各国央行转向黄金

《黄金投资者》2019年2月版

2019年02月12日

各国央行转向黄金

各国央行是全球最大的黄金投资者之一,总持有量超过3万吨。现在,他们正进一步增加黄金储备,而许多国家在缺席多年后也重返市场。世界黄金协会总监Ezechiel Copic对个中缘由做出了解释。

Ezechiel Copic
世界黄金协会总监

中央银行的黄金储备正在增加。2018年前10个月的净购买量为351.5吨,同比增长17%,为2015年以来的最高水平。增储动力也不断增强,仅第三季度,净购买量就达到148.4吨,同比增长22%。

随着购买模式的改变,进入市场的央行数量也发生了变化。从历史上看,俄罗斯、哈萨克斯坦和土耳其等国是最稳定的买家,每月定期购买。2018年,包括波兰、匈牙利和印度在内的此前不活跃的央行也购买了黄金。

其他国家央行,比如波兰央行,在经历了长时间的缺位后,出于多元化的考虑,在全球政治和经济不确定性引发的担忧的推动下,重新回归了黄金市场。

 

央行黄金净买入量

(2017年1月到2018年10月)

国家
亚洲  
印度 +28.7
蒙古 +13.3
泰国 +1.6
菲律宾 +1.6
马来西亚 +0.6
印度尼西亚 +0.5
中东  
伊拉克 +6.5
约旦 +2.2
埃及 +1.9
卡塔尔 +1.6
拉丁美洲  
哥伦比亚 +7.1
阿根廷 +5
苏里南 +0.6
前苏联  
俄罗斯 +450.9
哈萨克斯坦 +83.1
吉尔吉斯斯坦共和国 +5.5
塔吉克斯坦 +5.1
白俄罗斯 +0.6
欧洲  
土耳其 +153.2
匈牙利 +31.5
波兰 +25
塞尔维亚 +1.4

 

表中粗体字国家是指在2017年之前至少五年内在黄金市场上一直缺位或不活跃的国家。土耳其的数据不包括其存放在央行、作为准备金选择权机制一部分的商业黄金的变动。波兰的数据包括所有已宣布的黄金购买量,但其官方报告只显示了其中大约一半的购买量

资料来源:各国中央银行;国际货币基金组织(IMF)IFS数据库;世界黄金协会

与最近购买黄金的各国央行的广度和多样性相匹配的是,它们购买黄金的理由也同样广泛和多样。传统上,央行储备经理在投资时优先考虑安全性和流动性,这也是为什么黄金作为最终避险资产,长期以来一直是央行储备投资的支柱。

如今,安全性和流动性仍然是储备经理优先考虑的事项,但这些原则面临的风险来源正在发生变化。这些变化不但体现在宏观经济状况、金融制裁、贸易战升级和政治不确定性等具体问题上,还包括国际金融体系的潜在结构性转变。

多样性中的安全

对于最大、最稳定的黄金买家俄罗斯来说,关键的驱动因素无疑是安全——尤其是对没有政治风险的资产的渴望。俄罗斯的巨额黄金储备是其对西方施加的金融制裁压力的直接回应。正如俄罗斯央行第一副行长德米特里•图林(Dmitry Tulin)去年指出的那样,黄金已成为一种具有战略意义的重要资产,是一种“100%不受法律和政治风险影响的保障”。1 与俄罗斯黄金持有量大幅增加相对应的是该国持有的美国国债大幅减少,这反映出俄罗斯央行长期以来的去美元化政策。

俄罗斯持量

 

其他国家央行,比如波兰央行,在经历了长时间的缺位后,可能更多的是出于多元化的考虑,在全球政治和经济不确定性引发的担忧的推动下,重新回归了黄金市场。事实上,瑞银资产管理公司(UBS Asset Management)《第24次年度外汇储备管理调查(Reserve Management Survey)》(2018年9月发布)显示,各国央行行长对全球经济最大的担忧是欧盟及美国的贸易战和政治发展走向。通常被称为市场恐惧指标的芝加哥期权交易所(CBOE)的波动率(VIX)指数在2018年跃升至2015年年中以来的最高水平,突显出投资者的不安。这种担忧可能集中在美国、日本和意大利不断恶化的长期财政前景和英国退欧带来的不确定性上——所有这些都可能降低经济发达国家主权债务的吸引力。

与此同时,各国央行可能正在评估加大下行保护力度的必要性,因为它们正在探索风险更高的资产类别。例如,根据瑞银调查和《景顺全球主权资产管理研究》(2018年7月发布),储备经理们正在进军以前从未接触过的市场,如股票、公司债券和房地产。增加黄金可以抵消这些投资的风险,因为黄金与这些另类资产几乎完全没有相关性。

澳大利亚储备银行(Reserve Bank of Australia)最近发布的一份报告(《人民币国际化:下一个目标是什么?》)指出:“[如]果中国继续逐步开放资本账户,朝着更灵活的汇率方向发展,人民币国际化的[下一个]阶段是成为亚洲广泛使用的区域性货币。” 随着人民币配置量的不断增长,长期结构调整的可能性也在增加,由当前以美元为主的体系转向一种更加多元化的货币体系。 

随着人民币配置量的不断增长,长期结构有可能向更多元化的货币体系转变。

这种转变既会破坏当前的稳定,也会对美元产生负面影响:黄金则可以对冲此两者带来的影响。尽管市场对这一变革的时机存在广泛争议——这将与中国全面开放其金融市场的步伐有关——但匈牙利的声明或许证明,至少在一些人看来,这些变革预计会更早而不是更晚发生。 

版权和其他权利 [+]版权和其他权利 [-]

Central banks turn to gold

Gold Investor, February 2019

12 February, 2019

Central banks turn to gold

Central banks are among the world’s largest investors in gold, with total holdings of more than 30,000 tonnes. Now, they are increasing their gold reserves still further, while many are returning to the market after multi-year absences. World Gold Council Director Ezechiel Copic assesses why.

