对冲外汇风险

《黄金投资者》2019年2月版

2019年02月12日

对冲外汇风险

黄金以美元计价,但黄金投资者遍布世界各地。美银美林全球大宗商品与衍生品研究主管Francisco Blanch思考了非美元投资者购买黄金和其他美元计价大宗商品时是否应对冲其货币风险。 

Francisco Blanch
大宗商品和衍生品研究主管
美国银行美林证券全球研究部门

投资者是否应该以外汇对冲其投资组合?以本币(即支付固定票息(债券)或发放股息(股票)所用的货币)计价时,股票或债券等大部分金融资产的价值自然最为稳定。所以当美元本币资产的价值转换成外币时,收益率波动性会随着外汇波动性的提高而上升。因此,非美元债券投资者一般会对冲大部分外汇风险(例如可以通过向投资组合中添加本国外汇做多头寸,来对冲当美国国债最终售出时出现的隐含美元做多头寸,而无需做空美元)。 

外国投资者对美元债券采用的外汇对冲比率通常超过50%。从另外一个角度看,购买本币非美元的外国债券或股票的美国投资者,经常向投资组合中添加美元做多头寸(而不是做空外汇),来对冲至少一部分隐含的外汇做多敞口,从而降低投资组合的整体美元波动性。同样,股票投资者无论身在何处都倾向于采用某种形式的外汇对冲,以降低本币收益率的波动性。

确定了对金融资产进行外汇对冲给投资组合带来的收益以后,第二个问题是对冲额度。在这一重要讨论中,不同金融资产之间的跨资产关联是关键所在。一般而言,某种美元计价金融资产和美元之间越是负相关,其外汇对冲的必要性就越小。根据大宗商品和外汇之间的交叉关联关系,大宗商品在一定程度上可以作为货币波动性的一种天然对冲工具。但在其他时期几乎没有重大交叉关联的证据,这表明这种动态的大宗商品-外汇关系非常短暂。 
 

大宗商品的市场价值取决于其使用价值和生产成本,这意味着当采用所有生产者和消费者货币计价时,大宗商品的价值最为稳定。

对冲大宗商品

毕竟,广义的大宗商品中没有天然本币。很多大宗商品确实以美元计价,但美元只是一个记账单位。大宗商品以美元计价的价值不一定比以其他货币计价更稳定,因为大宗商品不会产生股息或票息。大宗商品的市场价值取决于其使用价值和生产成本,这意味着当采用所有生产者和消费者货币计价时,大宗商品的价值最为稳定。换言之,当采用种类丰富的一篮子外汇计价时,大宗商品的价值最为稳定。这一篮子外汇的构成取决于相关的大宗商品。所以美元通常与以美元计价的大宗商品呈强负相关,这种负相关性高于其他美元资产类别。这意味着外国投资者可能不想充分进行外汇对冲,因为他们在一定程度上获得了来自美元(而非本国外汇)与大宗商品负相关性的天然对冲。

图表1: 即使是黄金,以任何主要本币计算的收益波动率也并未比美元计算的收益波动率低多少

图表1: 即使是黄金,以任何主要本币计算的收益波动率也并未比美元计算的收益波动率低多少

采用不同货币计价的黄金收益波动率(1991年以来的日收益率)

来源: 彭博社, 美银美林全球研究预测; 版权和其他权利

截至2018年9月。详情请见2017年3月《何时对大宗商品进行外汇对冲》。

 

对于新兴市场投资者而言,如果不对冲,本币大宗商品的收益率波动性一般会比充分进行外汇对冲时(充分进行外汇对冲的收益率方差与美元收益率方差大致相同)高得多。对于发达市场的外国投资者而言,充分进行外汇对冲的彭博大宗商品指数(BCOM)的波动性并未远远低于未对冲BCOM。即使是黄金,以任何主要本币计算的收益波动率也并未比美元计算的收益波动率低多少。而黄金是波动性最低的单一商品之一。 

但采用充分对冲或完全不对冲的投资组合并非唯一选项。两者之间存在连贯的对冲比率,可降低本币计价的大宗商品收益率的整体波动性。我们认为,根据每一种大宗商品投资组合与投资者本币的相关性,一定程度的外汇对冲可能有利于发达市场和新兴市场的非美元投资者。确定了外汇对冲给大宗商品投资组合带来的潜在好处以后,接下来我们要分析潜在对冲比率的范围。

