黄金在低碳经济中的作用

《黄金投资者》2019年2月版

2019年02月12日

黄金在低碳经济中的作用

由于日益意识到气候变化造成的影响,投资者正在呼吁商业领袖推动低碳经济的转型。世界黄金协会首席财务官贺泰睿(Terry Heymann)分析了黄金和黄金生产商在解决气候变化问题上发挥的作用。

根据2015年订立的《巴黎协定》,近200个政府承诺防止气温比工业化之前的水平高出2°C以上。近日,联合国政府间气候变化专门委员会(IPCC)警告称,这些工作要加快速度,各国政府必须设立更严格的目标,以避免海平面上升、极端天气模式、生态系统和粮食生产受到灾难性破坏的风险大增。

但人们日益认为,各国政府依然未采取充分措施来履行《巴黎协定》的承诺,现在需要提高紧迫性和目标来缓解极端气候变化的影响。在很大程度上,呼吁采取行动的不仅仅是政府。区别在于,在企业和投资者的带领下,私营经济企业正日益置身一线。例如,首席执行官气候领导者联盟(Alliance of CEO Climate Leaders)由50位跨国企业的领导者组成。所有首席执行官都呼吁采取协调一致的气候行动和支持低碳解决方案的政策。

投资界已经意识到,它可以成为解决气候变化问题的驱动力。气候变化一直是一个受到高度关注的领域,要求提高公司和金融机构在处理和报告环境、社会和治理(ESG)问题方面的透明度和稳定性的呼声日益高涨。投资者关注公司的减排行动,以及气候变化对企业业务和未来业绩的潜在影响。投资界呼吁在更大范围内稳定地披露气候相关财务风险报告,并普遍认可气候相关财务信息披露工作组(TCFD)的建议。

黄金的总体碳足迹相对较小。

随着黄金作为主流资产日益获得认可,黄金行业被要求证明其了解气候变化的相关风险和机遇,并积极进行适应。为了支持和促进这一点,世界黄金协会在2018年咨询了多位学者和环境政策专家(包括伦敦帝国理工学院的气候政策中心),发布了对这些问题的第一份研究报告。1

黄金是一种稀有贵金属,要开采和加工相当数量的矿石才能生产出少量纯金。这个过程要使用大量能源。因此,以单位数量来衡量,黄金的温室气体(GHG)强度较高。但每年的黄金产量相对较小,大约为3,000吨,而例如煤炭和钢铁的年产量分别为73亿吨和16亿吨。因此,黄金的温室气体年排放量远远低于大部分其他主要矿产品。简而言之,黄金的总体碳足迹相对较小。

投资者的观点

黄金也很有价值。如果根据“每一美元价值”来分析,黄金的排放强度远远低于其他金属和矿产品。花费在黄金上的每一美元所产生的温室气体排放量远远低于大部分其他金属或矿产品。 

商业学者的早期研究表明,在主流投资组合中增加黄金,长期而言可能会减少它的总体碳足迹。

我们发现这些具有重要意义,为黄金行业的利益相关者、投资者和政策制定者提供了一个看待资产价值及其碳足迹关系的有用视角。但我们也知道,这仅仅是一个起点,还需要完成大量工作。我们要更全面地看待问题,因此要检测与黄金的下游用途有关的温室气体排放。虽然我们有充分的理由预计这些排放量相当微小,但此类黄金市场分析一直非常少,无疑这是一个值得深入研究的领域。

有趣的是,商业学者的早期研究2表明,在主流投资组合中增加黄金,长期而言可能会减少它的总体碳足迹。不同于许多其他资产,黄金与不断产生排放的持续活动和日常支出无关。此外,面对气候变化带来的潜在物理威胁,黄金的表现应该会相对稳健。而这些威胁对其他经济部门造成的伤害可能会严重得多。

黄金矿业公司采取措施

这并不代表行业可以有自满情绪。在黄金供应链上,大部分能耗和气体排放出现在开采、加工和精炼环节,所以这些是最迫切需要改革的地方。黄金开采行业正在转型,相关公司需要致力于为做好向低碳经济转变业务的准备。低碳化潜力巨大。 

负责任的黄金矿业公司正在采取措施来应对气候变化的挑战,减少温室气体排放。世界黄金协会成员采取的举措类型和规模各不相同,但都专注于提高能效,并尽量转用低碳能源。 

一个具有重要意义但经常被忽视的事实是,黄金作为工业金属可以在多种技术中发挥至关重要的作用,这些技术有望帮助促进向低碳未来的转变。例如,黄金纳米颗粒在多种应用中拥有巨大潜力,可帮助减少温室气体排放。这些应用包括利用黄金催化剂帮助将二氧化碳转化成有用燃料;利用黄金纳米颗粒提高氢燃料电池的性能;利用黄金改善太阳能电池板的光伏效应,从而生成更多能源。 

许多工作依然有待完成,也许要从更清晰、更稳定的数据和约定方法开始着手,帮助促进更广泛的理解。但黄金产业深知自身对投资者和整个社会的责任。我们的初步研究表明,黄金开采行业的总体温室气体排放低于其他大型采矿业,黄金产业的主要参与者正在致力于进一步减排;投资于黄金的每一美元所产生的排放低于大部分其他金属;黄金独一无二的物理特性可以发挥关键作用,帮助应对改善全球变暖管理的挑战。 

脚注

  1. 世界黄金协会《黄金与气候变化:引言》,2018年6月

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Gold’s role in a low-carbon economy

Gold Investor, February 2019

12 February, 2019

Gold’s role in a low-carbon economy

As awareness of the impact of climate change becomes increasingly pervasive, investors are calling on business leaders to drive the transition towards a low-carbon economy. Terry Heymann, CFO at the World Gold Council, analyses the role of gold and gold producers in addressing climate change concerns.