Ezechiel Copic
Director
World Gold Council

The breadth and diversity of central banks that have recently purchased gold are matched by an equally broad and diverse set of reasons for these purchases. Traditionally, central bank reserve managers prioritise  safety and liquidity when investing, which is why gold,  the ultimate safe-haven asset, has long been a mainstay for central bank reserve investment.

Central bank gold reserves are rising. Net purchases totalled 351.5 tonnes in the first 10 months of 2018, up 17% year-on-year and the strongest showing since 2015. Momentum is growing too, with net purchases of 148.4 tonnes in the third quarter alone, up a full 22% year-on-year. 

As buying patterns change, the number of central banks entering the market is changing as well. Historically, countries such as Russia, Kazakhstan and Turkey were among the most consistent buyers, making regular monthly purchases. In 2018 previously inactive central banks, including Poland, Hungary and India, also bought gold.

Other central banks, such as Poland’s, have returned to gold after long periods of absence, for diversification purposes, fuelled by worries over global political and economic uncertainty. 

 

Net central bank gold purchases (January 2017 to October 2018)

Country Tonnes
Asia  
India +28.7
Mongolia  +13.3
Thailand +1.6
Philippines +1.6
Malaysia +0.6
Indonesia +0.5
Middle East  
Iraq +6.5
Jordan +2.2
Egypt +1.9
Qatar +1.6
Latin America  
Colombia +7.1
Argentina +5
Suriname +0.6
Former Soviet Union  
Russia +450.9
Kazakhstan +83.1
Kyrgyz Republic +5.5
Tajikistan +5.1
Belarus +0.6
Europe  
Turkey +153.2
Hungary +31.5
Poland +25
Serbia +1.4

 

Bolded countries are those that had been absent or inactive in the gold market for at least five years prior to 2017. Turkey’s figure excludes changes to commercial gold held at the central bank as part of its Reserve Options Mechanism. Poland’s figure includes all announced gold purchases, although only approximately half of those purchases are reflected in official reporting.

Source: IMF IFS; Respective central banks; World Gold

Today, safety and liquidity remain the priority for reserve managers, but the sources of risk to these principles are changing, from specific issues such as macro-economic conditions, financial sanctions, escalating trade wars and political uncertainty to a potential structural shift in the international financial system.

Safety in diversity

For Russia, the largest and most consistent buyer of gold, the key driver is undoubtedly one of safety – specifically, its desire for assets that are free from political risk. Russia’s enormous accumulation of gold is in direct response to pressure from financial sanctions imposed by the West. Gold has become a strategically important asset because, as First Deputy Governor of Russia’s central bank Dmitry Tulin noted last year, it is a “100% guarantee from legal and political risks.” 1 The substantial increase in Russian gold holdings has been accompanied by an equally substantial decrease in the country’s holdings of US Treasuries, reflecting the Bank of Russia’s long-standing policy of dedollarisation.

Chart 1: Russian financial holdings

Chart 1: Russian financial holdings

Sources: US Treasury Department, World Gold Council; Disclaimer

Other central banks, such as Poland’s, have returned to gold after long periods of absence, probably more for diversification purposes, fuelled by worries over global political and economic uncertainty. Indeed, according to UBS Asset Management’s 24th Annual Reserve Management Survey (published in September 2018), central bankers’ biggest concerns about the global economy centre on trade wars and political developments in both the EU and US. The CBOE Volatility (VIX) Index, often described as the market’s fear gauge, jumped to its highest level since mid-2015 in 2018, highlighting investor disquiet. Such concern may be focused on the deteriorating long-term fiscal outlook in the US, Japan and Italy, coupled with the ongoing uncertainty around Brexit – all of which could make advanced-economy sovereign debt less attractive.

At the same time, central banks may be evaluating the need for greater downside protection, as they explore riskier asset classes. According to the UBS survey and the Invesco Global Sovereign Asset Management Study (released July 2018), for example, reserve managers are moving into previously untapped markets, such as equities, corporate debt and real estate. Adding gold can act as a counterbalance against these investments, as it is almost completely uncorrelated to alternative assets.

Hungary’s recent gold purchase is particularly notable not just because the central bank increased gold reserves ten-fold after years of being inactive in the gold market, but also because it commented that gold acts “as a major line of defence under extreme market conditions or in times of structural changes in the international financial system or deep geopolitical crises.” While extreme market conditions and deep geopolitical crises are nothing new for financial markets, nascent structural changes are more unusual. Yet they are beginning to preoccupy investors, especially given the emergence of the Chinese renminbi (RMB) on the international stage.

As RMB allocations grow over time, there is the potential for a longterm structural shift towards a more multi-currency system.

A recent report (RMB Internationalisation: Where to Next?) by the Reserve Bank of Australia noted, “[I]f China continues to gradually open the capital account and move towards a more flexible exchange rate, the [next] phase of internationalisation could see the RMB emerge as a widely used regional currency in Asia.” As RMB allocations grow over time, there is the potential for a long-term structural shift towards a more multi-currency system, rather than the current system that principally revolves around the US dollar. Such a shift could be both destabilising and dollar negative: gold can serve as a hedge against both. While there is widespread market debate about the timing of such a change – which will be linked to the pace at which China fully liberalises its financial markets – perhaps Hungary’s statement is evidence that, for at least some, these changes are expected to happen sooner rather than later.

Disclaimer [+]Disclaimer [-]