最佳比率

我们的分析为非美元大宗商品投资者对冲某些外汇风险提供了有力理由。即便如此,我们也承认,对于发达市场货币投资者而言,与无外汇对冲的头寸相比,有外汇对冲头寸带来的降低波动性效益相对较小。

虽然以G10货币为基准的投资者可能会受益于0.1-0.5的大宗商品外汇对冲比率,但以新兴市场外汇为基准的投资者的最佳对冲比率要大得多,一般为0.5-1.0,往往接近1。这是因为某一新兴市场货币的初始收益波动率就非常高,可通过外汇对冲大幅降低。 

换言之,根据大宗商品和新兴市场外汇的历史联合概率分布,以新兴市场货币为基准的投资者的最佳对冲比率非常高。因此,在大部分情况下,将波动性降至最低的最佳对冲比率与充分对冲的头寸大同小异。相比之下,波动性较低的G10投资者的对冲比率较低,最佳对冲比率往往远远低于充分对冲,因为对冲比率与波动性之比的曲线相当平坦。

图表2: 对于黄金,与无外汇对冲的头寸相比,有外汇对冲头寸带来的降低波动性效益对于发达市场货币投资者而言相对较小

图表2: 对于黄金,与无外汇对冲的头寸相比,有外汇对冲头寸带来的降低波动性效益对于发达市场货币投资者而言相对较小

采用本币计价、基于外汇对冲比率的黄金收益率波动性

来源: 彭博社, 美银美林全球研究预测; 版权和其他权利

截至2018年11月。使用1991年以来的月度数据计算大宗商品历史收益率方差、 外汇收益率方差及其协方差。由于使用较短的样本期(自2001年开始), 充分对冲投资组合的欧元曲线波动性高于其他货币。详情请见2017年3月 《何时对大宗商品进行外汇对冲》

 

我们的研究结果还表明,如果更高的大宗商品波动性单独出现,不改变与外汇的协方差,更高水平的大宗商品波动性不一定会改变最佳对冲比率。

 

图表3: 由于外汇波动性更高,新兴市场的有外汇对冲、基于对冲比率的投资组合波动性曲线尤为陡峭

图表3: 由于外汇波动性更高,新兴市场的有外汇对冲、基于对冲比率的投资组合波动性曲线尤为陡峭

采用本币计价、基于外汇对冲比率的黄金收益率波动性

来源: 彭博社, 美银美林全球研究预测; 版权和其他权利

截至2018年11月。使用1991年以来的月度数据计算大宗商品历史收益率方差、
外汇收益率方差及其协方差。详情请见2017年3月《何时对大宗商品进行外汇对冲》

 

对黄金或大宗商品组合进行外汇对冲有很多好处,尤其是对于新兴市场投资者。

 

图表4: 在大部分货币中,黄金等低波动性大宗商品或BCOM指数往往有最高的最佳外汇对冲比率不足为奇

图表4: 在大部分货币中,黄金等低波动性大宗商品或BCOM指数往往有最高的最佳外汇对冲比率不足为奇

最佳外汇对冲比率 (为了使以本币计价的大宗商品收益率方差降至最低)

来源: 彭博社, 美银美林全球研究预测; 版权和其他权利

截至2018年11月。详情请见2017年3月《何时对大宗商品进行外汇对冲》。

 

最佳对冲比率不取决于特定大宗商品的波动性,这个事实为长期最佳对冲比率提供了一定的稳定性。即使大宗商品的收益率方差在其库存周期内发生变化也是如此。此外,提高大宗商品的收益率方差——其他因素不变——并不会改变最佳对冲比率。 

即便如此,如果美元资产的价值非常稳定(例如短期美国国债),其与外汇价格的协方差也很低。假设出现恒定美元债券价值的极端情况——常数与包括所有外汇对在内的任何随机变数的协方差为0。由于较低的大宗商品方差和与外汇的较少负值协方差往往同时出现,低方差大宗商品(以美元计价)的最佳对冲比率往往更高。因此,在大部分货币中,黄金等低波动性大宗商品或因多样化而比单一商品波动性更低的BCOM,往往有最高的最佳外汇对冲比率就不足为奇了。简而言之,对黄金或大宗商品投资组合进行外汇对冲有很多好处,尤其是对于新兴市场投资者。

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Hedging FX risk

Gold Investor, February 2019

12 February, 2019

Hedging FX risk

Gold is priced in US dollars but investors in the asset class are spread across the world. Francisco Blanch, Head of Commodities and Derivatives Research at BofA Merrill Lynch Global Research, considers whether non-US dollar investors should hedge their currency risk when purchasing gold and other dollar-based commodities.

