase home ownership and house prices.

The United States is often considered to be the home of free markets, but there is a surprising degree of intervention by the authorities, some of which can be market distorting.

Chart 1: US house price inflation and Fed Funds rate

Chart 1: US house price inflation and Fed Funds rate

Sources: Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; Disclaimer

 

US imports

Meanwhile in Asia, many authorities had been burned by their own crises in 1997, which witnessed massive outflows of foreign capital and (to them) unpalatable remedies prescribed by the International Monetary Fund. Such countries adopted a new economic model of being export led, with exchange rates either linked to, or generally suppressed against, the US dollar to help make their exports more competitive.

Low US short-term interest rates were thus imported around the world. And with high savings needs in Asia, especially by the ageing populations of China and Japan, and a shortage of real-economy investment opportunities elsewhere, the result was low real interest rates globally.

The various consequences of that strategy choice in Asia have been huge: large trade surpluses in the region, with the (arithmetic) corollary of exporting capital, in some cases to richer economies, in a complete reversal of the usual model of economic development (Chart 2). Those capital flows out of Asia helped to fund a huge current account deficit in the US (6% of GDP in 2006) – and collectively they helped fund the issuance of dollar financial assets, including those backed by US mortgage loans, especially subprime.

Prior to 2007, the financial system appeared to be in robust health. But when things are going well and risks are not crystallising, it is human nature to relax – which of coursehelps cause an unexpected crisis. Modern methods of risk management went badly astray, partly from extrapolating the low volatility observed in markets or simply from misestimating tail risks. Financial regulation looks to have been asleep at the wheel: many regulators thought that new financial instruments had successfully dispersed risk around the system. But the largest intermediaries were holding too little liquidity and capital. Furthermore, of these, a number seemed to be run by charismatic and egocentric chief executives seeking to drive up returns competitively.

Financial regulation looks to have been asleep at the wheel: many regulators thought that new financial instruments had successfully dispersed risk around the system.

Chart 2: China’s current account as share of GDP

Chart 2: China’s current account as share of GDP

Sources: World Bank; Disclaimer

Liquidity regulations were generally weak and were not always applied. The risk-weighted Basel system of capital weights relying on internal models was being quietly exploited by some banks to minimise capital requirements. Also, many of the capital-raising securities that were issued to meet those requirements turned out not to be loss absorbing.

All-round failure

It is easy to blame the regulators but it is noticeable that banks in many different regulatory regimes failed, despite big differences in national approaches: intrusive vs nonintrusive; dynamic vs static provisioning; principles-based vs rules-based. The dominos all toppled regardless. Interestingly, the most prominent developed economies where banks did not crash seemed to be commodity producers such as Australia, Norway and, to some extent, Canada.

In Europe, subtle forces were at work. In searching for yield, European investors were buying US assets, especially securitisations based on subprime mortgages with misleadingly high credit ratings. One of the first firms to fail because of this was Germany’s IKB DeutscheIndustriebank, back in July 2007. When the subprime assets it was responsible for turned out to be far riskier than the bank had realised, IKB was sunk. But the issues went much deeper than a misjudgement of credit risk.

Many European investors were holding dollar-denominated assets, which required an equal supply of dollar funding. To secure that funding, European banks and related financial institutions were selling large quantities of shortterm, dollar-denominated paper to US money market funds (MMFs). According to a BIS estimate,1 in mid-2008, European banks relied on US MMFs for around US$1 trillion of funding – an eighth of their total dollar funding needs. And for US MMFs, over 40% of their assets were those same debt instruments of European banks. For the banks this was a classic borrow short, lend long strategy, backed by as little capital as investors could get away with, and with assets sometimes held in special purpose vehicles of various types (such as IKB’s conduit, Rhineland Funding, which was the cause of its problems).

Moving on

Considerable progress has been made since the GFC. The capital regime for banks has been significantly strengthened and a new liquidity regime is in place. Banks are now subject to coordinated stress tests in the US, Europe and the UK.

In the UK we went further, restructuring the entire regulatory system, creating a new Financial Policy Committee, and establishing a ‘twin peaks’ regulatory model of separate prudential and conduct regulators (the Prudential Regulation Authority and Financial Conduct Authority) to correct a mistake in the architecture dating back to the 1990s. The Bank of England has created a new set of wide-ranging liquidity-support operations. The UK has also introduced a new Senior Managers Regime to make sure that senior bankers take their responsibilities seriously (and can be held to account for their actions if not).

Will all these changes be enough? Probably not. The financial sector is good at lobbying, chipping away at the various measures that have been put in place. We still don’t have all the answers for banks operating globally, with foreign currency needs that can’t be met directly by the local central bank. And many regulators are worried about their banking system being dominated by branches run from other countries – a particular problem now being highlighted within the EU.

There will be another crisis – most likely when the generation that dealt with the GFC have all retired. The banking system should be more robust to the kinds of shocks we experienced in 2007–2008. But financial crises never repeat themselves exactly. The next crisis could come from a completely different source: cyber hacking perhaps, or maybe disintermediation of the banking system by new technology companies. Or perhaps from climate change, which could wreck the whole of the global economy, not just the financial system. Nevertheless, it is important that we remember and record the root causes of the GFC so that those who deal with the next crisis are better informed and better prepared.

When US MMFs started to appreciate the doubtful credit position of European banks, they bought much less of their debt – leaving those banks both with a credit headache in their assets and desperately short of dollar funding in their liabilities, at the same time and at relatively short notice. Dollars also became expensive or dried up in other funding markets. In fact, most public bank funding markets in Europe closed partially or completely as no one firm could be sure who was at risk of failure.

Spare me a dime

In 2008, I was the Head of the Foreign Exchange Division at the Bank of England (and Markets Director from March 2009). Until September 2008 we had not seen any significant shortage of dollar funding in London. The European Central Bank (ECB) had seen such pressures earlier and had started to lend dollars to European banks in December 2007.

On 15 September 2008, Lehman Brothers filed for bankruptcy. Then AIG went bust, the Reserve Primary Fund broke the buck and the financial system broke comprehensively. Banks in Europe became desperate for dollars. Overnight dollar interest rates in Europe became extremely volatile – soaring to over 10% in the morning when no one had spare dollars to lend and then crashing down to near zero in the afternoon, once the Fed was open.

Within a week, the central banks of the then five major global currencies (the Fed, ECB, Bank of England, Bank of Japan and Swiss National Bank) were undertaking new operations, borrowing dollars from the Fed and lending them overnight, every night, in an operation which was as much about US monetary stability as anything else. But it quickly became clear that the underlying problems were European, structural and long-lasting. We got as high as lending US$86 billion in total in London. By late 2009, the dollar shortage had abated in London, although by that time some of the most famous names in global banking had failed, as well as some lesser-known entities.

The structural issue of continental European demand for dollar funding took longer to ease and is still not completely resolved. It remains evident in several places, including the cost of swapping euros for dollars in foreign exchange markets – the so-called basis swap – and in the ECB dollar lending operations which are still drawn upon occasionally, particularly at year-end or other reporting dates.

There will be another crisis – most likely when the generation that dealt with the GFC have all retired. The banking system should be more robust. But financial crises never repeat themselves exactly.

Footnotes

  1. Baba, N. McCauley, R.N. and Ramaswamy, S., US dollar money market funds and non-US banks, BIS Quarterly Review, March 2009. Available at: www.bis.org/publ/qtrpdf/r_qt0903g.pdf Reflections on the Great Financial Crisis of 2007–2009 The NYPD

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]