Under the Paris Agreement of 2015, nearly 200 governments committed to preventing temperatures from rising more than 2°C above pre-industrial levels. Recently, the United Nations Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) warned that these efforts would need to accelerate, and governments would have to adopt even tougher targets, to avert significantly higher risks of rising sea levels, extreme weather patterns and the catastrophic disruption of ecological systems and food production.

Yet, there is growing recognition that the world is still failing to take sufficient action to meets its Paris commitments and that greater urgency and ambition are now needed to mitigate the impacts of extreme climate change. Critically, it is not just governments that are calling for action. If anything, the private sector is increasingly at the forefront, with businesses and investors taking the lead. For example, the Alliance of CEO Climate Leaders is formed of 50 leaders of global businesses, all calling for concerted climate action and policies supportive of low-carbon solutions.

The investor community has recognised that it can be a driving force to address climate change. Climate change has been a particular area of focus, among increasing demands for greater transparency and consistency in how companies and financial institutions approach and report on environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues. Investors are interested both in what companies are doing to reduce emissions and how a changing climate is likely to impact businesses’ operations and future performance. The investor community is calling for increased and more consistent disclosure around the reporting of climaterelated financial risks, with widespread acceptance of the recommendations of the Task Force on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD).

Gold’s overall carbon footprint is relatively small.

As gold has become increasingly recognised as a mainstream asset, the gold industry has been called upon to demonstrate it understands the risks and opportunities associated with climate change, and is actively engaged in adapting to them. To support and facilitate this, in 2018 the World Gold Council produced its first research paper3 on these issues, in consultation with a range of academics and environmental policy experts (including the Centre for Environmental Policy at Imperial College London).

Gold is a rare and precious metal so considerable quantities of ore are mined and processed to produce a small amount of pure gold. This requires large amounts of energy. On a per volume basis, therefore, gold has a relatively high greenhouse gas (GHG) intensity. However, a relatively small amount of gold is produced each year – around 3,000 tonnes, compared to, for example, 7.3 billion (bn) tonnes of coal and 1.6bn tonnes of steel. Total annual GHG emissions for gold are therefore significantly lower than for most other major mined products. Simply put, gold’s overall carbon footprint is relatively small.

Investors’ perspectives

Gold is highly valuable too. When analysed on a per dollar basis it has a far lower emissions intensity than other metals and mined products. The volume of GHG emissions associated with a dollar spent on gold is far lower than for a dollar spent on most other metals or minerals.

Early work by business academics suggests that adding gold to a mainstream investment portfolio may reduce its overall carbon footprint over time.

We think these findings are significant, offering gold industry stakeholders, investors and policymakers a useful perspective on the relationship between an asset’s value and its carbon footprint. We are, however, also aware that this is a starting point and considerably more work needs to be done. A more comprehensive picture is needed, requiring an examination of GHG emissions associated with gold’s downstream uses. While we have sound reasons to expect these to be relatively minimal, there has been very little such analysis of the gold market and it is, therefore, certainly an area worthy of closer study.

Interestingly, early work by business academics1 suggests that adding gold to a mainstream investment portfolio may reduce its overall carbon footprint over time. Unlike many other assets, gold is not associated with ongoing activities and overheads, which continue to generate further emissions. Furthermore, gold should prove relatively robust in the face of the probable physical threats imposed by climate change, which are likely to be far more damaging to other sectors of the economy.

Gold miners take action

This should not suggest industry complacency. Mining, processing and refining account for most of the energy used and gases emitted in the gold supply chain, so that is where the most immediate change can be seen. Gold mining is an industry in transition, as companies strive proactively to prepare their operations for the move to a low-carbon economy. The potential for decarbonisation is significant.

Responsible gold mining companies are already taking action to address the challenge of climate change and reduce GHG emissions. Initiatives from World Gold Council members vary in type and scale, but all are focused on greater energy efficiency and moving, wherever possible, to low-carbon energy sources.

Significantly, but often overlooked, gold – as an industrial material – can play a vital role in technologies that may help facilitate the transition to a low-carbon future. In nanoparticulate form, for instance, gold has considerable potential in a range of applications that can help reduce GHG emissions. 

These include using gold catalysts to help convert CO2 into useful fuels; using gold nanoparticles that enhance hydrogen fuel cell performance; and using gold to improve photovoltaics in solar panels, thereby creating more energy.

Much work remains to be done, perhaps starting with clearer, more consistent data and agreed methodologies to help foster wider understanding. But the gold industry is keenly aware of its responsibility to investors and to society at large. Our initial research highlights that overall GHG emissions from gold mining are lower than those of other large extractive industries, and key gold industry players are seeking to drive them lower; that emissions per dollar invested in gold are lower than a dollar invested in most other metals; and that gold‘s unique physical properties can play a crucial part in the challenge to better manage global warming.

Footnotes

  1. World Gold Council, Gold and climate change: An introduction, June 2018. 4 Baur, D.G. & Oll, J., The Role of Gold and the VIX in Investment Portfolios – A

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]