Francisco Blanch
Head of Commodities and Derivatives Research
BofA Merrill Lynch Global Research

Should investors FX hedge their portfolios? The value of most financial assets, such as equities or bonds, is naturally most stable in their home currency, effectively the currency in which they pay fixed coupons (bonds) or derive their dividends (equities). So when the value of USD home-currency assets is converted into a foreign currency, the returns volatility increases due to the added FX volatility. For this reason, non-USD-based bond investors typically hedge a big portion of their FX risk (e.g. the implied long USD position that arises when a US Treasury bond is eventually sold can be hedged by adding long local FX vs. short USD to the portfolio).

Often, the FX hedge ratio that foreign investors apply to US bonds is more than 50%. Looked at from a different angle, US investors buying foreign bonds or equities whose home currency is not USD often hedge at least part of their implied long foreign FX exposure by adding long USD (vs. short foreign FX) to the portfolio, thereby reducing the overall dollar volatility of the portfolio. Similarly, equity investors, regardless of where they are based, tend to engage in some form of FX hedging to reduce the volatility of returns in their home currency.

Having established the portfolio benefits of FX hedging financial assets, a second question is how much exposure should be hedged. Cross-asset correlations between different financial assets are crucial to this important discussion. Broadly speaking, the more negative the correlation between a particular USD-denominated financial asset and the dollar itself, the less need to implement an FX hedge. According to the cross-correlation relationship between commodities and FX, commodities can serve partly as a natural hedge to currency fluctuations. However, there is little evidence of significant cross-correlations in other time lags, which suggests that this dynamic commodity-FX relationship is very short-lived.

The market value of a commodity depends on its value in use and cost of production, which means its value is most stable in a mix of all the producer and consumer currencies.

Hedging commodities

After all, commodities in broad terms do not have a natural home currency. True, many commodities are priced in USD but that is just a unit of account. The value of a commodity is not necessarily more stable in USD than in other currencies because commodities do not pay dividends or coupons. The market value of a commodity depends on its value in use and cost of production, which means its value is most stable in a mix of all the producer and consumer currencies. In other words, commodities are most stable in a very broad basket of FX whose composition varies depending on the commodity in question. For this reason, the USD is typically strongly negatively correlated with commodity prices in USD, more so than other dollar asset classes. This implies that foreign-based investors may not want to be fully FX hedged as they get somewhat of a natural hedge from the negative USD (vs. local FX) and commodity correlation.

Chart 1: Even for gold the return volatility isn’t significantly lower in any major local currency than in USD

Chart 1: Even for gold the return volatility isn’t significantly lower in any major local currency than in USD

Volatility of gold returns in different currencies (daily returns, since 1991)

Sources: Bloomberg, BofA Merrill Lynch Global Research estimates; Disclaimer

As of November 2018. For methodology details see 'When to FX hedge commodities', March 2017.

 

For emerging market (EM) investors, local currency commodity returns, if unhedged, are generally much more volatile than if fully FX hedged (fully FX hedged return variance is about the same as the USD return variance). For developed market (DM) foreign investors, the volatility of fully FX hedged Bloomberg Commodity Index (BCOM) is not much lower than that of unhedged BCOM. Even for gold, which has one of the lowest variances among single commodities, the return volatility isn’t significantly lower in any major local currency than in USD.

But carrying a fully hedged or completely unhedged portfolio are not the only options. There is a continuum of hedge ratios in-between that may lower the overall volatility of local currency commodity returns. We believe a certain degree of FX hedging, based on the correlation of each commodity portfolio to the home currency of the investor, could be beneficial to non-USD-based investors in DMs and EMs alike. Having established the potential benefits of FX hedging in commodity portfolios, we go on to analyse the spectrum of possible hedging ratios.

Optimal ratios

As a starting point, our works suggests that the optimal hedge ratio for a foreign commodity investor has to be based on a thorough study of the joint distributions between commodity prices and FX. In broad terms, the more volatile an investor’s home currency is, the more benefit (in terms of reducing volatility) a commodity portfolio is likely to derive from an FX hedge. Thus, our work suggests the optimal commodity hedge ratio for DM currencies is between 0.1 and 0.5.

Our analysis makes a strong case for non-USD-based commodity investors to hedge some of their FX risk. Even then, we admit that the volatility-reducing benefit of an FX hedged compared to an unhedged position is relatively small for DM currency investors.

While investors benchmarked against a G10 currency could benefit from commodity FX hedge ratios of 0.1 to 0.5, the optimal hedging ratio for EM FX benchmarked investors is much larger, generally between 0.5 and 1.0 and often close to 1. This is because the return volatility in a given EM currency is very high to begin with and can be drastically reduced by FX hedging.

Put differently, optimal hedge ratios for EM-benchmarked investors, based on the joint historical distributions between commodities and EM FX, are very high. The optimal hedge ratio, where the volatility is minimised isn’t, therefore, very different from a fully hedged position in most cases. In contrast, the hedge ratios for less volatile G10-based investors are lower and the optimal hedge tends to be significantly lower than simply being fully hedged, as the hedge ratio vs. volatility curves are rather flat.

Chart 2: For gold, the volatility reducing benefit of an FX hedged compared to an unhedged position is relatively small for DM currency investors

Chart 2: For gold, the volatility reducing benefit of an FX hedged compared to an unhedged position is relatively small for DM currency investors

Volatility of gold return in local FX, as a function of the FX hedge ratio

Sources: Bloomberg, BofA Merrill Lynch Global Research estimates; Disclaimer

As of November 2018. The historical commodity return variance, FX return variance and their covariances are calculated using monthly data since 1991.
Note the euro curve has a higher volatility than the rest for the fully hedged portfolio due to using a shorter sample period (since 2001). For methodology
details see 'When to FX hedge commodities', March 2017.

 

Our work also shows that a higher level of commodity volatility does not necessarily change the optimal hedge ratio, if the higher commodity volatility comes in isolation and does not change the covariance with the FX.The fact that the optimal hedging ratio does not depend on the volatility of a specific commodity provides some degree of stability in the optimal hedge ratio over time. This occurs even though the variance of the commodity changes over the course of its own inventory cycle. Moreover, increasing the variance of the commodity – all else being equal – doesn’t change the optimal hedge ratio.

Chart 3: The FX hedged portfolio volatility curves as a function of the hedge ratio are especially steep for EMs due to higher FX volatility 

Chart 3: The FX hedged portfolio volatility curves as a function of the hedge ratio are especially steep for EMs due to higher FX volatility

Volatility of gold return in local FX, as a function of the FX hedge ratio

Sources: Bloomberg, BofA Merrill Lynch Global Research estimates; Disclaimer

As of November 2018. The historical commodity return variance, FX return variance and their covariances are calculated using monthly data since 1991.
For methodology details see 'When to FX hedge commodities', March 2017.

 

There are plenty of benefits of FX hedging gold or commodity portfolios, particularly if you are an EM investor.

 

Chart 4: It is not surprising that low-volatility commodities like gold or BCOM index tend to have the highest optimal hedging ratios in most currencies

Chart 4: It is not surprising that low-volatility commodities like gold or BCOM index tend to have the highest optimal hedging ratios in most currencies

Optimal FX hedge ratios (for minimising commodity variance in local currency)

Sources: Bloomberg, BofA Merrill Lynch Global Research estimates; Disclaimer

As of November 2018. For methodology details see 'When to FX hedge commodities', March 2017.

 

That said, when a USD asset is very stable in value (e.g. short-term US Treasury bonds), it typically also has a low covariance with FX rates. Imagine the extreme case of a constant USD bond value – a constant has zero covariance with any random variable including all FX pairs. As lower commodity variance and less negative covariance with FX tend to go hand in hand, the optimal hedge ratio for commodities that have low variance (in USD terms) tends to be higher. So it is not surprising that low-volatility commodities like gold or the BCOM, which has lower volatility than single commodities due to diversification, tend to have the highest optimal hedging ratios in most currencies. In plain English, there are plenty of benefits of FX hedging gold or commodity portfolios, particularly if you are an EM investor.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]